Beazley vs
Cowbell Fiduciary Liability Insurance
Beazley underwrites $20 million fiduciary with BeazleySure; Cowbell distributes a Zurich Select Plus fiduciary module for SMEs through wholesalers only.
What Is Beazley?
Beazley is a specialty insurance group whose MediaTech product combines technology and professional E&O, media and cyber coverage. Separate offerings address executive liability, digital health and other specialty risks. 1,2,3,4
What Is Cowbell Insurance?
Cowbell is a specialty-insurance platform and agency focused on cyber risk for small and midsize businesses. Its U.S. catalogue also includes combined Technology E&O and cyber products and a Zurich management-liability offering distributed through appointed wholesalers. 6,7,8
What Is Fiduciary Liability Insurance?
Fiduciary liability insurance addresses covered claims alleging breaches of duties in managing employee benefit plans. 10,11
Key Differences in Fiduciary Liability Insurance
Direct Beazley Paper Versus Zurich Select Plus
Beazley underwrites fiduciary liability. Cowbell operates the platform for Zurich’s Select Plus product; fiduciary is one of four modules Zurich underwrites. Cowbell and Zurich say the modules are written on Zurich admitted paper; Zurich’s footer names Zurich American Insurance Company without confirming that entity as the module issuer. Beazley’s Fiduciary page does not name a Beazley issuing entity. 5 9 8
Appetite and Access
Cowbell targets private companies with under 250 employees and under $50 million in assets in Select Plus industries such as manufacturing and technology. Access is only through appointed Zurich E&S wholesalers via Cowbell’s API, not a direct business sale. Beazley sells standalone fiduciary and ExecuGuard and lists an ExecuGuard application; its reviewed claims do not publish those SME size caps. 9 5
What Each Publishes About Cover
Beazley lists statutory sublimits, HIPAA civil fines, omnibus plan language, settlor-capacity protection, BeazleySure and choice of counsel, with limits up to US $20 million. Cowbell describes fiduciary as protecting against claims from breaches of duties related to a 401(k) or health plan; neither Cowbell nor Zurich’s Select Plus page publishes fiduciary limits or a fiduciary-specific service such as plan-compliance consulting. Both mention claims service at a general level: Beazley on counsel flexibility, Cowbell and Zurich on Zurich Claims service for Select Plus overall. 5 9 8
What to Confirm in Fiduciary Liability Insurance Quotes
Offering Details
Beazley vs Cowbell Fiduciary Liability Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | Beazley Fiduciary Liability | Cowbell / Zurich Select Plus Fiduciary Liability |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | Beazley underwrites fiduciary liability coverage for the individuals who administer employer benefit plans, sold standalone on its dedicated Fiduciary page and as one of three coverages bundled in its ExecuGuard package policy alongside D&O and employment practices liability. 5,3Company-reported. US fiduciary liability as described on the two reviewed product pages; does not establish which entity issues a particular policy. | Fiduciary liability is one module within Cowbell's distribution of Zurich's Select Plus management liability product; Cowbell operates the platform, Zurich underwrites the module. Zurich's own page lists 'Fiduciary Liability' as one of the four modules a buyer can combine. 9,8Company-reported. Management liability page intro and module list; Zurich page module-name section. |
| Issuing Insurer | The Fiduciary product page does not name the specific Beazley insurance entity that issues the policy. 5Not found in reviewed sources. Fiduciary page as read on 2026-09-23; the issued policy's declarations control the actual insurer. | Cowbell and Zurich both say the Select Plus modules, including fiduciary liability, are written on Zurich admitted paper. Zurich's site footer names 'Zurich American Insurance Company' in its copyright notice, but neither page states that entity is the specific policy issuer for this module. 9,8Company-reported. Management liability page intro; Zurich page intro and footer. |
| Who It’s For | Not described in the reviewed sources. | Cowbell targets this fiduciary module at private companies with under 250 employees and under $50M in assets, across the same target industries listed for the broader Select Plus product, such as manufacturing and technology. 9Company-reported. FAQ 'What size accounts are targeted?' and Target industries list. |
| Coverage Features | Beazley explains that fiduciary liability protects the individuals responsible for running employee benefit plans, such as health plans, pension plans and 401(k) accounts, from personal liability if a claim is made against the plan, a personal exposure the page says many plan sponsors don't realize they have. 5Company-reported. Fiduciary product page description; exclusions and conditions are set by the issued policy. The policy includes statutory-claim sublimits of US $250,000 for claims under the Pension Protection Act of 2006, ERISA Section 502(c), Internal Revenue Code Section 4975 and the PPACA, plus a separate US $1,000,000 sublimit for HIPAA claims and up to US $1,000,000 in coverage for HIPAA civil fines. 5Company-reported. Fiduciary product page sublimit list; these sublimits sit inside, and are lower than, the overall policy limit. Beazley includes "omnibus" pension and welfare plan language (intended to automatically cover newly created or acquired benefit plans), a US $25,000 sublimit for IRS and DOL voluntary compliance programs other than HIPAA, and settlor-capacity protection now written into the fiduciary insuring clauses. 5Company-reported. Fiduciary product page feature list; actual plan-coverage scope depends on the issued policy wording. | Cowbell describes fiduciary liability as protecting against claims arising from breaches of fiduciary duties related to employee benefit plans, such as a company's 401(k) or health plan. 9Company-reported. FAQ 'What is the difference between management liability and D&O?'. |
| Limits and Retentions | Beazley advertises fiduciary limits up to US $20 million, with an optional additional defense limit available; the statutory sublimits described above apply within that overall limit. 5Company-reported. Advertised maximum capacity, not a guaranteed quote amount. | Neither the Cowbell page nor Zurich's own Select Plus page, both read in full, publishes fiduciary-liability limit or retention amounts. 9,8Not publicly disclosed. Cowbell page and Zurich page, both read on 2026-09-23. |
| Risk Services | Fiduciary policyholders get free access to BeazleySure, Beazley's online risk-management platform, which the Fiduciary page describes as providing loss-prevention content on employee-benefits topics. 5Company-reported. Fiduciary product page service description; actual entitlements depend on the policy purchased. | Both Cowbell and Zurich describe the Select Plus product generally as backed by 'the reputable Zurich Claims service'; neither reviewed page describes a fiduciary-specific service such as plan-compliance consulting. 9,8Not publicly disclosed. Management liability page intro; Zurich page intro, both read on 2026-09-23. |
| How to Apply | The Fiduciary page lists a downloadable ExecuGuard application as its Tools & Resources item, rather than a fiduciary-only application, indicating fiduciary coverage is typically quoted together with the combined ExecuGuard package. 5Company-reported. Fiduciary product page Tools & Resources section as read on 2026-09-23. | This fiduciary module is accessed only by appointed Zurich E&S wholesalers through the Cowbell platform's API; it is not sold directly to businesses. 9Company-reported. FAQ 'How can I access the Zurich Select Plus management liability product through Cowbell?'. |
| Claims Support | Beazley says fiduciary policyholders get pre-approved choice-of-counsel flexibility, but the reviewed page does not otherwise describe fiduciary-specific claims handling beyond that; general policy notice and claims-contact guidance is provided on Beazley's separate claims-notification page. 5Company-reported. Fiduciary product page as read on 2026-09-23; claims-handling quality is not independently assessed. | Not described in the reviewed sources. |
Full Comparison
More Beazley vs Cowbell Comparisons
Other Fiduciary Liability Insurance Comparisons
Sources
Beazley
- MediaTech for Small Businesses. Beazley; Opening product description; What we offer: E&O (Tech and Professional), Media, Cyber coverage includes; How can we help; SME placement paragraph; Tools & Resources. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Legal Information. Beazley; Website conditions: US jurisdiction availability, surplus lines and policy wording disclaimers; Beazley plc identity. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Execuguard (Combined EPL, D&O, and Fiduciary). Beazley; What we offer: separate or shared limits among EPL, D&O and fiduciary; Limits up to US $20,000,000, both admitted and non-admitted available. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Virtual Care. Beazley; Available Coverages; Who we can help; Where is this offered. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Fiduciary. Beazley; What we offer: personal liability for individuals running benefit plans; Up to US $20,000,000; How can we help: PPA/ERISA/IRC/PPACA and HIPAA sublimits, omnibus plan language, voluntary-compliance sublimit, settlor-capacity protection, BeazleySure; Tools & Resources: Execuguard application. Accessed 2026-09-23.
Cowbell
- Cowbell. Cowbell; What We Do; Assess, Insure, Respond and Improve; U.S. navigation; footer legal disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Prime Tech Product Overview. Cowbell; PDF pp. 1–4: non-admitted combined Technology E&O and cyber for technology businesses up to $1 billion; up to $5 million; surplus lines in 50 states; edition PRIME TECH US0001 1025. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Small and Midsize Business Management Liability | Zurich Select Plus. Zurich North America; Intro on the Zurich/Cowbell collaboration; module name 'Fiduciary Liability'; FAQ 'What is the difference between management liability and D&O?' (identical to Cowbell's page); Targeted industries list; footer copyright. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Management liability coverage for small & medium enterprises. Cowbell; FAQ 'What is the difference between management liability and D&O?' (Fiduciary Liability definition); Target industries list; FAQ on access and account size. Accessed 2026-09-23.
Fiduciary Liability Insurance Guide
- Field Assistance Bulletin No. 2008-04: Guidance Regarding ERISA Fidelity Bonding Requirements. U.S. Department of Labor, Employee Benefits Security Administration; Q2 pp.2–3. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Fiduciary Liability Insurance. Travelers; What Is Fiduciary Liability Insurance? Accessed 2026-09-16.




