Armilla vs Simply Business

Armilla focuses on AI exposure and separates insurance from model assessment and performance warranties. Simply Business offers an online marketplace for common small-business coverage, with selected insurers underwriting each policy. These are different risk and service models; compare them only if the actual exposure and policy purpose match. 2,9,10

Introduction

Armilla offers products aimed at AI risks, while Simply Business connects small firms with insurer-backed commercial policies. Consider them for different needs unless you are separately evaluating an AI policy alongside ordinary business coverage. 2 9

Coverage Comparison

CoverageArmillaSimply Business
Business owner’s policyNot listedListed 18
Commercial propertyNot listedListed 19,18Offered as part of a BOP, rather than as a standalone policy.
Cyber liabilityNot listedListed 21Add-on for select buyers purchasing another business policy; phone quote route.
General liabilityNot listedListed 15
Generative AI liabilityListed 3Armilla markets standalone AI liability insurance as a managing general agent.Not listed
Professional errors and omissions (E&O)Not listedListed 17
Tools, equipment and inland marineNot listedListed 20
Workers’ compensationNot listedListed 16

A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means this catalogue has no separate offering recorded; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.

Current Spot Scores

Each score uses the rubric for that provider’s documented role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.

Armilla

Managing general agent

Carrier & MGA

5.2/ 10

Assessed provider: Armilla. Scope: Armilla Insurance Services Inc. as a company-named Lloyd's coverholder and AI insurance intermediary in North America, assessed against two named programmes and no others. For the AI Liability Insurance programme, also marketed as Armilla Insured, capacity is assessed as Armilla discloses it: a binding authority led by Chaucer and written by certain underwriters at Lloyd's, available to US insureds, offered through surplus lines insurers. For Armilla Guaranteed, a contractual performance warranty rather than insurance, no issuer is named and no capacity is assessed. The four reinsurers Armilla names on its broker page are attached to no programme and are not assessed as capacity for either. Financial resilience is scoped to Armilla's ability to sustain its own operations; the risk sits with the Lloyd's underwriters, whose capital is not Armilla's and is out of scope.

Provider assessment

Simply Business

Broker

No Spot Score

Assessment subject unavailable

Review Scores

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.

Armilla

-/ 10

Review Score

Armilla has no usable independent review consensus in the sources checked. Buyer references and policy terms matter more than public ratings here.[1][2][3][4][5][6][7][8]

Read Armilla reviews

Simply Business

-/ 10

Review Score

Simply Business ratings vary sharply across platforms, with conflicting figures on some pages. Service and cancellation complaints can guide questions about your policy, but these broad ratings do not isolate commercial-policy outcomes.[6][7][8][10][9]

Read Simply Business reviews

Key Differences Between Armilla and Simply Business

AI Risk Products or General Small-Business Policies

Armilla targets companies developing or deploying AI and describes a liability insurance product alongside separate model-assessment and performance-warranty services. The warranty is contractual and is not insurance. Simply Business markets commercial policies to small businesses and solopreneurs; its catalogue includes general liability, workers’ compensation, professional liability, BOP, inland marine and a cyber add-on for select buyers. This is not a like-for-like choice unless the buyer’s question is specifically how an AI risk product fits alongside general business coverage. 6 3 2 15 16 17 18 20 21

Who Underwrites and What Is Included

Armilla describes its insurance business as an MGA and lists Lloyd’s and other backing relationships, but the insurer and syndicate for a particular quote must be confirmed. Simply Business says Harborway policies are underwritten by Spinnaker, while other site policies use third-party insurers; its Terms distinguish those policies from the licensed producer. Armilla’s model assessment, optional monitoring and any warranty should be priced and documented separately from insurance. Simply Business likewise discloses commissions and possible fees, without publishing one amount for every risk. 3 1 5 9 10

Application and Claims Contact

Armilla directs buyers to contact its team and says AI risk assessment comes before a proposal; coverage requires written confirmation and completed underwriting. Simply Business advertises online quotes and licensed-agent phone support, but says a quote is not guaranteed and binding requires panel approval. For claims, Simply Business says the selected insurer handles its own policies and directs customers to that insurer. Armilla describes incident coordination but does not identify a complete claims administrator or reporting process. Get the claims instructions and binding conditions for the specific policy. 2 2 11 11 10

What to Confirm in Quotes

  • For Armilla, separate the liability policy from assessment, monitoring and warranty obligations; request the insurer, policy wording, claims contacts and itemized costs. 3 2 5 2
  • For Simply Business, identify the chosen insurer and producer, confirm any phone-only or select-buyer product route, and ask for each fee before purchase. 9 21 10
  • Compare actual limits, exclusions, trigger wording and effective dates; a model warranty and an insurance policy answer different contractual questions. 2 3 9

Compare Services

What each provider documents about the services you may need

CriteriaArmillaSimply Business
Business role

Armilla offers AI insurance, performance warranties and model assessments, but the insurer—not the brand—takes on policy risk. Armilla describes its insurance operation as an MGA and Armilla Insurance Services as a Lloyd’s coverholder. 3,1,6Company-reported. Company descriptions of the Armilla brand and insurance operation; delegated authority and producer licensing have not been independently verified.

The reviewed corporate record identifies Armilla Insurance Services Inc. but does not establish California insurance authority; verify the licensed producer on your quote. Florida’s registry lists the company as a Delaware corporation. 8Verified. Exact entity spelling in corporate filing F24000002598, inspected on September 16, 2026. No California producer lookup was completed.

Simply Business describes its U.S. service as an online commercial-insurance marketplace and licensed producer connecting business customers with insurers. Its June 30, 2026 Terms identify Simply Business, LLC and Harborway Insurance Agency, LLC d/b/a Harborway Insurance as licensed producers, with Harborway a Simply Business subsidiary; the Terms say Harborway policies are underwritten by Spinnaker Insurance Company. Other site policies are underwritten by third-party providers, so the selected issuer depends on the offer and policy. These roles and license statements are company-reported. The contact-page footer says Simply Business, LLC is licensed in all U.S. states and D.C.; for California it says the company operates under the name Simply Business Insurance Agency, LLC and displays License #0M20593. The footer also lists Colorado, New York, Pennsylvania and Texas operating names; it gives no other license identifiers. No regulator lookup was performed or required for this candidate. 9,10,22,11Company-reported. U.S. commercial insurance distribution described by the company. Simply Business, LLC, Simply Business, Inc., Harborway Insurance Agency, LLC, the stated parent and each policy issuer are distinct. The Inc./LLC relationship remains unresolved.

Customer focus

AI developers and companies deploying AI can approach Armilla, which markets to startups and large enterprises; its pages set no minimum revenue or funding stage and do not guarantee a bootstrapped company qualifies. 6,2Company-reported. Published customer descriptions; no inferred startup eligibility thresholds.

Simply Business says it serves small businesses and solopreneurs and lists examples such as contractors, cleaning businesses, LLCs and sole proprietors. These examples describe its stated audience, not guaranteed insurer eligibility or availability. 9,14,10Company-reported. Company-described U.S. audience; eligibility varies by insurer, state and business details.

Application process

Expect an AI risk assessment before Armilla proposes insurance or a warranty; its site directs buyers to contact the team, and coverage requires written confirmation and completed underwriting. 2,1Company-reported. Published process, not a submitted application, quote, binding test or promised turnaround.

The company advertises online quotes and weekday phone access to licensed agents. Its Terms say a quote is not guaranteed and Simply Business cannot bind a risk without panel-member approval; a quote or online purchase path does not establish that every applicant can bind online. 11,10Company-reported. Published U.S. quote and service channels. Binding depends on panel-member approval and the individual offer.

Servicing and renewals

Armilla Verified can help your team test and improve a model: it evaluates performance, fairness, security and robustness, with scoping, testing, remediation support and an internal report. A badge depends on benchmarks; optional monitoring and retesting can address later model changes. 5Company-reported. Direct assessment service and FAQ; no independent validation of assessment effectiveness or regulatory compliance.

Price monitoring and retesting separately unless the proposal includes them: reviewed pages do not explain insurance renewal or whether ongoing model monitoring is included in premium. 5,2Not publicly disclosed. Limited to public product and assessment pages reviewed September 16, 2026.

Simply Business lists licensed-agent phone support Monday through Friday: sales 8 a.m.–8 p.m. Eastern Time and service 9 a.m.–6 p.m. These listed hours do not establish a response-time guarantee. 11Company-reported. Hours displayed on the current U.S. contact page; no actual wait-time observation is implied.

The company describes account access for policy documents, certificates, account updates and adding coverage; help material routes some changes to an agent or insurer. Not every policy change is described as self-service. 11,12,10Company-reported. Company-described post-purchase service paths; available tasks may depend on policy and insurer.

The Help Center FAQ says most customers opt into automatic renewal and gives 60-day notice and 30-day processing timing only for those who opt in. The same Help Center summary and June 30, 2026 Terms use broader automatic-renewal wording without the FAQ’s opt-in qualification. The public descriptions conflict; they do not establish which wording applies to every policy. 12,10Conflicting sources. Company-published descriptions reviewed 2026-09-29. FAQ detail, Help Center summary and Terms are inconsistent; no buyer-specific policy notice was reviewed.

Fees and compensation

Request an itemized premium, assessment price and broker or policy charges: Armilla advertises broker commissions without rates and its general terms permit service fees without an insurance-specific schedule. 6,7Company-reported. Public broker compensation and generic website fees, not a policy-specific compensation disclosure. Company-reported commission model; amounts unresolved.

The Terms say Simply Business receives commission or other compensation from or through panel members and that customers may also incur separate processing, administrative, service, installment or cancellation fees. They give no amount or placement-specific applicability; the Terms say charges are disclosed before purchase. 10Company-reported. General disclosure dated 2026-06-30; no specific commission, fee schedule, premium or customer charge was reviewed.

Sources

Armilla Official Website

  1. Armilla: AI Insurance. Armilla; Affirmative Insurance Built for AI Risk; Risk Teams; footer surplus-lines and Lloyd’s disclosures. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. AI Insurance – Lloyd’s Coverholder | Armilla AI. Armilla; Armilla Insured; Armilla Guaranteed; FAQ: getting started, warranty classification, claims framework and exclusions. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Armilla AI Insurance Brief. Armilla; Introduction identifying the MGA; Tailored Protection for AI Pioneers: standalone AI liability and Sample Coverage Areas; Industry Protection; footer on surplus-lines placement and Lloyd’s underwriting. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. AI Performance Warranty Brief. Armilla; Opening partner disclosure; AI Performance, Guaranteed; Real-World Protection Examples. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  5. Armilla Assessments: AI Verification & Red-Teaming. Armilla; Active AI Risk Assessment; FAQ: testing process, ongoing support and starting an assessment. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  6. Armilla for Brokers: Specialized AI Coverage. Armilla; Coverage Options; Competitive Commissions; Flexible, Tech-Enabled Underwriting; broker appointment FAQ. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  7. Armilla Terms of Service. Armilla; Last updated April 5th, 2023; sections 1 Agreement to Terms and 4 Fees and Payment. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  8. Detail by Entity Name: ARMILLA INSURANCE SERVICES INC. Florida Department of State, Division of Corporations; Entity name; Filing Information; document F24000002598. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Simply Business Official Website

  1. Our Small Business Insurance Story. Simply Business; Opening description and audience; digital marketplace, business types and U.S. service. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  2. Terms of Service. Simply Business; Dated June 30, 2026; §1 lines 22–28; §8 lines 87–113; §10 lines 143–149; §19 line 211. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  3. Contact Us. Simply Business; Opening contact details lines 20–31; licensed-agent phone hours lines 46–59; U.S. licensing and state-specific name disclosures in footer lines 108–111, including California License #0M20593. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  4. Help Center. Simply Business; Claims, account servicing, agent-routed changes, renewal FAQ and Common Topics. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  5. How Simply Business Works. Simply Business; Common types lines 92–160; quote/purchase flow; estimate-method footnotes lines 198–200. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  6. Business Insurance for Small Businesses. Simply Business; Small Business Insurance Coverage Options and policy links. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  7. General Liability Insurance for a Small Business. Simply Business; Coverage lines 51–75; audience lines 61–65, 153–155; application and examples elsewhere on page. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  8. Workers’ Compensation Insurance for Small Business. Simply Business; Coverage and benefits lines 45–69; state/buyer qualifications lines 178–189. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  9. Professional Liability Insurance Coverage. Simply Business; Coverage lines 45–100; buyer examples lines 101–158; online quote steps lines 237–260. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  10. Business Owner’s Policy Insurance. Simply Business; Bundle lines 34–38, 218–243; add-on/exclusion discussion lines 226–243; buyer and quote sections. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  11. Commercial Property Insurance. Simply Business; Lines 15–18 present physical-location cover as part of a BOP; lines 34–49 describe the package; lines 59–63 say it is offered as part of the BOP rather than as a standalone policy and link to a BOP quote. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  12. Inland Marine Insurance. Simply Business; Equipment/inventory lines 15–18, 59–63; examples and quote workflow lines 97–140, 168–191. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  13. Cyber Insurance. Simply Business; Claim types lines 88–105; select-buyer add-on/phone quote lines 171–175; route and last-updated lines 389–395. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  14. Producer Compensation Disclosure (United States). Travelers; Ownership interest in a producer, lines 57–60: Travelers says it owns Simply Business, Inc.; relation to Simply Business, LLC not stated. Accessed 2026-09-29.

Updated . Spot is a product of Tools for Enlightenment, which works in the commercial-insurance market. This comparison describes provider-published materials and does not assess a specific policy. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Suggested Comparisons

All Comparisons

Get Help With Insurance Buying and Renewals.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot