Layr vs Mylo: How Do They Compare for Business Insurance?

Layr supports small-commercial service through a participating broker; Mylo shops commercial policies and offers health, dental, vision, life and disability benefits to teams of 2–99.

An Overview of Layr and Mylo

A design studio adding employees can keep its current property-and-casualty broker while evaluating Mylo’s separate benefits enrollment and HR portal. Mylo targets groups with 2–99 employees; Layr provides service tools behind a participating broker. 2 28 15 Choose Layr if your current broker uses it for commercial policies; choose Mylo if your team has 2–99 employees and needs benefits enrollment.

For a design studio that wants easier policy administration while adding employee benefits, first identify who handles the commercial account. Retaining its current property-and-casualty broker with Layr behind the scenes is a different arrangement from shopping through Mylo; the benefits decision can be separate from either commercial placement. 2 5 15 28

What Stands Out About Layr and Mylo?

Layr at a Glance

  • Independent brokerages can offer small businesses workflow software and licensed help under the broker’s own brand. 2,3,5Company-reportedCurrent broker-facing business model described on Layr's live company, broker and portal pages; functions are company-reported and were not tested through an account.
  • A broker-branded portal can organize policy documents, certificates, claims, renewals and payments, with licensed staff support. 5,12Company-reportedCompany-described platform functions. No authenticated broker or policyholder account was accessed, and no service-time commitment was independently tested.

Mylo at a Glance

  • Shop online or with a licensed advisor; Mylo says it compares available quotes and an agent finalizes most policies. 15,17Company-reportedCurrent direct small-business workflow described on Mylo’s site. The sources do not promise a quote, bindable offer or completion time for every applicant.
  • Employers with 2–99 employees can review group benefits with an advisor and use a year-round HR portal. 28Company-reportedMylo’s small-group benefits service. Plan availability, employer contribution rules, networks and state requirements remain plan-specific.

Layr vs Mylo Coverage Lines Compared

CoverageLayrMylo
Business owner’s policyNot listedListed 15,19Mylo lists a business owner’s policy among its business insurance products.
Commercial autoNot listedListed 20As of September 16, 2026, Mylo invites commercial-auto quote requests and describes comparing policies from multiple insurers.
Cyber liabilityNot listedListed 22Mylo invites cyber insurance quote requests and compares policies from multiple insurers.
Employee health and benefitsNot listedListed 28Mylo helps employers with 2–99 employees compare and enroll in small-group health, dental and vision plans.
General liabilityNot listedListed 21Mylo compares general liability quotes from insurance carriers and also offers package options.
Medical malpracticeNot listedListed 23Mylo compares medical malpractice insurance options from insurers.
Professional errors and omissions (E&O)Not listedListed 24Mylo compares professional liability quotes for claims from clients unhappy with professional services.
Surety bondsNot listedListed 25Mylo compares commercial surety-bond quotes for license or permit obligations.
Umbrella and excess liabilityNot listedListed 26Mylo compares commercial umbrella quotes from insurers.
Workers’ compensationNot listedListed 27Mylo compares workers’ compensation options from insurers.

A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means we have no separate offering page for it; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.

Layr and Mylo Review Scores for 2026

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for its sources, what it covers and how the score is calculated.

Layr Review Score

-/ 10

Review Score

No reviews found

Layr has no customer reviews of its insurance service yet. Its Trustpilot profile has no reviews, and its only rating is one review of its broker software.

Read Layr reviews

Mylo Review Score

7.7/ 10

Review Score

2 rated sources

Mylo has strong feedback on its Kansas City Birdeye listing, while its tiny Trustpilot sample is negative. Most available feedback mixes personal and business insurance.

Read Mylo reviews

Key Differences Between Layr and Mylo

Broker of Record, Branding and Partner Channels

Layr explicitly tells brokerages they remain broker of record—the appointed broker on the account—and retain their commissions. Its FAQ says phone numbers, email and the portal can carry the brokerage’s branding. If the studio’s familiar agency introduces a new portal, ask which work that agency performs and which work Layr’s licensed support team performs. The visible brand alone may not explain who answers a coverage question or follows up with the insurer. 2 6 5

Mylo’s partner page addresses insurance agencies and businesses in other industries, offering an embedded selection of products. Its direct commercial process uses Mylo’s advisors to finalize most policies. Don’t assume Mylo’s partner materials describe an equivalent to Layr’s retained-broker arrangement. Before accepting an introduction, request the producer name, appointment arrangement and service contact that apply to that particular Mylo channel. 29 15

Ask the introducing agency whether the new system can use the studio’s existing insurer and what will change in the application. Layr says it can work with existing carriers and recreate an application for a carrier without online quoting. Mylo emphasizes matching customers to available carriers and a selectable embedded product range. Have the agency demonstrate the studio’s route from application to service: an online entry point does not by itself determine market access, account ownership or the work left with that agency. 6 29

Professional Work and Employee Benefits

Layr’s current new-business illustration includes liability, property, workers’ compensation, auto, umbrella and cyber categories. Mylo’s commercial catalogue includes professional liability as well as ordinary business cover. For the design studio, send the services and client contracts to the advisor and ask which proposed form addresses allegations about its professional work. A general-liability quote is not enough information to settle that question, and Layr’s illustrated menu doesn’t confirm the full product range any given agency can actually implement. 4 6 15 24

Mylo separately offers health, dental, vision, life and disability options for employers with 2–99 employees, with advisor assistance, employee enrollment and an HR portal. Workers’ compensation in either commercial catalogue is not the same purchase as these employee benefits. If the studio wants to begin benefits at a different date from its business-policy renewal, request separate proposals and implementation schedules instead of assuming one commercial application enrolls employees. 28 27 4

Layr’s current pages establish small-commercial brokerage infrastructure, not a matching benefits enrollment service. That is a boundary in the offering, not proof that the studio’s existing brokerage cannot arrange benefits elsewhere. The owner can retain that broker for business coverage while evaluating Mylo’s benefits service on its own terms. 2 4 28

Application, Binding and Renewal Handoffs

Layr’s described flow takes the owner through selecting coverage and payment before submission to underwriting. Mylo says some combinations can be bought online but an agent finalizes most policies; its website terms also say a purchase is not guaranteed to produce an issued policy. For a studio with a new office lease, ask for the insurer’s accepted proposal and effective date rather than treating completion of the website steps as proof the lease requirements are satisfied. 11 15 17

Layr describes renewal notices, collection of changed information, negotiation with underwriters and document completion. Policies requiring updates get a different process from automatic renewals. Mylo’s public carrier directory supplies support contacts, but does not define one renewal workflow for every carrier. Ask each service team who will collect the studio’s changed payroll, office details and professional activities, and when the owner must approve or decline the proposal. 6 18 15

Payment Arrangements and Claims Contacts

Layr's current broker FAQ says Layr receives a percentage of premium while the brokerage keeps 100% of commissions. A separate consumer-facing disclosure says carriers pay Layr a commission and businesses may pay a finance fee of up to 20% of premium. The pages do not reconcile which arrangement applies to a particular broker, policyholder or payment plan. 6,8Conflicting sourcesTwo public compensation descriptions for different apparent audiences. Actual agreements and itemized charges were not available.

That distinction matters for an owner introduced through a brokerage: the brokerage’s retained commissions don’t tell you what you, the policyholder, will actually pay. Request the applicable Layr-backed service and payment agreement, including whether the quoted finance fee applies and how it changes the total annual amount. A percentage of premium should not be presented as an annual interest rate without the financing terms needed to calculate it. 6 8

Mylo describes guided shopping as free, generally funded by carrier commission, but identifies a minority of transactions with a fee when it handles billing. Ask whether the proposed commercial and benefits arrangements fall within that exception and obtain the amount. Compare premium, payment costs and separately charged services; neither company’s general description prices the studio’s eventual package. 16 28 8

Layr describes claim activity in its portal and licensed support. Mylo publishes carrier-specific claims contacts and a service fallback if the carrier is absent. Save the insurer’s notice route alongside the advisor’s details, including a separate contact for employee-benefits questions. A dashboard or referral service is useful administration, but does not identify the insurer’s coverage decision or demonstrate claims quality. 5 18 28

What Should You Confirm in Layr and Mylo Quotes?

  • Commercial account ownership: identify the appointed broker, supporting platform, insurer contacts and who handles amendments and renewal approval. 2 6 29
  • Professional-work proposal: give the advisor the studio’s services and contracts, and request the relevant coverage definition rather than relying on a general-liability selection. 4 6 24
  • Benefits implementation: request the offered plans, employer eligibility, enrollment owner, start date and ongoing HR-portal support separately from business insurance. 28
  • Itemized payment schedules: establish which Layr fee arrangement or Mylo billing exception applies, then compare full annual totals and cancellation balances. 8 16

Layr vs Mylo Services Compared

What each provider says about the services you may need

CriteriaLayrMylo
Application process

Layr describes an online workflow in which a small-business owner assesses and selects coverage, pays, and then has the submission sent to underwriting. Current pages use different speed claims—10 minutes on New Business Capture and 12 minutes in a 2024 announcement—so neither figure establishes the time to receive or bind an actual quote. 4,11Conflicting sourcesCompany-described digital workflow. No form was completed and no quote, payment or underwriting decision was requested during research.

A business buyer can answer questions about the company and industry online or work by phone with a licensed advisor. Mylo says its system recommends coverage and compares available quotes; some carrier and coverage combinations can be purchased online, but an agent finalizes the policy in most cases. 15,17Company-reportedCurrent direct small-business workflow described on Mylo’s site. The sources do not promise a quote, bindable offer or completion time for every applicant.

Mylo’s Terms of Use, last updated May 27, 2026, say purchases may have additional transaction terms, require accurate and complete application answers, and may not result in an issued policy. AI-generated estimates are not quotes, binders or coverage; the carrier determines the actual offer after a complete application. 17Company-reportedWebsite Terms §§1.2, 6 and 9.1.1, last updated May 27, 2026; not the complete terms of an individual insurance transaction or insurer policy.

Access to insurers

Layr says it works with major national insurers, accesses other markets through wholesalers and can use a brokerage customer's existing carriers. It does not publish a current legal-entity carrier panel or promise that every market will quote every account. 6Company-reportedCurrent broker FAQ; no carrier appointments, financial-strength ratings or account-specific market access independently verified.

The reviewed current product, portal and FAQ pages do not identify the issuing insurer or policy form for each available product. Those details must come from the actual proposal and policy. 4,7,6Not publicly disclosedCurrent platform and FAQ pages plus previously reviewed cyber product material. The dedicated cyber page is no longer available; that is not a finding that Layr lacks insurer relationships.

Mylo says its commercial brokerage works with more than 40 carrier partners and names Travelers, Liberty Mutual, The Hartford and Hiscox as examples. That panel does not establish which insurers will consider or quote a particular business. 15,18Company-reportedCompany-described commercial carrier panel. No account-specific market submission or insurer response was reviewed.

Mylo’s public pages do not provide a complete product-and-state schedule of issuing insurers. The carrier contact directory names companies used for some customers, but the legal insurer for each proposed policy must be confirmed in the quote and policy documents. 15,18,17Not found in reviewed sourcesCommercial products and carrier materials publicly reviewed on 15 September 2026. A missing public schedule does not mean a carrier relationship is unavailable.

Servicing and renewals

Layr markets a white-labeled portal with licensed support and broker dashboard updates for policies, renewals, claims and payments. A company release also describes policyholder access to documents, quotes, claims, certificates, bills and electronic payments. 5,12Company-reportedCompany-described platform functions. No authenticated broker or policyholder account was accessed, and no service-time commitment was independently tested.

Layr says its team gathers updates, negotiates renewal terms with underwriters and finalizes renewal documents. It describes automatic-renewal policies as hands-free and says customers whose policies need updated information are alerted 60 days before renewal. 6Company-reportedCurrent FAQ description. It does not state the notice needed to stop an automatic renewal or guarantee a renewal offer.

The reviewed public pages identify Mylo advisors, a service-professional fallback and a benefits HR portal, but do not establish one universal workflow for commercial policy changes, certificates, renewals or cancellations across carriers. 15,18,28Not found in reviewed sourcesPublic direct-business, carrier-contact and group-benefits pages reviewed on 15 September 2026. Carrier- or policy-specific service may still be available.

Fees and compensation

Layr's current broker FAQ says Layr receives a percentage of premium while the brokerage keeps 100% of commissions. A separate consumer-facing disclosure says carriers pay Layr a commission and businesses may pay a finance fee of up to 20% of premium. The pages do not reconcile which arrangement applies to a particular broker, policyholder or payment plan. 6,8Conflicting sourcesTwo public compensation descriptions for different apparent audiences. Actual agreements and itemized charges were not available.

Layr's consumer-facing compensation disclosure says a business that uses its monthly credit-card payment arrangement can pay a percentage-based finance fee of up to 20% of premium. The page does not provide an account-specific rate, total repayment or cancellation terms. 8Company-reportedPublic compensation disclosure; current applicability to every Layr Apex implementation or payment option is not established.

Mylo says its guided shopping service is free and that 95% of customers do not pay Mylo a fee when purchasing. It generally earns a carrier commission; in fewer than 5% of transactions, it says it charges a fee when it handles billing and incurs higher administrative costs. The reviewed disclosure does not give the fee amount. 16Company-reportedCompany-wide consumer disclosure on Mylo’s About page. It does not identify the commission or fee for a specific commercial placement.

Claims assistance

Layr's current portal materials describe claims activity, online claim functions and help from its licensed support team. They do not establish that Layr is the risk-bearing insurer or replace the notice requirements in the policy. 5,12Company-reportedCompany-described claims workflow and support; no claim was submitted and claims outcomes were not independently evaluated.

Mylo publishes carrier-specific support and claims contacts and directs customers to the insurer for many service needs. If a carrier is not listed, the page gives a Mylo Service Professional number; it does not promise that Mylo decides or pays claims. 18Company-reportedPublic service directory for existing customers. Claim reporting duties and deadlines remain controlled by the applicable policy and insurer instructions.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Comparisons Related to Layr vs Mylo

  • Compare AIG’s insurance group with Layr’s broker-facing insurance workflow platform and licensed support model.

  • Compare AIG’s broker-accessible insurer products with Mylo’s guided small-business shopping and agency support.

  • Alliance Risk brokers a broad range of commercial coverage; Layr gives participating brokerages document and renewal tools; it does not replace the broker giving coverage advice.

All Comparisons

Get Help With Insurance Buying and Renewals.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Create your account and submit an insurance request online.

Talk to Spot