Introduction
This comparison pairs small businesses through biBerk with small businesses through Simply Business. Their coverage catalogues share business owners’ policy, cyber, general liability. If one of those lines fits your business, compare the proposed forms and quote routes side by side; listed lines do not establish equal policy terms or eligibility. 3 15
Coverage Comparison
| Coverage | biBerk | Simply Business |
|---|---|---|
| Business owner’s policy | Listed 6 | Listed 24 |
| Commercial auto | Listed 8 | Not listed |
| Commercial property | Not listed | Listed 25,24Offered as part of a BOP, rather than as a standalone policy. |
| Cyber liability | Listed 5 | Listed 27Add-on for select buyers purchasing another business policy; phone quote route. |
| General liability | Listed 11 | Listed 21 |
| Professional errors and omissions (E&O) | Listed 13 | Listed 23 |
| Tools, equipment and inland marine | Not listed | Listed 26 |
| Umbrella and excess liability | Listed 7 | Not listed |
| Workers’ compensation | Listed 12 | Listed 22 |
A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means this catalogue has no separate offering recorded; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.
Current Spot Scores
Each score uses the rubric for that provider’s documented role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.
biBerk
CarrierCarrier & MGA
No Spot Score
Assessment subject unavailable
Simply Business
BrokerBroker
No Spot Score
Assessment subject unavailable
Review Scores
These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.
biBerk
Review Score
3 rated sources
Customers rate biBerk well: Trustpilot shows 4.5 out of 5 from 2,620 reviews, and NerdWallet gives it 4.0. The complaints are about slow service after you buy, billing and audits, and slow refunds.[4][1]
Read biBerk reviewsSimply Business
Review Score
4 rated sources
Customers disagree about Simply Business. Trustpilot shows 4.3 out of 5 from 1,901 reviews, but BBB customers give it 1.95 from 20 reviews and ConsumerAffairs shows 1.0.[6][10][7]
Read Simply Business reviewsKey Differences Between biBerk and Simply Business
Business Fit and Coverage
The catalogues share business owners’ policy, cyber, general liability; other listed lines appear in the comparison table. For the overlap, match the policy forms, limits, exclusions and endorsements before treating the products as alternatives. A shared line name does not establish equal protection or eligibility.
biBerk targets small businesses across varied industries and lists examples such as accounting, food service, retail, and transportation. The homepage FAQ says availability depends on the state and type of insurance; the industry list is illustrative, not an eligibility guarantee. 3,1Company-reported. U.S. small-business audience and examples on biBerk’s national site; examples are illustrative. The homepage says availability depends on the state and type of insurance; listed categories do not establish individual eligibility.
Simply Business says it serves small businesses and solopreneurs and lists examples such as contractors, cleaning businesses, LLCs and sole proprietors. These examples describe its stated audience, not guaranteed insurer eligibility or availability. 15,20,16Company-reported. Company-described U.S. audience; eligibility varies by insurer, state and business details.
biBerk offers cyber and data-breach protection as an add-on to General Liability, Professional Liability, or a Business Owners Policy (BOP); the page does not present this as a stand-alone product. The types of response expenses and affected-person services depend on the selected base policy and terms. 5Company-reported. Entity: biBerk brand. Product: small-business cyber add-on. Jurisdiction and availability depend on state and underwriting. Company-reported page description; the issued policy and endorsement control coverage.
Roles and Quote Access
biBerk says it sells small-business insurance directly without an insurance broker. This is its company-reported channel description. Its California/Massachusetts notice names four insurers collectively as issuing most policies and lists each insurer’s licensed jurisdictions, but does not identify the insurer for a particular transaction, product, or policy or guarantee product availability in a jurisdiction. 1,2Company-reported. Company-reported description of biBerk’s U.S. small-business sales channel on its About page; not a claim about every transaction, product route, producer role, or policy issuer.
Simply Business describes its U.S. service as an online commercial-insurance marketplace and licensed producer connecting business customers with insurers. Its June 30, 2026 Terms identify Simply Business, LLC and Harborway Insurance Agency, LLC d/b/a Harborway Insurance as licensed producers, with Harborway a Simply Business subsidiary; the Terms say Harborway policies are underwritten by Spinnaker Insurance Company. Other site policies are underwritten by third-party providers, so the selected issuer depends on the offer and policy. These roles and license statements are company-reported. The contact-page footer says Simply Business, LLC is licensed in all U.S. states and D.C.; for California it says the company operates under the name Simply Business Insurance Agency, LLC and displays License #0M20593. The footer also lists Colorado, New York, Pennsylvania and Texas operating names; it gives no other license identifiers. No regulator lookup was performed or required for this candidate. 15,16,28,17Company-reported. U.S. commercial insurance distribution described by the company. Simply Business, LLC, Simply Business, Inc., Harborway Insurance Agency, LLC, the stated parent and each policy issuer are distinct. The Inc./LLC relationship remains unresolved.
biBerk describes an online path in which a business answers questions, chooses coverage, and pays online; it also says applicants can speak with an insurance expert. Its homepage says availability depends on the state and type of insurance; the description does not establish that every applicant can complete or bind online. 3,1Company-reported. Company-described online quote and purchase route and expert assistance for U.S. small-business applicants. The homepage states that availability depends on state and type of insurance; this is not a claim that every applicant can complete an online purchase or bind coverage.
The company advertises online quotes and weekday phone access to licensed agents. Its Terms say a quote is not guaranteed and Simply Business cannot bind a risk without panel-member approval; a quote or online purchase path does not establish that every applicant can bind online. 17,16Company-reported. Published U.S. quote and service channels. Binding depends on panel-member approval and the individual offer.
Use these routes to plan who will assemble the submission and whether you can complete the purchase online or need an agent or broker. Ask biBerk and Simply Business to confirm the route for your state, coverage and business details; an online quote path alone does not show that a risk can be bound. 3 17
Policy Service and Claims
biBerk’s policyholder support page lists online routes for policy changes, business and driver updates, payments, certificates, renewal or reinstatement requests, and claims. The page does not establish turnaround time, approval, or eligibility for a requested change or renewal. 4Company-reported. Tasks and online routes listed on the public U.S. policyholder support page; not a service-level, approval, or renewal-eligibility claim.
The company describes account access for policy documents, certificates, account updates and adding coverage; help material routes some changes to an agent or insurer. Not every policy change is described as self-service. 17,18,16Company-reported. Company-described post-purchase service paths; available tasks may depend on policy and insurer.
biBerk’s policyholder support page lists online routes for policy changes, business and driver updates, payments, certificates, renewal or reinstatement requests, and claims. The page does not establish turnaround time, approval, or eligibility for a requested change or renewal. 4Company-reported. Tasks and online routes listed on the public U.S. policyholder support page; not a service-level, approval, or renewal-eligibility claim.
The Terms say third-party insurers underwrite site policies and each provider handles claims on its own policies; the Help Center directs policyholders to identify and contact the insurer. This establishes a published route, not agency assistance after notice or claim outcomes. 16,18Company-reported. General site-policy claim responsibility. Harborway/Spinnaker applies only to the named Harborway placement relationship.
Compare the practical handoffs for documents, policy changes, renewal questions and claim notices. A listed support route describes access to help, not a claim outcome or a guarantee of service speed.
What to Confirm in Quotes
Request quotes for the same business details, coverage lines, limits, deductibles or retentions and policy period. Ask biBerk and Simply Business to name the producer and issuing insurer for each proposed policy, confirm who can bind it, and itemize any customer fees or intermediary compensation. For the overlapping business owners’ policy, cyber, general liability, compare the actual insuring agreement, exclusions, sublimits and endorsements. Also confirm who handles account changes and receives claim notices. 2 15 16
Compare Services
What each provider documents about the services you may need
| Criteria | biBerk | Simply Business |
|---|---|---|
| Business role | biBerk says it sells small-business insurance directly without an insurance broker. This is its company-reported channel description. Its California/Massachusetts notice names four insurers collectively as issuing most policies and lists each insurer’s licensed jurisdictions, but does not identify the insurer for a particular transaction, product, or policy or guarantee product availability in a jurisdiction. 1,2Company-reported. Company-reported description of biBerk’s U.S. small-business sales channel on its About page; not a claim about every transaction, product route, producer role, or policy issuer. | Simply Business describes its U.S. service as an online commercial-insurance marketplace and licensed producer connecting business customers with insurers. Its June 30, 2026 Terms identify Simply Business, LLC and Harborway Insurance Agency, LLC d/b/a Harborway Insurance as licensed producers, with Harborway a Simply Business subsidiary; the Terms say Harborway policies are underwritten by Spinnaker Insurance Company. Other site policies are underwritten by third-party providers, so the selected issuer depends on the offer and policy. These roles and license statements are company-reported. The contact-page footer says Simply Business, LLC is licensed in all U.S. states and D.C.; for California it says the company operates under the name Simply Business Insurance Agency, LLC and displays License #0M20593. The footer also lists Colorado, New York, Pennsylvania and Texas operating names; it gives no other license identifiers. No regulator lookup was performed or required for this candidate. 15,16,28,17Company-reported. U.S. commercial insurance distribution described by the company. Simply Business, LLC, Simply Business, Inc., Harborway Insurance Agency, LLC, the stated parent and each policy issuer are distinct. The Inc./LLC relationship remains unresolved. |
| Application process | biBerk describes an online path in which a business answers questions, chooses coverage, and pays online; it also says applicants can speak with an insurance expert. Its homepage says availability depends on the state and type of insurance; the description does not establish that every applicant can complete or bind online. 3,1Company-reported. Company-described online quote and purchase route and expert assistance for U.S. small-business applicants. The homepage states that availability depends on state and type of insurance; this is not a claim that every applicant can complete an online purchase or bind coverage. | The company advertises online quotes and weekday phone access to licensed agents. Its Terms say a quote is not guaranteed and Simply Business cannot bind a risk without panel-member approval; a quote or online purchase path does not establish that every applicant can bind online. 17,16Company-reported. Published U.S. quote and service channels. Binding depends on panel-member approval and the individual offer. |
| Servicing and renewals | biBerk’s policyholder support page lists online routes for policy changes, business and driver updates, payments, certificates, renewal or reinstatement requests, and claims. The page does not establish turnaround time, approval, or eligibility for a requested change or renewal. 4Company-reported. Tasks and online routes listed on the public U.S. policyholder support page; not a service-level, approval, or renewal-eligibility claim. | Simply Business lists licensed-agent phone support Monday through Friday: sales 8 a.m.–8 p.m. Eastern Time and service 9 a.m.–6 p.m. These listed hours do not establish a response-time guarantee. 17Company-reported. Hours displayed on the current U.S. contact page; no actual wait-time observation is implied. The company describes account access for policy documents, certificates, account updates and adding coverage; help material routes some changes to an agent or insurer. Not every policy change is described as self-service. 17,18,16Company-reported. Company-described post-purchase service paths; available tasks may depend on policy and insurer. The Help Center FAQ says most customers opt into automatic renewal and gives 60-day notice and 30-day processing timing only for those who opt in. The same Help Center summary and June 30, 2026 Terms use broader automatic-renewal wording without the FAQ’s opt-in qualification. The public descriptions conflict; they do not establish which wording applies to every policy. 18,16Conflicting sources. Company-published descriptions reviewed 2026-09-29. FAQ detail, Help Center summary and Terms are inconsistent; no buyer-specific policy notice was reviewed. |
| Claims assistance | NerdWallet’s February 2026 biBerk review reports that, during 2022–2024, state regulators received far more complaints from biBerk commercial liability and commercial property policyholders than NerdWallet expected given biBerk’s market share; NerdWallet says biBerk received its lowest possible score for this complaint factor. This is NerdWallet’s report of company-level complaint data, not a raw count or evidence about every biBerk product, a particular policy, or the quality of claim decisions. 14Verified. NerdWallet U.S. small-business-insurance review, updated February 13, 2026 and accessed September 29, 2026. The review attributes the comparison to NAIC company-level data but does not identify the insurer mix for a specific biBerk policy. It reports commercial liability and commercial property complaint experience for 2022–2024 relative to market share; complaint contents and underlying counts are not stated in the reviewed passage. | The Terms say third-party insurers underwrite site policies and each provider handles claims on its own policies; the Help Center directs policyholders to identify and contact the insurer. This establishes a published route, not agency assistance after notice or claim outcomes. 16,18Company-reported. General site-policy claim responsibility. Harborway/Spinnaker applies only to the named Harborway placement relationship. |
| Customer focus | biBerk targets small businesses across varied industries and lists examples such as accounting, food service, retail, and transportation. The homepage FAQ says availability depends on the state and type of insurance; the industry list is illustrative, not an eligibility guarantee. 3,1Company-reported. U.S. small-business audience and examples on biBerk’s national site; examples are illustrative. The homepage says availability depends on the state and type of insurance; listed categories do not establish individual eligibility. | Simply Business says it serves small businesses and solopreneurs and lists examples such as contractors, cleaning businesses, LLCs and sole proprietors. These examples describe its stated audience, not guaranteed insurer eligibility or availability. 15,20,16Company-reported. Company-described U.S. audience; eligibility varies by insurer, state and business details. |
Sources
biBerk Official Website
- About biBerk | Making Small Business Insurance Simple. biBerk; Making small business insurance simple and direct sales without an insurance broker, lines 72–89; online assistance, lines 76–78. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Small Business Insurance From biBerk | Read Disclosures. biBerk; California/Massachusetts applicants and insureds notice: collective insurer statement and no-guarantee qualification, lines 73–75; each insurer’s NAIC code, domicile, and licensed jurisdictions, lines 76–88. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Small Business Insurance From biBerk | Get A Quote Online. biBerk; Online purchase steps, lines 183–197; small-business audience and industries, lines 231–238; state/type availability, lines 290–295. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- biBerk Support | Small Business Insurance. biBerk; Common Support Requests, My Policy and Start a Claim routes, lines 47–75. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Cyber Insurance & Data Breach Coverage for Business | biBerk. biBerk; “What is data breach insurance and Cyber insurance add-on coverage?” (lines 76–78); “Cyber Insurance Add-on Coverage” (lines 103–107); attach options reiterated at lines 160–162. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Get A biBerk Business Owners Policy | Fast Online Quote. biBerk; “What is a Business Owners Policy?” (lines 77–80); liability and property examples (lines 104–146); endorsements (lines 182–205). Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Umbrella Insurance From biBerk | Get Coverage Today. biBerk; “How does Umbrella insurance work?” (lines 87–96): appropriate underlying liability policy and its limits must be reached; example at lines 97–99. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Commercial Auto Insurance From biBerk | Get Coverage Online. biBerk; “What does Commercial Auto insurance cover?”: bodily injury, property damage, medical payments/no-fault, uninsured motorist, comprehensive and collision examples (lines 116–148). Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Small Business Insurance From biBerk | Read Disclosures. biBerk; Notice to California and Massachusetts Applicants and Insureds: four insurers collectively issue most policies, no-guarantee limitation, company codes, domicile and licensed jurisdictions, lines 73–88. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- About biBerk | Making Small Business Insurance Simple. biBerk; Official page title and body identify the biBerk brand and link to biBerk.com; accessed for brand capitalization and site identity only. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- General Liability Insurance From biBerk | Get A Quote Today. biBerk; Small-business General Liability product and online/phone quote route (lines 73–79); state availability FAQ (lines 231–233). Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Workers’ Compensation Insurance From biBerk | Get A Quote. biBerk; Workers’ Compensation product, quote and purchase routes (lines 73–81, 93–100); work-injury coverage description (lines 102–104). Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Professional Liability Insurance | Talk To biBerk. biBerk; Professional Liability/E&O product and online/phone quote and purchase route (lines 73–88). Accessed 2026-09-29.
- biBerk Insurance Review 2026: Berkshire Hathaway’s Basic Online Storefront. NerdWallet; “BiBerk pros and cons” (lines 337–343) and “Lots of complaints filed with state regulators” (lines 355–360); rating-factor methodology, including the 2022–2024 commercial general liability/property complaint finding and lowest possible complaint-factor score (lines 376–383); review updated February 13, 2026. Accessed 2026-09-29.
Simply Business Official Website
- Our Small Business Insurance Story. Simply Business; Opening description and audience; digital marketplace, business types and U.S. service. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Terms of Service. Simply Business; Dated June 30, 2026; §1 lines 22–28; §8 lines 87–113; §10 lines 143–149; §19 line 211. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Contact Us. Simply Business; Opening contact details lines 20–31; licensed-agent phone hours lines 46–59; U.S. licensing and state-specific name disclosures in footer lines 108–111, including California License #0M20593. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Help Center. Simply Business; Claims, account servicing, agent-routed changes, renewal FAQ and Common Topics. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- How Simply Business Works. Simply Business; Common types lines 92–160; quote/purchase flow; estimate-method footnotes lines 198–200. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Business Insurance for Small Businesses. Simply Business; Small Business Insurance Coverage Options and policy links. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- General Liability Insurance for a Small Business. Simply Business; Coverage lines 51–75; audience lines 61–65, 153–155; application and examples elsewhere on page. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Workers’ Compensation Insurance for Small Business. Simply Business; Coverage and benefits lines 45–69; state/buyer qualifications lines 178–189. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Professional Liability Insurance Coverage. Simply Business; Coverage lines 45–100; buyer examples lines 101–158; online quote steps lines 237–260. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Business Owner’s Policy Insurance. Simply Business; Bundle lines 34–38, 218–243; add-on/exclusion discussion lines 226–243; buyer and quote sections. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Commercial Property Insurance. Simply Business; Lines 15–18 present physical-location cover as part of a BOP; lines 34–49 describe the package; lines 59–63 say it is offered as part of the BOP rather than as a standalone policy and link to a BOP quote. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Inland Marine Insurance. Simply Business; Equipment/inventory lines 15–18, 59–63; examples and quote workflow lines 97–140, 168–191. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Cyber Insurance. Simply Business; Claim types lines 88–105; select-buyer add-on/phone quote lines 171–175; route and last-updated lines 389–395. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Producer Compensation Disclosure (United States). Travelers; Ownership interest in a producer, lines 57–60: Travelers says it owns Simply Business, Inc.; relation to Simply Business, LLC not stated. Accessed 2026-09-29.




