At-Bay vs
The Baldwin Group: How Do They Compare for Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance?
What Is At-Bay Insurance?
At-Bay targets technology firms with up to $5 billion in revenue and offers cyber limits up to $10 million, plus technology E&O; buyers seeking a standard online business package should compare other carriers. Managed detection and response costs extra. 1,2
What Is the Baldwin Group?
Baldwin’s Insurance Advisory Solutions group describes commercial-risk and employee-benefit services for businesses and private-risk management for high-net-worth individuals and families; its business-insurance page outlines a five-step RiskMap process. 7,8
Read the The Baldwin Group profile
Read the The Baldwin Group Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance page
What Is Professional Errors and Omissions (E&O) Insurance?
Professional liability can help pay defense costs and covered losses when a client says your advice or service caused financial harm. If customers rely on your work, list every service you provide and check the claims-made reporting and prior-work terms. 10,11,12,13
What Are the Key Differences Between At-Bay and The Baldwin Group Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance?
At-Bay: Coverage
At-Bay’s MPL lists automatic acquired-subsidiary coverage, independent-contractor coverage, disciplinary-defense costs, and a duty to defend. The Baldwin Group lists E&O for professional firms but does not detail these policy features. A growing firm should confirm how acquisitions and contractors fit its own proposed wording. 3 9
At-Bay: Buyer Scope
At-Bay says its primary MPL limits can reach $5 million, subject to state restrictions, and accepts submissions by email or through its Broker Platform. The Baldwin Group names several professional-service occupations but publishes no limits or application steps. Ask about state eligibility, available limits, retentions, and submission requirements. 3 9
What Should You Confirm in At-Bay and The Baldwin Group Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Quotes?
- Ask At-Bay to confirm your profession, services, and any applicable form exclusions or limits.
- Ask The Baldwin Group which carrier and policy form it proposes and request the applicable trigger, limits, and exclusions.
At-Bay and The Baldwin Group Review Scores for 2026
These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.
At-Bay Review Score
Review Score
2 rated sources
At-Bay’s public review evidence is thin: one old G2 review and a BBB complaint record. It is not enough to judge day-to-day service or claims handling.[3][6][9]
Read At-Bay reviewsThe Baldwin Group Review Score
Review Score
No reviews found
The reviewed public sources do not establish a representative customer rating for The Baldwin Group’s commercial advisory business. BBB pages show different legal entities: an A+ regional insurance-agency grade with zero listed reviews and complaints for The Baldwin Group Mid-Atlantic, LLC, and an A- grade plus six complaints in three years for The Baldwin Group Personal Insurance, LLC. A 2026 personal-lines complaint describes delayed refund handling. A separate National General auto review mentions a Baldwin referral but concerns insurer policy administration. None of these observations supports a group-wide or commercial rating.[8][1][2][4][9][10]
Read The Baldwin Group reviewsAt-Bay vs The Baldwin Group Professional Liability (E&O) Compared
At-Bay vs The Baldwin Group: Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | At-Bay Miscellaneous Professional Liability (MPL) Insurance | Baldwin Professional Liability and E&O Brokerage Advisory |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | At-Bay markets MPL as one of its own named insurance products, sold through its disclosed producer, At-Bay Insurance Services LLC, with the product page directed at "properly licensed insurance professionals" submitting business rather than at direct retail buyers. 3,4Company-reported. Current MPL product page and license disclosures; this describes the distribution channel, not who bears the underwriting risk. | The source describes The Baldwin Group’s brokerage or advisory role for Professional Liability and E&O. It does not identify Baldwin as the risk-bearing insurer for a particular placement. 9Company-reported. The cited company page describes its brokerage/advisory role and does not name the issuer for a buyer-specific placement. |
| Issuing Insurer | The current MPL product page does not name the insurer that issues the policy. A September 2023 press release named United Specialty Company in connection with MPL, but that historical reference does not establish the current issuing insurer for a new MPL quote. 3,5Not found in reviewed sources. Reviewed MPL page as of 2026-09-23 and the September 2023 press release; restates the existing provider fact that MPL's current issuer is unresolved, distinct from the August 2023 Cyber/Tech E&O transition to At-Bay Specialty Insurance Company paper. | Confirm in your quote. |
| Who It’s For | At-Bay says it provides primary MPL for businesses of all revenue sizes with limits up to $5 million, subject to state restrictions and eligibility requirements detailed in a separate MPL appetite guide. 3Company-reported. Current MPL appetite paragraph; the linked appetite guide's specific eligibility requirements were not independently opened for this record. | Baldwin names accountants, architects, engineers, financial advisers, lawyers, management consultants and surveyors as professional-services clients. 9Company-reported. This is the audience or client context named on Baldwin’s page, not an underwriting decision or guarantee of product availability. |
| Coverage Features | At-Bay lists MPL coverage highlights including automatic coverage for acquired subsidiaries, claims-made-and-reported coverage, coverage for independent contractors, disciplinary-proceedings defense, a duty-to-defend contract, personal-injury coverage (including emotional distress), punitive damages where insurable, a professional-services definition written for each insured, and an 80/20 hammer clause. 3Company-reported. Product-page coverage-highlights list; an 80/20 hammer clause is a settlement provision where the insurer pays 80% and the insured pays 20% of costs after the insured declines a recommended settlement. The issued policy and declarations control actual wording, limits and exclusions. | Baldwin lists professional liability/E&O coverage for its professional-services practice. The page does not define the professional services insured, covered errors, claims-made conditions, limits or exclusions. 9Company-reported. The statement reports Baldwin’s marketed coverage or advisory description only. No individual quote, binder, policy form, schedule or endorsement was reviewed; policy entitlement and terms remain unknown. |
| Limits and Retentions | At-Bay publishes an MPL limit ceiling of up to $5 million, with state restrictions that are not detailed on the product page itself. 3Company-reported. Current appetite paragraph; this is an advertised ceiling, not a guaranteed available limit for any specific applicant. | The reviewed source does not state a buyer-specific limit, retention, deductible or coverage schedule. Confirm the quote and issued policy or bond. 9Not publicly disclosed. No buyer quote, binder, policy or bond form was available in the reviewed public sources. |
| Risk Services | Confirm in your quote. | Baldwin describes tailored insurance and risk-mitigation solutions for professional firms and guidance on market shifts and business exposures. 9Company-reported. These are company-described brokerage and risk-advisory services; account-specific service commitments and third-party terms are not established. |
| How to Apply | At-Bay directs MPL submissions to underwriting by email or through automatic quotes on its Broker Platform, which At-Bay describes as a workflow of creating a quote, customizing limits and retentions, and binding the policy. 3,6Company-reported. Current submission instructions and the general broker-platform workflow description; MPL-specific automation details were not separately confirmed. | Confirm in your quote. |
Related Pages for At-Bay vs The Baldwin Group
Professional Liability (E&O) Pages for At-Bay and The Baldwin Group
Other Coverage Lines Compared for At-Bay vs The Baldwin Group
Other Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Provider Comparisons
Sources for At-Bay vs The Baldwin Group
Sources About At-Bay
- Cyber, Tech E&O & Professional Liability Insurance. At-Bay; Product cards and agency disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- At-Bay Stance. At-Bay; Real Protection Against Real Threats; Endpoint, Email, MXDR; footnotes 1 and 3–6. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- MPL Insurance: Coverage Highlights & Appetite. At-Bay; MPL Coverage Highlights list; MPL Appetite paragraph; Send us your submissions; "material on this page is intended for use solely by properly licensed insurance professionals". Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Licenses. At-Bay; Producer introduction; agency and surplus-lines footer naming At-Bay Insurance Services LLC. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- At-Bay Doubles Miscellaneous Professional Liability Appetite. At-Bay; September 28, 2023 release: final paragraph before Media Contacts. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Broker Platform. At-Bay; How it works: Create a quote, Customize your quote, Bind your policy, Manage renewals; FAQs. Accessed 2026-09-16.
Sources About The Baldwin Group
- The Baldwin Insurance Group, Inc. Form 10-K for fiscal year ended December 31, 2025. U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission; filed by The Baldwin Insurance Group, Inc.; Part I, Item 1, “The Company,” lines 194–196; “Operating Groups,” lines 260–263; “Clients and Insurers,” lines 286–288; pp. 6–10; opened 2026-09-28. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Business Insurance. The Baldwin Group; RiskMap process, lines 40–68; Connect With Us consultation invitation, lines 182–187; accessed 2026-09-28. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Professional Liability Insurance & Services. The Baldwin Group; Professional-services customer population lines 35–64; coverage snapshot lines 68–84 lists property, general/professional liability, cyber, workers’ compensation, D&O, fiduciary, crime/fidelity bond, EPL, and IP liability; Employee benefits lines 93–95; accessed 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-30.
Sources for the Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Guide
- FAQ: Professional liability insurance. Texas Department of Insurance; What’s professional liability coverage?; What types of damages…; What’s general liability insurance?; Do I need professional liability… if I have general liability…?; Is professional liability insurance required?; Can a client require…?; What’s the difference between occurrence policies and claims-made policies. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Professional liability insurance. Insurance Information Institute; Opening paragraphs (professional services/advice and E&O name); Claims not covered by general liability; What types of businesses need professional liability insurance?; What’s covered… and what’s not (claims-made versus occurrence, defense and judgments, non-financial/intentional limits, BOP/in-home exclusion). Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Get business insurance. U.S. Small Business Administration; Six common types of business insurance table. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Professional Liability – US Direct Errors and Omissions Insurance. Hiscox Inc. specimen; About this Policy / Coverage for Claims Made Against You; I.A Insuring Agreement; I.B Defense; I.C Settlement; II.A Notice of Claims; II.C Optional Extended Reporting Period; III.A, III.K, III.M, III.R, III.S Exclusions; IV.A–B Limits and Deductible; VI.O Professional Services; VI.U Wrongful Act. Accessed 2026-09-16.




