HUB International vs TechInsurance D&O Insurance

HUB brokers ProEx D&O as placed executive liability; TechInsurance can sell D&O standalone or as a GL or BOP endorsement.

What Is HUB International?

HUB International is a North American insurance brokerage that arranges business insurance, employee benefits and related risk services through local offices and specialist practices. Smaller commercial accounts may be sent to Insureon for an online quote; other programs are handled by HUB advisors, with policy terms set by the insurers they use. 1,2,3

Read the HUB International profile

What Is TechInsurance?

TechInsurance is a small-business insurance agency and brokerage with a technology focus, offering online quote comparison and agent assistance through the Insureon organization. 6,7

Read the TechInsurance profile

What Is Directors and Officers Insurance?

Directors and officers liability insurance addresses covered claims alleging wrongful acts in managing an organization. 9

Read the full coverage guide

Key Differences in D&O Insurance

Standalone Placement Versus a Package Add-On

HUB brokers D&O inside ProEx as executive liability placed with a carrier; it does not issue the policy. 4 5 TechInsurance also arranges D&O, and it says you can buy that cover as its own policy or add it as an endorsement to general liability or a business owner’s policy. 8 A HUB quote is a separate management-liability placement. A TechInsurance quote may ride on a package you already buy.

Who Each Firm Names as a Buyer

HUB markets D&O brokerage to private companies, nonprofits and public companies. 4 TechInsurance targets companies with an active board: employers with employees or stockholders, venture-backed startups whose term sheets often require D&O, and nonprofits. 8 Both name nonprofits. HUB also names public issuers as a segment; TechInsurance’s reviewed page does not split public companies out the same way.

What Each Page Discloses on Price

TechInsurance says D&O policyholders pay a median of $133 per month, with premium depending on limits, deductible, jurisdiction, industry, headcount, revenue, claims history and IPO potential. 8 HUB’s reviewed D&O and ProEx pages do not publish premiums, limits or retentions. 4 You compare cost only after both quotes show the same limit and retention.

What to Confirm in D&O Insurance Quotes

  • Ask TechInsurance whether the quote is standalone D&O or a GL/BOP endorsement. 8
  • Ask HUB which carrier would issue the policy. 5
  • Confirm whether the form is claims-made; TechInsurance says it is, and HUB’s reviewed pages do not state the trigger. 8 4
  • Compare actual premium with TechInsurance’s $133 median and get HUB’s unpublished limit. 8 4

Offering Details

HUB International vs TechInsurance D&O Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaHUB International Directors and Officers Insurance BrokerageTechInsurance Directors and Officers Insurance (D&O)
Role in This Line

HUB brokers D&O liability coverage for private, nonprofit and public-company clients as part of its ProEx Professional & Executive Risk practice, rather than underwriting the policy itself. 4,5Company-reported. D&O product page and ProEx coverage list, read 2026-09-23. Neither page names an issuing insurer.

TechInsurance arranges directors and officers (D&O) insurance, a type of management liability insurance, and says it can be purchased as a standalone policy or as an endorsement to a general liability policy or business owner's policy. 8Company-reported. D&O product page.

Issuing Insurer

The D&O product page and the ProEx coverage list do not name an issuing insurer for D&O policies; HUB says ProEx places over $2 billion in premium with insurers it calls top-rated carriers, without naming them. 4,5Not found in reviewed sources. Checked both pages on 2026-09-23; the carrier for a specific D&O placement depends on the quote.

The reviewed page does not name the issuing insurer for a D&O policy. 8Not publicly disclosed. D&O product page as read on 2026-09-23.

Who It’s For

HUB markets D&O brokerage to three segments: private companies with customer and supplier relationships, nonprofits with advisory boards or committees, and public companies with shareholders. 4Company-reported. D&O product page target-market description; not an underwriting appetite statement.

TechInsurance targets D&O at companies with an active board, naming employers with employees or stockholders, venture-backed startups (where investor term sheets often require the coverage), and nonprofits (where most states require a board of directors) as examples. 8Company-reported. D&O product page, Who needs D&O insurance coverage? section.

Coverage Features

HUB describes D&O coverage it arranges as addressing three areas: personal asset protection for monetary judgments and settlements from an alleged breach of duty, loyalty or care; defense in civil, criminal, judicial, administrative, regulatory or arbitration proceedings; and workplace and employment protection for breach-of-fiduciary-duty and employment-related suits. 4Company-reported. Product-page marketing description; the issued policy's insuring agreements, conditions and exclusions control an actual claim.

HUB says D&O claims it sees can come from regulators, donors, clients or customers, suppliers, competitors, employees, shareholders and creditors. 4Company-reported. Product-page list of potential claim sources; not a guarantee of coverage for any specific claimant.

TechInsurance says D&O covers legal costs when directors, board members or officers are sued over employment practices, fund mismanagement, failure to follow corporate bylaws, regulatory non-compliance, or IP infringement or libel tied to their decisions, and structures coverage into Side A (personal protection), Side B (company reimbursement) and Side C (entity coverage, mainly for public-company securities claims). 8Company-reported. D&O product page; general policy description, not a specific policy form.

TechInsurance says D&O is a claims-made policy, meaning coverage applies only if the policy is active when a claim is made, and that criminal acts by directors or officers, such as fraud or embezzlement, are excluded. 8Company-reported. D&O product page, How does directors and officers insurance work? and exclusions sections.

Limits and Retentions

Published D&O policy limits or retentions were not found on the reviewed pages. 4,5Not publicly disclosed. Checked the D&O product page and ProEx page on 2026-09-23; limits are set on the quote and declarations.

TechInsurance says D&O policyholders pay a median of $133 per month, with the exact premium depending on policy limits, deductible, legal jurisdiction, industry risk, headcount, revenue, claims history and IPO potential. 8Company-reported. D&O product page cost section; a company-reported median from TechInsurance's own book of business, not a published rate table.

Risk Services

HUB says its ProEx practice, which lists D&O among its Executive Liability coverages, provides analytics, litigation support and risk-management services to clients of all sizes, led by a named ProEx practice leader. 5Company-reported. ProEx page team and services description; not specific to a single D&O engagement.

Not described in the reviewed sources.

How to Apply

HUB directs D&O prospects to "Connect With a Broker" rather than an online quote or bind flow. 4Company-reported. D&O product page call to action.

Not described in the reviewed sources.

Claims Support

HUB describes a Claims & Legal Risks Group, staffed by attorneys who specialize in ProEx coverages including D&O, that provides management-liability claims support from pre-claim policy-wording review through claim recovery. 5Company-reported. ProEx page claims and legal support section.

Not described in the reviewed sources.

Full Comparison

More HUB International vs TechInsurance Comparisons

Other D&O Insurance Comparisons

Sources

HUB International

  1. About Us. HUB International; Opening description; 1998 formation of HUB International Limited; 2022 Insureon acquisition; headquarters and employee/office counts. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Contact Us. HUB International; Business Solutions paths for Commercial Insurance Solutions versus Small Commercial Insurance Solutions via Insureon; office search. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Insurance for Technology Companies. HUB International; Technology Company Insurance & Risk Management: startup, software, hardware and digital-media introduction; Business Coverage and People Protection lists; technology-client count. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Directors and Officers (D&O) Liability Insurance Broker. HUB International; Target segments: private companies, nonprofit organizations, public companies; Personal Asset Protection, Claims Protection, Workplace & Employment Protection; list of potential claimants; 2016 private-company D&O claim statistic; Connect With a Broker call to action. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  5. HUB ProEx. HUB International; ProEx Coverages list including Directors & Officers Liability (D&O) and Side-A Only Excess D&O under Executive Liability; Claims & Legal Support section; ProEx premium volume statement. Accessed 2026-09-23.

TechInsurance

  1. About TechInsurance. TechInsurance; Opening description; one-application process; History of TechInsurance, 2011 and 2022 entries. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Contact Us. TechInsurance; FAQs: How does TechInsurance work? (agent assistance obtaining surety bonds); agent or broker role; application; finding quotes; updating address; certificates. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Directors and Officers Insurance (D&O) Quotes Online. TechInsurance; What does directors and officers insurance cover? (employment practices, mismanaged funds, corporate bylaws, regulatory compliance, IP infringement); What does side A, B, and C mean in D&O insurance?; How much does directors and officers insurance cost?; How do you get a certificate of insurance? (standalone or endorsement). Accessed 2026-09-23.

D&O Insurance Guide

  1. Glossary of Business Insurance Terms. The Hartford; Directors and Officers Liability Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance; Employment Practices Liability Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Let Spot Handle the Insurance Legwork.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot