CFC vs Harper Product Liability Insurance

CFC writes product liability in life-science and nutraceuticals packages with published maxima; Harper brokers the line and matches retailer vendor-agreement limits.

What Is CFC Insurance?

CFC provides specialty insurance through an MGA model, with technology products for startups through multinational businesses. Its U.S. technology materials describe combined liability and cyber protection, while California eligibility requires product-specific confirmation. 1,2,3,4

Read the CFC profile

What Is Harper Insurance?

Harper is a commercial insurance brokerage for businesses with complex risks. Its specialists use AI tools to gather information, seek quotes from insurers and help customers manage coverage. 9,10

Read the Harper profile

What Is Product Liability Insurance?

Product liability insurance addresses liability for injury or damage associated with a defective product that a business manufactures, wholesales, distributes or sells. 13,14,15,16

Read the full coverage guide

Key Differences in Product Liability Insurance

Package Policy Versus Broker Placement

CFC sells product liability only inside life science and nutraceuticals packages. Harper places product liability as a broker: a specialist reviews the business and approaches insurers rather than underwriting the policy. Neither CFC’s brochures nor Harper’s product page name the issuing insurer for a given account. 5 6 11

Vendor Contracts Versus Brochure Limits

Harper says it will write the policy to match a retailer or marketplace vendor agreement, including additional-insured status and the specific limits those contracts require, but the reviewed page does not publish limit figures. CFC’s brochures list maximum products-liability limits of $15 million claims-made and $7 million occurrence, which a buyer can compare with a vendor’s required limit before applying. 11 6 7

Who Each Side Names as Buyers

CFC’s life science appetite covers importers, manufacturers, distributors or lessors of tangible products and devices, with ordinary declines such as hip and knee kits; nutraceuticals appetite includes energy drinks, weight-loss products and cosmetics. Harper says the line is for makers, importers and sellers of physical products, and that importers, distributors and retailers can be named in a claim even when they did not manufacture the item. 6 7 11

Intake

CFC uses separate applications for life science and nutraceuticals. You request a Harper quote through an online form or by phone; Harper says one application is then shopped across insurers that write the applicant’s product class. 5 11

What to Confirm in Product Liability Insurance Quotes

  • Bring any retailer additional-insured schedule to Harper and ask how those limits sit against CFC’s brochure maxima if you also quote CFC. 11 6
  • Ask CFC whether voluntary recall is added as an extension and which package applies. 7
  • Ask Harper which insurers were shopped for your product class. 11
  • Confirm product-class appetite: CFC’s ordinary-decline lists versus Harper’s shopping across writers of that class. 6 11

Offering Details

CFC vs Harper Product Liability Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaCFC Life Science and NutraceuticalsHarper Product Liability Insurance
Role in This Line

CFC sells product liability only inside its life science and nutraceuticals package policies, not as a standalone product-liability product. 5Company-reported. Life science product page, which lists life sciences and nutraceuticals as the two package policies covering products/completed operations exposure.

Harper places product liability coverage as a broker: it says a specialist reviews the business and approaches insurers on the client's behalf rather than underwriting the policy itself. 11Company-reported. Product liability page's 'Why Harper' section; describes Harper's placement process, not a specific insurer or policy.

Issuing Insurer

The reviewed life science and nutraceuticals brochures describe CFC as the policy designer and point of contact but do not name the insurer that carries the product-liability risk for either package. 5,6,7Not publicly disclosed. Life science page and both brochures as read on 2026-09-23. CFC's own materials describe it as an underwriting manager rather than a risk-bearing insurer, so a specific carrier for either package would need to come from the quote or declarations.

The reviewed product liability page does not name the insurer or insurers that would issue a given policy; Harper says it places the coverage with 'real insurers' generally rather than a named carrier for this line. 11,12Not publicly disclosed. Checked the product liability page and the coverage directory on 2026-09-23; neither names a carrier for this specific line.

Who It’s For

For the life science package, CFC says it considers companies importing, manufacturing, distributing or leasing tangible products, implantable and non-implantable devices, and software as a medical device, but ordinarily declines products such as hip and knee replacement kits, infusion devices, implantable silicone, and breast implants. 6Company-reported. Life science brochure's "Products we consider" and "What we ordinarily decline" lists; actual acceptance depends on individual underwriting.

For the nutraceuticals package, CFC says its appetite covers products like energy drinks, weight-loss or weight-gain products, functional health products and cosmetics, but ordinarily declines products containing or derived from kratom or colloidal silver, or with excessively high stimulant levels. 7Company-reported. Nutraceuticals brochure's "What we like" and "What we ordinarily decline" lists; actual acceptance depends on individual underwriting.

Harper says the line is for makers, importers and sellers of physical products, and that importers, distributors and retailers can be named in a product claim even when they didn't manufacture the item. 11Company-reported. Product liability page introduction and FAQ answer on non-manufacturer exposure.

Coverage Features

Both packages cover legal expenses and compensation for bodily injury or property damage claims arising from use, ingestion, or (for life science) implantation of the insured's product, alongside product recall costs for government-enforced recalls, with voluntary recall available as an extension. 6,7Company-reported. Life science and nutraceuticals brochures' "Commercial general liability"/"Products and completed operations" and "Product recall" sections; exact wording and exclusions are set by the policy as issued.

Harper describes the coverage as responding to injury claims from a product, property damage the product caused, and the legal defense costs of those claims. 11Company-reported. Product liability page's four coverage tiles (Injury claims, Property damage, Defense in depth, Vendor agreement compliance); the issued policy and its exclusions control actual scope.

Limits and Retentions

CFC's brochures list a maximum products-liability limit of $15 million on a claims-made basis and $7 million on an occurrence basis for both the life science and nutraceuticals packages. 6,7Company-reported. "Limits and minimum premiums" sections of both brochures; the limit actually issued depends on underwriting.

Harper names product category, sales volume and sales channel as what drives product liability pricing, but the reviewed page does not publish specific limit, retention or premium figures. 11Not publicly disclosed. Product liability FAQ 'What does it cost?'; figures are unavailable on this public page and would appear on a quote.

Risk Services

Not described in the reviewed sources.

Harper says it will write the policy to match a retailer or marketplace vendor agreement, including additional-insured status and the specific limits those contracts require. 11Company-reported. Product liability page 'We know this' section and FAQ on additional-insured requests; a service Harper describes performing, not an independently verified outcome.

How to Apply

CFC publishes separate application forms for life science products/software and for nutraceuticals, so the underwriting intake differs by package even though both share the same product-liability grant. 5Company-reported. Life science product page's downloads list.

You request a quote through Harper's online form or by phone; Harper says one application is then shopped across the insurers that write the applicant's product class. 11Company-reported. Product liability page quote form and 'Why Harper' process steps.

Claims Support

CFC says it has pioneered coverage for nutraceuticals as an emerging risk area and has claims handlers experienced with that sector's product claims. 8Company-reported. CFC's claims page, "Emerging risk" section; a general capability statement with no published nutraceuticals-specific claim volume or outcome data.

Not described in the reviewed sources.

Full Comparison

More CFC vs Harper Comparisons

Other Product Liability Insurance Comparisons

Sources

CFC

  1. About CFC. CFC; Matt Taylor biography: independent MGA and Syndicate 1988. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Technology. CFC; Introduction; Technology key features; Digitally traded. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Technology — United States product brochure. CFC; Page 1: coverage sections, including Products and services liability; Response app highlights; Limits and deductibles. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Regulatory information. CFC; CFC USA Inc.; CFC Underwriting Limited; CFC Lloyd’s Syndicate 1988. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  5. Life science. CFC; Life sciences and Nutraceuticals tiles; "What does CFC's life science policy cover?" list; downloads (brochures, application forms). Accessed 2026-09-23.
  6. Life science | Product brochure | United States. CFC; Commercial general liability; Product recall; At a glance: Products we consider / What we ordinarily decline; Limits and minimum premiums. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  7. Nutraceuticals | Product brochure | United States. CFC; Products and completed operations; Product recall; At a glance: What we like / What we ordinarily decline; Limits and minimum premiums. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  8. Claims. CFC; Emerging risk: "CFC has pioneered coverage for many emerging risk areas - like intellectual property and nutraceuticals - and is one of the only teams in the market with experience handling claims from a variety of new sectors". Accessed 2026-09-23.

Harper

  1. Text Messaging Terms and Conditions. Harper Global Enterprises Inc.; Effective August 24, 2026; sections 1–3 (entity, consent and service messages), 5 (message costs), 9 (delivery) and 11 (coverage confirmation). Accessed 2026-09-15.
  2. We're Announcing $47M to Build the Insurance Company Every Business Deserves. Harper / Dakotah Rice; February 26, 2026 article: brokerage identity; AI-assisted submissions and follow-ups; 24–48-hour coverage statement; more than 165 underwriters; plans for additional direct appointments. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  3. Product Liability Insurance. Harper; Know your coverage: What is Product Liability insurance?; Injury claims, Property damage, Defense in depth, Vendor agreement compliance; Why Harper (specialist, market access, recommendation, same-day certificates); FAQs on importers/distributors/retailers and pricing drivers. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  4. What We Cover. Harper; Coverage directory list including Product Liability; intake selector categories. Accessed 2026-09-23.

Product Liability Insurance Guide

  1. Get business insurance. U.S. Small Business Administration; Six common types of business insurance table. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Facts + Statistics: Product liability. Insurance Information Institute; Product liability insurance opening definition (manufacturer, distributor, or seller; defective condition causing personal injury or damage); Product recall insurance sentence. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Product liability, recall and contamination insurance. Insurance Information Institute; Product liability opening (design/manufacture/distribute/sell; injury, property damage or death; added to GL or stand-alone); What could go wrong? (roles; directions/warnings); Covering the costs of a product recall; Contamination insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Commercial Insurance Guide. California Department of Insurance; Commercial General Liability Coverage: premises, products liability and completed operations; major exclusions including damage to your work, impaired property, sistership liability and failure to perform; Limits of Insurance products and completed operations aggregate; glossary Sistership Liability. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Let Spot Handle the Insurance Legwork.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot