Cowbell vs HUB International Fiduciary Liability Insurance

Cowbell’s fiduciary module is Zurich paper for smaller private firms; HUB brokers the line for employers with health and retirement plans.

What Is Cowbell Insurance?

Cowbell is a specialty-insurance platform and agency focused on cyber risk for small and midsize businesses. Its U.S. catalogue also includes combined Technology E&O and cyber products and a Zurich management-liability offering distributed through appointed wholesalers. 1,2,3

Read the Cowbell profile

What Is HUB International?

HUB International is a North American insurance brokerage that arranges business insurance, employee benefits and related risk services through local offices and specialist practices. Smaller commercial accounts may be sent to Insureon for an online quote; other programs are handled by HUB advisors, with policy terms set by the insurers they use. 5,6,7

Read the HUB International profile

What Is Fiduciary Liability Insurance?

Fiduciary liability insurance addresses covered claims alleging breaches of duties in managing employee benefit plans. 9,10

Read the full coverage guide

Key Differences in Fiduciary Liability Insurance

Carrier Versus Broker

Cowbell’s fiduciary offering is a named module inside Zurich’s Select Plus package, with Cowbell operating the platform and Zurich writing the risk. HUB International brokers fiduciary liability for plan-sponsoring employers and does not underwrite it; its reviewed product page does not name an issuing insurer. 4 3 8

Size and Plan-Sponsor Focus

Cowbell’s target is private companies below 250 employees and $50 million in assets. HUB’s product page speaks to employers that offer health-care or retirement plans and that may face claims from participants, the Department of Labor, or the Pension Benefit Guaranty Corporation—without a published headcount or asset cap. 4 8

What Each Describes as Covered

Cowbell’s definition is a single sentence: claims from breaches of fiduciary duties on benefit plans such as a 401(k) or health plan. HUB lists a longer set of claim examples, including administrator or mutual-fund mistakes, benefits denials, insufficient funding, poor investment selection, and incorrect plan termination, and states that D&O does not cover this exposure. 4 8

Buying Path

Appointed Zurich E&S wholesalers reach Cowbell’s module through an API; businesses do not apply on Cowbell’s site. HUB sends prospects to “Connect With a Broker” rather than an online bind flow. 4 8

What to Confirm in Fiduciary Liability Insurance Quotes

  • Identify the issuing carrier on both quotes: Cowbell’s reviewed pages say Zurich admitted paper, and HUB’s page leaves the insurer to the placement. 3 8
  • Ask whether Cowbell’s module is combined with other Select Plus parts, and whether HUB is placing a standalone fiduciary form or a management-liability package. 3 8
  • Get dollar limits; HUB’s $1 million figure is a claim-cost example, not a published policy limit, and Cowbell does not publish limits. 8 4
  • Ask HUB how its prevention video or broker advice would apply to your plan administration, since the page does not describe a formal plan-review service. 8

Offering Details

Cowbell vs HUB International Fiduciary Liability Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaCowbell / Zurich Select Plus Fiduciary LiabilityHUB International Fiduciary Liability Insurance Brokerage
Role in This Line

Fiduciary liability is one module within Cowbell's distribution of Zurich's Select Plus management liability product; Cowbell operates the platform, Zurich underwrites the module. Zurich's own page lists 'Fiduciary Liability' as one of the four modules a buyer can combine. 4,3Company-reported. Management liability page intro and module list; Zurich page module-name section.

HUB brokers fiduciary liability insurance for employers that sponsor health-care and retirement benefit plans, rather than underwriting the coverage itself. 8Company-reported. Fiduciary liability product page, read 2026-09-23. The page does not name an issuing insurer.

Issuing Insurer

Cowbell and Zurich both say the Select Plus modules, including fiduciary liability, are written on Zurich admitted paper. Zurich's site footer names 'Zurich American Insurance Company' in its copyright notice, but neither page states that entity is the specific policy issuer for this module. 4,3Company-reported. Management liability page intro; Zurich page intro and footer.

No insurer is named for fiduciary liability on the product page; the carrier depends on the placement. 8Not found in reviewed sources. Checked the fiduciary liability product page on 2026-09-23.

Who It’s For

Cowbell targets this fiduciary module at private companies with under 250 employees and under $50M in assets, across the same target industries listed for the broader Select Plus product, such as manufacturing and technology. 4Company-reported. FAQ 'What size accounts are targeted?' and Target industries list.

HUB targets fiduciary liability brokerage at employers offering health-care or retirement benefit plans who face potential litigation from plan participants, the Department of Labor or the Pension Benefit Guaranty Corporation. 8Company-reported. Product-page target-audience description; not a published underwriting appetite.

Coverage Features

Cowbell describes fiduciary liability as protecting against claims arising from breaches of fiduciary duties related to employee benefit plans, such as a company's 401(k) or health plan. 4Company-reported. FAQ 'What is the difference between management liability and D&O?'.

HUB lists fiduciary liability claim scenarios it covers as including a plan's insurer, mutual fund or third-party administrator making bad choices, plan administration errors or conflicts of interest, benefits denial, changes or reductions, bad advice or improper counsel, insufficient plan funding, poor investment selection and incorrect plan termination. 8Company-reported. Product-page list of covered claim scenarios; the issued policy's insuring agreement and exclusions control an actual claim.

HUB states that fiduciary liability exposure "is not covered by director's and officers' liability policies," positioning fiduciary liability as a separate line from D&O rather than a bundled coverage. 8Company-reported. Product-page statement distinguishing fiduciary liability from D&O.

Limits and Retentions

Neither the Cowbell page nor Zurich's own Select Plus page, both read in full, publishes fiduciary-liability limit or retention amounts. 4,3Not publicly disclosed. Cowbell page and Zurich page, both read on 2026-09-23.

The product page does not publish specific policy limits or retentions; it references that combined defense and settlement costs on fiduciary claims can exceed $1 million as a risk statistic, not a policy limit. 8Not publicly disclosed. Checked the fiduciary liability product page on 2026-09-23; the $1 million figure describes potential exposure, not an offered limit.

Risk Services

Both Cowbell and Zurich describe the Select Plus product generally as backed by 'the reputable Zurich Claims service'; neither reviewed page describes a fiduciary-specific service such as plan-compliance consulting. 4,3Not publicly disclosed. Management liability page intro; Zurich page intro, both read on 2026-09-23.

HUB publishes a video on preventing fiduciary liability claims and administrative-error best practices on the product page, but the page does not describe a formal fiduciary risk-management or plan-review service. 8Company-reported. Product-page educational video reference.

How to Apply

This fiduciary module is accessed only by appointed Zurich E&S wholesalers through the Cowbell platform's API; it is not sold directly to businesses. 4Company-reported. FAQ 'How can I access the Zurich Select Plus management liability product through Cowbell?'.

HUB directs fiduciary liability prospects to "Connect With a Broker" or "Contact a HUB broker" rather than an online quote or bind flow. 8Company-reported. Product-page calls to action.

Full Comparison

More Cowbell vs HUB International Comparisons

Other Fiduciary Liability Insurance Comparisons

Sources

Cowbell

  1. Cowbell. Cowbell; What We Do; Assess, Insure, Respond and Improve; U.S. navigation; footer legal disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  2. Prime Tech Product Overview. Cowbell; PDF pp. 1–4: non-admitted combined Technology E&O and cyber for technology businesses up to $1 billion; up to $5 million; surplus lines in 50 states; edition PRIME TECH US0001 1025. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Small and Midsize Business Management Liability | Zurich Select Plus. Zurich North America; Intro on the Zurich/Cowbell collaboration; module name 'Fiduciary Liability'; FAQ 'What is the difference between management liability and D&O?' (identical to Cowbell's page); Targeted industries list; footer copyright. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  4. Management liability coverage for small & medium enterprises. Cowbell; FAQ 'What is the difference between management liability and D&O?' (Fiduciary Liability definition); Target industries list; FAQ on access and account size. Accessed 2026-09-23.

HUB International

  1. About Us. HUB International; Opening description; 1998 formation of HUB International Limited; 2022 Insureon acquisition; headquarters and employee/office counts. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Contact Us. HUB International; Business Solutions paths for Commercial Insurance Solutions versus Small Commercial Insurance Solutions via Insureon; office search. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Insurance for Technology Companies. HUB International; Technology Company Insurance & Risk Management: startup, software, hardware and digital-media introduction; Business Coverage and People Protection lists; technology-client count. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Fiduciary Liability Insurance Brokers. HUB International; Target audience: employers offering health-care and retirement benefit plans; list of covered claim scenarios; statement distinguishing fiduciary liability from D&O; $1 million defense-and-settlement-cost reference; "Prevent Fiduciary Liability Claims" video; Connect With a Broker / Contact a HUB broker calls to action. Accessed 2026-09-23.

Fiduciary Liability Insurance Guide

  1. Field Assistance Bulletin No. 2008-04: Guidance Regarding ERISA Fidelity Bonding Requirements. U.S. Department of Labor, Employee Benefits Security Administration; Q2 pp.2–3. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Fiduciary Liability Insurance. Travelers; What Is Fiduciary Liability Insurance? Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Let Spot Handle the Insurance Legwork.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot