Gallagher vs HUB International Kidnap and Ransom Insurance

Gallagher’s executive-risk practice reviews carrier rescue teams; HUB places K&R through ProEx with attorney claims support.

What Is Gallagher?

Gallagher is a business-insurance broker and risk-management consultancy. Its technology practice serves startups through global enterprises, alongside a separate small-business offering for IT professionals and an executive-risk practice covering D&O and transaction-related coverages. Woodruff Sawyer is now part of Gallagher. 1,2,3,4,5

Read the Gallagher profile

What Is HUB International?

HUB International is a North American insurance brokerage that arranges business insurance, employee benefits and related risk services through local offices and specialist practices. Smaller commercial accounts may be sent to Insureon for an online quote; other programs are handled by HUB advisors, with policy terms set by the insurers they use. 6,7,8

Read the HUB International profile

What Is Kidnap and Ransom Insurance?

Kidnap and ransom insurance provides financial protection for specified kidnapping and extortion events and gives the business access to a crisis-response firm. Check who is insured, which events are named, and how territory and sanctions terms apply to your actual travel. 11,12,13

Read the full coverage guide

Key Differences in Kidnap and Ransom Insurance

Two Brokerage Practices, Different Homes

Gallagher and HUB both place kidnap and ransom rather than underwrite it. Gallagher houses the work in its Executive and Financial Risk practice. HUB maintains a dedicated kidnap and ransom product page and also lists the line among ProEx Executive Liability coverages. HUB directs prospects to connect with a broker; Gallagher’s reviewed page does not describe a self-serve quote. 3 9 10

What Each Practice Says About Coverage

Gallagher describes protection for executives, employees and families whose work and travel expose them to kidnapping and extortion, and says it can also secure ransomware coverage. HUB’s product page does not list ransomware as part of this line; it cites roughly 15,000 kidnap, extortion or illegal-detention incidents a year and about half a billion dollars in ransom payments, and points to directors and officers, business interruption and cyber as related protections. 3 9

Gallagher says placements include access to highly trained rescue and security personnel and that it analyzes a carrier’s response-team capability when placing the line. HUB says ProEx provides analytics, litigation support and risk-management services and gives clients access to a Claims & Legal Risks Group of attorneys who specialize in ProEx coverages. Gallagher calls the coverage relevant to higher-risk travel and, separately, “a must for all companies”; HUB markets it to traveling executives, employees abroad or domestically, key personnel and families. Neither practice’s reviewed pages name the issuing insurer or publish limits. 3 10 9

What to Confirm in Kidnap and Ransom Insurance Quotes

  • Ask Gallagher whether ransomware sits on the same policy as kidnap, ransom and extortion, and whether HUB is quoting a standalone form or a ProEx executive-liability placement. 3 10
  • Compare how each broker documents the crisis vendor: Gallagher reviews the carrier’s rescue team; HUB’s ProEx page emphasizes attorney claims support. 3 10
  • Get the issuing carrier and limits from both quotes; neither reviewed page publishes them. 3 9
  • Confirm who is insured among executives, employees, families and domestic staff, which both firms mention in different wording. 3 9

Offering Details

Gallagher vs HUB International Kidnap and Ransom Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaGallagher Kidnap, Ransom and Extortion Liability InsuranceHUB International Kidnap and Ransom Insurance Brokerage
Role in This Line

Gallagher's Executive and Financial Risk practice places kidnap, ransom and extortion coverage with outside carriers; it does not underwrite the policy. 3Company-reported. Group-level executive-and-financial-risk practice page.

HUB brokers kidnap and ransom (K&R) insurance both as a standalone product page offering and as one of the Executive Liability coverages in its ProEx Professional & Executive Risk practice, rather than underwriting the policy itself. 9,10Company-reported. K&R product page and ProEx coverage list, read 2026-09-23. Neither page names an issuing insurer.

Issuing Insurer

The executive-and-financial-risk page does not name the insurer that would issue a given client's kidnap and ransom policy. 3Not publicly disclosed. Checked the group-level executive-and-financial-risk practice page.

The K&R product page and the ProEx page do not name an issuing insurer for K&R policies; HUB says ProEx places over $2 billion in premium with insurers it calls top-rated carriers, without naming them. 9,10Not found in reviewed sources. Checked both pages on 2026-09-23; the carrier for a specific K&R placement depends on the quote.

Who It’s For

Gallagher describes kidnap, ransom and extortion coverage as relevant to companies whose executives, employees or families travel or work in higher-risk settings, and separately says it is "a must for all companies," without naming a specific industry or size limit. 3Company-reported. Group-level executive-and-financial-risk practice page.

HUB markets K&R coverage to organizations with executives who travel internationally, employees working abroad or domestically, and other key personnel whose safety is considered critical to the organization, plus their families. 9Company-reported. K&R product page target-audience description; not an underwriting appetite statement.

Coverage Features

Gallagher describes this coverage as protecting executives, employees and their families whose work and travel expose them to kidnapping and extortion risk, and says it can also secure ransomware coverage. 3Company-reported. Group-level executive-and-financial-risk practice page; a service description, not a specific policy's insuring agreement or exclusions.

HUB cites roughly 15,000 kidnap, extortion or illegal-detention incidents a year generating about half a billion dollars in ransom payments, and says an organization can face significant costs even when no ransom is paid. 9Company-reported. K&R product page risk-framing statistics; company-reported and not independently verified by Spot.

HUB's K&R product page cross-references directors and officers liability, business interruption and cyber coverage as related protections, and its ProEx practice groups K&R with other Executive Liability lines such as D&O, employment practices liability and fiduciary liability. 9,10Company-reported. K&R product page related-coverage links and ProEx coverage list; the pages do not describe specific K&R insuring agreements, sublimits or exclusions.

Limits and Retentions

The page does not publish specific kidnap and ransom limits or premium ranges. 3Not publicly disclosed. Checked the group-level executive-and-financial-risk practice page.

Published K&R policy limits or retentions were not found on the reviewed pages. 9,10Not publicly disclosed. Checked the K&R product page and ProEx page on 2026-09-23; limits are set on the quote and declarations.

Risk Services

Gallagher says the coverage it arranges includes access to highly trained rescue and security personnel, and that it analyzes both the policy terms and a carrier's response-team capability when placing this line. 3Company-reported. Group-level executive-and-financial-risk practice page.

HUB says its ProEx practice, which lists K&R among its Executive Liability coverages, provides analytics, litigation support and risk-management services led by a named practice leader, and gives clients access to a Claims & Legal Risks Group of attorneys who specialize in ProEx coverages. 10Company-reported. ProEx page services and claims-support description; not specific to a single K&R engagement.

How to Apply

Not described in the reviewed sources.

HUB directs K&R prospects to "Connect With a Broker" rather than an online quote or bind flow. 9Company-reported. K&R product page call to action.

Full Comparison

More Gallagher vs HUB International Comparisons

Other Kidnap and Ransom Insurance Comparisons

Sources

Gallagher

  1. Technology Insurance. Gallagher; Introduction; Solutions and coverages for the technology industry: Technology errors and omissions including cyber, Intellectual property insurance, Product liability, Employee benefits; Data-driven insights; global network. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Insurance for Technology & IT Businesses. Gallagher Small Business; Protection for IT Professionals & Their Technology-Based Businesses; recommended coverage menu, including Surety Bond Programs; Connect With An Advisor. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Executive and Financial Risk Insurance. Gallagher; Kidnap, Ransom and Extortion Liability insurance section. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  4. Legal Information. Gallagher Small Business; Producer identification immediately above Quick Links. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  5. Woodruff Sawyer Is Now Gallagher. Gallagher; Opening; Executive and Financial Risk consulting; Continued access to client portals; contact form. Accessed 2026-09-16.

HUB International

  1. About Us. HUB International; Opening description; 1998 formation of HUB International Limited; 2022 Insureon acquisition; headquarters and employee/office counts. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Contact Us. HUB International; Business Solutions paths for Commercial Insurance Solutions versus Small Commercial Insurance Solutions via Insureon; office search. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Insurance for Technology Companies. HUB International; Technology Company Insurance & Risk Management: startup, software, hardware and digital-media introduction; Business Coverage and People Protection lists; technology-client count. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Kidnap and Ransom Insurance Brokers. HUB International; Why coverage is needed: kidnap, extortion and illegal detention risk; incident and ransom-payment statistics; target audience of traveling executives, employees abroad and their loved ones; costs beyond ransom payment; Connect With a Broker call to action; cross-references to D&O, business interruption and cyber coverage. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  5. HUB ProEx. HUB International; ProEx Coverages list including Kidnap, Ransom, and Extortion insurance under Executive Liability; Claims & Legal Support section; ProEx premium volume statement. Accessed 2026-09-23.

Kidnap and Ransom Insurance Guide

  1. Kidnap and Ransom Applications and Forms. Travelers; Opening; Applications; Sample policy forms. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. The Chubb Primary Kidnap Ransom and Extortion Insurance. Chubb; Opening; Kidnap, Ransom & Extortion Insurance Highlights. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Kidnap and Ransom Coverage. Travelers; I pp.1–2; III pp.3–9; IV p.9; V pp.10–13. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Let Spot Handle the Insurance Legwork.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot