Cowbell vs Pie Insurance: How Do They Compare for Business Insurance?

Cowbell sells dedicated cyber coverage; Pie focuses on workers’ compensation and offers cyber through a carrier partner.

An Overview of Cowbell and Pie Insurance

An employer expanding its workforce may need workers’ compensation while also protecting customer and payroll data. Pie’s core product addresses workers’ compensation and its cyber offer comes through a carrier partner; Cowbell offers a dedicated cyber proposal through brokers. 11 16 27 30 Choose Cowbell if you need a standalone cyber proposal; choose Pie if you need its workers’ compensation program, then compare its partner’s cyber terms separately.

What Stands Out About Cowbell and Pie Insurance?

Cowbell at a Glance

  • Compare Cowbell’s primary and excess cyber options against your company’s size and risk. 9,11,12,13,14,15Company-reportedCurrent U.S. broker-resource catalogue and product overviews. Product descriptions are illustrative and actual forms control.
  • Cyber policies may include risk insights and training; other security services are optional. 22,11,15Company-reportedCurrent U.S. resiliency-services catalogue and cyber product overviews. Eligibility, third-party terms and whether a service is bundled depend on the policy and service agreement.

Pie Insurance at a Glance

  • Start a workers’ compensation quote online or through an insurance agent. 24,23,25Company-reportedWorkers’ compensation access for small businesses and agencies; other product pages direct buyers to quote or contact flows but do not describe the same process.
  • Pay workers’ compensation premiums based on reported payroll, with no initial deposit. 39,40Company-reportedPie’s current workers’ compensation payment pages; actual availability and policy-specific charges need confirmation in the quote.

Cowbell vs Pie Insurance Coverage Lines Compared

CoverageCowbellPie Insurance
Business owner’s policyNot listedListed 29Pie accepts business owner’s policy quote requests.
CrimeListed 18,19Cowbell offers a crime module in Zurich Select Plus for small and medium private companies, available through appointed Zurich E&S wholesalers.Not listed
Cyber liabilityListed 11,12,13,14,15Cowbell offers standalone and excess cyber products through its insurance-agency business.Listed 30Pie provides access to cyber insurance quotes from carrier partners.
Directors and officersListed 18,19Cowbell offers Zurich Select Plus D&O for small and medium private companies, available through appointed Zurich E&S wholesalers.Not listed
Employment practices liabilityListed 18,19Cowbell offers Zurich Select Plus employment practices coverage for small and medium private companies, available through appointed Zurich E&S wholesalers.Not listed
Fiduciary liabilityListed 18,19Cowbell offers Zurich Select Plus fiduciary liability for small and medium private companies, available through appointed Zurich E&S wholesalers.Not listed
General liabilityNot listedListed 32Pie arranges general liability insurance through unaffiliated third-party insurers.
Management liabilityListed 18,19Cowbell provides access to Zurich management liability for private businesses with fewer than 250 employees and under $50 million in assets through Zurich-appointed wholesalers.Not listed
Professional errors and omissions (E&O)Not listedListed 31Pie Insurance arranges professional errors and omissions insurance for small businesses through third-party insurers.
Technology errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 16,17Cowbell markets combined technology errors and omissions and cyber coverage, plus follow-form excess, for technology businesses with revenue up to $1 billion.Not listed
Workers’ compensationNot listedListed 25Pie Insurance offers workers’ compensation insurance for small businesses.

A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means we have no separate offering page for it; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.

Cowbell and Pie Insurance Coverage, Line by Line

Open what Cowbell and Pie Insurance each publish for one coverage line.

Cowbell and Pie Insurance Review Scores for 2026

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for its sources, what it covers and how the score is calculated.

Cowbell Review Score

2.0/ 10

Review Score

1 rated source

Cowbell has one public rating we could find: 1.0 out of 5 on SourceForge from three reviews in 2023. That's too few and too old to say much.

Read Cowbell reviews

Pie Insurance Review Score

1.7/ 10

Review Score

2 rated sources

Pie’s service record raises clear concerns: elevated regulator complaints reported by NerdWallet, 1.7/5 on Trustpilot and an F from BBB. Investigate billing, cancellation and complaint handling before buying.

Read Pie Insurance reviews

Key Differences Between Cowbell and Pie Insurance

Workers’ Compensation and Cyber Coverage

A small distributor is adding warehouse staff and an online ordering system. Pie’s workers’ compensation offering addresses workplace injury and illness; Cowbell’s cyber materials address specified digital incidents and associated loss. The distributor could need both. Choosing the workers’ compensation arrangement does not settle the cyber purchase, and a cyber policy should not be treated as protection for all of the employer’s liabilities. 25 11

Pie also invites cyber quote requests through carrier partners. Its page describes first-party costs—the business’s own response and recovery expenses—and third-party liability to others. Cowbell publishes named cyber programs with distinct appetites and structures. Ask Pie which actual carrier and form it proposes, then compare that proposal with the relevant Cowbell form. Pie’s less detailed public cyber page establishes a need for quote documents, not inferior coverage. 30 9 11

If the distributor also begins supplying software to customers, the question expands beyond a breach of its own systems. Cowbell’s Prime Tech combines technology E&O and cyber. Pie separately offers professional liability/E&O through partners, so ask whether its proposed insured-services definition covers that software work and how it interacts with cyber. Neither catalogue automatically answers liability for a customer’s loss after a service failure. 16 31 30

Insurers, Agency Access and Underwriting Inputs

Pie’s affiliated workers’ compensation insurers and outside cyber partners should be identified separately on a program schedule. Its workers’ compensation group’s financial-strength evidence cannot be assigned to an unnamed cyber partner. Likewise, Cowbell is an agency or general agent; its program materials name issuing carriers rather than making the Cowbell brand the insurer on every policy. 27 44 30 5 11

For a buyer who already works with an agent, both businesses provide an agency route for their core offerings. Pie also lets employers start workers’ compensation directly online, while Cowbell’s public U.S. buyer route points to agents. That makes it possible to ask one advisor to coordinate the insurance, but actual appointments and access must be confirmed; these sources do not establish a Cowbell–Pie distribution relationship. 24 25 8

Prepare information for the right underwriting task. Pie lists payroll and class codes, which describe employee work, among workers’ compensation inputs. Cowbell’s cyber materials emphasize the organization’s digital risks and security practices. A ZIP-code submission for workers’ compensation should not be mistaken for a completed cyber application, and Pie’s workers’ compensation quote-time claim does not establish the timing of its partner cyber placement. 25 30 11

Payroll Billing, Financing and State Availability

Pie’s pay-as-you-go arrangement bases workers’ compensation payments on reported payroll and advertises no initial deposit. For the growing distributor, that connects payments to hiring activity. Cowbell’s direct-bill financing divides the premium into payments with a finance charge; it is not described as payroll-based pricing. Comparing the monthly debits alone would conceal both the different insurance and the different billing method. 40 20

Pie still describes an annual premium audit using actual payroll, employee duties and subcontractor insurance records. Build recordkeeping into the hiring process even if pay-as-you-go is selected. For Cowbell, ask which premium information and renewal application must be updated as revenue or operations change. The useful budget has separate lines for workers’ compensation audit exposure, cyber premium, transaction charges, financing and any cybersecurity subscriptions. 41 20 22

State expansion also needs a product-specific answer. Pie’s public workers’ compensation footprint counts conflict, while its cyber page does not supply a state-by-product schedule. Cowbell publishes broad producer licenses alongside different program availability. Give the agent the actual work locations and activities instead of treating either agency’s licensing list as acceptance of every risk. 33 35 30 5 12

Injury Claims, Cyber Incidents and Certificates

Pie describes workplace-injury reporting and state-dependent claims administration. Cowbell describes cyber incident-response resources. An employer should maintain both an injury-reporting procedure and a cyber response contact sheet; its Pie cyber partner may have another reporting route entirely. These are service descriptions, not evidence of which company resolves claims better. 42 43 30 21

The same separation helps with routine documents. Pie’s online tutorial concerns workers’ compensation certificates and policy records. Cowbell routes endorsements through agents. If a customer requests proof of both coverages, specify the policy and any required change for each; one certificate does not amend either contract or establish that every requested protection exists. 37 38 20

What Should You Confirm in Cowbell and Pie Insurance Quotes?

  • The cyber offers: Obtain Pie’s named partner, full cyber wording and service contacts alongside the exact Cowbell program and form. Include technology E&O if the business sells software services. 30 16
  • A location and payroll schedule: Confirm accepted work states, job classifications, payroll-reporting responsibilities and the final audit documents. Keep cyber availability separate. 25 41 5
  • A complete payment comparison: Separate pay-as-you-go workers’ compensation from financed cyber premium, card charges, agent compensation and security-service subscriptions. 39 27 20 22
  • Two incident procedures: Identify the workers’ compensation administrator for each state and the cyber insurer’s emergency notice and vendor-approval requirements. 43 21

Cowbell vs Pie Insurance Services Compared

What each provider says about the services you may need

CriteriaCowbellPie Insurance
Customer focus

Small and midsize businesses can compare Cowbell cyber options, while middle-market firms can consider broader programs; Prime 100 targets up to $100 million revenue and Prime 250/Tech up to $1 billion. 10,11,12,13,16Company-reportedPublished U.S. product appetites; eligibility is subject to underwriting and product-specific class restrictions.

Small businesses looking for workers’ compensation can approach Pie directly or through local, regional and national agencies. 24,25Company-reportedUS small-business workers’ compensation distribution described on Pie’s current About and product pages.

Access to insurers

Ask which insurer is on your declarations: Cowbell names Palomar for Prime 100/100 Pro, Palomar and Chaucer for Prime 250, Chaucer for Prime One, and more general carrier descriptions for excess, Tech Plus and Select Plus. 11,12,13,14,15,17,18,7Company-reportedNamed paper providers in the current reviewed product materials. The quote and policy must identify the actual insurer for a specific product, state and account.

Pie workers’ compensation is written by The Pie Insurance Company and affiliates; AM Best says all business moved to The Pie Insurance Company and Pie Casualty Insurance Company as of January 1, 2024. 27,44,45,46VerifiedPie’s workers’ compensation program; the actual declarations page controls the issuing insurer for a specific policy and state.

Pie Casualty has an A- (Excellent) financial-strength rating with Stable outlook from AM Best, affirmed April 24, 2026; this is an insurer-strength opinion, not a guarantee your claim will be covered. 44VerifiedPie Casualty Insurance Company and the consolidated Pie Insurance Group rating unit as identified in the disclosure report.

For Pie’s BOP, GL, professional liability or cyber, ask which insurer would issue the policy; Pie says outside partners underwrite these lines but its reviewed pages do not name current partners. 27,29,30,31,32Not publicly disclosedCurrent public BOP, cyber, general-liability and professional-liability/E&O pages; account-specific carrier access was not tested.

Application process

Buyers work through an insurance agent or broker; appointed agents use Cowbell’s platform to quote, bind and issue eligible products, and no direct-buyer quote path was described. 8,1,9,11Company-reportedCurrent public U.S. buyer and broker paths. This does not establish that every listed agent can access every Cowbell product.

Small businesses can start a workers’ compensation quote online or through an insurance agent; agencies use a separate partner portal. 24,23,25Company-reportedWorkers’ compensation access for small businesses and agencies; other product pages direct buyers to quote or contact flows but do not describe the same process.

Have your ZIP, payroll and class-code details ready for a Pie workers’ compensation quote; its online intake begins with ZIP code. 28,25Company-reportedUnauthenticated first step and Pie’s description of workers’ compensation quote inputs; no data was entered and the flow was not advanced.

Pie advertises a workers’ compensation quote in about three minutes, but this company estimate does not predict underwriting or binding time. 25,23Company-reportedWorkers’ compensation quote marketing; no timed independent quote test was performed.

