CFC vs HUB International Tech E&O Insurance

HUB brokers customized technology E&O with prior-acts and tail options; CFC underwrites a packaged Technology policy with published $10M limits.

What Is CFC Insurance?

CFC provides specialty insurance through an MGA model, with technology products for startups through multinational businesses. Its U.S. technology materials describe combined liability and cyber protection, while California eligibility requires product-specific confirmation. 1,2,3,4

Read the CFC profile

What Is HUB International?

HUB International is a North American insurance brokerage that arranges business insurance, employee benefits and related risk services through local offices and specialist practices. Smaller commercial accounts may be sent to Insureon for an online quote; other programs are handled by HUB advisors, with policy terms set by the insurers they use. 6,7,8

Read the HUB International profile

What Is Technology Errors and Omissions (E&O) Insurance?

Technology errors and omissions (E&O) insurance addresses claims that a technology product or service caused a customer or other third party a financial loss. It doesn't extend to cyber incidents, bodily injury or professional services outside the quoted product. 10,11,12

Read the full coverage guide

Key Differences in Tech E&O Insurance

Broker Practice Versus Packaged Product

HUB brokers technology E&O both as part of its general E&O practice and as a line inside its technology-industry practice; it does not issue the policy. CFC sells a named Technology package that bundles E&O, contract, IP/media and cyber. 9 8 2 5

Prior-Acts Language Versus Brochure Insuring Agreements

HUB’s general E&O page says policies typically cover defense, judgments, settlements and fines from allegations of misrepresentation, breach of professional services, wrongful practices and misleading advice, and can be structured with prior-acts coverage back to a retroactive date and tail coverage for an extended reporting period. 9 3

What to Confirm in Tech E&O Insurance Quotes

  • Ask HUB for the retroactive date and whether tail is available; those structures are described generally, not as guaranteed terms. 9
  • Get HUB’s actual per-claim and aggregate limits; the E&O page says policies typically include them but does not publish amounts. 9
  • Compare HUB’s placed form against CFC’s brochure items for contract, IP and cyber. 3
  • Confirm both issuing insurers, since neither HUB nor CFC’s Technology pages name them. 9 5

Offering Details

CFC vs HUB International Tech E&O Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaCFC Technology Errors & OmissionsHUB International Technology Errors and Omissions Insurance
Role in This Line

CFC's Technology product is a single package policy for technology companies that bundles errors & omissions liability, breach-of-contract cover, IP infringement and media liability, and cyber cover. 2,3Company-reported. Technology product page and US product brochure; the policy as issued controls the exact scope for any one customer.

HUB brokers technology E&O as part of its general E&O practice, naming technology as one of the industries it serves, and separately markets it as one line within its dedicated technology-industry practice. 9,8Company-reported. E&O product page and technology-industry page as read 2026-09-23; neither names an issuing insurer.

Issuing Insurer

The Technology application form names only CFC Underwriting Limited, a UK entity authorized and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority, as the party administering the form. Neither the Technology product page nor the application discloses which specific insurer or Lloyd's syndicate capacity backs a given US Technology policy. 5,4Not publicly disclosed. Technology application footer and the regulatory information page, both checked on 2026-09-23; CFC's US arm, CFC USA Inc., separately holds admitted producer licenses and E&S authorization in NY, TX, GA and CA, but that page does not tie a specific license to the Technology product.

Neither the E&O page nor the technology-industry page names an issuing insurer for technology E&O; HUB places this coverage with insurers that vary by client and placement. 9,8Not found in reviewed sources. Checked both pages on 2026-09-23; no carrier is disclosed on either.

Who It’s For

CFC says the Technology product is suitable for start-ups, mid-size and multinational tech companies, without publishing a specific revenue or headcount cutoff on the product page. 2Company-reported. Technology product page introduction; actual eligibility for a given applicant depends on underwriting review of the application.

HUB's technology-industry page addresses fast-growing startups and established software, hardware or digital-media businesses, and says HUB currently insures more than 5,000 technology companies; that count is a company-reported figure not independently verified here. 8Company-reported. Technology-industry page framing; not specific to technology E&O alone, since the page covers HUB's full technology insurance program.

Coverage Features

CFC describes coverage for financial loss, bodily injury or property damage arising from a technology company's products and services, plus legal liability for breach of client contracts and IP infringement claims such as copyright and trademark disputes. 3Company-reported. Product brochure feature descriptions; exclusions and conditions are set by the policy wording, which was not reviewed.

The cyber portion of the policy includes network and privacy liability, business interruption, data rectification and recreation costs, extortion cover, and social engineering coverage, sitting inside the same Technology package rather than as a separate purchase. 3Company-reported. Product brochure 'Comprehensive cyber cover' section.

HUB's general E&O page says policies typically cover defense costs, judgments, settlements and fines from allegations of misrepresentation, breach of professional services, wrongful practices and misleading advice, and can be structured with prior-acts coverage back to a retroactive date and tail coverage for an extended reporting period. 9Company-reported. General E&O coverage description; the page does not give technology-specific coverage examples beyond listing technology as a served industry.

Limits and Retentions

CFC publishes a maximum errors & omissions/media/cyber limit of $10,000,000 and a maximum commercial general liability limit of $6,000,000 for this product, with a minimum deductible of $0. 3Company-reported. Brochure 'Limits and deductibles' table; the limit and deductible on an individual policy's declarations control.

HUB's E&O page says policies typically include per-claim and aggregate limits, but does not publish specific limit amounts for technology E&O. 9Not publicly disclosed. E&O product-page structure description; specific limits are set on the quote and declarations.

Risk Services

Policyholders get access to CFC's incident response service at a $0 deductible, sitting on a limit separate from the main policy limit, plus a free app with dark web monitoring, phishing simulations and network deep scanning. 3Company-reported. Brochure 'Market leading cyber incident response' and 'Response app highlights' sections; CFC calls its incident response team one of the largest in-house teams in the industry, a characterization not independently verified here.

Not described in the reviewed sources.

How to Apply

The US Technology application asks for company revenue by year, funding-round history, subcontractor and hosting arrangements, and whether multi-factor authentication is enforced for remote network access and email; it is returned to your insurance broker. 5,2Company-reported. Application form Sections 1, 2 and 4; CFC also lists Connect and named API partners as digital trading channels on the product page, which may bypass a paper application for some brokers.

HUB directs prospects to connect with a broker; the E&O page describes policies as customized to business size, industry, location, risk base and desired limits, without an online quote flow. 9Company-reported. Product-page call to action as read 2026-09-23.

Full Comparison

More CFC vs HUB International Comparisons

Other Tech E&O Insurance Comparisons

Sources

CFC

  1. About CFC. CFC; Matt Taylor biography: independent MGA and Syndicate 1988. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Technology insurance | Start-ups and tech companies | CFC. CFC; Technology product summary; Key features: Products and services liability, Breach of contract, IP rights infringement and media liability, Comprehensive cyber cover and incident response; Downloads. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  3. Technology | Product brochure (United States). CFC; Products and services liability; Breach of contract; IP infringement and media liability; Comprehensive cyber cover; Response app highlights; Limits and deductibles table. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  4. Regulatory information. CFC; CFC Underwriting Limited; CFC Lloyd's Syndicate 1988; CFC USA Inc. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  5. Technology companies Insurance application form (US). CFC; Section 1: Company Details; Section 2: Activities; Section 3: Contract & Risk Management; Section 4: Cyber Security Risk Management; Section 6: Insurance Requirements; footer entity line. Accessed 2026-09-23.

HUB International

  1. About Us. HUB International; Opening description; 1998 formation of HUB International Limited; 2022 Insureon acquisition; headquarters and employee/office counts. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Contact Us. HUB International; Business Solutions paths for Commercial Insurance Solutions versus Small Commercial Insurance Solutions via Insureon; office search. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Insurance for Technology Companies. HUB International; Technology Company Insurance & Risk Management introduction for startups, software, hardware and digital-media companies; technology-specific coverage list including professional liability/technology E&O; technology-client count claim. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  4. Errors and Omissions (E&O) Insurance Coverage. HUB International; Industries served list naming technology among accounting, architecture, creative, dental, engineering, financial, medical and media; prior-acts coverage; claims-made structure; claims-notification steps. Accessed 2026-09-23.

Tech E&O Insurance Guide

  1. Insurance and Bonding Guidelines. Georgia Department of Administrative Services; Professional Liability / Errors and Omissions p.6; Technology Errors & Omissions (Cyber Liability) §9 pp.7–8. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Technology Errors and Omissions Insurance. The Hartford; What Is Technology Errors and Omissions Insurance?; differences between cyber liability and errors and omissions; How Technology Errors and Omissions Insurance Works With Contracts. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. DigiTech Enterprise Risk Management. Chubb; Coverage Synopsis > Third-Party Liability Coverage > Technology Errors and Omissions; Cyber, Privacy and Network Security Liability; footer product-summary disclaimer. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Let Spot Handle the Insurance Legwork.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot