Harper vs
HUB International Product Liability Insurance
Harper matches retailer vendor agreements; HUB places product liability inside a casualty practice that also arranges recall and crisis cover.
What Is Harper Insurance?
Harper is a commercial insurance brokerage for businesses with complex risks. Its specialists use AI tools to gather information, seek quotes from insurers and help customers manage coverage. 1,2
What Is HUB International?
HUB International is a North American insurance brokerage that arranges business insurance, employee benefits and related risk services through local offices and specialist practices. Smaller commercial accounts may be sent to Insureon for an online quote; other programs are handled by HUB advisors, with policy terms set by the insurers they use. 5,6,7
What Is Product Liability Insurance?
Product liability insurance addresses liability for injury or damage associated with a defective product that a business manufactures, wholesales, distributes or sells. 9,10,11,12
Key Differences in Product Liability Insurance
Vendor Contracts Versus a Broader Casualty Frame
Harper describes the coverage as responding to injury claims from a product, property damage the product caused, and legal defense, and says it will write the policy to match a retailer or marketplace vendor agreement, including additional-insured status and the limits those contracts require. HUB says its General & Product Liability offering addresses injuries or property damage to the public from premises or operations, products, contractual liabilities, natural catastrophes or violent events. 3 8
Related Casualty Lines HUB Also Arranges
HUB pairs product-liability brokerage with product recall coverage, crisis-response support, sexual misconduct liability, active-assailant protection and Violent Acts Liability. Harper’s reviewed product-liability page does not list those related casualty products; its specialist process is one application shopped across insurers that write the applicant’s product class. 8 3
Industry Focus and Risk Financing
HUB highlights transportation, construction, healthcare, hospitality, manufacturing and real estate as industries where commercial liability exposures, including product liability, are most complex, and says its casualty team runs risk-financing assessments to set retentions, structures and limits. Harper says the line is for makers, importers and sellers of physical products, noting importers, distributors and retailers can be named even when they did not manufacture the item. 8 3
What to Confirm in Product Liability Insurance Quotes
- Bring Harper the vendor or marketplace contract so additional-insured and limit language can be checked against the quote. 3
- Ask HUB whether product recall, crisis response or other related casualty lines are on the same program. 8
- Ask both for the issuing insurer; neither reviewed page names it for a given policy. 3 8
- Compare published limits: Harper names pricing drivers but not figures; HUB’s page also does not publish limits. 3 8
Offering Details
Harper vs HUB International Product Liability Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | Harper Product Liability Insurance | HUB International General & Product Liability Insurance Brokerage |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | Harper places product liability coverage as a broker: it says a specialist reviews the business and approaches insurers on the client's behalf rather than underwriting the policy itself. 3Company-reported. Product liability page's 'Why Harper' section; describes Harper's placement process, not a specific insurer or policy. | HUB brokers general and product liability insurance as part of its casualty practice, arranging coverage with regional, national and specialty carriers rather than underwriting the policy itself. 8Company-reported. Casualty product page, read 2026-09-23; the page does not name a specific issuing insurer. |
| Issuing Insurer | The reviewed product liability page does not name the insurer or insurers that would issue a given policy; Harper says it places the coverage with 'real insurers' generally rather than a named carrier for this line. 3,4Not publicly disclosed. Checked the product liability page and the coverage directory on 2026-09-23; neither names a carrier for this specific line. | HUB says it maintains relationships with regional, national and specialty carriers for casualty placements, but the reviewed page does not name the insurer that would issue a given client's product liability policy. 8Not found in reviewed sources. Checked the casualty product page on 2026-09-23; the carrier for a specific placement depends on the quote. |
| Who It’s For | Harper says the line is for makers, importers and sellers of physical products, and that importers, distributors and retailers can be named in a product claim even when they didn't manufacture the item. 3Company-reported. Product liability page introduction and FAQ answer on non-manufacturer exposure. | HUB highlights vertical expertise in transportation, construction, healthcare, hospitality, manufacturing and real estate as industries where it says commercial liability exposures, including product liability, are most complex. 8Company-reported. Casualty product page industry-expertise description; not an underwriting appetite statement. |
| Coverage Features | Harper describes the coverage as responding to injury claims from a product, property damage the product caused, and the legal defense costs of those claims. 3Company-reported. Product liability page's four coverage tiles (Injury claims, Property damage, Defense in depth, Vendor agreement compliance); the issued policy and its exclusions control actual scope. | HUB says its General & Product Liability offering addresses injuries or property damage to the public arising from a client's premises or operations, its products, contractual liabilities, natural catastrophes, or violent events. 8Company-reported. Casualty product page scope-of-protection description; the issued policy's insuring agreements and exclusions control an actual claim. HUB pairs its product liability brokerage with related casualty coverages it also arranges, including product recall coverage, crisis-response support, sexual misconduct liability (SML), active-assailant protection and Violent Acts Liability insurance. 8Company-reported. Casualty product page complementary-coverages list; availability of each coverage depends on the client and placement. |
| Limits and Retentions | Harper names product category, sales volume and sales channel as what drives product liability pricing, but the reviewed page does not publish specific limit, retention or premium figures. 3Not publicly disclosed. Product liability FAQ 'What does it cost?'; figures are unavailable on this public page and would appear on a quote. | Published product liability policy limits or retentions were not found on the reviewed page. 8Not publicly disclosed. Checked the casualty product page on 2026-09-23; limits are set through the risk-financing assessment and the quote. |
| Risk Services | Harper says it will write the policy to match a retailer or marketplace vendor agreement, including additional-insured status and the specific limits those contracts require. 3Company-reported. Product liability page 'We know this' section and FAQ on additional-insured requests; a service Harper describes performing, not an independently verified outcome. | HUB says its casualty team runs risk-financing assessments to set retention levels, program structures and coverage limits. 8Company-reported. Casualty product page strategic-approach description. |
| How to Apply | You request a quote through Harper's online form or by phone; Harper says one application is then shopped across the insurers that write the applicant's product class. 3Company-reported. Product liability page quote form and 'Why Harper' process steps. | Not described in the reviewed sources. |
Full Comparison
More Harper vs HUB International Comparisons
Other Product Liability Insurance Comparisons
Sources
Harper
- Text Messaging Terms and Conditions. Harper Global Enterprises Inc.; Effective August 24, 2026; sections 1–3 (entity, consent and service messages), 5 (message costs), 9 (delivery) and 11 (coverage confirmation). Accessed 2026-09-15.
- We're Announcing $47M to Build the Insurance Company Every Business Deserves. Harper / Dakotah Rice; February 26, 2026 article: brokerage identity; AI-assisted submissions and follow-ups; 24–48-hour coverage statement; more than 165 underwriters; plans for additional direct appointments. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Product Liability Insurance. Harper; Know your coverage: What is Product Liability insurance?; Injury claims, Property damage, Defense in depth, Vendor agreement compliance; Why Harper (specialist, market access, recommendation, same-day certificates); FAQs on importers/distributors/retailers and pricing drivers. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- What We Cover. Harper; Coverage directory list including Product Liability; intake selector categories. Accessed 2026-09-23.
HUB International
- About Us. HUB International; Opening description; 1998 formation of HUB International Limited; 2022 Insureon acquisition; headquarters and employee/office counts. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Contact Us. HUB International; Business Solutions paths for Commercial Insurance Solutions versus Small Commercial Insurance Solutions via Insureon; office search. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Insurance for Technology Companies. HUB International; Technology Company Insurance & Risk Management: startup, software, hardware and digital-media introduction; Business Coverage and People Protection lists; technology-client count. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Comprehensive Casualty Insurance Solutions. HUB International; General & Product Liability section: scope of protection for premises/operations, products, contractual liability, catastrophes and violent events; complementary casualty coverages (product recall, crisis response, SML, active assailant, Violent Acts Liability); risk-financing and strategic casualty approach; vertical industry expertise; carrier relationships. Accessed 2026-09-23.
Product Liability Insurance Guide
- Get business insurance. U.S. Small Business Administration; Six common types of business insurance table. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Facts + Statistics: Product liability. Insurance Information Institute; Product liability insurance opening definition (manufacturer, distributor, or seller; defective condition causing personal injury or damage); Product recall insurance sentence. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Product liability, recall and contamination insurance. Insurance Information Institute; Product liability opening (design/manufacture/distribute/sell; injury, property damage or death; added to GL or stand-alone); What could go wrong? (roles; directions/warnings); Covering the costs of a product recall; Contamination insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Commercial Insurance Guide. California Department of Insurance; Commercial General Liability Coverage: premises, products liability and completed operations; major exclusions including damage to your work, impaired property, sistership liability and failure to perform; Limits of Insurance products and completed operations aggregate; glossary Sistership Liability. Accessed 2026-09-16.





