Cowbell vs
Gallagher D&O Insurance
Cowbell’s Zurich D&O module is for private SMEs via E&S wholesalers; Gallagher’s D&O practice is built around SPACs, IPOs and claims-advocacy attorneys.
What Is Cowbell Insurance?
Cowbell is a specialty-insurance platform and agency focused on cyber risk for small and midsize businesses. Its U.S. catalogue also includes combined Technology E&O and cyber products and a Zurich management-liability offering distributed through appointed wholesalers. 1,2,3
What Is Gallagher?
Gallagher is a business-insurance broker and risk-management consultancy. Its technology practice serves startups through global enterprises, alongside a separate small-business offering for IT professionals and an executive-risk practice covering D&O and transaction-related coverages. Woodruff Sawyer is now part of Gallagher. 5,6,7,8,9
What Is Directors and Officers Insurance?
Directors and officers liability insurance addresses covered claims alleging wrongful acts in managing an organization. 10
Key Differences in D&O Insurance
SME Module Versus Public-Listing Practice
Cowbell’s D&O is one Select Plus module Zurich underwrites for private companies under 250 employees and $50 million in assets. Gallagher’s Executive and Financial Risk practice places D&O and markets that work to special-purpose acquisition companies around IPO and de-SPAC, and to companies going public by IPO or direct listing. One path is a packaged SME module; the other is program design around a listing event. 4 7
Wholesaler API Versus Advisory Placement
Appointed Zurich E&S wholesalers open Cowbell’s module through the platform API; businesses cannot buy it directly. Gallagher does not underwrite: it constructs policies addressing lawsuits from shareholders, employees, competitors, suppliers and government bodies, and can evaluate an existing D&O program against the market. 4 7
Claims Attorneys and IPO Bundles
Gallagher describes a dedicated claims-advocacy team with in-house attorneys on these lines, plus quantitative benchmarking that includes Side-A-only D&O use, and for SPACs and IPOs it bundles D&O with representations and warranties, E&O, cyber, tax and contingent liability. Cowbell’s reviewed pages frame D&O as personal-asset and company-asset protection that can help attract directors, without describing an in-house D&O claims-attorney team or an IPO-stage bundle. 7 4
What to Confirm in D&O Insurance Quotes
- Ask Gallagher which carrier it would approach; its page weighs qualifications and insurer history without naming an issuer. 7
- Confirm whether Cowbell’s 250-employee and $50 million asset screens apply to your company. 4
- If you are listing or de-SPACing, ask Gallagher how pre- and post-IPO D&O would sit with related lines. 7
- Ask for limit and retention figures; neither Cowbell/Zurich nor Gallagher publishes them on the reviewed pages. 3 7
Offering Details
Cowbell vs Gallagher D&O Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | Cowbell / Zurich Select Plus Private Company D&O | Gallagher Directors and Officers (D&O) Liability Insurance |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | Private Company D&O is one module within Cowbell's distribution of Zurich's Select Plus management liability product; Cowbell gives Zurich-appointed E&S wholesalers platform access, and Zurich underwrites the module. Zurich's own page labels this module 'Private Management and Company Liability' rather than plain 'D&O.' 4,3Company-reported. Management liability page intro and module list; Zurich page module-name section. | Gallagher's Executive and Financial Risk practice places D&O liability insurance and advises on program design; it does not underwrite the policy, which is issued by a carrier selected during placement. 7Company-reported. Group-level executive-and-financial-risk practice page. |
| Issuing Insurer | Cowbell and Zurich both say the Select Plus modules, including D&O, are offered on Zurich admitted paper. Zurich's site footer names 'Zurich American Insurance Company' in its copyright notice, but neither page states that entity is the specific policy issuer for this D&O module. 4,3Company-reported. Management liability page intro; Zurich page intro and footer. | The executive-and-financial-risk page does not name the insurer that would issue a given client's D&O policy; it says Gallagher weighs carrier qualifications and performance data alongside a client's own insurer history and preferences when deciding which carriers to approach. 7Company-reported. Group-level executive-and-financial-risk practice page. |
| Who It’s For | Cowbell targets this D&O module at private companies with under 250 employees and under $50M in assets, in industries such as technology, construction, manufacturing, hospitality, and retail. 4Company-reported. FAQ 'What size accounts are targeted?' and Target industries list. | Gallagher specifically markets D&O placement and advisory support to special-purpose acquisition companies (SPACs) around their IPO and de-SPAC process, and to companies going public through an IPO or direct listing. 7Company-reported. Group-level executive-and-financial-risk practice page, SPAC and IPO subsections. |
| Coverage Features | Cowbell describes D&O liability as protecting the personal assets of directors and officers and the company's financial assets against claims alleging wrongful acts in their capacity as directors and officers. 4Company-reported. FAQ 'What is the difference between management liability and D&O?'. | Gallagher says its D&O team constructs policies addressing lawsuits from shareholders, employees, competitors, suppliers and government bodies, and can evaluate an existing D&O program against the market. 7Company-reported. Group-level executive-and-financial-risk practice page; a service description, not a specific policy's insuring agreement. |
| Limits and Retentions | Neither the Cowbell page nor Zurich's own Select Plus page, both read in full, publishes D&O limit or retention amounts. 4,3Not publicly disclosed. Cowbell page and Zurich page, both read on 2026-09-23. | The executive-and-financial-risk page does not publish D&O limits, retentions or premium ranges. 7Not publicly disclosed. Checked the group-level executive-and-financial-risk practice page. |
| Risk Services | Cowbell frames D&O coverage as a way to help attract and retain directors and officers by giving them personal-asset protection, and says the product covers legal fees, settlements, and other defense costs for the company and its management. 4Company-reported. FAQ 'Why does my company need management liability coverage?'. | For SPACs and IPOs, Gallagher describes bundling D&O coverage before and after the IPO with related lines such as representations and warranties, E&O, cyber, tax and contingent liability coverage, plus risk-management and claims support at each stage. 7Company-reported. Group-level executive-and-financial-risk practice page, SPAC subsection. |
| How to Apply | This D&O module is accessed only by appointed Zurich E&S wholesalers through the Cowbell platform's API; it is not sold directly to businesses. 4Company-reported. FAQ 'How can I access the Zurich Select Plus management liability product through Cowbell?'. | Not described in the reviewed sources. |
| Claims Support | Not described in the reviewed sources. | Gallagher says its Executive and Financial Risk practice has a dedicated claims-advocacy team with in-house attorneys specializing in these lines, and that it uses quantitative benchmarking, including measuring the judicious use of Side-A-only D&O coverage, to guide more precise coverage structures. 7Company-reported. Group-level executive-and-financial-risk practice summary; describes a support service, not a guarantee of claim payment. |
Full Comparison
More Cowbell vs Gallagher Comparisons
Other D&O Insurance Comparisons
Sources
Cowbell
- Cowbell. Cowbell; What We Do; Assess, Insure, Respond and Improve; U.S. navigation; footer legal disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Prime Tech Product Overview. Cowbell; PDF pp. 1–4: non-admitted combined Technology E&O and cyber for technology businesses up to $1 billion; up to $5 million; surplus lines in 50 states; edition PRIME TECH US0001 1025. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Small and Midsize Business Management Liability | Zurich Select Plus. Zurich North America; Intro on the Zurich/Cowbell collaboration; module name 'Private Management and Company Liability'; FAQ 'What is the difference between management liability and D&O?' (identical to Cowbell's page); Targeted industries list; footer copyright. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Management liability coverage for small & medium enterprises. Cowbell; FAQ 'What is the difference between management liability and D&O?' (D&O definition); FAQ 'Why does my company need management liability coverage?' (Protection for Directors and Officers, Legal Expense Coverage, Attracting and Retaining Talent bullets); Target industries list. Accessed 2026-09-23.
Gallagher
- Technology Insurance. Gallagher; Introduction; Solutions and coverages for the technology industry: Technology errors and omissions including cyber, Intellectual property insurance, Product liability, Employee benefits; Data-driven insights; global network. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Insurance for Technology & IT Businesses. Gallagher Small Business; Protection for IT Professionals & Their Technology-Based Businesses; recommended coverage menu, including Surety Bond Programs; Connect With An Advisor. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Executive and Financial Risk Insurance. Gallagher; Directors and Officers (D&O) Liability insurance section; Special-Purpose Acquisition Companies (SPACs) section; IPO and direct listings section; Executive and Financial Risk Practice Summary. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Legal Information. Gallagher Small Business; Producer identification immediately above Quick Links. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Woodruff Sawyer Is Now Gallagher. Gallagher; Opening; Executive and Financial Risk consulting; Continued access to client portals; contact form. Accessed 2026-09-16.
D&O Insurance Guide
- Glossary of Business Insurance Terms. The Hartford; Directors and Officers Liability Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance; Employment Practices Liability Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.





