Beazley vs
Coverdash D&O Insurance
Beazley underwrites private-company D&O with a defense-structure choice; Coverdash brokers a digital standalone placement and does not name the carrier.
What Is Beazley?
Beazley is a specialty insurance group whose MediaTech product combines technology and professional E&O, media and cyber coverage. Separate offerings address executive liability, digital health and other specialty risks. 1,2,3,4
What Is Coverdash Insurance?
Coverdash is an insurance brokerage and digital platform for small businesses, startups and e-commerce sellers. Buyers can compare quotes, purchase policies and manage coverage directly or through an embedded partner service. 6,7,8
What Is Directors and Officers Insurance?
Directors and officers liability insurance addresses covered claims alleging wrongful acts in managing an organization. 11
Key Differences in D&O Insurance
Underwriter Versus Broker Placement
Beazley writes private-company D&O on its own paper, as a standalone form or as ExecuGuard with employment practices and fiduciary. Coverdash places standalone directors and officers coverage under brokerage terms rather than issuing the policy, and keeps that product separate from a bundled management-liability option that can add employment-practices, fiduciary and crime. 5 3 9
Defense Mechanics and Published Limits
Beazley lets the policyholder choose duty to defend or pay on behalf, describes Excess Side A for individuals when indemnification fails or the tower is exhausted, and advertises capacity up to US $20 million. Coverdash’s reviewed D&O page describes protection for directors, officers and the company against leadership-decision claims, including investor or shareholder suits, but does not publish limits, retentions or a duty-to-defend election. 5 9
Who Can Buy and How You Bind
Beazley’s D&O page speaks to privately held companies of all sizes without an employee or revenue cutoff, and routes new business through Executive Risk underwriters and brokers. Coverdash says any company with a board, investors or executives may need D&O, often as a funding condition, and describes a fully digital quote-to-purchase flow. Coverdash’s page does not name the carrier; Beazley’s pages also omit the specific issuing entity while noting admitted and non-admitted ExecuGuard versions. 5 3 9 8
What to Confirm in D&O Insurance Quotes
- Ask Coverdash which carrier would issue the standalone D&O policy versus the management-liability bundle. 9
- Ask Beazley whether the quote is standalone D&O or ExecuGuard and which defense structure applies. 5 3
- Compare Coverdash’s unpublished limits on the quote with Beazley’s advertised $20 million maximum and Excess Side A. 9 5
- Confirm admitted versus surplus status on both placements. 3 9
Offering Details
Beazley vs Coverdash D&O Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | Beazley D&O – Private Companies | Coverdash Directors & Officers Insurance |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | Beazley underwrites private-company directors and officers (D&O) liability itself, offered as a standalone product on its D&O - Private Companies page and bundled with employment practices and fiduciary liability coverage in its ExecuGuard package policy. 5,3Company-reported. US private-company D&O as described on the two reviewed product pages; does not establish which entity issues a particular policy. | Coverdash arranges standalone directors and officers coverage as a broker rather than an insurer, placing coverage with a carrier under its standard brokerage terms. 8,9Company-reported. General brokerage terms applied to the D&O page; not specific to any one carrier or state. |
| Issuing Insurer | Neither the D&O - Private Companies page nor the ExecuGuard page names the specific Beazley insurance entity that issues the policy; ExecuGuard states both admitted and non-admitted versions are available, so the issuing carrier depends on the policy placed. 5,3Not found in reviewed sources. Both product pages as read on 2026-09-23; the issued policy's declarations control the actual insurer. | The directors and officers page does not name the insurer that issues the policy. 9Not publicly disclosed. Reviewed directors and officers page as of 2026-09-23; the page describes coverage without naming a specific carrier. |
| Who It’s For | The D&O page targets privately held companies of all sizes facing litigation such as employment allegations, fraud and misrepresentation claims, without a stated employee-count or revenue threshold on that page. 5,3Company-reported. Private-company D&O only; ExecuGuard buyers can additionally choose to share limits across D&O, EPL and fiduciary coverages. | Coverdash says any company with a board, investors or executives making decisions on its behalf needs D&O, and that it is frequently required as a condition of funding. 9Company-reported. Product-page eligibility description; actual acceptance depends on underwriting and the specific funding or governance situation. |
| Coverage Features | The D&O product lets the policyholder choose between a "duty to defend" or "pay on behalf" claim-handling structure, and Beazley says it pays 100% of defense costs for covered loss. 5Company-reported. D&O - Private Companies product page; actual defense obligations and cost-sharing are set by the issued policy. Beazley offers a dedicated additional Excess Side A limit that responds for individual directors and officers when the company cannot indemnify them or the underlying limit is exhausted, plus an optional employed-lawyers errors-and-omissions extension. 5Company-reported. D&O - Private Companies product page; availability and pricing of the extension depend on underwriting. | Coverdash describes directors and officers coverage as protecting the company's directors, officers and the company itself against claims that a leadership decision caused financial harm, suits from investors or shareholders, and regulatory investigations, and pays defense costs and settlements for covered claims. 9Company-reported. Product-page coverage cards; the issued policy and declarations control actual wording, limits and exclusions. Coverdash sells this standalone Directors & Officers product separately from its bundled management liability product, which adds optional employment-practices, fiduciary and crime coverage on top of the D&O core. 9Company-reported. Comparison of the directors-and-officers and management-liability product pages; does not establish which structure is cheaper or better suited to a given company. |
| Limits and Retentions | Beazley advertises private-company D&O limits up to US $20 million, on either an admitted or non-admitted (surplus lines) basis; actual limits and retentions are set by underwriting and appear on the declarations. 5,3Company-reported. Advertised maximum capacity, not a guaranteed quote amount. | The directors and officers page does not publish specific limit, retention or deductible amounts. 9Not publicly disclosed. Reviewed directors and officers page as of 2026-09-23; figures are quote-specific and not shown on the public product page. |
| Risk Services | D&O policyholders get pre-approved choice-of-counsel flexibility, and law-firm insureds can access a bespoke executive-risk wording through Beazley's related Practice Protect product. 5Company-reported. D&O - Private Companies product page; scope and terms of the Practice Protect wording were not independently reviewed. | Not described in the reviewed sources. |
| How to Apply | Beazley lists a downloadable EPL renewal application as a tool on the D&O page and names regional Executive Risk underwriters and brokers as contacts, but the reviewed page does not describe a self-service online quoting flow for new D&O business. 5Company-reported. D&O - Private Companies product page as read on 2026-09-23; buyers typically work through a broker or underwriter contact. | Coverdash describes a fully digital quote-to-purchase process for directors and officers coverage, with the option to add other coverages alongside it. 9Company-reported. Product-page company information and cross-sell section. |
| Claims Support | Beazley illustrates its D&O claims approach with a securities class-action and shareholder derivative-action scenario in which its claims team worked with the insured's defense counsel toward a dismissal, avoiding a settlement; this is a single company-reported example, not audited claims-outcome data. 3Company-reported. ExecuGuard page scenario section; outcome statistics are not independently verified. | Not described in the reviewed sources. |
Full Comparison
More Beazley vs Coverdash Comparisons
Other D&O Insurance Comparisons
Sources
Beazley
- MediaTech for Small Businesses. Beazley; Opening product description; What we offer: E&O (Tech and Professional), Media, Cyber coverage includes; How can we help; SME placement paragraph; Tools & Resources. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Legal Information. Beazley; Website conditions: US jurisdiction availability, surplus lines and policy wording disclaimers; Beazley plc identity. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Execuguard (Combined EPL, D&O, and Fiduciary). Beazley; What we offer: separate or shared limits among EPL, D&O and fiduciary; Limits up to US $20,000,000, both admitted and non-admitted available; Examples or Scenarios: California securities class action/derivative action. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Virtual Care. Beazley; Available Coverages; Who we can help; Where is this offered. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- D&O - Private Companies. Beazley; What we offer; How can we help: duty to defend/pay on behalf, 100% defense for covered loss, Excess Side A limit, private placement coverage, Practice Protect for lawyers; Up to US $20,000,000; Tools & Resources: EPL_RenewalApp. Accessed 2026-09-23.
Coverdash
- Frequently Asked Questions. Coverdash; Getting a quote & buying coverage; Claims & certificates; Billing & managing your policy; About Coverdash. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- About Us. Coverdash; How Coverdash Works: direct and embedded channels; Our Investors. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Terms And Conditions. Coverdash; "Coverdash does not provide any underwriting services"; broker/agent of record designation. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Directors & Officers Insurance. Coverdash; Product introduction; Types of Coverage cards for Management decisions, Investor and shareholder claims, Regulatory actions, Legal defense; Who It's For. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Coverage Hub. Coverdash; Professional & Management category listing Directors & Officers separately from Management Liability, D&O Side A and the D&O + EPLI Bundle. Accessed 2026-09-23.
D&O Insurance Guide
- Glossary of Business Insurance Terms. The Hartford; Directors and Officers Liability Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance; Employment Practices Liability Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.





