Corgi vs
Simply Business
Consider Corgi if your business fits small businesses and technology or cyber businesses, and Simply Business if it fits small businesses. Their catalogues overlap on business owners’ policy, cyber, general liability; compare each quote route, identified insurer and policy form before choosing. 2,23
Introduction
This comparison pairs small businesses and technology or cyber businesses through Corgi with small businesses through Simply Business. Their coverage catalogues share business owners’ policy, cyber, general liability. If one of those lines fits your business, compare the proposed forms and quote routes side by side; listed lines do not establish equal policy terms or eligibility. 2 23
Coverage Comparison
| Coverage | Corgi | Simply Business |
|---|---|---|
| Business owner’s policy | Listed 2Corgi lists a business owner’s policy in its coverage catalog. | Listed 32 |
| Cargo and transit | Listed 2Corgi lists a cargo contractual liability product in its transportation offering. | Not listed |
| Commercial auto | Listed 2Corgi links to trucking auto-liability coverage from its transportation menu. | Not listed |
| Commercial property | Not listed | Listed 33,32Offered as part of a BOP, rather than as a standalone policy. |
| Crime | Listed 2Corgi lists crime insurance among its main policies. | Not listed |
| Cyber liability | Listed 2Corgi lists cyber insurance among its business insurance offerings. | Listed 35Add-on for select buyers purchasing another business policy; phone quote route. |
| Directors and officers | Listed 2Corgi lists directors and officers insurance among its business insurance offerings. | Not listed |
| Employment practices liability | Listed 2Corgi lists employment practices liability among its business-insurance offerings. | Not listed |
| Fiduciary liability | Listed 2Corgi lists fiduciary liability in its coverage catalog and package options. | Not listed |
| General liability | Listed 2Corgi lists commercial general liability among its business insurance offerings. | Listed 29 |
| Hired and non-owned auto | Listed 2Corgi lists hired and non-owned auto liability for employees using rented or personal vehicles for company business. | Not listed |
| Kidnap and ransom | Listed 2Corgi lists kidnap and ransom among its specialized business-insurance offerings. | Not listed |
| Liquor liability | Listed Corgi markets liquor liability for eligible veterans’ and fraternal lodges with licensed on-premises bars. | Not listed |
| Media liability | Listed 2Corgi lists media liability insurance among its coverage offerings. | Not listed |
| Medical malpractice | Listed 2Corgi markets medical malpractice insurance for health care professionals and organizations. | Not listed |
| Professional errors and omissions (E&O) | Listed 2Corgi lists miscellaneous errors and omissions coverage for service-based businesses. | Listed 31 |
| Representations and warranties | Listed 2Corgi lists representations and warranties insurance for M&A buyers and sellers. | Not listed |
| Technology errors and omissions (E&O) | Listed 2Corgi lists technology errors and omissions insurance for technology products and services. | Not listed |
| Tools, equipment and inland marine | Not listed | Listed 34 |
| Umbrella and excess liability | Listed 2Corgi lists commercial umbrella liability insurance. | Not listed |
| Workers’ compensation | Listed 2Corgi lists workers’ compensation insurance. | Listed 30 |
A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means this catalogue has no separate offering recorded; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.
Current Spot Scores
Each score uses the rubric for that provider’s documented role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.
Corgi
Hybrid providerBroker
No Spot Score
Assessment subject unavailable
Carrier & MGA
No Spot Score
Assessment subject unavailable
Simply Business
BrokerBroker
No Spot Score
Assessment subject unavailable
Review Scores
These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.
Corgi
Review Score
The reviewed sources did not yield customer reviews; the inspected Trustpilot profiles showed none. Its Trustpilot page exists but shows no reviews or rating.[4][8]
Read Corgi reviewsSimply Business
Review Score
4 rated sources
Customers disagree about Simply Business. Trustpilot shows 4.3 out of 5 from 1,901 reviews, but BBB customers give it 1.95 from 20 reviews and ConsumerAffairs shows 1.0.[6][10][7]
Read Simply Business reviewsKey Differences Between Corgi and Simply Business
Business Fit and Coverage
The catalogues share business owners’ policy, cyber, general liability; other listed lines appear in the comparison table. For the overlap, match the policy forms, limits, exclusions and endorsements before treating the products as alternatives. A shared line name does not establish equal protection or eligibility.
Technology startups can compare Corgi packages for pre-seed/seed, Series A and growth stages, or ask about a custom option. 2,3,6,15Company-reported. Company website positioning and package names; named customer stories on the customers page are testimonials, not a verified book of business.
Simply Business says it serves small businesses and solopreneurs and lists examples such as contractors, cleaning businesses, LLCs and sole proprietors. These examples describe its stated audience, not guaranteed insurer eligibility or availability. 23,28,24Company-reported. Company-described U.S. audience; eligibility varies by insurer, state and business details.
Startup packages can combine general liability, D&O, Tech E&O, cyber, media, employment practices, fiduciary and hired/non-owned auto; Corgi also offers a Tech & AI Liability module. 2,8,10Company-reported. Website product labels and package descriptions. Labels are not equivalent coverage, and website summaries are not policy wording.
Roles and Quote Access
Your Corgi policy’s named insurer provides coverage; Corgi Insurance Services, Inc. is the agency that sells and administers policies. 1,2,4Company-reported. Distribution role and brand usage as of 15 September 2026. Producer licensing is not insurer authority, and group language does not make every group company the issuing insurer on a given policy.
Simply Business describes its U.S. service as an online commercial-insurance marketplace and licensed producer connecting business customers with insurers. Its June 30, 2026 Terms identify Simply Business, LLC and Harborway Insurance Agency, LLC d/b/a Harborway Insurance as licensed producers, with Harborway a Simply Business subsidiary; the Terms say Harborway policies are underwritten by Spinnaker Insurance Company. Other site policies are underwritten by third-party providers, so the selected issuer depends on the offer and policy. These roles and license statements are company-reported. The contact-page footer says Simply Business, LLC is licensed in all U.S. states and D.C.; for California it says the company operates under the name Simply Business Insurance Agency, LLC and displays License #0M20593. The footer also lists Colorado, New York, Pennsylvania and Texas operating names; it gives no other license identifiers. No regulator lookup was performed or required for this candidate. 23,24,36,25Company-reported. U.S. commercial insurance distribution described by the company. Simply Business, LLC, Simply Business, Inc., Harborway Insurance Agency, LLC, the stated parent and each policy issuer are distinct. The Inc./LLC relationship remains unresolved.
You can apply online or book a specialist call, and Corgi says eligible applicants may quote in minutes and buy the same day; confirm in writing whether coverage starts at policy issuance/payment or under a binder and the effective date. 2,1Company-reported. Company website process claims and Binding Authority and Policy Issuance disclosure, rechecked on 15 September 2026. The disclosure's first paragraph requires policy issuance and payment, while its next paragraph describes temporary binder coverage; this record does not resolve which conditions apply to a particular placement. Quote speed is not independently verified and is not the same as coverage being in force. A self-serve path is not evidence of zero producer commissions or fees.
The company advertises online quotes and weekday phone access to licensed agents. Its Terms say a quote is not guaranteed and Simply Business cannot bind a risk without panel-member approval; a quote or online purchase path does not establish that every applicant can bind online. 25,24Company-reported. Published U.S. quote and service channels. Binding depends on panel-member approval and the individual offer.
Use these routes to plan who will assemble the submission and whether you can complete the purchase online or need an agent or broker. Ask Corgi and Simply Business to confirm the route for your state, coverage and business details; an online quote path alone does not show that a risk can be bound. 2 25
Policy Service and Claims
You can add or upgrade policies through Corgi’s dashboard as funding, hiring or contract needs change; renewal and cancellation remain subject to your policy and state rules. 2,1Company-reported. Company description of post-bind servicing and cancellation. Actual endorsement terms remain in the policy. This does not establish a specific renewal guarantee or a finding that renewals are unavailable.
The company describes account access for policy documents, certificates, account updates and adding coverage; help material routes some changes to an agent or insurer. Not every policy change is described as self-service. 25,26,24Company-reported. Company-described post-purchase service paths; available tasks may depend on policy and insurer.
Corgi says its claims team can help with reporting, documents, legal coordination and updates, but an affiliate or third-party administrator may handle the file; the named insurer decides coverage and payment. 1,2,12Company-reported. Company claims-handling and TPA disclosures. Offering claims administration is not a measure of claims-payment quality, and the TPA announcement does not by itself identify the administrator on a Corgi-issued policy.
The Terms say third-party insurers underwrite site policies and each provider handles claims on its own policies; the Help Center directs policyholders to identify and contact the insurer. This establishes a published route, not agency assistance after notice or claim outcomes. 24,26Company-reported. General site-policy claim responsibility. Harborway/Spinnaker applies only to the named Harborway placement relationship.
Compare the practical handoffs for documents, policy changes, renewal questions and claim notices. A listed support route describes access to help, not a claim outcome or a guarantee of service speed.
What to Confirm in Quotes
Request quotes for the same business details, coverage lines, limits, deductibles or retentions and policy period. Ask Corgi and Simply Business to name the producer and issuing insurer for each proposed policy, confirm who can bind it, and itemize any customer fees or intermediary compensation. For the overlapping business owners’ policy, cyber, general liability, compare the actual insuring agreement, exclusions, sublimits and endorsements. Also confirm who handles account changes and receives claim notices. 1 23 1 24
Compare Services
What each provider documents about the services you may need
| Criteria | Corgi | Simply Business |
|---|---|---|
| Business role | Your Corgi policy’s named insurer provides coverage; Corgi Insurance Services, Inc. is the agency that sells and administers policies. 1,2,4Company-reported. Distribution role and brand usage as of 15 September 2026. Producer licensing is not insurer authority, and group language does not make every group company the issuing insurer on a given policy. | Simply Business describes its U.S. service as an online commercial-insurance marketplace and licensed producer connecting business customers with insurers. Its June 30, 2026 Terms identify Simply Business, LLC and Harborway Insurance Agency, LLC d/b/a Harborway Insurance as licensed producers, with Harborway a Simply Business subsidiary; the Terms say Harborway policies are underwritten by Spinnaker Insurance Company. Other site policies are underwritten by third-party providers, so the selected issuer depends on the offer and policy. These roles and license statements are company-reported. The contact-page footer says Simply Business, LLC is licensed in all U.S. states and D.C.; for California it says the company operates under the name Simply Business Insurance Agency, LLC and displays License #0M20593. The footer also lists Colorado, New York, Pennsylvania and Texas operating names; it gives no other license identifiers. No regulator lookup was performed or required for this candidate. 23,24,36,25Company-reported. U.S. commercial insurance distribution described by the company. Simply Business, LLC, Simply Business, Inc., Harborway Insurance Agency, LLC, the stated parent and each policy issuer are distinct. The Inc./LLC relationship remains unresolved. |
| Application process | You can apply online or book a specialist call, and Corgi says eligible applicants may quote in minutes and buy the same day; confirm in writing whether coverage starts at policy issuance/payment or under a binder and the effective date. 2,1Company-reported. Company website process claims and Binding Authority and Policy Issuance disclosure, rechecked on 15 September 2026. The disclosure's first paragraph requires policy issuance and payment, while its next paragraph describes temporary binder coverage; this record does not resolve which conditions apply to a particular placement. Quote speed is not independently verified and is not the same as coverage being in force. A self-serve path is not evidence of zero producer commissions or fees. | The company advertises online quotes and weekday phone access to licensed agents. Its Terms say a quote is not guaranteed and Simply Business cannot bind a risk without panel-member approval; a quote or online purchase path does not establish that every applicant can bind online. 25,24Company-reported. Published U.S. quote and service channels. Binding depends on panel-member approval and the individual offer. |
| Servicing and renewals | You can add or upgrade policies through Corgi’s dashboard as funding, hiring or contract needs change; renewal and cancellation remain subject to your policy and state rules. 2,1Company-reported. Company description of post-bind servicing and cancellation. Actual endorsement terms remain in the policy. This does not establish a specific renewal guarantee or a finding that renewals are unavailable. | Simply Business lists licensed-agent phone support Monday through Friday: sales 8 a.m.–8 p.m. Eastern Time and service 9 a.m.–6 p.m. These listed hours do not establish a response-time guarantee. 25Company-reported. Hours displayed on the current U.S. contact page; no actual wait-time observation is implied. The company describes account access for policy documents, certificates, account updates and adding coverage; help material routes some changes to an agent or insurer. Not every policy change is described as self-service. 25,26,24Company-reported. Company-described post-purchase service paths; available tasks may depend on policy and insurer. The Help Center FAQ says most customers opt into automatic renewal and gives 60-day notice and 30-day processing timing only for those who opt in. The same Help Center summary and June 30, 2026 Terms use broader automatic-renewal wording without the FAQ’s opt-in qualification. The public descriptions conflict; they do not establish which wording applies to every policy. 26,24Conflicting sources. Company-published descriptions reviewed 2026-09-29. FAQ detail, Help Center summary and Terms are inconsistent; no buyer-specific policy notice was reviewed. |
| Claims assistance | Corgi says its claims team can help with reporting, documents, legal coordination and updates, but an affiliate or third-party administrator may handle the file; the named insurer decides coverage and payment. 1,2,12Company-reported. Company claims-handling and TPA disclosures. Offering claims administration is not a measure of claims-payment quality, and the TPA announcement does not by itself identify the administrator on a Corgi-issued policy. | The Terms say third-party insurers underwrite site policies and each provider handles claims on its own policies; the Help Center directs policyholders to identify and contact the insurer. This establishes a published route, not agency assistance after notice or claim outcomes. 24,26Company-reported. General site-policy claim responsibility. Harborway/Spinnaker applies only to the named Harborway placement relationship. |
| Customer focus | Technology startups can compare Corgi packages for pre-seed/seed, Series A and growth stages, or ask about a custom option. 2,3,6,15Company-reported. Company website positioning and package names; named customer stories on the customers page are testimonials, not a verified book of business. Small businesses in offices, retail, restaurants, personal services, self-storage, wholesale, community associations or rental properties may have a new Corgi option; its August 2026 filing announcement says state and product availability differ. 9Company-reported. Company-announced admitted-carrier appetite. Filing a product is not the same as confirmed availability in a given state. | Simply Business says it serves small businesses and solopreneurs and lists examples such as contractors, cleaning businesses, LLCs and sole proprietors. These examples describe its stated audience, not guaranteed insurer eligibility or availability. 23,28,24Company-reported. Company-described U.S. audience; eligibility varies by insurer, state and business details. |
| Fees and compensation | Ask for the commission or customer fee on your policy because Corgi Insurance Services may receive either from you or the insurer. 1Company-reported. Producer compensation disclosure. Website, self-serve, or other direct distribution is not a finding of zero commissions or fees. Specific amounts were not published in the reviewed sources. Corgi gives annual price examples of $2,000–$5,000 for eligible pre-seed/seed startups and $5,000–$15,000 for Series A; your quote depends on risk, state, coverage and limits. 2,6,7Company-reported. Company-reported ranges and a marketing savings claim, not comparable quotes. They are not premiums for a defined risk, limit, retention, or policy period. “Underwrites directly” is not a finding of zero producer commissions or fees, and no public methodology for the 30 percent figure was found. | The Terms say Simply Business receives commission or other compensation from or through panel members and that customers may also incur separate processing, administrative, service, installment or cancellation fees. They give no amount or placement-specific applicability; the Terms say charges are disclosed before purchase. 24Company-reported. General disclosure dated 2026-06-30; no specific commission, fee schedule, premium or customer charge was reviewed. |
Sources
Corgi Official Website
- Disclaimers & Licensing. Corgi Insurance Services, Inc.; Carrier Financial Strength (including “federally chartered” and “federal prudential oversight” wording); About Corgi; Licensing; Premium and Payment Disclosures (producer commissions, fees, or other consideration, amounts available on request); Binding Authority and Policy Issuance; page last updated 04/05/26. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Corgi Insurance homepage. Corgi Insurance Services, Inc.; Product packages: Cyber and Directors & Officers; Growth Stage and Custom Package; Self-Serve (apply, get quoted in minutes, bind same-day) and Book a Demo paths; Explore Our Main Policies: Commercial General Liability, Crime Insurance, Fiduciary Liability, Hired and Non-Owned Auto (HNOA), Worker’s Compensation; Specialized coverages: Employment Practices Liability (EPLI), K&R (Kidnap & Ransom), Representations and Warranties; Commercial Umbrella Liability; Business Owners Policy (BOP); Coverage sales cards: Media Liability, Medical Malpractice, Miscellaneous E&O; Core Operations: Tech E&O Insurance; Tech & AI Liability product module; Transportation menu: Auto Liability, Contractual Liability Insurance - Cargo; FAQ on cost, claims, and binding; footer entity, program-administrator and issuing-carrier notices. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- About Corgi. Corgi Insurance Services, Inc.; Company description; Federally Regulated, A-Rated Admitted Access, and Licensed Nationwide sections. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Insurance Producer Licenses. Corgi Insurance Services, Inc.; Corgi Insurance Services, Inc. state-by-state producer license table. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Directors & Officers (D&O) Insurance for Startups. Corgi Insurance Services, Inc.; Form CORG-DO-0100 coverage summary; policy notes stating TRRG underwrites the D&O coverage part; footer identifying Corgi Insurance Company, Inc. NAIC 17989. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Customer Success Stories. Corgi Insurance Services, Inc.; Page heading and named technology-company testimonials; cost FAQ. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Partnerships. Corgi Insurance Services, Inc.; Direct Underwriting savings claim; partner-page process; onboarding-to-claims handling claim. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Insurance for AI, Built for Model Risk. Corgi Insurance Services, Inc.; Tech & AI Liability product description and related AI-risk FAQ. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Corgi Insurance Launches Admitted Insurance Carrier. PR Newswire (Corgi press release); Announcement of Corgi Insurance Company, Inc.; planned small-business product classes; guaranty-association eligibility statement. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Corgi Insurance Raises $108 Million, Receives Regulatory Approval to Launch the First Full-Stack Insurance Carrier for Startups. PR Newswire (Corgi press release); 9 January 2026 funding announcement; listed startup coverage lines; ARR figure. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Corgi Reaches $2.6B Valuation With $106M Series B1 Three Weeks After $160M Unicorn Round. PR Newswire (Corgi press release); 28 May 2026 company statement of $378 million total funding and planned vertical expansion. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Corgi Insurance Launches Corgi Claims, the AI-Native TPA. PR Newswire (Corgi press release); 29 June 2026 launch of Corgi Claims as a TPA; disclaimer that claims services are provided through licensed subsidiaries and affiliates. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Corgi Insurance and Silicon Valley Bank Partner to Connect Clients to Preferred Coverage Solutions. PR Newswire (Corgi and Silicon Valley Bank press release); 17 June 2026 partnership announcement for SVB client access to Corgi products. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Corgi: Rebuilding Insurance with AI. Kindred Ventures; 8 January 2026 investor announcement describing Corgi as a full-stack carrier with a captive reinsurer; 40,000+ policyholders across 49 states. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Corgi Insurance company profile. Y Combinator; Summer 2024 batch; San Francisco location; 2024 founding; team size 250; description as a full-stack insurance carrier for startups. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Registered Federal Risk Retention Groups. Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation; Report date 23 June 2026; registration entry for Technology Risk Retention Group, Inc., NAIC 17763, 425 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- NAIC Listing of Companies. National Association of Insurance Commissioners; June 2026 listing, numerical entry 17763 P 1 AZ TECHNOLOGY RRG INC. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Insurance Topics: Risk Retention Groups. National Association of Insurance Commissioners; Topic page last updated 13 October 2025: member-owned liability insurers formed under state and federal law; may be formed under a state's captive or traditional insurance laws; domiciled in one state and registered in others; treated as multi-state companies subject to modified NAIC accreditation standards. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- 15 U.S.C. § 3901 — Definitions. U.S. House Office of the Law Revision Counsel; Liability Risk Retention Act definitions of liability and risk retention group, including state charter, member-ownership, and liability-only activity limits. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- 15 U.S.C. § 3902 — Risk retention groups. U.S. House Office of the Law Revision Counsel; Non-domicile state registration and policy notice requirements; exemption from state insurance insolvency guaranty associations. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Arizona Revised Statutes § 20-2402. Arizona Legislature; Risk retention groups chartered and licensed in Arizona may write only liability insurance under that chapter. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Corgi built its name insuring AI startups. Its new carrier targets dry cleaners, salons and more. Insurance Business; 27 August 2026 report identifying Technology Risk Retention Group as an Arizona-chartered RRG and noting that the admitted-carrier announcement does not specify domicile, licensed states, or rating status. Accessed 2026-09-15.
Simply Business Official Website
- Our Small Business Insurance Story. Simply Business; Opening description and audience; digital marketplace, business types and U.S. service. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Terms of Service. Simply Business; Dated June 30, 2026; §1 lines 22–28; §8 lines 87–113; §10 lines 143–149; §19 line 211. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Contact Us. Simply Business; Opening contact details lines 20–31; licensed-agent phone hours lines 46–59; U.S. licensing and state-specific name disclosures in footer lines 108–111, including California License #0M20593. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Help Center. Simply Business; Claims, account servicing, agent-routed changes, renewal FAQ and Common Topics. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- How Simply Business Works. Simply Business; Common types lines 92–160; quote/purchase flow; estimate-method footnotes lines 198–200. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Business Insurance for Small Businesses. Simply Business; Small Business Insurance Coverage Options and policy links. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- General Liability Insurance for a Small Business. Simply Business; Coverage lines 51–75; audience lines 61–65, 153–155; application and examples elsewhere on page. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Workers’ Compensation Insurance for Small Business. Simply Business; Coverage and benefits lines 45–69; state/buyer qualifications lines 178–189. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Professional Liability Insurance Coverage. Simply Business; Coverage lines 45–100; buyer examples lines 101–158; online quote steps lines 237–260. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Business Owner’s Policy Insurance. Simply Business; Bundle lines 34–38, 218–243; add-on/exclusion discussion lines 226–243; buyer and quote sections. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Commercial Property Insurance. Simply Business; Lines 15–18 present physical-location cover as part of a BOP; lines 34–49 describe the package; lines 59–63 say it is offered as part of the BOP rather than as a standalone policy and link to a BOP quote. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Inland Marine Insurance. Simply Business; Equipment/inventory lines 15–18, 59–63; examples and quote workflow lines 97–140, 168–191. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Cyber Insurance. Simply Business; Claim types lines 88–105; select-buyer add-on/phone quote lines 171–175; route and last-updated lines 389–395. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Producer Compensation Disclosure (United States). Travelers; Ownership interest in a producer, lines 57–60: Travelers says it owns Simply Business, Inc.; relation to Simply Business, LLC not stated. Accessed 2026-09-29.




