HUB International vs
Relm Insurance Kidnap and Ransom Insurance
HUB brokers K&R through ProEx for traveling executives; Relm launched a product for digital-asset and cannabis operators.
What Is HUB International?
HUB International is a North American insurance brokerage that arranges business insurance, employee benefits and related risk services through local offices and specialist practices. Smaller commercial accounts may be sent to Insureon for an online quote; other programs are handled by HUB advisors, with policy terms set by the insurers they use. 1,2,3
What Is Relm Insurance?
Relm is a specialty insurance business serving emerging industries. Its AI range distinguishes developer liability, gaps in existing liability insurance and losses from third-party AI failures. 6,7
What Is Kidnap and Ransom Insurance?
Kidnap and ransom insurance provides financial protection for specified kidnapping and extortion events and gives the business access to a crisis-response firm. Check who is insured, which events are named, and how territory and sanctions terms apply to your actual travel. 9,10,11
Key Differences in Kidnap and Ransom Insurance
Broker Versus Specialty Product
HUB brokers kidnap and ransom rather than underwriting it, both as a product-page offering and as a ProEx Executive Liability coverage. Relm announced its own K&R product, built with an unnamed third-party personnel-security partner for incident response. HUB directs prospects to connect with a broker; Relm’s announcement does not describe an online quote flow. 4 5 8
Audience
HUB markets K&R to organizations with executives who travel internationally, employees working abroad or domestically, and other key personnel plus their families. Relm designed the product specifically for individuals and organizations in the digital asset and cannabis sectors, citing crypto leaders being doxxed and cannabis operators handling large amounts of physical cash. 4 8
What Is Documented About Cover and Response
HUB’s product page does not list specific K&R insuring agreements; it cites incident statistics, related D&O, business interruption and cyber links, and ProEx analytics, litigation support and a Claims & Legal Risks Group of attorneys. Relm lists kidnap, extortion, threats, disappearance, express or virtual kidnap, malicious detention, hijack, hostage crises and evacuation due to a credible threat, plus a 24/7 operations center with Security Response Directors in eight countries and a 10% Risk Mitigation Allowance. HUB’s reviewed pages do not describe a percentage risk-mitigation allowance or named geographic response hubs. Neither firm’s reviewed pages name the issuing insurer. 4 5 8
What to Confirm in Kidnap and Ransom Insurance Quotes
- Ask Relm which entity issues the policy and which partner staffs the operations center; ask HUB which ProEx market writes the placement. 8 5
- Confirm whether Relm’s 10% Risk Mitigation Allowance and virtual-kidnap wording appear on the quote, and whether HUB’s attorney claims group applies. 8 5
- Check eligibility if you sit outside digital-asset or cannabis work (Relm) or outside HUB’s traveling-executive targeting. 8 4
- Request limits; HUB’s pages do not publish them, and Relm’s announcement does not either. 4 8
Offering Details
HUB International vs Relm Insurance Kidnap and Ransom Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | HUB International Kidnap and Ransom Insurance Brokerage | Relm Kidnap and Ransom (K&R) Insurance |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | HUB brokers kidnap and ransom (K&R) insurance both as a standalone product page offering and as one of the Executive Liability coverages in its ProEx Professional & Executive Risk practice, rather than underwriting the policy itself. 4,5Company-reported. K&R product page and ProEx coverage list, read 2026-09-23. Neither page names an issuing insurer. | Relm announced its own Kidnap and Ransom (K&R) insurance product, built in partnership with an unnamed third-party industry leader in personnel security and crisis response for the incident-response side of the offering. 8Company-reported. Company launch announcement; not a statement identifying the specific issuing insurer for a K&R placement. |
| Issuing Insurer | The K&R product page and the ProEx page do not name an issuing insurer for K&R policies; HUB says ProEx places over $2 billion in premium with insurers it calls top-rated carriers, without naming them. 4,5Not found in reviewed sources. Checked both pages on 2026-09-23; the carrier for a specific K&R placement depends on the quote. | The reviewed announcement does not name the specific issuing insurer for K&R policies, only describing Relm as the specialty insurer launching the product and a named third-party partner for security response services. 8Not publicly disclosed. Launch announcement as read on 2026-09-23. |
| Who It’s For | HUB markets K&R coverage to organizations with executives who travel internationally, employees working abroad or domestically, and other key personnel whose safety is considered critical to the organization, plus their families. 4Company-reported. K&R product page target-audience description; not an underwriting appetite statement. | Relm designed the K&R product specifically for individuals and organizations in the digital asset and cannabis sectors, citing crypto leaders being doxxed or publicly linked to token holdings, and cannabis operators handling large amounts of physical cash due to banking constraints, as the targeted exposures. 8Company-reported. Launch announcement 'Addressing a New Class of Risk' section; not a guarantee of eligibility for a particular individual or organization. |
| Coverage Features | HUB cites roughly 15,000 kidnap, extortion or illegal-detention incidents a year generating about half a billion dollars in ransom payments, and says an organization can face significant costs even when no ransom is paid. 4Company-reported. K&R product page risk-framing statistics; company-reported and not independently verified by Spot. HUB's K&R product page cross-references directors and officers liability, business interruption and cyber coverage as related protections, and its ProEx practice groups K&R with other Executive Liability lines such as D&O, employment practices liability and fiduciary liability. 4,5Company-reported. K&R product page related-coverage links and ProEx coverage list; the pages do not describe specific K&R insuring agreements, sublimits or exclusions. | Relm says the K&R product covers kidnap, extortion, threats, disappearance, express or virtual kidnap, malicious detention, hijack and hostage crises, and evacuation due to a credible threat. 8Company-reported. Launch announcement coverage list; the issued policy and declarations control. |
| Limits and Retentions | Published K&R policy limits or retentions were not found on the reviewed pages. 4,5Not publicly disclosed. Checked the K&R product page and ProEx page on 2026-09-23; limits are set on the quote and declarations. | Not described in the reviewed sources. |
| Risk Services | HUB says its ProEx practice, which lists K&R among its Executive Liability coverages, provides analytics, litigation support and risk-management services led by a named practice leader, and gives clients access to a Claims & Legal Risks Group of attorneys who specialize in ProEx coverages. 5Company-reported. ProEx page services and claims-support description; not specific to a single K&R engagement. | Relm says the product gives clients immediate access to a 24/7 operations center and a team of Security Response Directors with over 200 years of combined crisis experience across more than 1,600 incidents, strategically located in the US, Colombia, Mexico, the UK, France, Portugal, Nigeria and Spain. 8Company-reported. Launch announcement crisis-response description; provided through the named third-party security partner, not Relm directly. Relm says the policy includes a 10% Risk Mitigation Allowance for pre-incident support such as training, security-awareness sessions, threat briefings and optional exposure reviews, plus 24/7 hotline access. 8Company-reported. Launch announcement 'Ensuring Pre-incident Readiness' section. |
| How to Apply | HUB directs K&R prospects to "Connect With a Broker" rather than an online quote or bind flow. 4Company-reported. K&R product page call to action. | Not described in the reviewed sources. |
Full Comparison
More HUB International vs Relm Insurance Comparisons
Other Kidnap and Ransom Insurance Comparisons
Sources
HUB International
- About Us. HUB International; Opening description; 1998 formation of HUB International Limited; 2022 Insureon acquisition; headquarters and employee/office counts. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Contact Us. HUB International; Business Solutions paths for Commercial Insurance Solutions versus Small Commercial Insurance Solutions via Insureon; office search. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Insurance for Technology Companies. HUB International; Technology Company Insurance & Risk Management: startup, software, hardware and digital-media introduction; Business Coverage and People Protection lists; technology-client count. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Kidnap and Ransom Insurance Brokers. HUB International; Why coverage is needed: kidnap, extortion and illegal detention risk; incident and ransom-payment statistics; target audience of traveling executives, employees abroad and their loved ones; costs beyond ransom payment; Connect With a Broker call to action; cross-references to D&O, business interruption and cyber coverage. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- HUB ProEx. HUB International; ProEx Coverages list including Kidnap, Ransom, and Extortion insurance under Executive Liability; Claims & Legal Support section; ProEx premium volume statement. Accessed 2026-09-23.
Relm Insurance
- Relm Launches US MGA. Relm Insurance; Opening paragraphs describing US MGA and distribution partners. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Relm Launches AI Liability Solutions. Relm Insurance; NOVAAI, PONTAAI and RESCAAI: Applicable Users and Coverage Highlights. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Relm Launches Kidnap and Ransom Insurance for Digital Asset and Cannabis Execs Amid Surge in Physical Threats. Relm Insurance; Launch announcement; Powered by Proven Security Response Capabilities; Comprehensive Protection with Immediate Response; Ensuring Pre-incident Readiness With a 10% Risk Mitigation Allowance; Addressing a New Class of Risk. Accessed 2026-09-23.
Kidnap and Ransom Insurance Guide
- Kidnap and Ransom Applications and Forms. Travelers; Opening; Applications; Sample policy forms. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- The Chubb Primary Kidnap Ransom and Extortion Insurance. Chubb; Opening; Kidnap, Ransom & Extortion Insurance Highlights. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Kidnap and Ransom Coverage. Travelers; I pp.1–2; III pp.3–9; IV p.9; V pp.10–13. Accessed 2026-09-16.



