At-Bay vs
Simply Business
At-Bay markets cyber, technology E&O and professional liability, with optional or policy-linked security services and product-specific insurer details to confirm. Simply Business offers a broader small-business marketplace, with cyber marketed as a phone-quoted add-on for select buyers. Confirm eligibility, insurer, fees and policy terms for the exact product. 1,14,26
Introduction
At-Bay focuses on cyber and technology coverage; Simply Business offers a wider small-business marketplace, with cyber available only through a select-buyer add-on route. Confirm the product, eligibility and insurer before comparing terms. 1 26
Coverage Comparison
| Coverage | At-Bay | Simply Business |
|---|---|---|
| Business owner’s policy | Not listed | Listed 23 |
| Commercial property | Not listed | Listed 24,23Offered as part of a BOP, rather than as a standalone policy. |
| Cyber liability | Listed 3At-Bay offers primary and excess cyber insurance for businesses with revenue up to $5 billion. | Listed 26Add-on for select buyers purchasing another business policy; phone quote route. |
| General liability | Not listed | Listed 20 |
| Professional errors and omissions (E&O) | Listed 4At-Bay offers primary miscellaneous professional liability insurance. | Listed 22 |
| Technology errors and omissions (E&O) | Listed 2At-Bay offers primary and excess technology errors and omissions insurance for businesses with revenue up to $5 billion. | Not listed |
| Tools, equipment and inland marine | Not listed | Listed 25 |
| Workers’ compensation | Not listed | Listed 21 |
A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means this catalogue has no separate offering recorded; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.
Current Spot Scores
Each score uses the rubric for that provider’s documented role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.
At-Bay
Hybrid providerBroker
5.2/ 10Assessed provider: At-Bay. Scope: At-Bay Insurance Services LLC as producer/broker and At-Bay Specialty Insurance Company as a Delaware-based E&S carrier, with issuer evidence limited to Cyber and Tech E&O policies announced as issuing on its own paper beginning August 7, 2023.
Carrier & MGA
7.1/ 10Assessed provider: At-Bay. Scope: At-Bay Insurance Services LLC as producer/broker and At-Bay Specialty Insurance Company as a Delaware-based E&S carrier, with issuer evidence limited to Cyber and Tech E&O policies announced as issuing on its own paper beginning August 7, 2023.
Simply Business
BrokerNo Spot Score
Assessment subject unavailable
Review Scores
These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.
At-Bay
Review Score
2 rated sources
At-Bay’s public review evidence is thin: one old G2 review and a BBB complaint record. It is not enough to judge day-to-day service or claims handling.[3][6][9]
Read At-Bay reviewsSimply Business
Review Score
Simply Business ratings vary sharply across platforms, with conflicting figures on some pages. Service and cancellation complaints can guide questions about your policy, but these broad ratings do not isolate commercial-policy outcomes.[6][7][8][10][9]
Read Simply Business reviewsKey Differences Between At-Bay and Simply Business
Cyber and Technology Products
At-Bay centers its offer on cyber and technology E&O; its Tech E&O product combines professional and cyber exposures, and it also markets miscellaneous professional liability. Simply Business lists cyber as an add-on for select buyers already purchasing another business policy, with a phone quote route. Its professional-liability page is not evidence of technology E&O. If you need combined technology and cyber protection, request At-Bay’s exact Tech E&O form; if you use Simply Business, confirm that its cyber add-on is available for your other policy and ask what separate professional coverage would apply. 2 4 26 14
Security Services, Insurers and Added Cost
At-Bay describes Stance monitoring, training and cyber-advisor access for eligible policies, subject to an embedded security fee and endorsement; MDR is a separate purchase. Simply Business’s Terms disclose commissions and possible processing, service, installment or cancellation fees, but not one universal amount. At-Bay’s reviewed materials do not provide a complete commission or placement-fee schedule either. Ask each provider for an itemized total and identify which services are included, policy-linked or separately purchased. 7 7 7 2 15
Claims and Binding
At-Bay describes an in-house claims team, breach coach and incident-response partners, but those features do not establish claim outcomes. Simply Business says its selected third-party insurer handles claims on its policy and directs policyholders to the insurer; its quote is not guaranteed and panel approval is needed before binding. Ask At-Bay for its current insurer and notice process, and Simply Business for the insurer and exact claims contact named on your offer. 8 11 15 16
What to Confirm in Quotes
- Ask At-Bay which insurer and current form apply in your state, whether Stance charges appear in the premium and what MDR costs separately. 11 7 7
- Ask Simply Business whether your risk qualifies for the cyber add-on, whether another policy must be purchased first, and which insurer handles that coverage. 26 14
- Compare cyber limits, retentions, exclusions, incident response and effective dates in the actual policies; advertised product categories are not equivalent coverage terms. 2 26
Compare Services
What each provider documents about the services you may need
| Criteria | At-Bay | Simply Business |
|---|---|---|
| Business role | At-Bay offers cyber, technology E&O and miscellaneous professional liability, with coverage described as underwritten by non-admitted insurers. At-Bay Insurance Services LLC is its disclosed property-and-casualty agency and surplus-lines broker. 1,5Company-reported. US brand and disclosed producer; company statements, not regulatory verification. | Simply Business describes its U.S. service as an online commercial-insurance marketplace and licensed producer connecting business customers with insurers. Its June 30, 2026 Terms identify Simply Business, LLC and Harborway Insurance Agency, LLC d/b/a Harborway Insurance as licensed producers, with Harborway a Simply Business subsidiary; the Terms say Harborway policies are underwritten by Spinnaker Insurance Company. Other site policies are underwritten by third-party providers, so the selected issuer depends on the offer and policy. These roles and license statements are company-reported. The contact-page footer says Simply Business, LLC is licensed in all U.S. states and D.C.; for California it says the company operates under the name Simply Business Insurance Agency, LLC and displays License #0M20593. The footer also lists Colorado, New York, Pennsylvania and Texas operating names; it gives no other license identifiers. No regulator lookup was performed or required for this candidate. 14,15,27,16Company-reported. U.S. commercial insurance distribution described by the company. Simply Business, LLC, Simply Business, Inc., Harborway Insurance Agency, LLC, the stated parent and each policy issuer are distinct. The Inc./LLC relationship remains unresolved. |
| Customer focus | Large technology companies may fit At-Bay’s published Tech E&O appetite, but the quote route matters: its product page lists up to $5 billion revenue and $10 million limits, while its broker platform lists $100 million and $3 million. These are ceilings, not guaranteed offers. 2Company-reported. Current product-page appetite; no inference of pre-revenue, industry-specific or California eligibility. A September 2023 Tech E&O appetite PDF still accessible on At-Bay’s site has lower revenue and limit ceilings than the current product page and lists restricted classes including autonomous AI. It should not be treated as current eligibility guidance; ask underwriting for the applicable appetite version. 12,2Company-reported. Legacy document has inconsistent autoquote revenue figures internally. Current HTML controls description of advertised ceilings, but current class eligibility remains unresolved. | Simply Business says it serves small businesses and solopreneurs and lists examples such as contractors, cleaning businesses, LLCs and sole proprietors. These examples describe its stated audience, not guaranteed insurer eligibility or availability. 14,19,15Company-reported. Company-described U.S. audience; eligibility varies by insurer, state and business details. |
| Application process | An online quote is not bound coverage; At-Bay’s broker process still requires application review, chosen limits and retentions, documents, effective date, contingencies and signatures before binding. 6,4Company-reported. Public broker workflow; no application submitted and no speed guarantee inferred. | The company advertises online quotes and weekday phone access to licensed agents. Its Terms say a quote is not guaranteed and Simply Business cannot bind a risk without panel-member approval; a quote or online purchase path does not establish that every applicant can bind online. 16,15Company-reported. Published U.S. quote and service channels. Binding depends on panel-member approval and the individual offer. |
| Servicing and renewals | Eligible policies may include Stance monitoring, fraud defense, employee training and cyber-advisor access, but the Embedded Security Fee and endorsement apply; MDR is a separate purchase from At-Bay Security, LLC. 7Company-reported. Current service descriptions and footnotes; no claims of effectiveness or independent testing. You can buy optional MDR for endpoint and email protection, or MXDR for endpoint, email, identity and cloud; At-Bay says these can be bought beyond policyholders too. Confirm service eligibility and any conditional coverage enhancements or premium credits. 7Company-reported. Security services, not additional insurance coverage lines; comparable approved solutions may also qualify. Avoid an unwanted automatic renewal by confirming your dashboard route and deadlines: At-Bay describes rapid and manual renewals, and says rapid renewals bind automatically 15 days before expiry. 6Company-reported. Company-described workflow; no promise of unchanged renewal price or terms. | Simply Business lists licensed-agent phone support Monday through Friday: sales 8 a.m.–8 p.m. Eastern Time and service 9 a.m.–6 p.m. These listed hours do not establish a response-time guarantee. 16Company-reported. Hours displayed on the current U.S. contact page; no actual wait-time observation is implied. The company describes account access for policy documents, certificates, account updates and adding coverage; help material routes some changes to an agent or insurer. Not every policy change is described as self-service. 16,17,15Company-reported. Company-described post-purchase service paths; available tasks may depend on policy and insurer. The Help Center FAQ says most customers opt into automatic renewal and gives 60-day notice and 30-day processing timing only for those who opt in. The same Help Center summary and June 30, 2026 Terms use broader automatic-renewal wording without the FAQ’s opt-in qualification. The public descriptions conflict; they do not establish which wording applies to every policy. 17,15Conflicting sources. Company-published descriptions reviewed 2026-09-29. FAQ detail, Help Center summary and Terms are inconsistent; no buyer-specific policy notice was reviewed. |
| Claims assistance | After a cyber incident, At-Bay describes an in-house claims team, breach coach, response partners and incident-reporting routes; this documents its stated process, not claim payment or service quality. 8,9Company-reported. Cyber incident process; confirm policy-specific notice obligations and consent requirements, including non-cyber E&O claims. | The Terms say third-party insurers underwrite site policies and each provider handles claims on its own policies; the Help Center directs policyholders to identify and contact the insurer. This establishes a published route, not agency assistance after notice or claim outcomes. 15,17Company-reported. General site-policy claim responsibility. Harborway/Spinnaker applies only to the named Harborway placement relationship. |
| Fees and compensation | Add security charges separately when comparing total cost: Stance has an Embedded Security Fee and endorsement, while MDR is purchased separately from premium and broker charges. 7Company-reported. Does not describe included security as free or quote an unverified fee amount. Ask for the full price and compensation disclosure because reviewed At-Bay pages do not publish commission rates, broker arrangements or complete placement fees; this gap does not mean those charges are absent. 2,6,10Not publicly disclosed. Scoped review of listed public pages on September 16, 2026; not a site-wide or contractual finding. | The Terms say Simply Business receives commission or other compensation from or through panel members and that customers may also incur separate processing, administrative, service, installment or cancellation fees. They give no amount or placement-specific applicability; the Terms say charges are disclosed before purchase. 15Company-reported. General disclosure dated 2026-06-30; no specific commission, fee schedule, premium or customer charge was reviewed. |
Sources
At-Bay Official Website
- Cyber, Tech E&O & Professional Liability Insurance. At-Bay; Product cards and agency disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Tech E&O Insurance Coverage and Policy Highlights. At-Bay; Tech E&O Coverage Highlights; Primary & Excess Appetite; footnotes 1–7; state disclaimer. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Cyber Insurance. At-Bay; Cyber Coverage Highlights; Primary & Excess Appetite. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- MPL Insurance: Coverage Highlights & Appetite. At-Bay; MPL Coverage Highlights; MPL Appetite; state restrictions. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Licenses. At-Bay; Producer introduction; California row; agency and surplus-lines footer. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Broker Platform. At-Bay; How it works: Create a quote, Customize your quote, Bind your policy, Manage renewals; FAQs. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- At-Bay Stance. At-Bay; Real Protection Against Real Threats; Endpoint, Email, MXDR; footnotes 1 and 3–6. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Claims Handling. At-Bay; At-Bay Cyber Incident Roadmap; The At-Bay Claims Team. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Response & Recovery. At-Bay; Minimize Downtime with One Partner; integration with claims process. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Terms of Service. At-Bay; US terms effective April 11, 2023: Insurance Product Terms; Payment Policy; Service. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- At-Bay Begins Issuing Policies on its own E&S Paper. At-Bay; August 9, 2023 release: opening paragraph and new-business transition effective August 7, 2023. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- At-Bay Surplus Tech E&O Appetite Guide. At-Bay; Pages 1–2; September 2023 copyright; revenue and limit statements; Restricted classes. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- At-Bay Doubles Miscellaneous Professional Liability Appetite. At-Bay; September 28, 2023 release: final paragraph before Media Contacts. Accessed 2026-09-16.
Simply Business Official Website
- Our Small Business Insurance Story. Simply Business; Opening description and audience; digital marketplace, business types and U.S. service. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Terms of Service. Simply Business; Dated June 30, 2026; §1 lines 22–28; §8 lines 87–113; §10 lines 143–149; §19 line 211. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Contact Us. Simply Business; Opening contact details lines 20–31; licensed-agent phone hours lines 46–59; U.S. licensing and state-specific name disclosures in footer lines 108–111, including California License #0M20593. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Help Center. Simply Business; Claims, account servicing, agent-routed changes, renewal FAQ and Common Topics. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- How Simply Business Works. Simply Business; Common types lines 92–160; quote/purchase flow; estimate-method footnotes lines 198–200. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Business Insurance for Small Businesses. Simply Business; Small Business Insurance Coverage Options and policy links. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- General Liability Insurance for a Small Business. Simply Business; Coverage lines 51–75; audience lines 61–65, 153–155; application and examples elsewhere on page. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Workers’ Compensation Insurance for Small Business. Simply Business; Coverage and benefits lines 45–69; state/buyer qualifications lines 178–189. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Professional Liability Insurance Coverage. Simply Business; Coverage lines 45–100; buyer examples lines 101–158; online quote steps lines 237–260. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Business Owner’s Policy Insurance. Simply Business; Bundle lines 34–38, 218–243; add-on/exclusion discussion lines 226–243; buyer and quote sections. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Commercial Property Insurance. Simply Business; Lines 15–18 present physical-location cover as part of a BOP; lines 34–49 describe the package; lines 59–63 say it is offered as part of the BOP rather than as a standalone policy and link to a BOP quote. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Inland Marine Insurance. Simply Business; Equipment/inventory lines 15–18, 59–63; examples and quote workflow lines 97–140, 168–191. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Cyber Insurance. Simply Business; Claim types lines 88–105; select-buyer add-on/phone quote lines 171–175; route and last-updated lines 389–395. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Producer Compensation Disclosure (United States). Travelers; Ownership interest in a producer, lines 57–60: Travelers says it owns Simply Business, Inc.; relation to Simply Business, LLC not stated. Accessed 2026-09-29.




