The Hartford vs USI Insurance Services D&O Insurance

Hartford packages D&O in Private Choice Premier; USI brokers ExecuSafe and seed-to-IPO technology D&O.

What Is The Hartford?

The Hartford is the brand of The Hartford Insurance Group, Inc., whose subsidiaries underwrite property-and-casualty insurance and employee benefits. Small-business buyers can start online or by phone or work through independent agents, while the issuing company and state eligibility still have to be confirmed on a quote. 1,2,3

Read the The Hartford profile

What Is USI Insurance Services?

USI Insurance Services is a U.S. insurance brokerage and consulting firm that arranges property and casualty, employee benefits, personal risk, and retirement programs. Its Technology practice says it works with software, hardware, and related companies from early seed stage through IPO, using a consultative process rather than a published self-serve quote. 5,6,7

Read the USI Insurance Services profile

What Is Directors and Officers Insurance?

Directors and officers liability insurance addresses covered claims alleging wrongful acts in managing an organization. 10

Read the full coverage guide

Key Differences in D&O Insurance

Carrier Package Versus Broker Endorsements

The Hartford’s D&O is one of five options in Private Choice Premier and can also be added to a Business Owner’s Policy. USI is a broker for D&O that reviews existing management-liability policies for gaps and places coverage, including through ExecuSafe. 4 8 Hartford’s page presents Hartford-underwritten D&O inside a package; USI’s page presents a brokerage placement whose issuing insurer is not named.

Who Each Path Names

Hartford offers management-liability coverages, including D&O, to nonprofits, publicly traded companies and privately held companies, with a separate financial-institution track. USI targets small- and medium-sized businesses for ExecuSafe, saying many skip D&O or buy insufficient limits, and its Technology practice places D&O for software, hardware and communications clients from seed stage through IPO. 4 8 6 Hartford’s page does not describe ExecuSafe; USI’s ExecuSafe article does not describe adviser D&O, private-fund or registered-fund products.

Claim Language and Extra Services

Hartford’s example is wrongful termination, with legal fees for claims from employees, vendors, competitors, investors or customers. USI lists breach of contract, breach of duty, misrepresentation, unfair competition, trade-secret misappropriation, securities lawsuits and creditor lawsuits, and its Technology practice cites a benchmarking case with a reported $100,000-plus annual premium reduction. 4 8 6 USI directs ExecuSafe interest by email. Neither reviewed page publishes current D&O limits or premiums for the product you would buy.

What to Confirm in D&O Insurance Quotes

  • Confirm whether Hartford D&O would sit in Private Choice Premier or on a BOP. 4
  • Confirm whether USI would use ExecuSafe, the Technology practice, or both. 8 6
  • Get the issuing insurer on the USI placement. 8
  • Treat USI’s $100,000 figure as one company-reported case. 6

Offering Details

The Hartford vs USI Insurance Services D&O Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaThe Hartford Directors and Officers Insurance (D&O)USI ExecuSafe Directors & Officers Liability Program
Role in This Line

The Hartford's D&O coverage is one of five options in its Private Choice Premier management-liability package, and can also be added to a Business Owner's Policy. 4Company-reported. Management liability product page as read 2026-09-23.

USI is a broker for D&O coverage. It says it helps clients identify D&O exposures, review any existing management liability policies for gaps, and place coverage, including through its own named endorsement package, ExecuSafe. 8Company-reported. ExecuSafe article's "How USI Can Help" section.

Issuing Insurer

Not described in the reviewed sources.

USI does not name the insurer that underwrites ExecuSafe or other D&O placements on the pages reviewed; it describes ExecuSafe as an endorsement package it applies to policies placed with the market. 8Not publicly disclosed. ExecuSafe article and Technology/Business Services practice pages as read on 2026-09-23.

Who It’s For

The Hartford's management-liability coverages, including D&O, are offered to nonprofit organizations, publicly traded companies and privately-held companies, with a separate management and professional liability track for financial institutions (adviser D&O, private fund liability, registered fund liability, among others). 4Company-reported. Management liability product page as read 2026-09-23.

USI targets small- and medium-sized businesses for ExecuSafe, saying many either skip D&O coverage or buy insufficient limits because their brokers do not help them identify the exposure. Its Technology practice separately places D&O for software, hardware and communications clients from seed stage through IPO. 8,6Company-reported. ExecuSafe article eligibility framing and Technology practice client description.

Coverage Features

The Hartford says D&O helps protect directors and officers from mistakes or wrongful acts in managing the company, covering legal fees for claims from employees, vendors, competitors, investors or customers; its example is an employee suing for wrongful termination. 4Company-reported. Management liability product page as read 2026-09-23. General coverage description; the issued policy controls.

USI says D&O insurance is meant to protect a company's leadership from personal loss in a lawsuit, since the corporate veil does not shield directors and officers from personal liability for the business's actions and debts. It lists breach of contract, breach of duty, misrepresentation, unfair competition, misappropriation of trade secrets, securities lawsuits and creditor lawsuits as common claim types the coverage responds to. 8Company-reported. ExecuSafe article's description of D&O purpose and claim types; actual insuring agreements and exclusions are set by the issued policy.

Limits and Retentions

Not described in the reviewed sources.

USI cites a 2016 Chubb survey that found 43% of private companies carry no D&O coverage, with an average private-company D&O claim cost of $450,000, but the article does not publish USI's own placed limits, retentions or premium ranges for ExecuSafe. 8Not publicly disclosed. Third-party statistic cited by USI to illustrate exposure, not USI's own placement data.

Risk Services

Not described in the reviewed sources.

USI's Technology practice cites a case study where its benchmarking analysis showed a software company was buying more D&O limit than peers with similar risk profiles, and says the resulting change saved the client more than $100,000 per year in D&O premium. 6Company-reported. Single case study on the Technology practice page; company-reported outcome, not independently verified.

How to Apply

Not described in the reviewed sources.

USI directs small- and medium-sized businesses interested in ExecuSafe to email Select.Business@usi.com; its Technology and Business Services practices separately route inquiries to pcinquiries@usi.com or a local USI office. 8,6,9Company-reported. Contact instructions on the ExecuSafe article and the Technology and Business Services pages.

Full Comparison

More The Hartford vs USI Insurance Services Comparisons

Other D&O Insurance Comparisons

Sources

The Hartford

  1. SaaS Insurance for Your Business. The Hartford; Audience list (software startups, SaaS, IT consulting); Get a Business Owner’s Policy; What Is Business Owner’s Policy Insurance?; general liability introduction and Get a Quote; Get Commercial Property Insurance; Commercial Property Insurance for Your Business; Benefits of The Hartford’s WC Insurance for Employers and Employees; cyber insurance and data breach descriptions; Get a quote for cyber insurance; EPLI introduction and Private Choice Premier; add-ons (workers’ compensation, data breach, commercial auto); technology professional liability mention; small-business availability banner; industry-average premium footnote; footnote 2 state restrictions; footer product-availability disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Find a Local Insurance Agent. The Hartford; Small-business and midsize agent locators; FAQ that buyers can purchase without an agent by calling or quoting online; statement that agents may charge fees. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Management Liability Insurance | Get a Quote. The Hartford; Directors and Officers Insurance (D&O) section; Who Does Management Liability Insurance Protect?; Management Liability Insurance for Nonprofit/Publicly Traded/Financial Institutions organizations. Accessed 2026-09-23.

USI Insurance Services

  1. The Power of ONE. USI Insurance Services; History, client-count, nationwide office, and P&C / benefits / personal risk / retirement description. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Technology Insurance. USI Insurance Services; USI's Technology Practice provides risk management advisory and insurance placement for: ...Directors & Officers Liability...; CASE STUDY: USI Benchmarking Saves Software Company $100,000 in D&O Premiums. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  3. Commissions and Fees. USI Insurance Services; Licensed-producer authority, insurer-paid commission default, contingent compensation, and client request right. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Protect Your Company and Personal Assets From Management Liability Risks. USI Insurance Services; JULY 5, 2023 article; common D&O claim types (Breach of Contract, Breach of Duty, Misrepresentation, Unfair Competition, Misappropriation of Trade Secrets, Securities Lawsuits, Creditor Lawsuits); Creditor Suit and Competitor Disputes scenarios; How USI Can Help; ExecuSafe endorsement packs. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  5. Business Services. USI Insurance Services; USI advises clients...and provides solutions for...Directors & Officers Liability... Accessed 2026-09-23.

D&O Insurance Guide

  1. Glossary of Business Insurance Terms. The Hartford; Directors and Officers Liability Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance; Employment Practices Liability Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Let Spot Handle the Insurance Legwork.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot