The Baldwin Group vs The Hartford: How Do They Compare for D&O Insurance?

Baldwin brokers and advises on D&O. The Hartford offers D&O inside Private Choice Premier and can add it to a Business Owner's Policy. 3,4,8

What Is the Baldwin Group?

Baldwin’s Insurance Advisory Solutions group describes commercial-risk and employee-benefit services for businesses and private-risk management for high-net-worth individuals and families; its business-insurance page outlines a five-step RiskMap process. 1,2

Read the The Baldwin Group profile

Read the The Baldwin Group D&O Insurance page

What Is The Hartford?

The Hartford suits SaaS and software small businesses seeking a BOP and an online quote; buyers needing commercial auto through self-service or built-in California EPL coverage should use another route. Eligible small-business quotes can start online in minutes. 5,6,7

Read the The Hartford profile

Read the The Hartford D&O Insurance page

What Is Directors and Officers Insurance?

D&O insurance can help pay covered defense costs and losses from claims against company leaders over management decisions. If your organization has a board or executives, check whether the company itself is insured and whether legal bills reduce the limit. 9,10,11

Read the full coverage guide

What Are the Key Differences Between The Baldwin Group and The Hartford D&O Insurance?

Broker versus package carrier

Baldwin is described as a brokerage or advisor, not the risk-bearing insurer 3 4. The Hartford describes D&O as one of five Private Choice Premier options, also addable to a Business Owner's Policy 8.

Coverage examples

The Hartford covers legal fees for claims from employees, vendors, competitors, investors or customers, with wrongful termination as its example 8. Baldwin discusses Coverage A, B and C and benchmarking 3 4.

Buyer types

The Hartford offers it to nonprofits, public and private companies, with a separate financial-institutions track 8. Baldwin names public-company, IPO and SPAC contexts 3 4.

What Should You Confirm in The Baldwin Group and The Hartford D&O Insurance Quotes?

  • Ask The Hartford about limits and retentions, which the reviewed page does not publish 8.
  • Ask Baldwin which carriers it would place D&O with 3 4.
  • Ask both whether a package fits or standalone D&O is needed.

The Baldwin Group and The Hartford Review Scores for 2026

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.

The Baldwin Group Review Score

-/ 10

Review Score

No reviews found

The reviewed public sources do not establish a representative customer rating for The Baldwin Group’s commercial advisory business. BBB pages show different legal entities: an A+ regional insurance-agency grade with zero listed reviews and complaints for The Baldwin Group Mid-Atlantic, LLC, and an A- grade plus six complaints in three years for The Baldwin Group Personal Insurance, LLC. A 2026 personal-lines complaint describes delayed refund handling. A separate National General auto review mentions a Baldwin referral but concerns insurer policy administration. None of these observations supports a group-wide or commercial rating.[8][1][2][4][9][10]

Read The Baldwin Group reviews

The Hartford Review Score

4.9/ 10

Review Score

5 rated sources

The Hartford’s service record is mixed: NerdWallet rates it 4.5/5 but reports below-average small-business satisfaction. Low Trustpilot ratings add a service concern, although they mix policy types.[1][2][4][5][6][7]

Read The Hartford reviews

The Baldwin Group vs The Hartford D&O Insurance Compared

The Baldwin Group vs The Hartford: D&O Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaBaldwin Directors and Officers Liability Brokerage and AdvisoryThe Hartford Directors and Officers Insurance (D&O)
Role in This Line

The source describes The Baldwin Group’s brokerage or advisory role for Directors and Officers Liability. It does not identify Baldwin as the risk-bearing insurer for a particular placement. 3,4Company-reported. The cited company page describes its brokerage/advisory role and does not name the issuer for a buyer-specific placement.

The Hartford's D&O coverage is one of five options in its Private Choice Premier management-liability package, and can also be added to a Business Owner's Policy. 8Company-reported. Management liability product page as read 2026-09-23.

Who It’s For

Baldwin’s management-liability practice discusses public-company, IPO and SPAC D&O programs; its real-estate practice names owners, managers, REITs, lenders and associations. These contexts do not guarantee placement eligibility. 3,4Company-reported. This is the audience or client context named on Baldwin’s page, not an underwriting decision or guarantee of product availability.

The Hartford's management-liability coverages, including D&O, are offered to nonprofit organizations, publicly traded companies and privately-held companies, with a separate management and professional liability track for financial institutions (adviser D&O, private fund liability, registered fund liability, among others). 8Company-reported. Management liability product page as read 2026-09-23.

Coverage Features

Baldwin describes D&O insurance as protecting individual directors/officers and the entity against certain alleged management-related losses, and discusses Coverage A, B and C as common policy grants. This is general product education, not a buyer’s policy wording. 3,4Company-reported. The statement reports Baldwin’s marketed coverage or advisory description only. No individual quote, binder, policy form, schedule or endorsement was reviewed; policy entitlement and terms remain unknown.

The Hartford says D&O helps protect directors and officers from mistakes or wrongful acts in managing the company, covering legal fees for claims from employees, vendors, competitors, investors or customers; its example is an employee suing for wrongful termination. 8Company-reported. Management liability product page as read 2026-09-23. General coverage description; the issued policy controls.

Limits and Retentions

The reviewed source does not state a buyer-specific limit, retention, deductible or coverage schedule. Confirm the quote and issued policy or bond. 3,4Not publicly disclosed. No buyer quote, binder, policy or bond form was available in the reviewed public sources.

Confirm in your quote.

Risk Services

Baldwin describes management-liability advice, D&O benchmarking and program guidance, including public-company and pre-IPO contexts. Benchmarking is not a coverage term or quote. 3,4Company-reported. These are company-described brokerage and risk-advisory services; account-specific service commitments and third-party terms are not established.

Confirm in your quote.

Related Pages for The Baldwin Group vs The Hartford D&O Insurance

D&O Insurance Pages for The Baldwin Group and The Hartford

Other Coverage Lines Compared for The Baldwin Group vs The Hartford

Other D&O Insurance Provider Comparisons

Sources for The Baldwin Group vs The Hartford D&O Insurance

Sources About The Baldwin Group

  1. The Baldwin Insurance Group, Inc. Form 10-K for fiscal year ended December 31, 2025. U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission; filed by The Baldwin Insurance Group, Inc.; Part I, Item 1, “The Company,” lines 194–196; “Operating Groups,” lines 260–263; “Clients and Insurers,” lines 286–288; pp. 6–10; opened 2026-09-28. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  2. Business Insurance. The Baldwin Group; RiskMap process, lines 40–68; Connect With Us consultation invitation, lines 182–187; accessed 2026-09-28. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  3. Commercial Real Estate Insurance & Risk Management. The Baldwin Group; “Coverage designed to perform” and sections “Management & governance risk” / “Professional & specialty risk,” lines 120–150; coverage lines plus claims advocacy at lines 153–163; page accessed 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-30.
  4. Directors & Officers Liability Insurance. The Baldwin Group; D&O report and advisory team lines 23–32; Nasdaq collaboration with public-company/IPO/SPAC scope lines 38–44; accessed 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-30.

Sources About The Hartford

  1. SaaS Insurance for Your Business. The Hartford; Audience list (software startups, SaaS, IT consulting); Get a Business Owner’s Policy; What Is Business Owner’s Policy Insurance?; general liability introduction and Get a Quote; Get Commercial Property Insurance; Commercial Property Insurance for Your Business; Benefits of The Hartford’s WC Insurance for Employers and Employees; cyber insurance and data breach descriptions; Get a quote for cyber insurance; EPLI introduction and Private Choice Premier; add-ons (workers’ compensation, data breach, commercial auto); technology professional liability mention; small-business availability banner; industry-average premium footnote; footnote 2 state restrictions; footer product-availability disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Find a Local Insurance Agent. The Hartford; Small-business and midsize agent locators; FAQ that buyers can purchase without an agent by calling or quoting online; statement that agents may charge fees. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Management Liability Insurance | Get a Quote. The Hartford; Directors and Officers Insurance (D&O) section; Who Does Management Liability Insurance Protect?; Management Liability Insurance for Nonprofit/Publicly Traded/Financial Institutions organizations. Accessed 2026-09-23.

Sources for the D&O Insurance Guide

  1. Glossary of Business Insurance Terms. The Hartford; Directors and Officers Liability Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance; Employment Practices Liability Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. The Chubb Primary Directors & Officers and Entity Securities Liability Insurance. Chubb Group of Insurance Companies; hosted by eperils; I.A–C p.1; I.C p.1; I and III.A–B pp.1–2; VI Reporting pp.3–4. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Private Company Directors and Officers Liability Coverage. Travelers Casualty and Surety Company of America; I.A–C p.1; I.C p.1; Header p.1 and VI.A pp.6–7. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Get Help With Insurance Buying and Renewals.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot