Cowbell vs Resilience Tech E&O Insurance

Cowbell’s surplus Prime Tech lists $5M limits up to $1B revenue; Resilience names Homeland insurers, $10M limits and a $25M–$10B revenue band.

What Is Cowbell Insurance?

Cowbell is a specialty-insurance platform and agency focused on cyber risk for small and midsize businesses. Its U.S. catalogue also includes combined Technology E&O and cyber products and a Zurich management-liability offering distributed through appointed wholesalers. 1,2,3

Read the Cowbell profile

What Is Resilience Insurance?

Resilience combines cyber and technology E&O insurance with cybersecurity risk-management services. Its offerings address both insurance placement and security investment decisions. 5,6

Read the Resilience profile

What Is Technology Errors and Omissions (E&O) Insurance?

Technology errors and omissions (E&O) insurance addresses claims that a technology product or service caused a customer or other third party a financial loss. It doesn't extend to cyber incidents, bodily injury or professional services outside the quoted product. 9,10,11

Read the full coverage guide

Key Differences in Tech E&O Insurance

Who Issues the Policy

Cowbell’s Prime Tech and Prime Tech Plus PDFs do not name the issuing insurer and state that terms vary by state and underwriting. Resilience’s US disclosure says technology E&O is distributed by Ocrea Risk Services, LLC (doing business as Resilience Cyber Insurance Solutions) and underwritten by Homeland Insurance Company of New York or Homeland Insurance Company of Delaware, both Intact Insurance Group USA subsidiaries. Resilience also notes capacity through “approved underwriting companies” without naming insurers beyond those two Homeland entities. 2 7 6

Limits and Revenue Bands

Cowbell publishes limits up to $5 million on Prime Tech and another $5 million on Prime Tech Plus, aimed at technology businesses with up to $1 billion in revenue. Resilience advertises technology E&O limits up to $10 million on primary and excess for US businesses with $25 million to $10 billion in revenue across services, hardware, data centers, telecommunications, software and web services. A company below $25 million in revenue sits outside Resilience’s published band; a company above $1 billion sits outside Cowbell’s published Prime Tech appetite. 2 4 6

Form Style, Services and Claims

Cowbell lists combined E&O and cyber perils, Co-Pilot, Resiliency Services and Wizer training, and agent-only surplus distribution. Resilience describes endorsements integrated into the policy form (“Coverage Certainty”) rather than a base form plus separate endorsement packets, and a 24/7 in-house claims and incident-response team with a dedicated claims manager; its reviewed Tech E&O page does not describe a self-service quote flow. Cowbell’s reviewed PDFs do not describe an in-house claims team for this line. 2 6 8

What to Confirm in Tech E&O Insurance Quotes

  • Confirm which Homeland company would issue a Resilience policy in your state, and which surplus-lines insurer would issue Cowbell Prime Tech. 7 2
  • Check revenue eligibility against Resilience’s $25 million floor and $10 billion ceiling versus Cowbell’s $1 billion ceiling. 6 2
  • Compare $5 million Cowbell maxima with Resilience’s $10 million advertised limit and whether excess is follow-form (Prime Tech Plus) or Resilience excess. 4 6
  • Ask how claims are handled: Resilience’s shared in-house team versus Cowbell’s undisclosed claims process on the reviewed PDFs. 8 2

Offering Details

Cowbell vs Resilience Tech E&O Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaCowbell Prime Tech / Prime Tech PlusResilience Technology E&O
Role in This Line

Cowbell markets Prime Tech as a non-admitted professional-indemnity product that combines Technology Errors & Omissions (E&O) with cyber coverage in one policy, and Prime Tech Plus as a follow-form excess layer that sits above a primary Tech E&O/cyber policy. 2,4Company-reported. Prime Tech and Prime Tech Plus overview PDFs.

Resilience markets technology E&O as professional liability coverage for technology companies with complex risk, distributed in the US by a separate insurance agency rather than underwritten by the Resilience brand itself. 6Company-reported. Technology E&O product page introduction, accessed 2026-09-23.

Issuing Insurer

Neither reviewed PDF names the specific issuing insurer for Prime Tech or Prime Tech Plus; both state coverage, terms and availability vary by state and are subject to underwriting approval without naming a carrier. 2,4Not publicly disclosed. Disclaimer paragraphs of both PDFs, read on 2026-09-23.

Resilience's US disclosure states that technology E&O products are distributed by Ocrea Risk Services, LLC (NPN 19169260), doing business as Resilience Cyber Insurance Solutions, and underwritten by Homeland Insurance Company of New York or Homeland Insurance Company of Delaware, both subsidiaries of Intact Insurance Group USA LLC. The product page separately says capacity comes through "approved underwriting companies" rated by AM Best, without naming an insurer beyond the two Homeland entities. 7,6Company-reported. US paragraph of Resilience's disclaimer page and the "Superior Capacity" benefit on the product page, both accessed 2026-09-23; product- and state-specific issuer mapping is not published.

Who It’s For

Cowbell targets Prime Tech and Prime Tech Plus at technology businesses with up to $1B in revenue, listing example segments such as SaaS/app service providers, IT consultants, data analytics, hardware resellers, and web design or web services firms. 2,4Company-reported. Risk Appetite sections of both PDFs.

Resilience targets US technology E&O business with $25 million to $10 billion in revenue for primary and excess placements, spanning technology services, technology hardware, data centers, telecommunications, software and web services. 6Company-reported. "A Broad Market Appetite" benefit and segment list on the product page, accessed 2026-09-23; smaller companies fall outside the published revenue range.

