Harper vs USI Insurance Services Cyber Insurance

USI publishes specific PrivaSafe sublimits and pre-bind documentation requirements; Harper's cyber page collects only basic intake fields.

What Is Harper Insurance?

Harper is a commercial insurance brokerage for businesses with complex risks. Its specialists use AI tools to gather information, seek quotes from insurers and help customers manage coverage. 1,2

Read the Harper profile

What Is USI Insurance Services?

USI Insurance Services is a U.S. insurance brokerage and consulting firm that arranges property and casualty, employee benefits, personal risk, and retirement programs. Its Technology practice says it works with software, hardware, and related companies from early seed stage through IPO, using a consultative process rather than a published self-serve quote. 5,6,7

Read the USI Insurance Services profile

What Is Cyber Insurance?

Cyber insurance can help a business respond to cyber incidents and address covered liability claims arising from them. 10

Read the full coverage guide

Key Differences in Cyber Insurance

Published Sublimits Versus None

Harper's cyber pages do not publish any limit or sublimit figures. 4 USI's PrivaSafe program instead publishes a specific structure:

USI says PrivaSafe can prevent uninsured or underinsured losses up to $10 million, includes up to $2 million in notification-cost coverage in addition to the policy's aggregate limit, and $250,000 in defense-cost coverage outside the limit (with additional limit available). 8Company-reported. Program page figures describe the PrivaSafe structure generally; a buyer's actual limits, sublimits and retentions are set on the policy declarations.

What Each Broker Asks For Before Quoting

USI's PrivaSafe page says a buyer should be ready to provide current cyber policies, if any, an assessment of its largest cyber vulnerabilities, and its most recent audited financials. 8 Harper's homepage intake instead asks only for a checkbox selection, the business's state, estimated annual revenue and a description of what it does. 4

Who Each Page Targets

USI markets PrivaSafe to middle-market firms, saying they have limited in-house access to security expertise. 8 Harper's cyber content instead centers on online retailers, dropshipping businesses, marketplace sellers and direct-to-consumer brands, with a general checkbox for any business on its homepage. 3

What to Confirm in Cyber Insurance Quotes

  • Ask USI which carrier would actually issue a PrivaSafe policy for your business. 8
  • Ask Harper which outside carrier would underwrite your policy once it presents options. 4
  • Confirm whether USI's published $10 million, $2 million and $250,000 PrivaSafe figures apply to your account. 8
  • Ask USI what pre-bind services PrivaSafe includes beyond placement, since the page describes both pre-breach and post-breach services. 8

Offering Details

Harper vs USI Insurance Services Cyber Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaHarper Cyber InsuranceUSI PrivaSafe Cyber and Privacy Liability Program
Role in This Line

For cyber insurance, Harper describes calling the insurance companies that write the coverage for a business and presenting the resulting options to choose from, rather than issuing a cyber policy itself. 4Company-reported. Homepage 'What we cover' introduction and coverage list, where cyber is one of the enumerated lines.

USI is a broker, not an insurer, for cyber coverage. It places cyber and privacy liability policies for clients and layers on its own manuscripted program, PrivaSafe, rather than underwriting the risk itself. 8,6Company-reported. PrivaSafe program page and USI's property & casualty and technology practice pages.

Issuing Insurer

Harper's public pages do not name the insurer or insurers that would underwrite a cyber policy; the homepage shows an unlabeled panel of insurer logos it says it works with, without listing carriers for cyber specifically. 4Not publicly disclosed. Checked the homepage insurer-logo panel and eCommerce industry page on 2026-09-23.

USI does not name the insurer that issues PrivaSafe or other cyber policies on the pages reviewed. PrivaSafe is described as a manuscripted (custom-drafted) coverage form that USI negotiates with the market, so the carrier varies by placement. 8Not publicly disclosed. PrivaSafe program page as read on 2026-09-23; no dedicated cyber carrier list was found.

Who It’s For

Harper positions cyber coverage as relevant to online retailers, dropshipping businesses, marketplace sellers and private-label or direct-to-consumer brands on its eCommerce industry page, while also listing cyber as a general coverage option for any business on the homepage intake. 3,4Company-reported. eCommerce industry page 'Who this is for' section combined with the homepage's general cyber checkbox; no cyber-specific eligibility criteria (such as revenue thresholds) were found.

USI markets PrivaSafe to middle-market firms, saying they are particularly vulnerable to cyber events because they have limited in-house access to security expertise. The page also says any business that gathers personal or health information, manages a network, or accepts electronic payments is a potential target. 8Company-reported. Program page marketing description, not an underwriting appetite statement.

Coverage Features

Harper's homepage summarizes cyber insurance as coverage for the cleanup if a business's systems or card payments get hacked. 4Company-reported. Homepage 'What we cover' blurb; the issued policy and declarations would control actual insuring agreements and exclusions.

On its eCommerce industry page, Harper describes cyber protection as covering data breaches, payment fraud, hacking incidents and exposure of customer information, and its FAQ adds that cyber liability coverage may apply to customer notification costs, credit monitoring and certain regulatory expenses. 3Company-reported. eCommerce industry page; this description is given in the context of online retailers, dropshippers, marketplace sellers and DTC brands, and may not describe cyber coverage the same way for other industries.

USI describes PrivaSafe as covering three areas: liability costs (including inability to protect information and related tort liability), compliance and corrective costs (data breach and forensic costs, privacy regulatory costs, payment-card standards), and direct costs (network interruption, data reconstruction, cyber extortion, bricking, voluntary shutdown, reputational harm business interruption, and cyber crime). 8Company-reported. PrivaSafe program page; actual insuring agreements and exclusions are set by the issued policy form.

Limits and Retentions

The reviewed pages do not publish cyber policy limits, retentions or a claims-made versus occurrence trigger; the eCommerce page's cost FAQ discusses eCommerce insurance overall rather than cyber coverage alone, so it is not used as a cyber-specific figure here. 4,3Not publicly disclosed. Checked the homepage and eCommerce industry page on 2026-09-23.

USI says PrivaSafe can prevent uninsured or underinsured losses up to $10 million, includes up to $2 million in notification-cost coverage in addition to the policy's aggregate limit, and $250,000 in defense-cost coverage outside the limit (with additional limit available). 8Company-reported. Program page figures describe the PrivaSafe structure generally; a buyer's actual limits, sublimits and retentions are set on the policy declarations.

Risk Services

Not described in the reviewed sources.

USI says PrivaSafe includes pre-breach services to help avoid cyber threats and post-breach services designed to streamline incident response and recovery, on top of USI's general property & casualty cyber specialists. 8,9Company-reported. Program page and property-casualty practice team description.

How to Apply

You can start a cyber quote through Harper's online intake by selecting the 'Hacking, data breaches, card fraud (cyber)' checkbox alongside the business's state, estimated annual revenue and a description of what it does. 4Company-reported. Homepage quote-intake form.

To review cyber exposure with USI, the program page says a buyer should be ready to provide current cyber policies (if any), an assessment of its largest financial and operational cyber vulnerabilities, and its most recent audited financials. 8Company-reported. PrivaSafe program page intake description.

Full Comparison

More Harper vs USI Insurance Services Comparisons

Other Cyber Insurance Comparisons

Sources

Harper

  1. Text Messaging Terms and Conditions. Harper Global Enterprises Inc.; Effective August 24, 2026; sections 1–3 (entity, consent and service messages), 5 (message costs), 9 (delivery) and 11 (coverage confirmation). Accessed 2026-09-15.
  2. We're Announcing $47M to Build the Insurance Company Every Business Deserves. Harper / Dakotah Rice; February 26, 2026 article: brokerage identity; AI-assisted submissions and follow-ups; 24–48-hour coverage statement; more than 165 underwriters; plans for additional direct appointments. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  3. eCommerce Insurance. Harper; Know your coverage: What is eCommerce insurance?; Cyber Protection callout; Who this is for; Why Harper; FAQ 'Does insurance cover data breaches or hacking?'. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  4. Harper Homepage. Harper; What we cover: 'Cyber insurance — If your systems or card payments get hacked, this covers the cleanup.'; quote-intake checkbox 'Hacking, data breaches, card fraud (cyber)'. Accessed 2026-09-23.

USI Insurance Services

  1. The Power of ONE. USI Insurance Services; History, client-count, nationwide office, and P&C / benefits / personal risk / retirement description. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Technology Insurance. USI Insurance Services; USI's Technology Practice provides risk management advisory and insurance placement for: ...Network Security/USI PrivaSafe... Accessed 2026-09-23.
  3. Commissions and Fees. USI Insurance Services; Licensed-producer authority, insurer-paid commission default, contingent compensation, and client request right. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. USI Exclusive PrivaSafe. USI Insurance Services; How can USI help our firm...; Comprehensive Cyber Coverage Through Three Distinct Offerings (Liability Costs, Compliance/Corrective Costs, Direct Costs); Up to $2 million in notification costs...; $250,000 in defense cost coverage outside the limit; Our current local/regional broker already secured a Cyber liability policy... Accessed 2026-09-23.
  5. P&C Insurance and Risk Consulting. USI Insurance Services; risk management and insurance advice on broad risk exposures such as...Cyber Risk...; cyber specialists, claim advocates, risk control specialists. Accessed 2026-09-23.

Cyber Insurance Guide

  1. Cyber Insurance. Federal Trade Commission; Opening; First-Party and Third-Party Coverage; First-Party Coverage; Third-Party Coverage; What Should Your Cyber Insurance Policy Cover. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Let Spot Handle the Insurance Legwork.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot