Aon vs Travelers: How Do They Compare for D&O Insurance?

Travelers presents insurer-issued D&O; Aon describes broker-led structure and market selection. 3,7

What Is Aon?

Aon’s U.S. Commercial Risk terms describe brokerage for certain insurance programs, while its Middle Market page describes a dedicated practice for mid-sized organizations across North America. The public materials reviewed do not identify the licensed producer or insurer for a particular placement. Ask which entity will produce each line and which insurer will issue the policy; request jurisdiction details for the proposed placement and ask how compensation and claim notice work for your account. 1,2

Read the Aon profile

Read the Aon D&O Insurance page

What Is Travelers Insurance?

Travelers suits technology companies that want CyberRisk Tech and can work through an independent agent; buyers seeking a direct online technology quote should compare digital providers. Many small accounts can be quoted in agent platforms, while specialty risks need underwriting. 4,5,6

Read the Travelers profile

Read the Travelers D&O Insurance page

What Is Directors and Officers Insurance?

D&O insurance can help pay covered defense costs and losses from claims against company leaders over management decisions. If your organization has a board or executives, check whether the company itself is insured and whether legal bills reduce the limit. 8,9,10

Read the full coverage guide

Key Differences in D&O Insurance

Insurer Product and Broker Program

Travelers underwrites D&O through its Management & Professional Liability line, while Aon describes broking and program design. Travelers’ form can be evaluated against its quote; an Aon proposal depends on which carrier is selected. Compare Side A/B/C, entity coverage and whether D&O is bundled with other management lines. 3 7

Company Eligibility and Purchase Route

Travelers markets coverage to private, public, financial and nonprofit organizations and sells through independent agents. Aon describes public and private company services but does not publish a full eligibility schedule. Ask Travelers which product variant fits and Aon which insurers consider your structure. 3 7

What to Confirm in D&O Insurance Quotes

  • Ask Travelers which affiliate issues the policy and what entity coverage applies; ask Aon for the market list, limits and Side A/B/C terms. 3

Review Scores

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.

Aon

6.1/ 10

Review Score

3 rated sources

Public ratings for Aon are low: Trustpilot shows 1.2 out of 5 from 782 reviews, and BBB shows 1.6 from five. Aon is a global firm, so those pages mostly reflect other parts of the business, not large U.S. commercial accounts.[4][6][7]

Read Aon reviews

Travelers

4.8/ 10

Review Score

3 rated sources

Travelers earns 4.5/5 from NerdWallet, but customer feedback is poor: 1.4/5 on Trustpilot and 1.3/5 for homeowners on ConsumerAffairs. Those reviews mostly concern personal insurance.[1][2][4][5][6][7]

Read Travelers reviews

Offering Details

Aon vs Travelers: D&O Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaAon Directors and Officers Liability brokerage and risk-advisory offeringTravelers Directors & Officers (D&O) Liability Insurance
Role in This Line

Aon markets D&O broking and advisory services, including insurer selection and program design. It does not issue the described coverage or name the carrier for a buyer’s placement. 3Company-reported. Aon’s official global product/capability page. The statement is limited to Aon’s marketing of brokerage or advisory services, not policy issuance.

Travelers underwrites D&O liability insurance as part of its Management & Professional Liability line, sold standalone or alongside other management liability coverages. 7Company-reported. Product page general framing; confirmed against the broader Management and Professional Liability Insurance page.

Issuing Insurer

The reviewed page does not identify the insurer or the legal producing entity for a specific placement. Ask Aon to identify both for the quoted risk. 3Not found in reviewed sources. Aon’s global product/capability page reviewed 2026-09-30; no buyer quote, binder or policy was reviewed. This does not establish that no insurer or producing entity is available.

The product page's video disclosures name Travelers Casualty and Surety Company of America and its property casualty affiliates; the specific issuing entity for a given policy can vary. 7Company-reported. Product page video legal footer.

Who It’s For

Aon describes D&O services for public and private companies and discusses executives, directors, managers and board members. This is a target-audience description, not an underwriting eligibility schedule. 3Company-reported. Audience stated by Aon on its global capability page; this does not establish a specific applicant’s eligibility or placement availability by U.S. state.

Travelers markets D&O coverage to private companies, public companies, financial institutions and nonprofit organizations with boards of directors, and offers a version specifically for nonprofit organizations. 7Company-reported. Product page "Who is D&O liability insurance right for?" section and nonprofit D&O video segment.

Coverage Features

Aon explains D&O policies generally through Side A individual protection when company indemnity is unavailable, Side B reimbursement when the company indemnifies a director or officer, and Side C entity coverage, with different descriptions for public and private companies. It notes exclusions can apply; an issued policy determines the actual scope. 3Company-reported. Aon’s broker-authored explanation of the insurance line. It does not establish an individual insured’s policy entitlement; the insurer’s form, endorsements and declarations control.

Travelers says D&O insurance protects directors and officers from personal losses if sued by employees, vendors, customers or other parties, covering defense costs, settlements and other costs from wrongful-act allegations such as securities litigation, regulatory actions and breach-of-fiduciary-duty claims. 7Company-reported. Product page introduction and "Travelers knows Directors & Officers Liability Insurance" section; exact terms and exclusions are set by the issued policy.

Limits and Retentions

The reviewed page does not state a standard buyer-specific limit, retention or deductible for this placement. Confirm amounts, sublimits and conditions in the quote and issued policy. 3Not publicly disclosed. Aon’s global product/capability page reviewed 2026-09-30; no buyer quote or policy form was reviewed.

The reviewed page does not publish D&O limits, retentions or premiums; it references illustrative claim examples (settlements and defense costs from roughly $85,000 to over $1 million) as general risk context, not as policy terms. 7Not found in reviewed sources. Product page video claim scenarios as read on 2026-09-23.

Risk Services

Aon says its brokerage and claims teams collaborate on coverage negotiations and describes insurer-selection analytics and a D&O Risk Analyzer. Those are broker services, not an insurer claim decision or guarantee. 3Company-reported. Company-reported brokerage and advisory services. Account-specific service terms are not stated.

Confirm in your quote.

How to Apply

Confirm in your quote.

D&O coverage is bought through a Travelers independent agent. 7Company-reported. Product page "Find an insurance agent" call to action.

Full Comparison

More Aon vs Travelers Comparisons

Other D&O Insurance Comparisons

Sources

Aon

  1. Commercial Risk Solutions U.S. Brokerage Terms of Service. Aon; Lines 120–127: certain-program broker-of-record scope, consultation, application assistance, client signature and bind instruction, and account administration; lines 140–147: variable and contingent compensation, potential placement incentive, and client request route; lines 206–213: no price guarantee and surplus-lines limitations; lines 229–231: client insurer-notice duty unless separately agreed. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  2. Middle Market Clients. Aon; Lines 125–132: mid-sized organizations and middle-market framing; lines 165–173: dedicated practice and North America statement; lines 188–224: Commercial Risk capabilities. No numeric company-size cutoff or U.S.-only eligibility rule is stated on the reviewed page. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  3. Directors’ and Officers’ (D&O) Liability Insurance. Aon; D&O audience and coverage explanation, lines 123–160; insurer-selection, brokerage and claims collaboration, analytics and industry specialization, lines 171–189; contact link at top. Accessed 2026-09-30.

Travelers

  1. Technology Insurance. Travelers; Technology insurance products we offer: CyberRisk Tech, Global Companion Plus+, general liability, commercial property, workers compensation, commercial auto, umbrella; startup-to-established-leader audience. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Travelers Producer Compensation Disclosure (United States). Travelers; Independent producers; seven compensation types; Simply Business, Inc. and InsuraMatch, LLC ownership; The Travelers Indemnity Company footer; Northfield Excess & Surplus Lines product list. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Contact Us. Travelers; Business insurance sold through independent agents; business claims 1.800.238.6225; MyTravelers for business features. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Directors and Officers (D&O) Liability Insurance. Travelers; What Is Directors & Officers Liability Insurance?; Who is D&O liability insurance right for?; video legal footer naming Travelers Casualty and Surety Company of America. Accessed 2026-09-23.

D&O Insurance Guide

  1. Glossary of Business Insurance Terms. The Hartford; Directors and Officers Liability Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance; Employment Practices Liability Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. The Chubb Primary Directors & Officers and Entity Securities Liability Insurance. Chubb Group of Insurance Companies; hosted by eperils; I.A–C p.1; I.C p.1; I and III.A–B pp.1–2; VI Reporting pp.3–4. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Private Company Directors and Officers Liability Coverage. Travelers Casualty and Surety Company of America; I.A–C p.1; I.C p.1; Header p.1 and VI.A pp.6–7. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Get Help With Insurance Buying and Renewals.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot