Gallagher vs HUB International D&O Insurance

Gallagher’s D&O practice is built around SPACs and IPOs; HUB’s ProEx practice brokers D&O with a Claims & Legal Risks Group.

What Is Gallagher?

Gallagher is a business-insurance broker and risk-management consultancy. Its technology practice serves startups through global enterprises, alongside a separate small-business offering for IT professionals and an executive-risk practice covering D&O and transaction-related coverages. Woodruff Sawyer is now part of Gallagher. 1,2,3,4,5

Read the Gallagher profile

What Is HUB International?

HUB International is a North American insurance brokerage that arranges business insurance, employee benefits and related risk services through local offices and specialist practices. Smaller commercial accounts may be sent to Insureon for an online quote; other programs are handled by HUB advisors, with policy terms set by the insurers they use. 6,7,8

Read the HUB International profile

What Is Directors and Officers Insurance?

Directors and officers liability insurance addresses covered claims alleging wrongful acts in managing an organization. 11

Read the full coverage guide

Key Differences in D&O Insurance

Listing Events Versus Three Standing Segments

Gallagher specifically markets D&O placement and advisory support to SPACs around IPO and de-SPAC and to companies going public through an IPO or direct listing. HUB markets D&O brokerage to private companies with customer and supplier relationships, nonprofits with advisory boards or committees, and public companies with shareholders. Both place public-company D&O; Gallagher’s stated hook is the listing event, HUB’s is three ongoing client types. 3 9

Two Attorney Claims Groups, Different Hooks

Gallagher says its Executive and Financial Risk practice has a dedicated claims-advocacy team with in-house attorneys and uses quantitative benchmarking, including measuring the judicious use of Side-A-only D&O. HUB describes a Claims & Legal Risks Group, staffed by attorneys who specialize in ProEx coverages including D&O, that provides support from pre-claim policy-wording review through claim recovery. Gallagher’s public differentiator is Side-A-only measurement; HUB’s is pre-claim wording review through recovery. 3 10

IPO Line Bundle Versus ProEx Analytics

For SPACs and IPOs, Gallagher describes bundling D&O before and after the IPO with representations and warranties, E&O, cyber, tax and contingent liability. HUB says ProEx provides analytics, litigation support and risk-management services to clients of all sizes, led by a named practice leader, and directs prospects to “Connect With a Broker.” Neither reviewed page names the issuing insurer or publishes D&O limits. 3 10 9

What to Confirm in D&O Insurance Quotes

  • Ask Gallagher how Side-A-only benchmarking would change the tower if you are listing. 3
  • Ask HUB how the Claims & Legal Risks Group would review wording before a claim. 10
  • Get the issuing carrier from both; neither page names one. 3 9
  • Ask Gallagher whether related IPO lines would be bound with D&O. 3

Offering Details

Gallagher vs HUB International D&O Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaGallagher Directors and Officers (D&O) Liability InsuranceHUB International Directors and Officers Insurance Brokerage
Role in This Line

Gallagher's Executive and Financial Risk practice places D&O liability insurance and advises on program design; it does not underwrite the policy, which is issued by a carrier selected during placement. 3Company-reported. Group-level executive-and-financial-risk practice page.

HUB brokers D&O liability coverage for private, nonprofit and public-company clients as part of its ProEx Professional & Executive Risk practice, rather than underwriting the policy itself. 9,10Company-reported. D&O product page and ProEx coverage list, read 2026-09-23. Neither page names an issuing insurer.

Issuing Insurer

The executive-and-financial-risk page does not name the insurer that would issue a given client's D&O policy; it says Gallagher weighs carrier qualifications and performance data alongside a client's own insurer history and preferences when deciding which carriers to approach. 3Company-reported. Group-level executive-and-financial-risk practice page.

The D&O product page and the ProEx coverage list do not name an issuing insurer for D&O policies; HUB says ProEx places over $2 billion in premium with insurers it calls top-rated carriers, without naming them. 9,10Not found in reviewed sources. Checked both pages on 2026-09-23; the carrier for a specific D&O placement depends on the quote.

Who It’s For

Gallagher specifically markets D&O placement and advisory support to special-purpose acquisition companies (SPACs) around their IPO and de-SPAC process, and to companies going public through an IPO or direct listing. 3Company-reported. Group-level executive-and-financial-risk practice page, SPAC and IPO subsections.

HUB markets D&O brokerage to three segments: private companies with customer and supplier relationships, nonprofits with advisory boards or committees, and public companies with shareholders. 9Company-reported. D&O product page target-market description; not an underwriting appetite statement.

Coverage Features

Gallagher says its D&O team constructs policies addressing lawsuits from shareholders, employees, competitors, suppliers and government bodies, and can evaluate an existing D&O program against the market. 3Company-reported. Group-level executive-and-financial-risk practice page; a service description, not a specific policy's insuring agreement.

HUB describes D&O coverage it arranges as addressing three areas: personal asset protection for monetary judgments and settlements from an alleged breach of duty, loyalty or care; defense in civil, criminal, judicial, administrative, regulatory or arbitration proceedings; and workplace and employment protection for breach-of-fiduciary-duty and employment-related suits. 9Company-reported. Product-page marketing description; the issued policy's insuring agreements, conditions and exclusions control an actual claim.

HUB says D&O claims it sees can come from regulators, donors, clients or customers, suppliers, competitors, employees, shareholders and creditors. 9Company-reported. Product-page list of potential claim sources; not a guarantee of coverage for any specific claimant.

Limits and Retentions

The executive-and-financial-risk page does not publish D&O limits, retentions or premium ranges. 3Not publicly disclosed. Checked the group-level executive-and-financial-risk practice page.

Published D&O policy limits or retentions were not found on the reviewed pages. 9,10Not publicly disclosed. Checked the D&O product page and ProEx page on 2026-09-23; limits are set on the quote and declarations.

Risk Services

For SPACs and IPOs, Gallagher describes bundling D&O coverage before and after the IPO with related lines such as representations and warranties, E&O, cyber, tax and contingent liability coverage, plus risk-management and claims support at each stage. 3Company-reported. Group-level executive-and-financial-risk practice page, SPAC subsection.

HUB says its ProEx practice, which lists D&O among its Executive Liability coverages, provides analytics, litigation support and risk-management services to clients of all sizes, led by a named ProEx practice leader. 10Company-reported. ProEx page team and services description; not specific to a single D&O engagement.

How to Apply

Not described in the reviewed sources.

HUB directs D&O prospects to "Connect With a Broker" rather than an online quote or bind flow. 9Company-reported. D&O product page call to action.

Claims Support

Gallagher says its Executive and Financial Risk practice has a dedicated claims-advocacy team with in-house attorneys specializing in these lines, and that it uses quantitative benchmarking, including measuring the judicious use of Side-A-only D&O coverage, to guide more precise coverage structures. 3Company-reported. Group-level executive-and-financial-risk practice summary; describes a support service, not a guarantee of claim payment.

HUB describes a Claims & Legal Risks Group, staffed by attorneys who specialize in ProEx coverages including D&O, that provides management-liability claims support from pre-claim policy-wording review through claim recovery. 10Company-reported. ProEx page claims and legal support section.

Full Comparison

More Gallagher vs HUB International Comparisons

Other D&O Insurance Comparisons

Sources

Gallagher

  1. Technology Insurance. Gallagher; Introduction; Solutions and coverages for the technology industry: Technology errors and omissions including cyber, Intellectual property insurance, Product liability, Employee benefits; Data-driven insights; global network. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Insurance for Technology & IT Businesses. Gallagher Small Business; Protection for IT Professionals & Their Technology-Based Businesses; recommended coverage menu, including Surety Bond Programs; Connect With An Advisor. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Executive and Financial Risk Insurance. Gallagher; Directors and Officers (D&O) Liability insurance section; Special-Purpose Acquisition Companies (SPACs) section; IPO and direct listings section; Executive and Financial Risk Practice Summary. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  4. Legal Information. Gallagher Small Business; Producer identification immediately above Quick Links. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  5. Woodruff Sawyer Is Now Gallagher. Gallagher; Opening; Executive and Financial Risk consulting; Continued access to client portals; contact form. Accessed 2026-09-16.

HUB International

  1. About Us. HUB International; Opening description; 1998 formation of HUB International Limited; 2022 Insureon acquisition; headquarters and employee/office counts. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Contact Us. HUB International; Business Solutions paths for Commercial Insurance Solutions versus Small Commercial Insurance Solutions via Insureon; office search. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Insurance for Technology Companies. HUB International; Technology Company Insurance & Risk Management: startup, software, hardware and digital-media introduction; Business Coverage and People Protection lists; technology-client count. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Directors and Officers (D&O) Liability Insurance Broker. HUB International; Target segments: private companies, nonprofit organizations, public companies; Personal Asset Protection, Claims Protection, Workplace & Employment Protection; list of potential claimants; 2016 private-company D&O claim statistic; Connect With a Broker call to action. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  5. HUB ProEx. HUB International; ProEx Coverages list including Directors & Officers Liability (D&O) and Side-A Only Excess D&O under Executive Liability; Claims & Legal Support section; ProEx premium volume statement. Accessed 2026-09-23.

D&O Insurance Guide

  1. Glossary of Business Insurance Terms. The Hartford; Directors and Officers Liability Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance; Employment Practices Liability Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Let Spot Handle the Insurance Legwork.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot