Hiscox vs Pie Insurance: How Do They Compare for Business Insurance?

Hiscox offers online small-business liability, cyber and package coverage; Pie focuses on workers’ compensation with payroll-based billing and partner products.

An Overview of Hiscox and Pie Insurance

An employer hiring its first W-2 worker may need workers’ compensation before other lines. Pie focuses on that coverage with payroll-based billing; Hiscox offers online general liability, professional liability, cyber and business owners policies, with workers’ compensation through a partner. 32 47 11 16 Choose Pie if workers’ compensation and payroll billing are the priority; choose Hiscox if you need eligible online liability, cyber or package policies.

What Stands Out About Hiscox and Pie Insurance?

Hiscox at a Glance

  • You can buy Hiscox’s core small-business policies online, and they’re usually issued by its own insurer rather than a partner. Hiscox Inc. is the producer; Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. is the affiliated insurer named for Hiscox NOW products. 5,4Company-reportedLegal roles stated in current terms (last modified May 28, 2024) and the About Hiscox US page. Exact contracting entity still depends on product, channel and policy.
  • Eligible buyers can quote Hiscox general liability, professional liability/E&O, cyber and a business owner’s policy online. 16,7,8,9,10,2Company-reportedCurrent Hiscox small-business product and quote pages. Names establish marketed Hiscox NOW-style products, not limits, retroactive dates, exclusions or class eligibility.

Pie Insurance at a Glance

  • Start a workers’ compensation quote online or through an insurance agent. 31,30,32Company-reportedWorkers’ compensation access for small businesses and agencies; other product pages direct buyers to quote or contact flows but do not describe the same process.
  • Pay workers’ compensation premiums based on reported payroll, with no initial deposit. 46,47Company-reportedPie’s current workers’ compensation payment pages; actual availability and policy-specific charges need confirmation in the quote.

Hiscox vs Pie Insurance Coverage Lines Compared

CoverageHiscoxPie Insurance
Business owner’s policyListed 10Hiscox offers business owner’s policies for small businesses.Listed 36Pie accepts business owner’s policy quote requests.
Cyber liabilityListed 9,2Hiscox offers cyber insurance for small businesses.Listed 37Pie provides access to cyber insurance quotes from carrier partners.
General liabilityListed 7Hiscox offers general liability insurance for small businesses.Listed 39Pie arranges general liability insurance through unaffiliated third-party insurers.
Professional errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 8,2Hiscox offers professional errors and omissions insurance for small businesses.Listed 38Pie Insurance arranges professional errors and omissions insurance for small businesses through third-party insurers.
Workers’ compensationListed 11Hiscox provides access to workers’ compensation underwritten by Hartford Fire Insurance Company and requires a general liability policy.Listed 32Pie Insurance offers workers’ compensation insurance for small businesses.

A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means we have no separate offering page for it; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.

Hiscox and Pie Insurance Coverage, Line by Line

Open what Hiscox and Pie Insurance each publish for one coverage line.

Hiscox and Pie Insurance Reliability Scores

Each score uses the criteria for that provider’s role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.

Pie Insurance Reliability Scores

Hybrid provider

Broker

No Reliability Score

Carrier & MGA

No Reliability Score

Reliability Score details

Hiscox and Pie Insurance Review Scores for 2026

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for its sources, what it covers and how the score is calculated.

Hiscox Review Score

6.3/ 10

Review Score

4 rated sources

Hiscox’s review results are sharply divided: low Trustpilot and ConsumerAffairs scores contrast with strong Feefo feedback. Service quality deserves closer scrutiny before purchase.

Read Hiscox reviews

Pie Insurance Review Score

1.7/ 10

Review Score

2 rated sources

Pie’s service record raises clear concerns: elevated regulator complaints reported by NerdWallet, 1.7/5 on Trustpilot and an F from BBB. Investigate billing, cancellation and complaint handling before buying.

Read Pie Insurance reviews

Key Differences Between Hiscox and Pie Insurance

Which Company Actually Writes the Headline Product

Pie says workers compensation is underwritten by The Pie Insurance Company (NAIC 21857) and affiliates; BOP, GL and professional liability are underwritten by unaffiliated third-party insurers. Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. underwrites the Hiscox core small-business lines; WC, commercial auto and group health are partner products. Compare insurer names on each declarations page, not brand marketing. 34 24

Geography for Workers Compensation

Pie’s dedicated state page and AM Best describe WC in 40 states and Washington, D.C., with homepage language that can read more broadly. Hiscox’s online small-business set excludes Alaska, with additional BOP exclusions in the appetite guide; partner WC availability is a separate question. Neither license list is a bindable map. 40 1

Direct Quote Style

Pie’s live WC quote starts with ZIP code and advertises about three minutes, with times varying. Hiscox also starts with zip code for its core lines. Pie stopped accepting commercial-auto submissions on December 1, 2025. Hiscox still lists commercial auto as a partner offering. 35 16

What Should You Confirm in Hiscox and Pie Insurance Quotes?

  • Whether WC is Pie paper or a Hiscox partner carrier. 32 15

  • Who underwrites Pie BOP/GL/E&O if you add those lines on Pie’s site. 34 36

  • WC state list versus Pie homepage wording. 40 41

Hiscox vs Pie Insurance Services Compared

What each provider says about the services you may need

CriteriaHiscoxPie Insurance
Access to insurers

Hiscox NOW appetite and About Hiscox US say admitted small-business products described there are underwritten by Hiscox Insurance Company Inc., a Chicago-based insurer licensed in all 50 states and D.C. The California Department of Insurance independently identifies that company as an Illinois-domiciled property-and-casualty insurer, NAIC 10200, California Company ID 1439-9, authorized in California since 14 September 1953 with unlimited-normal status. Hiscox’s California marketing page also cites Illinois license number 8754, which is not the CDI company ID; reconcile names and numbers on the quote. 24,25,4,23,6VerifiedAdmitted Hiscox NOW GL, professional liability, cyber and BOP as described in 2026 appetite and About pages, plus CDI/Illinois regulator records for the named insurer. Regulator authorization is not proof that a given class is written in California today.

Hiscox describes several separate partner routes: workers’ compensation underwritten by Hartford Fire Insurance Company, medical malpractice through unaffiliated NOW Insurance, and short-term liability through Thimble with Markel Insurance Company. Its other-insurance page currently directs buyers to Tivly for umbrella, employment practices liability, commercial property and inland marine. The reviewed commercial-auto destination does not identify the previously named referral partner. Confirm the current route and issuing insurer on the quote; do not assume the issuer is Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. 11,28,13,14,29Company-reportedProduct-specific partner routes in the retained September 29 review. The current reviewed commercial-auto destination does not establish a referral partner; confirm the quote route and issuer.

Hiscox Inc. says it is an approved Lloyd’s coverholder and underwrites surplus-lines business on behalf of Lloyd’s Syndicates 33 and 3624, with U.S. surplus-lines placements made by licensed surplus-lines brokers. Terms also say Hiscox Inc. may place admitted and surplus-lines business with Hiscox Insurance Company Inc., other domestic insurers, and Lloyd’s syndicates. That surplus-lines route is described as distinct from the online small-business catalogue. 4,5Company-reportedCompany disclosures on About Hiscox US and website terms. This does not establish that a California online small-business quote uses Lloyd’s paper.

Pie workers’ compensation is written by The Pie Insurance Company and affiliates; AM Best says all business moved to The Pie Insurance Company and Pie Casualty Insurance Company as of January 1, 2024. 34,51,52,53VerifiedPie’s workers’ compensation program; the actual declarations page controls the issuing insurer for a specific policy and state.

Pie Casualty has an A- (Excellent) financial-strength rating with Stable outlook from AM Best, affirmed April 24, 2026; this is an insurer-strength opinion, not a guarantee your claim will be covered. 51VerifiedPie Casualty Insurance Company and the consolidated Pie Insurance Group rating unit as identified in the disclosure report.

For Pie’s BOP, GL, professional liability or cyber, ask which insurer would issue the policy; Pie says outside partners underwrite these lines but its reviewed pages do not name current partners. 34,36,37,38,39Not publicly disclosedCurrent public BOP, cyber, general-liability and professional-liability/E&O pages; account-specific carrier access was not tested.

Coverage lines

Hiscox directly markets and offers online quotes for general liability, professional liability (errors and omissions), cyber security insurance and a business owner’s policy that combines general liability with commercial property. IT pages present those same lines for technology consultants rather than a separately named technology E&O policy. Website examples and coverage lists are illustrative; the issued policy controls. 16,7,8,9,10,2Company-reportedCurrent Hiscox small-business product and quote pages. Names establish marketed Hiscox NOW-style products, not limits, retroactive dates, exclusions or class eligibility.

Hired/non-owned auto and commercial crime are described as upgrades to a Hiscox business owner’s policy, not standalone Hiscox policies. Crime is not sold separately and is not available in all states. HNOA is tied to the BOP occurrence limit and does not replace commercial auto for vehicles the business owns or regularly operates. 20,21,10Company-reportedCurrent HNOA and commercial-crime product pages. Availability by state and class was not independently matrixed beyond those pages and the 2026 appetite guide.

Hiscox describes partner routes for workers’ compensation through Hartford Fire Insurance Company, medical malpractice through unaffiliated NOW Insurance, and short-term liability through Thimble/Markel. Its other-insurance page directs buyers to Tivly for umbrella, employment practices liability, commercial property and inland marine. Confirm the current commercial-auto route and issuing insurer on the quote. These partner access paths do not establish that Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. issues the policy. 11,28,13,14,29,26Company-reportedProduct-specific partner access. Broker-channel Hiscox C-Suite management liability is separate from the other-insurance referral route.

Pie currently markets workers’ comp, BOP, cyber, general liability and professional liability/E&O; product pages describe typical coverage, while the policy and endorsements determine your actual protection. 32,36,37,39,38,33Company-reportedPublic US Pie pages with an explicit quote or contact invitation; educational-only topics and components of a BOP were not counted as standalone offerings.

If you need new or renewed commercial auto, look elsewhere: Pie stopped accepting new submissions December 1, 2025 and says it will issue no new or renewal policies after January 1, 2026; existing terms remain in force through expiry. 43,49Company-reportedPie’s former commercial-auto offering and legacy policies; commercial auto is intentionally excluded from the current coverage catalogue.

Use your policy and endorsements to decide what is covered; Pie says website descriptions do not change policy terms and eligibility varies by applicant and location. 33Company-reportedWebsite descriptions and US products generally; the buyer’s issued policy and endorsements control.

Availability

Hiscox says it is currently licensed to offer small-business insurance in 49 states and the District of Columbia, and that coverage is currently unavailable in Alaska. General liability and professional liability FAQs repeat the Alaska exclusion and say specialist brokers may be able to help if Hiscox does not sell online in an area. The 2026 Hiscox NOW appetite guide further says business owner’s policy is unavailable in Alaska, Florida, Kansas, Ohio, Rhode Island, Washington and West Virginia. Coverage remains subject to underwriting and class. 1,7,8,23,6Company-reportedCompany-stated jurisdiction for the online/admitted small-business catalogue as of 16 September 2026. A 49-state license statement is not a product-by-profession matrix. California is included in the marketed 49-state set and has a dedicated Hiscox California page; that still does not bind a specific class.

A Los Angeles office on the contact page does not establish California product eligibility. Broker-facing Hiscox C-Suite materials say Hiscox is no longer entertaining management-liability risks in the metro areas of California. Appetite tables also mark many contractor professional-liability classes as not available in California. Confirm state, class and channel on the actual quote. 22,26,23Company-reportedContact-page office list, C-Suite broker page and July 2026 appetite class notes. C-Suite restriction applies to that broker management-liability product, not automatically to online GL/PL/cyber/BOP.

Confirm all work locations and class codes before relying on Pie workers’ comp: sources conflict between availability in 40 states plus DC and 39 states plus DC. 40,41,30,42,51Conflicting sourcesPublic workers’ compensation footprint as of 15 September 2026; the state-page selector, document library and other marketing surfaces were not internally consistent.

Ask if Pie’s partner-issued BOP, cyber, GL or professional policy is available in your state; the reviewed pages give no product-state map and Pie’s terms limit availability. 36,37,39,38,33Not publicly disclosedPublic availability for Pie’s partner-carrier products; no quote or contact form was submitted.

Application process

Eligible small businesses can quote general liability, professional liability, cyber and BOP online by entering a ZIP code and answering questions; Hiscox says policy documents and certificates follow issuance by email. Confirm eligibility and effective date before relying on coverage. 16,7,1Company-reportedPublic quote-page and product-FAQ statements accessed 16 September 2026. Instant-coverage marketing is not a tested bind. Partner products use separate quote sites.

Small businesses can start a workers’ compensation quote online or through an insurance agent; agencies use a separate partner portal. 31,30,32Company-reportedWorkers’ compensation access for small businesses and agencies; other product pages direct buyers to quote or contact flows but do not describe the same process.

Have your ZIP, payroll and class-code details ready for a Pie workers’ compensation quote; its online intake begins with ZIP code. 35,32Company-reportedUnauthenticated first step and Pie’s description of workers’ compensation quote inputs; no data was entered and the flow was not advanced.

Pie advertises a workers’ compensation quote in about three minutes, but this company estimate does not predict underwriting or binding time. 32,30Company-reportedWorkers’ compensation quote marketing; no timed independent quote test was performed.

Claims assistance

You can start a Hiscox claim online, by phone or mail, and Hiscox says it assigns a claims professional to review coverage; products placed with partners may have different notice instructions, so use the contacts in your policy. 17,27,7Company-reportedCompany-described Hiscox claims-center process. Hours differ across pages. Coverage and defense remain subject to the issuing insurer and policy.

Report workplace injuries to Pie within 24 hours through its form, phone or email; Pie says a claims professional follows up and assesses coverage and benefits. 49Company-reportedPublished first-report process for Pie-serviced workers’ compensation claims; state notice rules and the issuing carrier’s policy still apply.

Ask who handles your state’s workers’ comp claim: Pie says it manages claims in 34 states and CorVel in five, a split not reconciled with its separate 40-state-plus-DC availability. 50,40,51Conflicting sourcesPublic allocation of workers’ compensation claim handling; the current handler for an individual policy should be taken from its state kit and claim instructions.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Comparisons Related to Hiscox vs Pie Insurance

  • Hiscox offers online quotes for eligible small-business policies; AIG lists broker and agent tools, with claims access scoped by line and country.

  • Compare AIG’s broader commercial insurer group with Pie’s direct and agency workers’ compensation route.

  • Hiscox lists online classes and underwriting conditions rather than a single revenue cutoff; Alliance Risk’s California product route remains account-specific.

All Comparisons

Get Help With Insurance Buying and Renewals.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Create your account and submit an insurance request online.

Talk to Spot