HUB International vs
Lockton Product Liability Insurance
HUB pairs product liability with recall, crisis and risk-financing work; Lockton designs custom global structures and lists recall on the same page.
What Is HUB International?
HUB International is a North American insurance brokerage that arranges business insurance, employee benefits and related risk services through local offices and specialist practices. Smaller commercial accounts may be sent to Insureon for an online quote; other programs are handled by HUB advisors, with policy terms set by the insurers they use. 1,2,3
What Is Lockton?
Lockton is a privately held insurance brokerage that arranges commercial risk, employee benefits and retirement programs. US pages describe a technology practice and intermediary placement with insurers, not Lockton as the policy’s insurer. 5,6,7
What Is Product Liability Insurance?
Product liability insurance addresses liability for injury or damage associated with a defective product that a business manufactures, wholesales, distributes or sells. 10,11,12,13
Key Differences in Product Liability Insurance
Casualty Package Versus Custom Global Structures
HUB brokers general and product liability as part of its casualty practice, arranging coverage with regional, national and specialty carriers. Lockton lists product liability on its General & Product Liability page and brokers it by designing custom structures with insurers across the global market. Neither reviewed page names the issuer for a given client. 4 8
Related Coverages Each Lists
HUB pairs product-liability brokerage with product recall, crisis-response support, sexual misconduct liability, active-assailant protection and Violent Acts Liability. Lockton lists product recall coverage alongside product liability so a manufacturer can have both the liability program and a related recall-expense program placed together. HUB’s casualty page also describes premises, operations, contractual liabilities, catastrophes and violent events in the same offering. 4 8
Industries and How Limits Are Set
HUB highlights transportation, construction, healthcare, hospitality, manufacturing and real estate, and says its casualty team runs risk-financing assessments to set retention levels, program structures and coverage limits. Lockton names global manufacturers, business-to-business service providers and consumer products companies, plus REITs, contractors and healthcare companies. Published limits were not found on HUB’s page; Lockton’s pages also do not publish them. 4 8
What to Confirm in Product Liability Insurance Quotes
- Ask HUB which complementary casualty lines (recall, crisis, violent acts) are included versus quoted separately. 4
- Ask Lockton whether the liability and recall programs share structure or insurers. 8
- Request HUB’s risk-financing recommendation on retention and limit. 4
- Get the issuing insurer from both placements. 4 8
Offering Details
HUB International vs Lockton Product Liability Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | HUB International General & Product Liability Insurance Brokerage | Lockton General & Product Liability Insurance Brokerage |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | HUB brokers general and product liability insurance as part of its casualty practice, arranging coverage with regional, national and specialty carriers rather than underwriting the policy itself. 4Company-reported. Casualty product page, read 2026-09-23; the page does not name a specific issuing insurer. | Lockton lists product liability on its General & Product Liability page and brokers it rather than underwriting it, designing custom structures with insurers across the global market. 8Company-reported. General & Product Liability page as read 2026-09-23. |
| Issuing Insurer | HUB says it maintains relationships with regional, national and specialty carriers for casualty placements, but the reviewed page does not name the insurer that would issue a given client's product liability policy. 4Not found in reviewed sources. Checked the casualty product page on 2026-09-23; the carrier for a specific placement depends on the quote. | Neither page names the insurers Lockton places product liability coverage with. 8,9Not publicly disclosed. General & Product Liability and Casualty pages checked 2026-09-23. |
| Who It’s For | HUB highlights vertical expertise in transportation, construction, healthcare, hospitality, manufacturing and real estate as industries where it says commercial liability exposures, including product liability, are most complex. 4Company-reported. Casualty product page industry-expertise description; not an underwriting appetite statement. | Lockton says it serves global manufacturers, business-to-business service providers and consumer products companies among others on this page — the segments most exposed to product liability risk — alongside REITs, contractors and healthcare companies. 8Company-reported. General & Product Liability page as read 2026-09-23. Example industries, not a complete eligibility matrix. |
| Coverage Features | HUB says its General & Product Liability offering addresses injuries or property damage to the public arising from a client's premises or operations, its products, contractual liabilities, natural catastrophes, or violent events. 4Company-reported. Casualty product page scope-of-protection description; the issued policy's insuring agreements and exclusions control an actual claim. HUB pairs its product liability brokerage with related casualty coverages it also arranges, including product recall coverage, crisis-response support, sexual misconduct liability (SML), active-assailant protection and Violent Acts Liability insurance. 4Company-reported. Casualty product page complementary-coverages list; availability of each coverage depends on the client and placement. | Lockton lists product recall coverage alongside product liability on the same page, meaning a manufacturer client can have Lockton place both the liability program and a related recall-expense program. 8Company-reported. General & Product Liability page as read 2026-09-23. A capability list, not a specimen policy. |
| Limits and Retentions | Published product liability policy limits or retentions were not found on the reviewed page. 4Not publicly disclosed. Checked the casualty product page on 2026-09-23; limits are set through the risk-financing assessment and the quote. | Not described in the reviewed sources. |
| Risk Services | HUB says its casualty team runs risk-financing assessments to set retention levels, program structures and coverage limits. 4Company-reported. Casualty product page strategic-approach description. | Not described in the reviewed sources. |
Full Comparison
More HUB International vs Lockton Comparisons
Other Product Liability Insurance Comparisons
Sources
HUB International
- About Us. HUB International; Opening description; 1998 formation of HUB International Limited; 2022 Insureon acquisition; headquarters and employee/office counts. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Contact Us. HUB International; Business Solutions paths for Commercial Insurance Solutions versus Small Commercial Insurance Solutions via Insureon; office search. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Insurance for Technology Companies. HUB International; Technology Company Insurance & Risk Management: startup, software, hardware and digital-media introduction; Business Coverage and People Protection lists; technology-client count. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Comprehensive Casualty Insurance Solutions. HUB International; General & Product Liability section: scope of protection for premises/operations, products, contractual liability, catastrophes and violent events; complementary casualty coverages (product recall, crisis response, SML, active assailant, Violent Acts Liability); risk-financing and strategic casualty approach; vertical industry expertise; carrier relationships. Accessed 2026-09-23.
Lockton
- Lockton United States. Lockton; Opening description of independent insurance brokerage for risk, benefits and retirement; Ask an Expert link to contact-us. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Technology. Lockton; Industry introduction; cyber liability heading; dedicated technology team; listed services including claims advocacy, contract review, directors and officers liability, and international program design; 24/7 service model. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- US Terms of Business. Lockton; Opening entity definition; Surplus Lines; Use of a Particular Insurer; Compensation Disclosure; servicing, claims handling and renewal language in Confidentiality section; Intermediaries. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- US > General & Product Liability. Lockton; Tailored solutions intro; industries named (global manufacturer, business-to-business service provider, consumer products company, REIT, contractor, healthcare company); liability solutions list including Product liability and Product recall. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Casualty Insurance. Lockton; Casualty Insurance Solutions list: Auto, Cargo, General & Product Liability, Umbrella & Excess Liability, Workers' Compensation. Accessed 2026-09-23.
Product Liability Insurance Guide
- Get business insurance. U.S. Small Business Administration; Six common types of business insurance table. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Facts + Statistics: Product liability. Insurance Information Institute; Product liability insurance opening definition (manufacturer, distributor, or seller; defective condition causing personal injury or damage); Product recall insurance sentence. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Product liability, recall and contamination insurance. Insurance Information Institute; Product liability opening (design/manufacture/distribute/sell; injury, property damage or death; added to GL or stand-alone); What could go wrong? (roles; directions/warnings); Covering the costs of a product recall; Contamination insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Commercial Insurance Guide. California Department of Insurance; Commercial General Liability Coverage: premises, products liability and completed operations; major exclusions including damage to your work, impaired property, sistership liability and failure to perform; Limits of Insurance products and completed operations aggregate; glossary Sistership Liability. Accessed 2026-09-16.