Fees and compensation

Cowbell lists several payment methods and financing for direct-billed policies; credit cards carry a disclosed 2.99% processing fee, and financing terms are shown before enrollment. 20Company-reportedCurrent U.S. direct-bill FAQ. Agency-billed policies use different payment routes, and policy invoices control account-specific instructions.

Request your broker’s compensation disclosure and itemized premium because reviewed US sources do not publish Cowbell’s producer commissions or universal premiums. 2,20,5,10Not found in reviewed sourcesReview of Cowbell's U.S. terms, FAQ, licensing page and current product overviews as of 15 September 2026; this is not a finding that compensation or other fees do not exist.

Workers’ comp buyers can choose annual, semiannual, quarterly, monthly or pay-as-you-go plans; pay-as-you-go follows reported payroll without a deposit, while monthly plans require 16.6% upfront and ten payments. 39,40Company-reportedPie’s current workers’ compensation payment pages; actual availability and policy-specific charges need confirmation in the quote.

Include Pie’s 3% card fee in your quote comparison for eligible new single-state workers’ comp policies, except in Florida, Nebraska, Maryland and Rhode Island; the page does not specify multi-state or renewal fees. 39Company-reportedCredit-card payments for new single-state workers’ compensation policies under the current payment-options page.

Ask the state-specific price before requesting a waiver of subrogation because Pie charges for each specific or blanket waiver but publishes no amount. 38Not publicly disclosedWorkers’ compensation waiver requests through Pie’s published service process.

Ask your agent what commission applies because Pie says partner agents earn commissions on workers’ comp policies, but current pages publish no standard rate. 43,27Not publicly disclosedAgency-distributed workers’ compensation and other third-party placements; expired promotional incentives were not treated as current standard compensation.

Servicing and renewals

Cowbell pairs cyber coverage with risk ratings, policyholder insights, security connectors, training and resiliency support; included access may be limited or trial-based, while some services require a subscription. 22,11,15Company-reportedCurrent U.S. resiliency-services catalogue and cyber product overviews. Eligibility, third-party terms and whether a service is bundled depend on the policy and service agreement.

Ask your agent how to request changes or cancel; Cowbell directs policyholders to agents for cancellations and agents to Cowbell for endorsements. Prime 100 renewal proposals start around 60 days before expiry; Prime 250 requires a signed application and underwriting. 20Company-reportedCurrent public FAQ for P100 and P250; other products and individual policy terms may use different servicing and renewal procedures.

Pie policyholders can manage payments, download documents and request workers’ comp certificates online; custom certificates may require your agent. 37,38Company-reportedPublished workers’ compensation account tutorial; authenticated features were not accessed or independently tested.

Budget for a workers’ comp premium audit: Pie replaces estimated payroll with actual figures and may request payroll, employee, expense and subcontractor records, which can change your final premium. 41Company-reportedPie workers’ compensation premium audit process; the page does not quantify any resulting additional charge or refund.

Pie’s consumer FAQ describes a workers’ compensation renewal quote about 30 days before expiry for review and acceptance. Its agency FAQ says previews for policies under $20,000 go to the insured with the agency copied, while previews for policies over $20,000 go to the producer; unless otherwise notified, the deposit is drafted and the renewal issued five days before its effective date. The FAQ does not specify the exact-$20,000 case. Ask which notice and payment process applies to your account. 38,43Company-reportedDifferent company-published consumer and agency descriptions of workers’ compensation renewal. Neither guarantees renewal or unchanged terms; the account notice determines the applicable process.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Comparisons Related to Cowbell vs Pie Insurance

  • Cowbell publishes named cyber and technology programs with product-specific insurers and security services; AIG publishes a broader insurer-group portfolio.

  • Compare AIG’s broader commercial insurer group with Pie’s direct and agency workers’ compensation route.

  • Cowbell distributes cyber and technology products through brokers with separate security services; Alliance Risk reviews technology E&O across a broader program.

All Comparisons

Get Help With Insurance Buying and Renewals.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Create your account and submit an insurance request online.

Talk to Spot