Coverage Features

Cowbell lists Prime Tech coverage for delay in delivery, negligence, misrepresentation, breach of warranty/contract, product failures, and software copyright disputes, plus associated cyber-related costs like cyber extortion, data restoration, social engineering, and business interruption. 2Company-reported. Prime Tech FAQ, 'What coverage is offered?' and 'other associated costs' lists.

Cowbell says Prime Tech includes duty to defend, defense costs for privacy-related regulatory proceedings, contractual-indemnity coverage, expansive breach-of-contract coverage, broad intellectual-property infringement coverage, and no exclusions for guarantees, consequential damages, or breach of warranties. 2Company-reported. 'Prime Tech Coverage Benefits' list; illustrative, subject to the issued policy.

Resilience says its policy endorsements are integrated directly into the policy form, which it calls "Coverage Certainty," for what it describes as a straightforward, beginning-to-end read rather than a base form layered with separate endorsement documents. 6Company-reported. "Coverage Certainty" benefit on the product page; the actual policy as issued controls.

Resilience lists six technology segments it underwrites for E&O: technology services (MSP/MSSP, consulting, staffing, storage services, VARs), technology hardware and networking equipment manufacturing, data centers, telecommunications, software (including AI, security software and payment processors) and web services. 6Company-reported. "Comprehensive coverage for technology risks" segment list on the product page, accessed 2026-09-23.

Limits and Retentions

Cowbell states Prime Tech offers limits up to $5M, and Prime Tech Plus (the excess layer) also offers limits up to $5M above the underlying primary policy. 2,4Company-reported. Product overview PDFs.

Resilience advertises technology E&O limits up to $10 million, available on both a primary and an excess basis. The page does not publish retentions or deductibles. 6Company-reported. "A Broad Market Appetite" benefit, accessed 2026-09-23; the figure is a marketing maximum, not a specific quote.

Risk Services

Cowbell says Prime Tech is 'powered by Cowbell Co-Pilot,' its AI-driven assistive underwriting tool, and that policyholders get the same Cowbell Resiliency Services, Cowbell Connectors, and complimentary Wizer cybersecurity-awareness training offered on its cyber products. 2Company-reported. Prime Tech PDF, page 2 (Cowbell Co-Pilot mention) and 'The Cowbell Advantage' list.

Not described in the reviewed sources.

How to Apply

Cowbell says Prime Tech is available on a surplus-lines basis in all 50 states and is distributed through agents rather than direct to businesses. 2Company-reported. 'Prime Tech Coverage Benefits' list, first bullet.

The reviewed technology E&O product page does not describe a self-service online application or quoting process; it routes visitors to request a quote rather than showing an application flow. 6Not publicly disclosed. Technology E&O product page, accessed 2026-09-23.

Claims Support

Not described in the reviewed sources.

Resilience describes a fully in-house claims and incident-response team available 24/7, with a dedicated claims manager who stays with the policyholder from initial triage through settlement, backed by an outside panel of privacy-law, forensics and crisis-communications specialists. The reviewed pages do not describe a claims process specific to technology E&O separate from this shared claims team. 8Company-reported. Claims & Incident Response page, accessed 2026-09-23; response-time and outcome statistics on that page are company-reported and not independently verified.

Full Comparison

More Cowbell vs Resilience Comparisons

Other Tech E&O Insurance Comparisons

Sources

Cowbell

  1. Cowbell. Cowbell; What We Do; Assess, Insure, Respond and Improve; U.S. navigation; footer legal disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  2. Prime Tech Product Overview. Cowbell; Product Overview; Risk Appetite; Prime Tech Coverage Benefits; Prime Tech FAQ (typical Tech E&O claims scenarios, coverage offered, associated costs). Accessed 2026-09-23.
  3. Small And Midsize Business Management Liability. Zurich North America; Zurich Select Plus collaboration; admitted paper and Zurich Claims; modular suite: D&O, Employment Practices and Third-Party Discrimination Liability, Fiduciary Liability and Crime modules; access for appointed Zurich E&S wholesalers; target under 250 employees and $50 million assets; access and target-account FAQs. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Prime Tech Plus Product Overview. Cowbell; Product Overview; Seamless excess protection; Tailored for technology providers; Risk Appetite industry list. Accessed 2026-09-23.

Resilience

  1. Home Page. Resilience; Cyber risk management; Broad market appetite. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Technology E&O. Resilience; "Comprehensive coverage for technology risks" segment list; "Key Benefits" section: A Broad Market Appetite, Comprehensive Coverage, Coverage Certainty, Superior Capacity. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  3. Disclaimer. Resilience; USA paragraph: "Insurance products are distributed by Ocrea Risk Services, LLC (NPN 19169260) dba Resilience Cyber Insurance Solutions. Resilience products are underwritten by Homeland Insurance Company of New York or Homeland Insurance Company of Delaware, each subsidiaries of Intact Insurance Group USA LLC". Accessed 2026-09-23.
  4. Claims & Incident Response. Resilience; "Our Claims Advantage" and "Our Difference" sections: 24/7 in-house Claims & Incident Response team, fully in-house claims staff, dedicated claims manager from triage through settlement, world-class outside panel. Accessed 2026-09-23.

Tech E&O Insurance Guide

  1. Insurance and Bonding Guidelines. Georgia Department of Administrative Services; Professional Liability / Errors and Omissions p.6; Technology Errors & Omissions (Cyber Liability) §9 pp.7–8. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Technology Errors and Omissions Insurance. The Hartford; What Is Technology Errors and Omissions Insurance?; differences between cyber liability and errors and omissions; How Technology Errors and Omissions Insurance Works With Contracts. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. DigiTech Enterprise Risk Management. Chubb; Coverage Synopsis > Third-Party Liability Coverage > Technology Errors and Omissions; Cyber, Privacy and Network Security Liability; footer product-summary disclaimer. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Let Spot Handle the Insurance Legwork.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot