Coalition vs
Harper Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance
Coalition sells professional liability only bundled with cyber; Harper markets the identical policy under two different catalogue names.
What Is Coalition Insurance?
Coalition offers cyber insurance and technology E&O alongside cyber risk-management services. Its U.S. products are distributed through insurance producers, with separate admitted and surplus-lines routes and an executive-risk product suite. 1,2,3,4
What Is Harper Insurance?
Harper is a commercial insurance brokerage for businesses with complex risks. Its specialists use AI tools to gather information, seek quotes from insurers and help customers manage coverage. 7,8
What Is Professional Errors and Omissions (E&O) Insurance?
Professional errors and omissions (E&O) insurance, also called professional liability insurance, addresses claims that professional services or advice caused a client financial loss. What's covered depends on the services actually scheduled in the policy, not the product label alone. 12,13,14,15
Key Differences in Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance
How Each One Packages the Product
Coalition sells Miscellaneous Professional Liability only as an add-on to an Active Cyber Insurance quote. That means the two coverages come from a single insurer relationship rather than separate purchases. 5
Harper takes a different approach to naming, not bundling. It lists the identical professional liability policy under two separate catalogue entries, saying the "Errors and Omissions" entry is the same policy as its "Professional Liability" entry, just named what a given industry calls it. A buyer comparing quotes by product name alone could mistake these for two different Harper products. 10
Reviewing What the Policy Won't Cover
Coalition's reviewed page does not describe a practice of reviewing policy exclusions before a client buys. Harper does: it says it reads a policy's exclusions line by line before a client purchases, because two E&O policies with the same limit can respond very differently to the same claim. 5 9
How You Actually Buy It
Coalition sells MPL only through appointed brokers, added to a cyber quote with a few extra questions rather than bought on its own. 5
Harper instead takes quote requests online or by phone directly for its own policy, and says it issues a certificate the same day when a client contract requires E&O. 9
What to Confirm in Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Quotes
- Ask Coalition whether MPL is available without also buying Active Cyber Insurance, since the reviewed page describes it only as an add-on. 5
- Ask Harper for the specific insurer and limit it's proposing, since the reviewed pages name neither. 9
- Ask Coalition which insurer would issue the MPL policy, since its disclaimer page has no named "Admitted MPL" section. 6
- Confirm which of Harper's two catalogue entries a client contract expects to see named on your certificate. 10
Offering Details
Coalition vs Harper Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | Coalition Miscellaneous Professional Liability (MPL) | Harper Professional Liability Insurance |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | Coalition designs and distributes MPL as an add-on coverage that combines with certain Active Cyber Insurance policies, sold through appointed brokers. 5Company-reported. Miscellaneous Professional Liability product page as read on 2026-09-23. | Harper places professional liability coverage as a broker, writing the policy around the applicant's actual services rather than underwriting it, and describes a specialist handling the placement. 9Company-reported. Professional liability page introduction and 'Why Harper' section. Harper markets the identical policy under two catalogue entries, "Professional Liability" and "Errors and Omissions"; the E&O page states it is the same policy, just named what a given industry calls it. 10,11Company-reported. Coverage directory listing plus the E&O page's own description; a naming convention Harper states about itself, not a distinction between two products. |
| Issuing Insurer | Coalition's disclaimer page has named sections for admitted cyber, non-admitted cyber, and admitted executive risk, but no equivalent 'Admitted MPL' section, indicating MPL is placed on a non-admitted (surplus lines) basis with unaffiliated insurers the disclaimer does not name. 6Not publicly disclosed. U.S. Disclaimers page as read on 2026-09-23; the buyer's declarations page names the actual issuing insurer. | The reviewed pages name pricing drivers (services performed, revenue, contract size) but do not name the issuing insurer or publish specific limit, retention or premium figures for this line. 9,10Not publicly disclosed. Checked both the professional-liability and errors-and-omissions pages on 2026-09-23; neither names a carrier or a limit figure. |
| Who It’s For | Coalition markets MPL to any business that performs professional services, naming examples such as consultants, marketing and PR firms, staffing firms, printers, interior decorators, photographers and videographers, and property managers. 5Company-reported. Miscellaneous Professional Liability product page as read on 2026-09-23. | Harper targets consultants, agencies, tech firms and licensed professionals whose work product is advice, design or a decision, since general liability doesn't cover a client claiming that work caused a financial loss. 9Company-reported. Professional liability page introduction and FAQ distinguishing it from general liability. |
| Coverage Features | Coalition says MPL covers defense costs, settlements, judgments, and other expenses from claims of errors and omissions in professional services, including negligence, failure to provide service, and misstatements about the service performed, on a duty-to-defend basis even when the business is not ultimately at fault. 5Company-reported. Miscellaneous Professional Liability product page as read on 2026-09-23; the issued policy controls actual terms. | Harper describes coverage for errors and omissions in the work itself, negligence allegations about professional judgment, and legal defense costs, with limits it says are matched to the client contracts that require the policy. 9,10Company-reported. Professional liability page's four coverage tiles; the E&O page adds that claims often surface a year or more after the work was delivered. The issued policy and its exclusions control actual scope. |
| Risk Services | Not described in the reviewed sources. | Harper says it reads a policy's exclusions line by line before a client buys, because two E&O policies with the same limit can respond very differently to the same claim. 9Company-reported. Professional liability page 'We know this' section; a described review practice, not an independently verified outcome. |
| How to Apply | Coalition sells MPL only as an addition to an Active Cyber Insurance quote, saying it takes just a few extra questions to add, rather than as a stand-alone policy. 5Company-reported. Miscellaneous Professional Liability product page as read on 2026-09-23. | You request a quote online or by phone; if a client contract requires E&O, Harper says it places coverage matching that requirement and issues the certificate the same day. 9Company-reported. Professional liability page quote form and FAQ 'My client contract requires E&O. What now?'. |
| Claims Support | Coalition says its in-house claims team manages both MPL and cyber claims in one place, which it describes as a smoother, more coordinated process for the policyholder. 5Company-reported. Miscellaneous Professional Liability product page as read on 2026-09-23; speed and efficiency descriptions are company-reported and not independently verified. | Not described in the reviewed sources. |
Full Comparison
More Coalition vs Harper Comparisons
Other Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Comparisons
Sources
Coalition
- Tech E&O Insurance Coverage. Coalition; Who needs Technology Errors & Omissions coverage? (organizations that provide a technology product or service for a fee); Combine Technology Errors & Omissions coverage with Active Cyber Insurance; Coalition Advantage. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- U.S. Producer Compensation. Coalition; Insurance Producers; Base Commission; Contingent Commission; Business Production Incentive Programs; Non-Insurance Products. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Are there any differences between Coalition’s admitted and surplus lines products? Coalition; Cyber insurance coverage offered by Coalition: Coverage availability; Coverage offering. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Executive Risks. Coalition; FAQ: What type of businesses do you protect?, What limits do you offer? and What resources do you have for policyholders?; Product Offering: D&O, EPL, fiduciary, crime. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Miscellaneous Professional Liability. Coalition; Why Miscellaneous Professional Liability?; MPL Advantage; What does MPL cover?; What types of claims does MPL protect against?; What types of businesses could benefit from MPL?; Why does 'Duty to Defend' coverage matter? Accessed 2026-09-23.
- U.S. Disclaimers. Coalition; Non-Admitted Cyber; Admitted Cyber; Admitted Executive Risk (names Zurich American Insurance Company, NAIC 16535); no 'Admitted MPL' or 'Admitted Tech E&O' section appears on the page. Accessed 2026-09-23.
Harper
- Text Messaging Terms and Conditions. Harper Global Enterprises Inc.; Effective August 24, 2026; sections 1–3 (entity, consent and service messages), 5 (message costs), 9 (delivery) and 11 (coverage confirmation). Accessed 2026-09-15.
- We're Announcing $47M to Build the Insurance Company Every Business Deserves. Harper / Dakotah Rice; February 26, 2026 article: brokerage identity; AI-assisted submissions and follow-ups; 24–48-hour coverage statement; more than 165 underwriters; plans for additional direct appointments. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Professional Liability Insurance. Harper; Know your coverage: What is Professional Liability insurance?; Errors & omissions, Negligence allegations, Legal defense, Contract-driven limits; Why Harper; FAQs on general liability vs. E&O, client E&O requirements, and pricing drivers. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Errors and Omissions Insurance. Harper; Page states the product is 'Same policy as professional liability, just what your industry calls it'; describes financial-loss claims from professional services and late-arriving claims. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- What We Cover. Harper; Coverage directory list including Errors and Omissions and Professional Liability as separate catalogue entries. Accessed 2026-09-23.
Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Guide
- FAQ: Professional liability insurance. Texas Department of Insurance; What’s professional liability coverage?; What types of damages…; What’s general liability insurance?; Do I need professional liability… if I have general liability…?; Is professional liability insurance required?; Can a client require…?; What’s the difference between occurrence policies and claims-made policies. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Professional liability insurance. Insurance Information Institute; Opening paragraphs (professional services/advice and E&O name); Claims not covered by general liability; What types of businesses need professional liability insurance?; What’s covered… and what’s not (claims-made versus occurrence, defense and judgments, non-financial/intentional limits, BOP/in-home exclusion). Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Get business insurance. U.S. Small Business Administration; Six common types of business insurance table. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Professional Liability – US Direct Errors and Omissions Insurance. Hiscox Inc. specimen; About this Policy / Coverage for Claims Made Against You; I.A Insuring Agreement; I.B Defense; I.C Settlement; II.A Notice of Claims; II.C Optional Extended Reporting Period; III.A, III.K, III.M, III.R, III.S Exclusions; IV.A–B Limits and Deductible; VI.O Professional Services; VI.U Wrongful Act. Accessed 2026-09-16.





