The Baldwin Group vs
The Hartford: How Do They Compare for Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance?
The Hartford says many professional-liability policies are claims-made with retroactive dates and extended reporting, while some use occurrence forms; it lists negligence, inaccurate advice, libel, and copyright claims. The Hartford names consultants, designers, technology and healthcare professionals and publishes minimum average premiums by product 3,7
What Is the Baldwin Group?
Baldwin’s Insurance Advisory Solutions group describes commercial-risk and employee-benefit services for businesses and private-risk management for high-net-worth individuals and families; its business-insurance page outlines a five-step RiskMap process. 1,2
Read the The Baldwin Group profile
Read the The Baldwin Group Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance page
What Is The Hartford?
The Hartford suits SaaS and software small businesses seeking a BOP and an online quote; buyers needing commercial auto through self-service or built-in California EPL coverage should use another route. Eligible small-business quotes can start online in minutes. 4,5,6
Read the The Hartford Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance page
What Is Professional Errors and Omissions (E&O) Insurance?
Professional liability can help pay defense costs and covered losses when a client says your advice or service caused financial harm. If customers rely on your work, list every service you provide and check the claims-made reporting and prior-work terms. 8,9,10,11
Key Differences in Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance
The Hartford: Coverage Scope
The Hartford says many professional-liability policies are claims-made with retroactive dates and extended reporting, while some use occurrence forms; it lists negligence, inaccurate advice, libel, and copyright claims. The Baldwin Group lists E&O but does not describe triggers or covered acts. Confirm the form and reporting period. 7 3
The Hartford: Buyer Scope
The Hartford names consultants, designers, technology and healthcare professionals and publishes minimum average premiums by product. The Baldwin Group names accountants, architects, engineers, advisers, lawyers, consultants, and surveyors but no prices. Compare exact class, limit, and deductible on quotes. 7 3
What to Confirm in Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Quotes
- Ask The Hartford to confirm your profession, services, and any applicable form exclusions or limits.
- Ask The Baldwin Group which carrier and policy form it proposes and request the applicable trigger, limits, and exclusions.
The Baldwin Group and The Hartford Review Scores for 2026
These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.
The Baldwin Group Review Score
Review Score
No reviews found
The reviewed public sources do not establish a representative customer rating for The Baldwin Group’s commercial advisory business. BBB pages show different legal entities: an A+ regional insurance-agency grade with zero listed reviews and complaints for The Baldwin Group Mid-Atlantic, LLC, and an A- grade plus six complaints in three years for The Baldwin Group Personal Insurance, LLC. A 2026 personal-lines complaint describes delayed refund handling. A separate National General auto review mentions a Baldwin referral but concerns insurer policy administration. None of these observations supports a group-wide or commercial rating.[8][1][2][4][9][10]
Read The Baldwin Group reviewsThe Hartford Review Score
Review Score
5 rated sources
The Hartford’s service record is mixed: NerdWallet rates it 4.5/5 but reports below-average small-business satisfaction. Low Trustpilot ratings add a service concern, although they mix policy types.[1][2][4][5][6][7]
Read The Hartford reviewsThe Baldwin Group vs The Hartford Professional Liability (E&O) Compared
The Baldwin Group vs The Hartford: Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | Baldwin Professional Liability and E&O Brokerage Advisory | The Hartford Professional Liability Insurance (Errors & Omissions) |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | The source describes The Baldwin Group’s brokerage or advisory role for Professional Liability and E&O. It does not identify Baldwin as the risk-bearing insurer for a particular placement. 3Company-reported. The cited company page describes its brokerage/advisory role and does not name the issuer for a buyer-specific placement. | The Hartford's professional liability insurance, also called errors and omissions (E&O) insurance, protects businesses when they make mistakes in the professional services provided to clients, including claims that turn out to be baseless. 7Company-reported. Professional liability product page as read 2026-09-23. |
| Who It’s For | Baldwin names accountants, architects, engineers, financial advisers, lawyers, management consultants and surveyors as professional-services clients. 3Company-reported. This is the audience or client context named on Baldwin’s page, not an underwriting decision or guarantee of product availability. | The Hartford targets professional liability at businesses that sign contracts requiring coverage, offer professional services directly to customers, or regularly give advice to clients, and lists industries it covers: accountants, consultants, interior designers, advertising agencies, graphic designers, technology professionals and healthcare professionals. 7Company-reported. Professional liability product page as read 2026-09-23. |
| Coverage Features | Baldwin lists professional liability/E&O coverage for its professional-services practice. The page does not define the professional services insured, covered errors, claims-made conditions, limits or exclusions. 3Company-reported. The statement reports Baldwin’s marketed coverage or advisory description only. No individual quote, binder, policy form, schedule or endorsement was reviewed; policy entitlement and terms remain unknown. | The Hartford says the policy can cover claims of negligence, misrepresentation, inaccurate advice, personal injury (libel/slander) and copyright infringement, plus defense costs. Many of its professional liability policies are written on a claims-made basis with a retroactive date and an extended reporting period (typically 30-60 days, extendable to a year or more for an added cost), though some are written on an occurrence basis. 7Company-reported. Professional liability product page as read 2026-09-23. General coverage and policy-form description; the issued policy controls. |
| Limits and Retentions | The reviewed source does not state a buyer-specific limit, retention, deductible or coverage schedule. Confirm the quote and issued policy or bond. 3Not publicly disclosed. No buyer quote, binder, policy or bond form was available in the reviewed public sources. | The Hartford publishes average minimum monthly premiums by product: Misc. Professional Liability Standalone $62, Misc. Professional Liability Endorsement $41, Architects and Engineers Professional Liability $239, Healthcare Professionals Professional Liability $38, and Errors & Omissions Insurance for Technology Companies $146. The page does not publish standard coverage limits or retentions; cost and limits are set at quote. 7Company-reported. Company-reported pricing as of 2026-09-23 (page last updated by The Hartford May 4, 2026); premiums are not coverage limits. |
| Risk Services | Baldwin describes tailored insurance and risk-mitigation solutions for professional firms and guidance on market shifts and business exposures. 3Company-reported. These are company-described brokerage and risk-advisory services; account-specific service commitments and third-party terms are not established. | Confirm in your quote. |
Related Pages for The Baldwin Group vs The Hartford
Professional Liability (E&O) Pages for The Baldwin Group and The Hartford
Other Coverage Lines Compared for The Baldwin Group vs The Hartford
Other Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Provider Comparisons
Sources for The Baldwin Group vs The Hartford
Sources About The Baldwin Group
- The Baldwin Insurance Group, Inc. Form 10-K for fiscal year ended December 31, 2025. U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission; filed by The Baldwin Insurance Group, Inc.; Part I, Item 1, “The Company,” lines 194–196; “Operating Groups,” lines 260–263; “Clients and Insurers,” lines 286–288; pp. 6–10; opened 2026-09-28. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Business Insurance. The Baldwin Group; RiskMap process, lines 40–68; Connect With Us consultation invitation, lines 182–187; accessed 2026-09-28. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Professional Liability Insurance & Services. The Baldwin Group; Professional-services customer population lines 35–64; coverage snapshot lines 68–84 lists property, general/professional liability, cyber, workers’ compensation, D&O, fiduciary, crime/fidelity bond, EPL, and IP liability; Employee benefits lines 93–95; accessed 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-30.
Sources About The Hartford
- Legal Notice. The Hartford; The Hartford Insurance Group, Inc. holding-company description; no representation that all products are available in all locations; P&C writing-company table as of December 31, 2025 including Hartford Fire (NAIC 19682) and Hartford Underwriters (NAIC 30104); life writing companies including Hartford Life and Accident (NAIC 70815). Accessed 2026-09-16.
- SaaS Insurance for Your Business. The Hartford; Audience list (software startups, SaaS, IT consulting); Get a Business Owner’s Policy; What Is Business Owner’s Policy Insurance?; general liability introduction and Get a Quote; Get Commercial Property Insurance; Commercial Property Insurance for Your Business; Benefits of The Hartford’s WC Insurance for Employers and Employees; cyber insurance and data breach descriptions; Get a quote for cyber insurance; EPLI introduction and Private Choice Premier; add-ons (workers’ compensation, data breach, commercial auto); technology professional liability mention; small-business availability banner; industry-average premium footnote; footnote 2 state restrictions; footer product-availability disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Find a Local Insurance Agent. The Hartford; Small-business and midsize agent locators; FAQ that buyers can purchase without an agent by calling or quoting online; statement that agents may charge fees. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Professional Liability Insurance Coverage. The Hartford; What Is Professional Liability Insurance Coverage?; What Does Professional Liability Insurance Cover?; Who Needs Professional Liability Insurance Coverage?; How Much Does Professional Liability Insurance Cost?; How Does Professional Liability Insurance Work? (claims-made vs. occurrence). Accessed 2026-09-23.
Sources for the Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Guide
- FAQ: Professional liability insurance. Texas Department of Insurance; What’s professional liability coverage?; What types of damages…; What’s general liability insurance?; Do I need professional liability… if I have general liability…?; Is professional liability insurance required?; Can a client require…?; What’s the difference between occurrence policies and claims-made policies. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Professional liability insurance. Insurance Information Institute; Opening paragraphs (professional services/advice and E&O name); Claims not covered by general liability; What types of businesses need professional liability insurance?; What’s covered… and what’s not (claims-made versus occurrence, defense and judgments, non-financial/intentional limits, BOP/in-home exclusion). Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Get business insurance. U.S. Small Business Administration; Six common types of business insurance table. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Professional Liability – US Direct Errors and Omissions Insurance. Hiscox Inc. specimen; About this Policy / Coverage for Claims Made Against You; I.A Insuring Agreement; I.B Defense; I.C Settlement; II.A Notice of Claims; II.C Optional Extended Reporting Period; III.A, III.K, III.M, III.R, III.S Exclusions; IV.A–B Limits and Deductible; VI.O Professional Services; VI.U Wrongful Act. Accessed 2026-09-16.




