Coalition vs
USI Insurance Services Cyber Insurance
Coalition underwrites its own cyber policy; USI brokers cyber and layers its own manuscripted PrivaSafe program on top.
What Is Coalition Insurance?
Coalition offers cyber insurance and technology E&O alongside cyber risk-management services. Its U.S. products are distributed through insurance producers, with separate admitted and surplus-lines routes and an executive-risk product suite. 1,2,3,4
What Is USI Insurance Services?
USI Insurance Services is a U.S. insurance brokerage and consulting firm that arranges property and casualty, employee benefits, personal risk, and retirement programs. Its Technology practice says it works with software, hardware, and related companies from early seed stage through IPO, using a consultative process rather than a published self-serve quote. 11,12,13
What Is Cyber Insurance?
Cyber insurance can help a business respond to cyber incidents and address covered liability claims arising from them. 16
Key Differences in Cyber Insurance
Carrier Versus Broker With a Manuscripted Form
Coalition designs and distributes its own cyber policy, with admitted business issued by Coalition Insurance Company. USI does not underwrite: it places cyber and privacy liability policies for clients and layers on PrivaSafe, its own custom-drafted coverage form negotiated with the market:
USI does not name the insurer that issues PrivaSafe or other cyber policies on the pages reviewed. PrivaSafe is described as a manuscripted (custom-drafted) coverage form that USI negotiates with the market, so the carrier varies by placement. 14Not publicly disclosed. PrivaSafe program page as read on 2026-09-23; no dedicated cyber carrier list was found.
Coalition's page names Coalition as carrier for admitted business but not the specific insurer for a non-admitted placement. 7
Named Sublimits
USI's PrivaSafe program publishes specific structural figures: up to $10 million in loss protection, up to $2 million in notification-cost coverage on top of the aggregate limit, and $250,000 in defense-cost coverage outside the limit. Coalition's page describes a separate limit for breach-response expenses without publishing a comparable dollar amount. 14 5
Security Services
Coalition bundles Coalition Control at no added cost, covering attack-surface monitoring, vendor risk monitoring and zero-day alerts. USI says PrivaSafe includes pre-breach services to help avoid cyber threats and post-breach services designed to streamline incident response, on top of USI's general property & casualty cyber specialists. 6 14
What to Confirm in Cyber Insurance Quotes
- Ask USI which carrier would actually issue the PrivaSafe-negotiated policy. 14
- Ask Coalition whether your policy would be admitted or non-admitted and which insurer applies. 7
- Confirm whether USI's $10 million loss-protection figure and $2 million notification sublimit describe your specific quote or the program's general structure. 14
- Get Coalition's specific limit and retention numbers directly; its page does not publish them. 10
- Ask USI what documents it needs to start a review — it lists current policies, a vulnerability assessment and audited financials. 14
Offering Details
Coalition vs USI Insurance Services Cyber Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | Coalition Active Cyber Insurance | USI PrivaSafe Cyber and Privacy Liability Program |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | Coalition designs and distributes its own cyber policy and pairs it with security monitoring and incident-response services. 5Company-reported. U.S. Active Cyber Insurance for small and midsize businesses, as described on the product page. | USI is a broker, not an insurer, for cyber coverage. It places cyber and privacy liability policies for clients and layers on its own manuscripted program, PrivaSafe, rather than underwriting the risk itself. 14,12Company-reported. PrivaSafe program page and USI's property & casualty and technology practice pages. |
| Issuing Insurer | Admitted cyber policies are issued by Coalition Insurance Company. Non-admitted (surplus lines) policies are placed with unaffiliated insurers, so the carrier depends on the policy route. 7Company-reported. U.S. disclaimers for admitted and non-admitted cyber; restates the verified provider fact insurer-route. | USI does not name the insurer that issues PrivaSafe or other cyber policies on the pages reviewed. PrivaSafe is described as a manuscripted (custom-drafted) coverage form that USI negotiates with the market, so the carrier varies by placement. 14Not publicly disclosed. PrivaSafe program page as read on 2026-09-23; no dedicated cyber carrier list was found. |
| Who It’s For | Coalition states that its admitted and surplus lines cyber policies are offered in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. 8Company-reported. Availability help article; eligibility for a particular business depends on underwriting. | USI markets PrivaSafe to middle-market firms, saying they are particularly vulnerable to cyber events because they have limited in-house access to security expertise. The page also says any business that gathers personal or health information, manages a network, or accepts electronic payments is a potential target. 14Company-reported. Program page marketing description, not an underwriting appetite statement. |
| Coverage Features | Coalition says breach-response expenses have a separate limit, so response costs do not use up the limit for other coverages. 5Company-reported. Product-page description; the issued policy and declarations control. Coalition lists pay-on-behalf cyber extortion coverage, funds transfer fraud and business interruption losses among its cyber coverages. 5Company-reported. Product-page coverage highlights, subject to exclusions and the policy as issued. | USI describes PrivaSafe as covering three areas: liability costs (including inability to protect information and related tort liability), compliance and corrective costs (data breach and forensic costs, privacy regulatory costs, payment-card standards), and direct costs (network interruption, data reconstruction, cyber extortion, bricking, voluntary shutdown, reputational harm business interruption, and cyber crime). 14Company-reported. PrivaSafe program page; actual insuring agreements and exclusions are set by the issued policy form. |
| Limits and Retentions | Coalition offers U.S. surplus lines excess cyber coverage above an underlying policy. Its public pages do not publish maximum primary limits or retentions. 10,5Company-reported. Excess product help article; limit and retention amounts appear only on quotes. | USI says PrivaSafe can prevent uninsured or underinsured losses up to $10 million, includes up to $2 million in notification-cost coverage in addition to the policy's aggregate limit, and $250,000 in defense-cost coverage outside the limit (with additional limit available). 14Company-reported. Program page figures describe the PrivaSafe structure generally; a buyer's actual limits, sublimits and retentions are set on the policy declarations. |
| Risk Services | Policyholders get Coalition Control at no additional cost, including attack-surface monitoring, vendor risk monitoring, zero-day alerts and Login Security for Microsoft or Google accounts. 6Company-reported. Coalition Control policyholder features page. | USI says PrivaSafe includes pre-breach services to help avoid cyber threats and post-breach services designed to streamline incident response and recovery, on top of USI's general property & casualty cyber specialists. 14,15Company-reported. Program page and property-casualty practice team description. |
| How to Apply | You buy Coalition cyber through an appointed insurance broker. Underwriting considers industry, finances, operations and security posture. 9Company-reported. Qualification help article; restates the verified provider fact broker-application. | To review cyber exposure with USI, the program page says a buyer should be ready to provide current cyber policies (if any), an assessment of its largest financial and operational cyber vulnerabilities, and its most recent audited financials. 14Company-reported. PrivaSafe program page intake description. |
| Claims Support | Coalition describes an in-house cyber claims team and an affiliated incident response firm, Coalition Incident Response, and says it often recovers stolen funds after transfer fraud. 5Company-reported. Product page claims and incident-response sections; outcome statistics are company-reported and not independently verified. | Not described in the reviewed sources. |
Full Comparison
More Coalition vs USI Insurance Services Comparisons
Other Cyber Insurance Comparisons
Sources
Coalition
- Tech E&O Insurance Coverage. Coalition; Who needs Technology Errors & Omissions coverage? (organizations that provide a technology product or service for a fee); Combine Technology Errors & Omissions coverage with Active Cyber Insurance; Coalition Advantage. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- U.S. Producer Compensation. Coalition; Insurance Producers; Base Commission; Contingent Commission; Business Production Incentive Programs; Non-Insurance Products. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Are there any differences between Coalition’s admitted and surplus lines products? Coalition; Cyber insurance coverage offered by Coalition: Coverage availability; Coverage offering. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Executive Risks. Coalition; FAQ: What type of businesses do you protect?, What limits do you offer? and What resources do you have for policyholders?; Product Offering: D&O, EPL, fiduciary, crime. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Active Cyber Insurance. Coalition; Cyber coverage tailored to your organization’s cyber risk needs: separate limit for breach response, pay-on-behalf for cyber extortion, funds transfer fraud recovery, business interruption; Our Claims Approach; Coalition Incident Response. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Coalition Control. Coalition; Policyholder Features: attack surface monitoring, Login Security, Cyber Health Rating, third-party risk management, zero-day alerts. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- U.S. Disclaimers. Coalition; Non-Admitted Cyber; Admitted Cyber; Admitted and Non-admitted Cyber. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Where does Coalition offer cyber insurance coverage? Coalition; United States. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- How do I qualify for and buy cyber insurance from Coalition? Coalition; Eligibility; broker contact; underwriting paragraphs. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Does Coalition offer Excess coverage? Coalition; What excess products does Coalition offer, and in what regions? Accessed 2026-09-16.
USI Insurance Services
- The Power of ONE. USI Insurance Services; History, client-count, nationwide office, and P&C / benefits / personal risk / retirement description. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Technology Insurance. USI Insurance Services; USI's Technology Practice provides risk management advisory and insurance placement for: ...Network Security/USI PrivaSafe... Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Commissions and Fees. USI Insurance Services; Licensed-producer authority, insurer-paid commission default, contingent compensation, and client request right. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- USI Exclusive PrivaSafe. USI Insurance Services; How can USI help our firm...; Comprehensive Cyber Coverage Through Three Distinct Offerings (Liability Costs, Compliance/Corrective Costs, Direct Costs); Up to $2 million in notification costs...; $250,000 in defense cost coverage outside the limit; Our current local/regional broker already secured a Cyber liability policy... Accessed 2026-09-23.
- P&C Insurance and Risk Consulting. USI Insurance Services; risk management and insurance advice on broad risk exposures such as...Cyber Risk...; cyber specialists, claim advocates, risk control specialists. Accessed 2026-09-23.
Cyber Insurance Guide
- Cyber Insurance. Federal Trade Commission; Opening; First-Party and Third-Party Coverage; First-Party Coverage; Third-Party Coverage; What Should Your Cyber Insurance Policy Cover. Accessed 2026-09-16.






