Liberty Mutual vs Lockton: How Do They Compare for D&O Insurance?

Liberty Mutual describes ProShield as one package combining management-liability lines. Lockton explains Side A, Side B and Side C structures and how entity coverage can differ by organization type. 3,7

What Is Liberty Mutual Business Insurance?

Liberty Mutual spans small-commercial, commercial, specialty, surety, and reinsurance businesses. The insurer and distribution route depend on the product, so check the offer and policy before you compare terms. 1,2

Read the Liberty Mutual profile

Read the Liberty Mutual D&O Insurance page

What Is Lockton?

Lockton suits technology companies and larger businesses seeking a broker across cyber, D&O, property, liability and benefits; small firms wanting an instant standard quote should compare digital agencies. 4,5,6

Read the Lockton profile

Read the Lockton D&O Insurance page

What Is Directors and Officers Insurance?

D&O insurance can help pay covered defense costs and losses from claims against company leaders over management decisions. If your organization has a board or executives, check whether the company itself is insured and whether legal bills reduce the limit. 8,9,10

Read the full coverage guide

Key Differences in D&O Insurance

Terms that matter before a claim

Liberty Mutual describes ProShield as a combined management-liability package intended to reduce separate endorsements. Lockton describes how it designs D&O programs using Side A for individuals, Side B reimbursement and Side C entity coverage, with Side C generally narrower for public companies than for private and nonprofit organizations. A buyer comparing a package with a broker-designed program should map each quoted coverage part and aggregate explicitly. 3 7

Placement and coverage structure

Lockton says its placed wording can extend insured status to people beyond directors and officers, including trustees, employees, volunteers, subsidiaries and estates or heirs. Liberty Mutual’s overview distinguishes private-company and not-for-profit options but does not enumerate comparable insured persons. Boards should identify every role and entity requiring protection and confirm who qualifies in the actual form. 7 3

What to Confirm in D&O Insurance Quotes

  • Which ProShield coverages share an aggregate? Does the Lockton form extend insured status to the company’s trustees, volunteers, subsidiaries and estates as needed? Compare Side A, B and C limits, investigation costs and retentions in the issued proposals.

Liberty Mutual and Lockton Review Scores for 2026

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.

Liberty Mutual Review Score

7.2/ 10

Review Score

2 rated sources

Customers give Liberty Mutual 4.2 out of 5 on Trustpilot from 3,836 reviews, but that page mixes auto, home and life customers with business ones. For business insurance specifically, NerdWallet gives 3.0 out of 5 and reports more complaints than expected.[4][1]

Read Liberty Mutual reviews

Lockton Review Score

8.4/ 10

Review Score

3 rated sources

Lockton’s reviews vary by office and entity. Local Google-derived ratings provide some service feedback, but no reliable firmwide verdict.[2][6][7][8]

Read Lockton reviews

Liberty Mutual vs Lockton D&O Insurance Compared

Liberty Mutual vs Lockton: D&O Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaLiberty Mutual ProShield Directors and Officers coverageLockton Directors & Officers (D&O) Insurance Brokerage
Role in This Line

Liberty Mutual includes D&O coverage in its ProShield management-liability package. 3Company-reported. Liberty Mutual’s cited product or program overview documents this description. It does not establish the issuing insurer for an individual quote, exact state or provincial availability, the policy form, complete exclusions, or terms offered to a particular buyer; confirm those in the quote and policy documents.

Lockton designs and places D&O programs rather than underwriting them, saying effective coverage requires market intelligence, coverage-design precision and staying ahead of emerging risks like AI-related litigation and event-driven claims. 7Company-reported. D&O product page as read 2026-09-23.

Issuing Insurer

Confirm in your quote.

The D&O page does not name the insurers Lockton places D&O coverage with. 7Not publicly disclosed. D&O product page checked 2026-09-23.

Who It’s For

The source describes private-company and not-for-profit ProShield options; it does not establish availability for every organization. 3Company-reported. Liberty Mutual’s cited product or program overview documents this description. It does not establish the issuing insurer for an individual quote, exact state or provincial availability, the policy form, complete exclusions, or terms offered to a particular buyer; confirm those in the quote and policy documents.

Lockton says D&O coverage it places can extend beyond directors and officers to trustees, employees, independent contractors, staff, committee members, volunteers, the corporate entity, majority-owned subsidiaries, spouses/domestic partners, and estates/heirs. 7Company-reported. D&O product page as read 2026-09-23. Describes who can typically be covered under a program Lockton structures, not a guarantee for any specific client.

Coverage Features

The page lists selected D&O features such as investigation and pre-claim inquiry coverage and separate options for private and not-for-profit companies; policy wording controls. 3Company-reported. Liberty Mutual’s cited product or program overview documents this description. It does not establish the issuing insurer for an individual quote, exact state or provincial availability, the policy form, complete exclusions, or terms offered to a particular buyer; confirm those in the quote and policy documents.

Lockton explains a traditional D&O program in three parts it says it can structure: Side A (direct coverage to individual directors/officers when the company can't indemnify them), Side B (reimbursing the company for indemnifying its D&Os), and Side C (entity coverage, generally limited to securities claims for public companies but broader for private and nonprofit organizations). 7Company-reported. D&O product page as read 2026-09-23. General educational description of program structure, not a specimen policy form.

Limits and Retentions

The cited public overview does not establish the limits, deductibles, exclusions or form terms that would apply to a specific buyer. 3Not publicly disclosed. Ask for the quote and specimen or issued policy forms before treating a listed feature as covered.

Confirm in your quote.

Risk Services

Liberty Mutual describes ProShield as one package policy that combines multiple management-liability coverages and is designed to reduce the need for separate endorsements. 3Company-reported. Liberty Mutual’s cited product or program overview documents this description. It does not establish the issuing insurer for an individual quote, exact state or provincial availability, the policy form, complete exclusions, or terms offered to a particular buyer; confirm those in the quote and policy documents.

Confirm in your quote.

Claims Support

Confirm in your quote.

Lockton says its Professional & Executive Risk Claims team integrates experienced insurance and claims counsel within the broking team from the start of the relationship, rather than treating claims advocacy as a separate profit center. 7Company-reported. D&O product page as read 2026-09-23.

Related Pages for Liberty Mutual vs Lockton D&O Insurance

D&O Insurance Pages for Liberty Mutual and Lockton

Other Coverage Lines Compared for Liberty Mutual vs Lockton

Other D&O Insurance Provider Comparisons

Sources for Liberty Mutual vs Lockton D&O Insurance

Sources About Liberty Mutual

  1. Company Profile. Liberty Mutual Group; Strategic business units paragraph: US Retail Markets (individuals/small businesses; small commercial; countrywide) and Global Risk Solutions (mid-size/large businesses; commercial, specialty, reinsurance, surety; worldwide). Accessed 2026-09-29.
  2. Commercial Insurance Solutions. Liberty Mutual Business Insurance; Commercial solutions index names commercial auto and fleet, cyber, environmental liability, equipment breakdown, excess and surplus, general liability, healthcare liability, inland marine, management liability, multinational, ocean marine, professional liability, property, reinsurance, surety, umbrella/excess and workers compensation. Disclosure says policy insurer is named when offered, may be an affiliate/subsidiary or surplus-lines insurer; states/jurisdictions and actual policy terms vary. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  3. ProShield. Liberty Mutual Business Insurance; Opening paragraphs identify package combining directors and officers, employment practices, fiduciary, and crime coverages; D&O and crime sections describe examples of exposures and selected coverage features. Examples are not policy terms. Accessed 2026-09-29.

Sources About Lockton

  1. Lockton United States. Lockton; Opening description of independent insurance brokerage for risk, benefits and retirement; Ask an Expert link to contact-us. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Technology. Lockton; Industry introduction; cyber liability heading; dedicated technology team; listed services including claims advocacy, contract review, directors and officers liability, and international program design; 24/7 service model. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. US Terms of Business. Lockton; Opening entity definition; Surplus Lines; Use of a Particular Insurer; Compensation Disclosure; servicing, claims handling and renewal language in Confidentiality section; Intermediaries. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. D&O Insurance. Lockton; What is D&O insurance?; Side A/B/C coverage components; Who can be covered under a D&O program?; Claims management. Accessed 2026-09-23.

Sources for the D&O Insurance Guide

  1. Glossary of Business Insurance Terms. The Hartford; Directors and Officers Liability Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance; Employment Practices Liability Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. The Chubb Primary Directors & Officers and Entity Securities Liability Insurance. Chubb Group of Insurance Companies; hosted by eperils; I.A–C p.1; I.C p.1; I and III.A–B pp.1–2; VI Reporting pp.3–4. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Private Company Directors and Officers Liability Coverage. Travelers Casualty and Surety Company of America; I.A–C p.1; I.C p.1; Header p.1 and VI.A pp.6–7. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Get Help With Insurance Buying and Renewals.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot