Aon vs
Travelers
Aon describes advising on insurers and program strategy for selected placements; Travelers sells commercial insurance through its operating subsidiaries and directs most business buyers to independent agents. Choose Travelers when its agent-supported products fit the risk; consider Aon when you want a broker to compare and negotiate among markets. Travelers’ portal and quote tools vary by account, and the policy names the actual insurer. 1,1,42,20
Introduction
Aon is a broker that describes market selection and negotiation for selected commercial programs; Travelers is an insurer group that sells through operating subsidiaries and independent agents. Most buyers approach Travelers through an agent, while Aon’s role is to advise and arrange coverage. Choose based on whether you want to approach a particular insurer through an agent or compare a broker’s proposed markets and program structure. 1 42
Coverage Comparison
| Coverage | Aon | Travelers |
|---|---|---|
| Builders risk | Listed 14Aon names Construction Property/Builders Risk on its global construction page; confirm whether this line is offered for the buyer, state, and placement. | Not listed |
| Business owner’s policy | Not listed | Listed 16Travelers offers business owner’s policies for small technology-services businesses. |
| Cargo and transit | Listed 9Aon lists cargo placements in its global marine practice; U.S. eligibility, insurer, limits and policy terms are not stated on the reviewed page. | Listed 27Travelers offers cargo insurance through its transportation, cargo and logistics offering. |
| Commercial auto | Listed 6Aon lists automobile liability within its global Professional Services Practice for law, accounting and consulting firms; U.S. availability and specific policy terms are not established. | Listed 15Travelers offers commercial auto insurance. |
| Commercial property | Listed 8Aon describes commercial-property brokerage and risk management, with a U.S.-available analytics tool; tool availability does not establish state-specific insurance availability. | Listed 15Travelers offers commercial property insurance. |
| Crime | Listed 6Aon lists crime within its global Professional Services Practice for law, accounting and consulting firms; U.S. availability and specific policy terms are not established. | Listed 26Travelers offers commercial crime insurance. |
| Cyber liability | Listed 7,6Aon describes cyber insurance and related brokerage, analytics and claims support; confirm the producing entity, insurer, jurisdiction and policy terms for a U.S. placement. | Listed 17Travelers offers cyber insurance through CyberRisk Tech for technology and life-sciences companies. |
| Directors and officers | Listed 5Aon describes D&O brokerage and program services in a global practice; this does not identify the producer, insurer or state availability for a particular U.S. placement. | Listed 23Travelers offers directors and officers liability insurance. |
| Employment practices liability | Listed 6Aon lists EPL for professional-services firms in a global practice; this does not establish eligibility for every U.S. employer or state. | Listed 25Travelers offers employment practices liability insurance. |
| Equipment breakdown | Not listed | Listed 29Travelers offers equipment breakdown insurance. |
| Fidelity bonds | Not listed | Listed 28,22Travelers offers ERISA fidelity bonds. |
| Fiduciary liability | Listed 6Aon lists fiduciary liability within its global Professional Services Practice for law, accounting and consulting firms; U.S. availability and specific policy terms are not established. | Listed 24Travelers offers fiduciary liability insurance. |
| General liability | Listed 14Aon lists general liability within construction liability coverage areas in its global construction practice; this does not establish a standalone or U.S.-available line. | Listed 15Travelers offers general liability insurance. |
| Kidnap and ransom | Listed 6Aon lists kidnap and ransom within its global Professional Services Practice for law, accounting and consulting firms; U.S. availability and specific policy terms are not established. | Listed 22,33Travelers offers kidnap and ransom insurance. |
| Management liability | Listed 6Aon describes management liability in its global Professional Services Practice as a partnership program for law, accounting and consulting firms, rather than a standalone line; U.S. availability and specific policy terms are not established. | Listed 22Travelers offers management liability insurance. |
| Media liability | Not listed | Listed 17Travelers offers media liability insurance through CyberRisk Tech for technology and life-sciences companies. |
| Professional errors and omissions (E&O) | Listed 6Aon describes professional-liability/E&O services for law, accounting and consulting firms; a U.S. placement and any separate technology E&O terms remain to be confirmed. | Listed 41Travelers offers professional errors and omissions insurance. |
| Surety bonds | Listed 10Aon markets Commercial Surety globally and says availability depends on jurisdiction; the page does not establish U.S. placement availability. | Listed 28Travelers offers surety bonds. |
| Technology errors and omissions (E&O) | Not listed | Listed 15,17Travelers offers technology errors and omissions insurance through CyberRisk Tech for technology and life-sciences companies. |
| Tools, equipment and inland marine | Not listed | Listed 27Travelers offers inland marine insurance. |
| Umbrella and excess liability | Listed 14Aon lists umbrella and excess within construction liability coverage areas; ask whether either applies to your project and jurisdiction. | Listed 15,40Travelers offers commercial umbrella and excess liability insurance. |
| Workers’ compensation | Listed 14Aon lists workers compensation among global construction coverage areas; this does not establish state availability or a placement. | Listed 15,39Travelers offers workers’ compensation insurance. |
A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means this catalogue has no separate offering recorded; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.
Current Spot Scores
Each score uses the rubric for that provider’s documented role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.
Aon
BrokerBroker
6.7/ 10Assessed provider: Aon. Scope: Aon group commercial insurance brokerage, assessed at brand level from Aon's published terms, its 2025 SEC filing, and U.S., U.K. and Irish regulator records. It does not assess a single producing entity, insurer or placement, and it is not a ruling on Aon's consulting or benefits businesses.
Travelers
CarrierCarrier & MGA
6.1/ 10Assessed provider: Travelers. Scope: The Travelers Indemnity Company and Travelers Casualty and Surety Company of America, with California insurer authority checked. Travelers group financial results and technology-insurance services provide context; the issuer and terms of a particular policy require confirmation.
Review Scores
These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.
Aon
Review Score
3 rated sources
Public ratings for Aon are low: Trustpilot shows 1.2 out of 5 from 782 reviews, and BBB shows 1.6 from five. Aon is a global firm, so those pages mostly reflect other parts of the business, not large U.S. commercial accounts.[4][6][7]
Read Aon reviewsTravelers
Review Score
3 rated sources
Travelers earns 4.5/5 from NerdWallet, but customer feedback is poor: 1.4/5 on Trustpilot and 1.3/5 for homeowners on ConsumerAffairs. Those reviews mostly concern personal insurance.[1][2][4][5][6][7]
Read Travelers reviewsKey Differences Between Aon and Travelers
Agent access and policy tools
Travelers directs business buyers to an independent agent; its Select Accounts systems allow agents to quote, bind and issue many small-business risks, while more complex accounts involve company underwriters. Aon describes insurer-selection and application work for certain programs. Travelers’ MyTravelers portal supports billing, documents and claim tracking, and lists real-time certificates. Ask which path fits your account and what the servicing portal includes. 20 32 1
Claims notice and compensation
Travelers says business losses can be reported through an agent, online, its account portal or by phone, and describes a dedicated technology claims unit. Aon’s terms place insurer notice with the client for selected programs unless a separate agreement changes the duty. Travelers generally pays producer commission and may provide other compensation; Aon also discloses variable and potential contingent compensation. Neither arrangement tells you the premium or coverage terms for your quote. 30 1 21 1
What to Confirm in Quotes
Ask Travelers which operating subsidiary would insure the policy, whether your account qualifies for agent quoting tools, and what service functions are enabled. Ask Aon which insurer markets it would submit to and how notice and claims coordination are divided. Compare both proposals’ named insurers, wording, limits and total cost.
Compare Services
What each provider documents about the services you may need
| Criteria | Aon | Travelers |
|---|---|---|
| Business role | Aon’s U.S. Commercial Risk terms describe Commercial Risk Solutions U.S. as broker of record for certain insurance programs. Separate electronic-delivery terms name Aon Risk Services Companies, Inc. acting for itself and licensed brokerage subsidiaries to deliver arranged policies; the terms define an insurer as the policy issuer and risk bearer. These group-level descriptions do not identify the producer or authority for a particular placement. 1,2Company-reported. Company-reported U.S. Commercial Risk brokerage and electronic-delivery terms; certain programs only. No specific insured, licensed producer, appointment, policy issuer, state authority or placement was matched. | Travelers sells property-and-casualty insurance through its operating subsidiaries; The Travelers Companies, Inc. is the holding company, not the policy issuer. Policies may name The Travelers Indemnity Company or another affiliate. 42,43,35,21Verified. Group role as of 16 September 2026. The legal insurer on a buyer’s policy is the company named in that policy or binder, which can differ by product and state. Travelers says it primarily sells U.S. insurance through independent agents and brokers, whom it calls producers and who are not Travelers employees. It also owns Simply Business, Inc. and InsuraMatch, LLC, licensed digital independent agencies it says operate nationwide. 21,20,43Company-reported. U.S. distribution disclosure. Ownership of digital agencies does not establish that those agencies place technology business insurance for a given buyer, including in California. |
| Application process | For certain U.S. Commercial Risk programs, Aon says it consults with the client about market conditions, insurers to approach and program strategy, helps prepare underwriting information and applications, and obtains the client’s instructions to bind specific programs based on Aon’s proposal. The client signs applications that require a signature. 1Company-reported. Company-reported contractual terms for certain U.S. Commercial Risk programs; not a universal workflow, online checkout claim, insurer role or guarantee that a quote can bind. | Travelers tells business buyers to get a quote through an independent agent, using a public agency locator. Its 2025 Form 10-K says Select Accounts uses an automated underwriting platform so agents can quote, bind and issue a substantial amount of small-business risks, while more complex risks are underwritten with company personnel. Technology and CyberRisk Tech pages likewise tell buyers to consult an agent or Travelers representative; a direct public bind path for technology packages was not found on the reviewed pages. 20,37,15,17,43,36Company-reported. Application path described on contact, agent-locator, technology and 10-K sources. Automated small-commercial issuance is not evidence that a technology, D&O or cyber submission will quote or bind the same way. |
| Servicing and renewals | Aon says it consults with clients before placing or renewing coverage and, where applicable, administers the insurer relationship for selected programs, including billing, data reporting and negotiated requirements. The terms do not promise automatic renewal, a timetable, a specific market or a particular outcome. 1Company-reported. Company-reported terms for selected U.S. Commercial Risk programs; administration varies where applicable and may be changed by written agreement. | MyTravelers for Business lists online bill payment, claim reporting and tracking, policy documents and certificates. The page lists real-time certificates without a segment footnote. Footnote 1 qualifies display of limits, deductibles and policy changes for Select Accounts and National Programs Commercial Multi-Peril customers. Footnote 2 limits adding additional interests while creating a certificate to Select Accounts and National Programs Commercial Multi-Peril Service Center customers. 32,20Company-reported. Portal and contact descriptions as of 16 September 2026. Feature availability can differ by account segment; this is not a service-quality finding. |
| Claims assistance | Under Aon’s U.S. brokerage terms, the client is responsible for directly notifying insurers as its policies require unless a separate signed agreement says otherwise; Aon says it does not assume that notice or monitoring duty without a separate written agreement. This allocation does not determine whether Aon separately offers or agrees to claims advocacy or other claims-related services. 1,5,7Company-reported. Company-reported contractual allocation for covered U.S. Commercial Risk services; policy terms and any separate written agreement control. Aon separately describes claims advocacy on its D&O and cyber pages. | Travelers says business-insurance losses can be reported 24 hours a day, 365 days a year by contacting the agent, using the online claim system or MyTravelers for Business, or calling 800-238-6225. It describes a dedicated Technology claim unit staffed since 1998 with claim attorneys and insurance professionals. Those statements describe access paths and an internal unit; they do not establish claim outcomes or coverage decisions. 30,31,20Company-reported. Business claims and technology-claim sections accessed 16 September 2026. Reporting a claim is not the same as coverage being granted. |
| Fees and compensation | Aon’s U.S. brokerage terms say compensation may come from insurers or third parties and can vary by contract, insurer and arrangement. Aon and affiliates may also receive contingent and other compensation; contingent goals can create an incentive to place coverage with a particular insurer. Clients may request expected compensation information for their coverage and alternative quotes. The terms do not give a client-specific amount. 1Company-reported. General company-reported U.S. brokerage terms; actual compensation, fees and conflicts for a client or placement are not stated here and may depend on law or contract. | Travelers discloses that it generally pays independent producers a base commission as a percentage of premium, and may also pay contingent compensation, value-based amounts, production incentives, promotional reimbursements, strategic-relationship amounts or service fees. It might not pay all, or any, of those types on a given placement. Percentages vary by business, risk and state. Account-specific amounts are directed to the buyer’s agent or broker. 21Company-reported. U.S. producer-compensation disclosure accessed 16 September 2026. This describes what Travelers may pay producers, not a buyer-facing fee schedule. The reviewed public pages do not publish a standard premium, deductible schedule or buyer-paid broker fee for technology insurance. Travelers states that cost depends on coverage types, limits and the business’s risks, location and size, and tells buyers to work with an insurance professional. 19,39,21Not publicly disclosed. Business-insurance and workers-compensation marketing pages accessed 16 September 2026. Absence of a public price list is not evidence that coverage is free or that no fees apply. |
Sources
Aon Official Website
- Commercial Risk Solutions U.S. Brokerage Terms of Service. Aon; Lines 120–127: certain-program broker-of-record scope, consultation, application assistance, client signature and bind instruction, and account administration; lines 140–147: variable and contingent compensation, potential placement incentive, and client request route; lines 206–213: no price guarantee and surplus-lines limitations; lines 229–231: client insurer-notice duty unless separately agreed. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Aon Commercial Risk U.S. Electronic Disclosure and Consent Terms. Aon; Lines 120–125: Aon Risk Services Companies, Inc. acting for itself and licensed brokerage subsidiaries in electronic delivery; insurer is defined as issuer and risk bearer. The passage does not identify a producing entity or insurer for a particular placement. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Aon plc Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2025. Aon plc / U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission; Cover lines 23–34: Aon plc is incorporated in Ireland and gives Dublin as principal executive office; lines 261–263: global client breadth; lines 271–273 and segment discussion: company-reported Commercial Risk brokerage and risk-consulting operations. Filing is parent-level evidence, not placement producer, authority or insurer evidence. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Middle Market Clients. Aon; Lines 125–132: mid-sized organizations and middle-market framing; lines 165–173: dedicated practice and North America statement; lines 188–224: Commercial Risk capabilities. No numeric company-size cutoff or U.S.-only eligibility rule is stated on the reviewed page. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Directors’ and Officers’ (D&O) Liability Insurance. Aon; Lines 135–160: general covered allegations and Side A, B and C scenarios, including public/private differences; lines 171–185: insurer-selection analytics, brokerage/claims-team collaboration and management-liability specialization. Product explanation and company-reported services; not an Aon-issued policy or quote. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Professional Services Practice | Insurance Broking & Risk Management. Aon; Lines 125–128: global professional-services team and named law, accounting and consulting firm audience; lines 131–147: professional-liability/E&O offering and terminology; lines 151–176: cyber and EPL offerings, including management liability described at lines 158–163 as a partnership program/category; lines 180–189: professional-services P&C listing, including crime, fiduciary, kidnap and ransom, and automobile liability. “Loss Prevention” section (directly inspected passage at lines 209–212) conditions law-firm loss prevention on Aon broking of lawyers’ professional liability. Global practice page; no state-specific placement schedule. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Cyber Risk. Aon; Lines 194–205: cyber risk financing and cyber insurance; lines 206–230: claims advocacy/preparation and third-party incident-response providers, separate client contracts, no performance guarantee, and possible referral remuneration. Company-reported global service description. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Property Risk Management. Aon; Lines 132–140: property/buildings/contents and possible business-interruption cover, broker team services; lines 148–159: rates, retentions, limits, deductibles, benchmarking and U.S.-available Property Risk Analyzer; lines 161–168: global market access and alternate risk transfer. Tool availability does not establish placement availability or authority by state. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Marine Insurance and Risk Management. Aon; Lines 123–126: global marine practice, customer examples and marine claims/risk services; lines 155–175: cargo offerings including project cargo, general cargo, stock throughput, excess storage and freight/logistics. No U.S. placement terms, insurer, limits or state authority specified. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Commercial Surety. Aon; Lines 125–127: commercial surety bond description and three parties; lines 190–210: Aon says it approaches the surety market globally and describes its brokerage support, with offerings depending on jurisdiction; lines 211–222: examples of bond types. Global company marketing; no U.S. producing entity, state authority, issuer or placement terms. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- About | Aon. Aon; Aon’s company overview and Our Capabilities list distinguish Risk Capital from Human Capital and describe group-wide capabilities. General company identity context; not placement, authority or insurer evidence. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Broking and Risk Transfer | Aon. Aon; Explore Our Risk Transfer Offerings; Property & Casualty, Specialty, Management Liability and industry listings. Broad catalogue only; not sufficient for a dedicated line record by itself. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Financial and Executive Risks | Insurance Broking & Risk Management. Aon; Financial Services Group Overview; D&O, fiduciary, EPL and crime references plus policy design and insurer market knowledge. Broad category/source context; not sufficient by itself to establish a separate U.S. product. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Construction and Infrastructure Insurance and Risk Management. Aon; Lines 125–126: global construction practice designing and placing risk solutions; lines 137–156: industry-specific property, casualty, construction professional liability, subcontractor default and construction surety offerings; lines 167–195: global coverage areas explicitly list Builders Risk, general/umbrella/excess liability within construction liability, workers compensation and surety among other categories. These are construction-practice marketing statements; page does not provide U.S. state or placement availability for each line. Accessed 2026-09-29.
Travelers Official Website
- Technology Insurance. Travelers; Technology insurance products we offer: CyberRisk Tech, Global Companion Plus+, general liability, commercial property, workers compensation, commercial auto, umbrella; startup-to-established-leader audience. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Small Business Technology Services Insurance. Travelers; Technology services BOP inclusions; eligible small-business classes; EPL+ and World Business Essentials add-ons; independent-agent CTA. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Cyber Insurance for Technology and Life Sciences. Travelers; CyberRisk Tech product description; insuring agreements including technology E&O, privacy and security, media, regulatory proceedings and breach response; Cyber Risk Services; agent consultation CTA. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- IT Insurance. Travelers; IT audience (software, consultants, staffing, network integration) and listed products including CyberRisk Tech and employment practices liability. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Business and Commercial Insurance Policy Quotes. Travelers; Find an insurance agent CTA; product tiles including cyber, management and professional liability, BOP, surety, workers compensation; cost depends on risk factors; A.M. Best A++ company statement. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Contact Us. Travelers; Business insurance sold through independent agents; business claims 1.800.238.6225; MyTravelers for business features. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Travelers Producer Compensation Disclosure (United States). Travelers; Independent producers; seven compensation types; Simply Business, Inc. and InsuraMatch, LLC ownership; The Travelers Indemnity Company footer; Northfield Excess & Surplus Lines product list. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Management and Professional Liability Insurance. Travelers; Management & Professional Liability product selection: D&O, EPL, ERISA fidelity, E&O, fidelity and crime, fiduciary, kidnap and ransom; stand-alone or suite; private, public, nonprofit and financial institutions. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Directors and Officers (D&O) Liability Insurance. Travelers; D&O product description; independent-agent CTA; Travelers Casualty and Surety Company of America footer. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Fiduciary Liability Insurance. Travelers; Fiduciary liability offering for private, public, nonprofit and financial institutions; independent-agent CTA; Travelers Casualty and Surety Company of America footer. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Employment Practices Liability Insurance (EPL). Travelers; EPL product description for private, public, nonprofit and financial institutions; independent-agent CTA. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Fidelity & Crime Insurance. Travelers; Fidelity and crime insuring agreements including social engineering, computer fraud and employee dishonesty; Travelers Casualty and Surety Company of America footer. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Inland Marine Insurance. Travelers; Inland Marine products: construction and specialized property, property in transit, computers and electronics; Transportation, Cargo and Logistics. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Surety Bonds. Travelers; Listed bond types including bid/performance/payment, license and permit, and ERISA fidelity. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Equipment Breakdown Insurance Coverage. Travelers; EnergyMax 21 equipment-breakdown package, including high-tech businesses among stated audiences. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Business Insurance Claims. Travelers; 24/7/365 reporting via agent, online system or 800.238.6225; Technology claim unit since 1998; equipment-breakdown and inland marine claim units. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- File a Business Claim. Travelers; MyTravelers for Business login path to file a claim. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- MyTravelers for Business Online Self-Service Capabilities. Travelers; Pay bills, report and track claims, policy documents, certificates; footnotes limiting some features to Select Accounts and National Programs Commercial Multi-Peril customers. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Global Insurance for Technology and Life Sciences. Travelers; Global Companion Plus+ coverages; U.S. product described as non-admitted; INI network in over 150 countries; kidnap and ransom among listed coverages. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Global Insurance. Travelers; Global insurance for U.S. companies doing business abroad; Global Companion Plus+ versus Controlled Master Programs. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Who We Are. Travelers; Property-casualty insurer; more than 30,000 employees and 15,000 independent agents and brokers in the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom and Ireland. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Benefit from the Personal Attention of a Travelers Independent Agent. Travelers; Independent agents are not captive to one company; can help with claims and policy updates; Travelers.com/find agent CTA. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Find the nearest Travelers Insurance agency. Travelers; Public independent-agency locator for home, auto, business and renters insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Travelers Insurance agencies in CA. Travelers; Directory heading stating 1761 insurance agencies in California. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Workers Compensation Insurance. Travelers; Product description; buy via local Travelers agent; The Travelers Indemnity Company footer; monopolistic-state qualification. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Commercial Umbrella and Excess Liability Insurance. Travelers; Commercial Umbrella Insurance introduction; A/B umbrella, excess liability and Northfield excess and surplus lines; purchase through an independent agent. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Errors and Omissions Insurance (E&O). Travelers; Professional E&O offerings including miscellaneous professional liability; independent-agent CTA. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Travelers Investor Relations Corporate Profile. The Travelers Companies, Inc.; NYSE: TRV; property casualty insurance for auto, home and business sold primarily through independent agents and brokers; operations in the United States and selected international markets. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- The Travelers Companies, Inc. Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2025. U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission; Item 1 Business: holding company; Business Insurance distributed through independent agencies and brokers; Select Accounts automated quote/bind/issue for many small risks; Bond & Specialty distribution; California premium-share tables. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- California Department of Insurance company profile: Travelers Indemnity Company (The). California Department of Insurance; NAIC 25658; California Company ID 4772-0; authorized 06/17/2002; license status Unlimited-Normal; Connecticut domicile; Travelers Grp 3548; authorized lines including liability, fire, workers’ compensation and surety. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- California Department of Insurance company profile: Travelers Casualty and Surety Company of America. California Department of Insurance; NAIC 31194; California Company ID 2444-8; authorized 07/31/1981; license status Unlimited-Normal; Connecticut domicile; Travelers Grp 3548. Accessed 2026-09-16.




