CFC vs HUB International Kidnap and Ransom Insurance

CFC underwrites land and marine K&R; HUB brokers K&R standalone and inside its ProEx executive-liability practice.

What Is CFC Insurance?

CFC provides specialty insurance through an MGA model, with technology products for startups through multinational businesses. Its U.S. technology materials describe combined liability and cyber protection, while California eligibility requires product-specific confirmation. 1,2,3,4

Read the CFC profile

What Is HUB International?

HUB International is a North American insurance brokerage that arranges business insurance, employee benefits and related risk services through local offices and specialist practices. Smaller commercial accounts may be sent to Insureon for an online quote; other programs are handled by HUB advisors, with policy terms set by the insurers they use. 7,8,9

Read the HUB International profile

What Is Kidnap and Ransom Insurance?

Kidnap and ransom insurance provides financial protection for specified kidnapping and extortion events and gives the business access to a crisis-response firm. Check who is insured, which events are named, and how territory and sanctions terms apply to your actual travel. 12,13,14

Read the full coverage guide

Key Differences in Kidnap and Ransom Insurance

Underwritten Forms Versus ProEx Placement

CFC underwrites land K&R and a separate marine product. HUB brokers kidnap and ransom both from a standalone product page and as one of the Executive Liability coverages in ProEx, rather than issuing the policy. 5 10 11

CFC gives land and marine policyholders 24/7 crisis-response consultants. HUB says ProEx, which lists K&R, provides analytics, litigation support and risk-management services and access to a Claims & Legal Risks Group of attorneys who specialize in ProEx coverages. HUB’s K&R pages do not describe specific insuring agreements the way CFC’s land features list does. 5 11 10

How You Apply

CFC publishes a downloadable land K&R application and brochure. HUB directs prospects to connect with a broker rather than an online quote or bind flow. 5 10

What to Confirm in Kidnap and Ransom Insurance Quotes

  • Ask HUB whether K&R would be standalone or inside ProEx, and which insurer it would use. 10 11
  • If you have marine exposure, ask about CFC’s USD 25 million combined marine limit; HUB’s reviewed pages do not describe a marine K&R product. 6 10
  • Compare CFC’s response consultants with ProEx attorney support on an actual incident. 5 11
  • Get limits; HUB’s pages and CFC’s land page do not publish them. 10 5

Offering Details

CFC vs HUB International Kidnap and Ransom Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaCFC Kidnap & Ransom InsuranceHUB International Kidnap and Ransom Insurance Brokerage
Role in This Line

CFC underwrites a land-based kidnap and ransom (K&R) policy for businesses and their employees, paired with crisis response services, and separately sells a specialist marine K&R product for commercial and leisure maritime activities. 5Company-reported. K&R product page introduction, which explicitly distinguishes the land policy from the separate marine K&R product.

HUB brokers kidnap and ransom (K&R) insurance both as a standalone product page offering and as one of the Executive Liability coverages in its ProEx Professional & Executive Risk practice, rather than underwriting the policy itself. 10,11Company-reported. K&R product page and ProEx coverage list, read 2026-09-23. Neither page names an issuing insurer.

Issuing Insurer

The reviewed K&R product page does not name the insurer or Lloyd's syndicate backing the policy. CFC's regulatory page lists CFC-affiliated underwriting vehicles, including its own Lloyd's Syndicate 1988, but does not tie one specifically to K&R. 5,4Not publicly disclosed. Checked the K&R and marine product pages plus CFC's regulatory information page; none names a K&R-specific carrier.

The K&R product page and the ProEx page do not name an issuing insurer for K&R policies; HUB says ProEx places over $2 billion in premium with insurers it calls top-rated carriers, without naming them. 10,11Not found in reviewed sources. Checked both pages on 2026-09-23; the carrier for a specific K&R placement depends on the quote.

Who It’s For

Not described in the reviewed sources.

HUB markets K&R coverage to organizations with executives who travel internationally, employees working abroad or domestically, and other key personnel whose safety is considered critical to the organization, plus their families. 10Company-reported. K&R product page target-audience description; not an underwriting appetite statement.

Coverage Features

CFC describes the land K&R policy as offering a broad definition of bodily injury, legal and expense cover, an extended personal accident benefit, and optional endorsements a broker can add for a specific business. 5Company-reported. Key features section of the K&R product page; exact terms are set by the policy as issued.

CFC's marine K&R product is a separate policy covering hijack and seizure of a vessel or kidnap of crew, with combined limits up to USD 25 million for kidnap and ransom and loss of hire, plus standalone loss-of-hire cover available on its own. 6Company-reported. Marine product page description of the marine kidnap and ransom line, distinct from the land K&R policy.

HUB cites roughly 15,000 kidnap, extortion or illegal-detention incidents a year generating about half a billion dollars in ransom payments, and says an organization can face significant costs even when no ransom is paid. 10Company-reported. K&R product page risk-framing statistics; company-reported and not independently verified by Spot.

HUB's K&R product page cross-references directors and officers liability, business interruption and cyber coverage as related protections, and its ProEx practice groups K&R with other Executive Liability lines such as D&O, employment practices liability and fiduciary liability. 10,11Company-reported. K&R product page related-coverage links and ProEx coverage list; the pages do not describe specific K&R insuring agreements, sublimits or exclusions.

Limits and Retentions

The land K&R product page does not publish specific limit amounts; only the marine K&R variant discloses a limit figure (USD 25 million combined for kidnap and ransom and loss of hire). 5,6Not found in reviewed sources. Land K&R page checked on 2026-09-23 does not list numeric limits; marine page separately does.

Published K&R policy limits or retentions were not found on the reviewed pages. 10,11Not publicly disclosed. Checked the K&R product page and ProEx page on 2026-09-23; limits are set on the quote and declarations.

Risk Services

Policyholders on both the land and marine K&R products get 24/7 access to expert crisis response consultants through a global response team in the event of an incident. 5,6Company-reported. Key features on both the K&R and marine product pages.

HUB says its ProEx practice, which lists K&R among its Executive Liability coverages, provides analytics, litigation support and risk-management services led by a named practice leader, and gives clients access to a Claims & Legal Risks Group of attorneys who specialize in ProEx coverages. 11Company-reported. ProEx page services and claims-support description; not specific to a single K&R engagement.

How to Apply

CFC publishes a downloadable K&R application form alongside the product brochure for brokers or businesses applying for the land K&R policy. 5Company-reported. Downloads section of the K&R product page.

HUB directs K&R prospects to "Connect With a Broker" rather than an online quote or bind flow. 10Company-reported. K&R product page call to action.

Full Comparison

More CFC vs HUB International Comparisons

Other Kidnap and Ransom Insurance Comparisons

Sources

CFC

  1. About CFC. CFC; Matt Taylor biography: independent MGA and Syndicate 1988. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Technology. CFC; Introduction; Technology key features; Digitally traded. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Technology — United States product brochure. CFC; Page 1: coverage sections, including Products and services liability; Response app highlights; Limits and deductibles. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Regulatory information. CFC; CFC Underwriting Limited; CFC Lloyd's Syndicate 1988. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  5. Kidnap & ransom insurance | CFC. CFC; Kidnap & ransom key features; specialist marine K&R product; Downloads: Brochure, Application form. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  6. Marine piracy insurance | CFC. CFC; Marine kidnap and ransom key features: limits up to USD25m, standalone loss of hire. Accessed 2026-09-23.

HUB International

  1. About Us. HUB International; Opening description; 1998 formation of HUB International Limited; 2022 Insureon acquisition; headquarters and employee/office counts. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Contact Us. HUB International; Business Solutions paths for Commercial Insurance Solutions versus Small Commercial Insurance Solutions via Insureon; office search. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Insurance for Technology Companies. HUB International; Technology Company Insurance & Risk Management: startup, software, hardware and digital-media introduction; Business Coverage and People Protection lists; technology-client count. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Kidnap and Ransom Insurance Brokers. HUB International; Why coverage is needed: kidnap, extortion and illegal detention risk; incident and ransom-payment statistics; target audience of traveling executives, employees abroad and their loved ones; costs beyond ransom payment; Connect With a Broker call to action; cross-references to D&O, business interruption and cyber coverage. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  5. HUB ProEx. HUB International; ProEx Coverages list including Kidnap, Ransom, and Extortion insurance under Executive Liability; Claims & Legal Support section; ProEx premium volume statement. Accessed 2026-09-23.

Kidnap and Ransom Insurance Guide

  1. Kidnap and Ransom Applications and Forms. Travelers; Opening; Applications; Sample policy forms. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. The Chubb Primary Kidnap Ransom and Extortion Insurance. Chubb; Opening; Kidnap, Ransom & Extortion Insurance Highlights. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Kidnap and Ransom Coverage. Travelers; I pp.1–2; III pp.3–9; IV p.9; V pp.10–13. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Let Spot Handle the Insurance Legwork.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot