CNA vs
Foxquilt
Foxquilt describes a small-business insurance platform with online purchasing for selected products; CNA loews corporation owned approximately 92% of cna financial corporation’s outstanding common stock as of december 31, 2025. Compare the service and submission routes, then confirm the product, insurer and terms available for your business. 36,40,1,3
Introduction
If you want an online starting point for selected small-business policies, Foxquilt describes online quote and purchase options. CNA Loews Corporation owned approximately 92% of CNA Financial Corporation’s outstanding common stock as of December 31, 2025. The distinction matters when deciding whether to begin with an online product flow or work through the CNA route; ask who will prepare the submission and support changes after binding. 40 3
Coverage Comparison
| Coverage | CNA | Foxquilt |
|---|---|---|
| Builders risk | Listed 31Inland Marine appetite category; separately, Ocean Marine lists Hull Builders Risk | Listed 46Builder’s risk product page; policy-specific construction terms not established. |
| Business owner’s policy | Listed 9 | Listed 37Foxquilt’s About page lists Business Owner’s Policy among “Our Primary Coverages”; no current BOP-specific terms or bundled contents are established here. |
| Cargo and transit | Listed 10 | Not listed |
| Commercial auto | Listed 11 | Listed 43Commercial auto product page; HNOA is not split out. |
| Commercial property | Listed 12 | Listed 45Commercial property product page. |
| Crime | Listed 30named Management Liability coverage and configurable Epack 3 component | Listed 52,53Foxquilt has a Crime Insurance product page, which says crime can be a BOP add-on or an isolated policy; the ConvertLabs cleaner program also lists Crime/Bonds but describes crime only. No bond product is inferred. |
| Cyber liability | Listed 13 | Listed 44Cyber product page; policy terms and limits not established. |
| Directors and officers | Listed 14 | Not listed |
| Employment practices liability | Listed 15 | Not listed |
| Equipment breakdown | Listed 16 | Not listed |
| Fidelity bonds | Listed 17 | Not listed |
| Fiduciary liability | Listed 18 | Not listed |
| General liability | Listed 19 | Listed 40,38Company CGL product page; line-specific CGL membership only. |
| Hired and non-owned auto | Listed 29coverage within Commercial Auto | Listed 39Advertised as a Hired & non-owned feature beneath Foxquilt’s Commercial Auto card; no distinct HNOA policy or terms established. |
| Kidnap and ransom | Listed 30named Management Liability coverage and configurable Epack 3 component | Not listed |
| Management liability | Listed 21 | Not listed |
| Media liability | Listed 28component of Epack 3 package | Not listed |
| Medical malpractice | Listed 22 | Not listed |
| Product liability | Listed 23,25,24 | Not listed |
| Professional errors and omissions (E&O) | Listed 28currently marketed Miscellaneous Professional Liability and Epack 3 professional-liability component | Listed 41Professional E&O product page. |
| Surety bonds | Listed 17 | Not listed |
| Technology errors and omissions (E&O) | Listed 13 | Listed 41Technology/creative class within broader E&O; no separate technology form established. |
| Tools, equipment and inland marine | Listed 20 | Listed 37,53Foxquilt lists Inland Marine among primary coverages; the ConvertLabs cleaner program describes limited mobile-equipment coverage (also called Inland Marine) commonly used by janitorial providers. This does not establish broad standalone inland-marine terms. |
| Umbrella and excess liability | Listed 26 | Listed 37,51Foxquilt lists Umbrella/Excess in its primary-coverages list and has a current Umbrella Insurance page that distinguishes umbrella from excess. Membership is for marketed umbrella only; a separate excess product is not established. |
| Workers’ compensation | Listed 27 | Listed 42Workers’ compensation page; state requirements vary. |
A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means this catalogue has no separate offering recorded; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.
Current Spot Scores
Each score uses the rubric for that provider’s documented role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.
CNA
CarrierCarrier & MGA
No Spot Score
Assessment subject unavailable
Foxquilt
Managing general agentCarrier & MGA
No Spot Score
Assessment subject unavailable
Review Scores
These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.
CNA
Review Score
1 rated source
Customer feedback on CNA is mixed and hard to compare. NerdWallet gave it 4.5 out of 5 for manufacturers, while Trustpilot shows about 1.4 out of 5 from 49 mostly self-selected reviews.[1][5]
Read CNA reviewsFoxquilt
Review Score
3 rated sources
Customers rate Foxquilt well on Google (4.9 out of 5 from 526 reviews at its Charlotte office) and 3.5 out of 5 on Trustpilot from only 8 reviews. Put together, the Review Score is 8.9 out of 10.[12][5][6]
Read Foxquilt reviewsWhich Businesses Each Route Describes
Foxquilt says it serves small and midsize businesses. CNA directs small-business buyers to work with an agent. Give both routes the same business description, revenue, locations, operations and contract requirements when asking whether they can quote your business. 37 3
Application And Support
Foxquilt’s product pages describe an online route for selected CGL and E&O policies, with assistance available. CNA describes this application route: CNA directs small-business buyers to work with an agent. CNA also says its U.S. offices work with independent agents and brokers to provide policyholder service and insurance solutions. This difference can change who prepares the submission and supports you before binding. Ask whether you can finish the application online, whether a broker or agent must submit it, what information is needed, and who confirms binding and the effective date. 40 3
Service After Purchase
Foxquilt describes servicing as follows: Foxquilt says CGL and E&O policy documents and certificates are emailed after purchase and describes digital account tools. For agents and brokers, Foxquilt advertises digital endorsement and cancellation management and change requests in Foxden; this does not establish who has contractual authority or the processing terms for a particular policy. The public material reviewed does not establish policy-specific renewal handling, endorsement authority, cancellation process or service-level guarantees. CNA describes this service route: CNA says CNA Central gives small-business agents access to policy documents, loss runs, and claims information. CNA’s 2022 agent guide says agents can access policy, billing, and claims information and download new-business, renewal, and endorsement documents. This describes agent access, not automatic renewal or a guaranteed renewal offer. Ask who handles routine certificates, policy changes, renewal discussions and claims notices for your account, and whether that contact is the broker, insurer or another administrator. 40 3
Compare Services
What each provider documents about the services you may need
| Criteria | CNA | Foxquilt |
|---|---|---|
| Business role | Loews Corporation owned approximately 92% of CNA Financial Corporation’s outstanding common stock as of December 31, 2025. 1Verified. CNA Financial Corporation common-stock ownership as reported for December 31, 2025 in its 2025 Form 10-K. This is not ownership of each subsidiary or policy and is not a percentage asserted beyond that date. | Foxquilt markets a North American small-business insurance platform and describes licensed-broker services. Its terms name Foxquilt Insurance Services Inc. as the website, products and services operator. Its agent page calls Foxquilt a ‘North American Carrier’ and reports admitted CGL paper in 42 U.S. states and seven Canadian provinces, but names no license-holding entity or license identifier there. The reviewed sources do not map the Inc. or the separately listed Foxquilt Insurance Services LLC to a particular U.S. placement, delegated authority or issuing insurer, so the brand’s U.S. regulated role remains unresolved. 36,47,48,38,49Company-reported. Foxquilt brand and the separately named Inc. and LLC; company disclosures accessed through 2026-09-29. License wording is provider-published and was not independently regulator-verified; no exact license identifiers were found in the inspected provider disclosures. |
| Customer focus | NerdWallet’s manufacturer assessment reports relatively low property and liability complaints for CNA, but workers’ compensation complaints somewhat higher than expected for CNA’s size. 34Verified. NerdWallet editorial assessment published 2026-03-26 for manufacturers. This is a publisher assessment of complaint patterns, not a consumer rating average, verified claim outcome or full CNA review. Trustpilot’s CNA.com profile includes business billing complaints alongside long-term-care experiences. These self-selected reports do not establish a representative commercial-insurance outcome. 35Verified. CNA.com Trustpilot profile and individually posted reviews inspected 2026-09-29. The review population mixes business billing and long-term-care experiences; posts are not verified outcomes or representative commercial property-and-casualty customer evidence. | Foxquilt says it serves small and midsize businesses and business-to-business networks. Its current CGL and E&O pages name contractors, e-commerce, personal services, consultants, technology and creative professionals, licensed professionals, and beauty and health services as target examples; listed classes are not guarantees of eligibility. 37,40,41Company-reported. Company-described North American small-business audience and example product classes; actual appetite depends on product, class, state and underwriting. |
| Application process | CNA directs small-business buyers to work with an agent. CNA also says its U.S. offices work with independent agents and brokers to provide policyholder service and insurance solutions. 3,4Company-reported. CNA’s stated U.S. small-business route and U.S. agency relationships. These sources do not establish that every CNA product requires an agent or that buyers can complete a purchase directly online. | Foxquilt says customers can request and buy CGL and E&O online, with team assistance available, and receive documents after purchase. Its screens show example businesses, sample limits and prices; these are company illustrations, not quotes tested for a buyer or evidence that every risk can bind online. 40,41,36Company-reported. Company-reported CGL and E&O purchase workflow; no form was submitted and no quote or purchase was completed in this research. |
| Servicing and renewals | CNA says CNA Central gives small-business agents access to policy documents, loss runs, and claims information. CNA’s 2022 agent guide says agents can access policy, billing, and claims information and download new-business, renewal, and endorsement documents. This describes agent access, not automatic renewal or a guaranteed renewal offer. 3,5Company-reported. Small-business agent servicing through CNA Central, based on the current U.S. small-business page and a guide copyrighted 2022. The guide’s detailed portal functions are historical interface descriptions; renewal-document access does not establish that every policy renews or will receive an offer. A CNA Small Business Service Center handout copyrighted 2021 says the center handles participating agency customers’ inquiries about certificates, policy changes, coverage, billing, and additional coverage or endorsement quotes. It states weekday hours of 7 a.m.–7 p.m. Central Time and says the agency/customer relationship remains in place. This describes a particular service-center program, not every CNA account. 6Company-reported. Company-reported service-center functions from a 2021 CNA handout. The handout describes enrollment and account selection for this small-business agency program; it does not establish availability for every CNA policy or account. | Foxquilt says CGL and E&O policy documents and certificates are emailed after purchase and describes digital account tools. For agents and brokers, Foxquilt advertises digital endorsement and cancellation management and change requests in Foxden; this does not establish who has contractual authority or the processing terms for a particular policy. The public material reviewed does not establish policy-specific renewal handling, endorsement authority, cancellation process or service-level guarantees. 40,41,37,38Company-reported. Company-reported buyer servicing statements and agent/broker portal marketing; no account access or live service interaction tested. |
| Claims assistance | CNA’s Claims Center provides an online entry point where a visitor enters a few details to learn claim-reporting options and lists phone help Monday through Friday, 8 a.m.–8 p.m. Eastern. The page does not establish complete online filing or claim outcomes. 7Company-reported. CNA U.S. Claims Center page accessed 2026-09-28; policy-specific reporting instructions, completion of a claim online, and claim outcomes are not established by this page. | Foxquilt product pages describe what a policy may respond to and show a support/contact route, but the reviewed material does not identify who investigates, adjusts or pays a particular U.S. claim, or establish claim outcomes. 40,41,36Not publicly disclosed. Public-facing marketing and contact pathway only; no policy, claim file, claims agreement or performance sample reviewed. |
Sources
CNA Official Website
- CNA Financial Corporation 2025 Form 10-K. U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission; CNA Financial Corporation filer; 2025 Form 10-K, Part I, Item 1 “Business,” opening paragraph (company status, CNA group definition, operating-company list); Note A “Basis of Presentation”; Item 1 ownership statement; exact filing text from SEC indexing and the alternate SEC-hosted annual-report PDF, accessed 2026-09-28. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- General Disclaimer. CNA; General Disclaimer paragraphs 1 and 5 (HTML lines 24 and 28): CNA describes Continental Casualty Company and its relevant affiliates; references to CNA may include one or more CCC affiliates; each particular policy/product/service is the responsibility only of the specific CNA company that issues or supplies it. Footer line 57 identifies CNA Financial Corporation as trademark registrant. Re-read 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Insurance for Small Businesses. CNA; Insurance for Small Businesses, lines 38-50 and 65-67 (CNA Central and agent route); lines 79-106 (product and stated appetite lists); page footer line 132 (CNA registered service mark). Accessed 2026-09-28.
- United States. CNA; United States page, introductory paragraph, line 35. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Small Business | CNA Central Agent Guide. CNA; CNA Central Agent Guide, pages 1-2; access credential note and agent portal context, page 1 lines 3-8; Get a Quote, lines 12-22; Service My Accounts, lines 39-66; copyright/trademark footer, page 2 lines 68-71 (Copyright © 2022). Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Small Business Service Center. CNA; One-page Small Business Service Center handout, lines 0-27 (service functions, weekday hours, continuing agency relationship, enrollment/account selection); lines 40-43 (legal/distribution limitations, trademark, copyright © 2021). Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Report an Insurance Claim. CNA; Report a Claim and Need more Help, lines 21-33. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- United States | CNA Insurance. CNA; Official U.S. Locations page title, observed on page open; page body begins at lines 21-35. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- CNA Connect Small Businessowners Policy (BOP) | CNA Insurance. CNA; CNA Connect; coverages, product range, services. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Ocean Cargo | CNA. CNA; pp. 1–2: transit scope, extensions, agent/insured portal and cargo claims specialists. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Commercial Auto Insurance for Businesses | CNA Insurance. CNA; Coverages, endorsements, risk control, claims. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Commercial Property Insurance | CNA Insurance. CNA; Product by customer size; placements and capacity. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Cyber Insurance - Cyber Risk Solutions | CNA Insurance. CNA; Cyber, Media, Technology & Professional Liability; product sections. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Private Company Directors & Officers Liability | CNA. CNA; pp. 1–2: covered claims, Side A/B/C, limits, eligibility and claims. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Employment Practices Liability | CNA. CNA; pp. 1–3: wrongful practices, third-party acts, insured classes, risk services and claims. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Equipment Breakdown Insurance | CNA Insurance. CNA; Coverage, inspection, monoline and package placement. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- CNA Surety - Surety and Fidelity Bonds | CNA Insurance. CNA; Surety/fidelity product sections, geography, agents/brokers, bONdLINE and claims services. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Fiduciary Liability | CNA. CNA; pp. 1–2: benefit-plan administration, covered costs, eligible organizations and claims. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Commercial General Liability Insurance | CNA Insurance. CNA; Commercial General Liability; customer sizes, coverage, teams. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Inland & Ocean Marine Insurance | CNA Insurance. CNA; Inland Marine and Ocean Marine coverage sections. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Management Liability Insurance and Professional Liability | CNA Insurance. CNA; Management liability overview, coverages, Epack 3. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Tailored Coverages for Aging Services, Allied Healthcare Facilities and More | CNA. CNA; pp. 4–5, 7–8: healthcare classes, PL/GL options, claims and risk-control capabilities. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Life Sciences Insurance | CNA. CNA; Life Sciences: products, target classes, claims and risk control. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Small Business Life Sciences Insurance | CNA. CNA; Coverage and appetite: products liability, limits, optional features and target classes. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Life Sciences Coverage Highlights FAQ | CNA. CNA; pp. 1–3: work-hazard products liability, separate/combined form, recall benefit, reporting, availability and exclusions. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Umbrella Insurance and Excess Liability Insurance | CNA Insurance. CNA; Forms, enhancements, underwriting. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Workers’ Compensation Insurance | CNA Insurance. CNA; Benefits, prevention, claims. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Cyber Insurance - Cyber Risk Solutions | CNA Insurance. CNA; U.S. page, opened 2026-09-29: lines 48-52 Epack 3 modular policy combines cyber, media, technology and professional liability; lines 64-84 MPL and media; line 128 CNA brand disclosure and ©2026. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Commercial Auto Insurance for Businesses | CNA Insurance. CNA; U.S. page, opened 2026-09-29: lines 28-30 and coverages lines 31-34; commercial auto covers business-use owned, hired and non-owned vehicles; ©2026 at line 61. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Management Liability Insurance and Professional Liability | CNA Insurance. CNA; U.S. page, opened 2026-09-29: lines 33-44 name crime and kidnap/ransom/extortion; lines 49-54 describe modular Epack 3 and flexible coverage mix; ©2026 at line 80. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Inland & Ocean Marine Insurance | CNA Insurance. CNA; U.S. page, opened 2026-09-29: lines 29-35 describe Inland Marine and Builders Risk appetite; lines 46-54 separately list Ocean Marine and Hull Builders Risk; ©2026 at line 84. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Small Business Insurance Solutions for Life Sciences | CNA Insurance. CNA; U.S. page, opened 2026-09-29: page issue marker 06.17.2025 at line 75; line 63-65 describes monoline product liability with E&O and automatic Class 1 recall mitigation-expense benefit; line 74 says issuer, availability and policy-terms qualifications; ©2026 line 101. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Life Sciences Coverage FAQs. CNA; PDF opened 2026-09-29: p.1 lines 10-18 Class 1 recall supplementary benefit and sublimit; p.1 lines 31-34 circumstance-reporting exception; p.2 lines 104-109 says illustrative, policy controls, availability varies and copyright ©2023 / 20230314. Historical detailed qualification, not a current form. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Manufacturer Insurance: Best Companies, Costs and Coverages. NerdWallet; Published 2026-03-26; CNA section, lines 348-359: manufacturer-specific editorial assessment says relatively low property/liability complaints and workers-comp complaints slightly higher than expected for company size; no full CNA review. Re-read 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- CNA Insurance Reviews. Trustpilot; CNA.com profile, lines 40-72 and current review entries including business billing complaint (lines 59-63) and long-term-care reports (lines 66-70); profile says reviews are individual opinions at line 177. Self-selected mixed review population, not a representative commercial-insurance outcome. Re-read 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-29.
Foxquilt Official Website
- Commercial Insurance, Business Liability Coverage | Foxquilt. Foxquilt; Homepage: available-now CGL and E&O; other recommended products; digital purchase workflow; illustrative quote screens and carrier/support marks. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- About Us - North American Business Insurance Company. Foxquilt; Our Primary Coverages; North American Distribution; Foxden; broad company-level distribution statement. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Become a Foxquilt Agent/Broker Partner. Foxquilt; Agent/broker product and servicing marketing: quote/bind/service in Foxden and instant documents (lines 22–24); service requests manage endorsements/cancellations (lines 130–138); digital servicing support says digitally manage endorsements/cancellations (lines 206–208); agents can file change requests in Foxden (lines 262–266). Separate CGL live selector states 42 U.S. states, 7 Canadian provinces and ‘Admitted paper Yes’ (lines 210–227). Page calls Foxquilt a ‘North American Carrier’ and says two products are built/underwritten in-house (lines 145–152). Directly reopened 2026-09-29. Provider-published marketing, not independent regulator verification; exact license-holding entity/type/identifier, specific policy authority and request-processing terms are not disclosed here. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Other Coverages. Foxquilt; Other Coverages page: Workers’ Compensation, Commercial Auto, Cyber Liability and Commercial Property cards; Commercial Auto card lists Owned vehicles, Hired & non-owned, and Tools in transit as features; CGL/E&O are marked available now. Directly inspected 2026-09-29, lines 22–70. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Commercial General Liability. Foxquilt; “What does CGL cover?”; “Foxquilt’s CGL is built for…”; digital quote/buy and certificates; “Built for North American small business”; limits FAQ; CGL exclusions FAQ. Directly reopened 2026-09-29, lines 53–64, 67–104, 135–215, 244–319. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Professional Liability (E&O). Foxquilt; E&O summary and claims-made label; coverage examples; “Tech & Creative” classes; digital quote/buy; North American availability; lines 22–29, 52–65, 99–120, 138–253. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Workers’ Compensation Insurance. Foxquilt; State-requirements FAQ; payroll/employee/location price factors; benefits list; self-employed and subcontractor FAQs. Reopened 2026-09-29, lines 148–162. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Commercial Auto Insurance. Foxquilt; Product description, audience/use cases, claims scenarios and price factors. Reopened 2026-09-29, lines 42, 99–132. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Cyber Business Insurance. Foxquilt; Cyber event description, target business types/data exposure, examples, price factors. Reopened 2026-09-29, lines 98–127. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Commercial Property Insurance. Foxquilt; Property description and causes; target property; claim examples; pricing factors. Reopened 2026-09-29, lines 98–128. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Builder’s Risk Insurance. Foxquilt; Construction-stage description and example causes; intended buyers; project-specific price factors. Reopened 2026-09-29, lines 98–127. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Foxquilt Insurance Services | Terms & Conditions. Foxquilt; Sections 1.1–1.2 identify Foxquilt Insurance Services Inc. as service operator; no reviewed Inc.–LLC relationship statement. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Foxquilt Insurance Services | Consumer & Privacy Info. Foxquilt; Privacy officer identity/address; “How We Get Paid For Our Services”; commission table and contingent-commission footnote; Canada-oriented company disclosure; no U.S. line/issuer mapping. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Agency Detail: Foxquilt Insurance Services LLC. Westfield Insurance; Agency directory listing for Foxquilt Insurance Services LLC and Business coverage; does not disclose state appointment terms, delegated authority, or policy issuer. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Foxquilt official website. Foxquilt; Official website is the provenance root for the visible brand mark; no reusable downloadable official logo file was verified during this pass. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Smarter Umbrella Insurance For Your Business. Foxquilt; Current product page calls the product Umbrella Insurance; lines 98–104 describe umbrella vs excess and eligibility; lines 106–121 give illustrative scenarios; lines 127–132 discuss multi-insurer tower as hypothetical purchasing example. Directly inspected 2026-09-29. It supports an umbrella marketing membership, not a separate excess product, actual tower, underlying requirements, policy form or limits. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Smarter Crime Insurance. Foxquilt; Current product page calls the product Crime Insurance; lines 90–104 describe money/securities, inside/outside theft and examples; lines 113–121 say crime may be included as a BOP add-on or bought as an isolated policy. Directly inspected 2026-09-29. Marketing does not establish form/limits or fidelity/surety bond coverage. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Cleaner Insurance Program by Foxquilt. Foxquilt; Current Foxquilt-powered ConvertLabs cleaner program page; lines 108–135 lists CGL, Commercial Auto, Mobile Equipment, Crime/Bonds and Workers’ Compensation. Lines 127–128 identify Mobile Equipment as “also known as Inland Marine” and limit it to a small portion of equipment coverage commonly used by janitorial providers; lines 130–131 describe Crime, not bond terms. Page says program applications are available in Canada or the U.S. Directly inspected 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-29.




