Aon vs
The Baldwin Group: How Do They Compare for Kidnap and Ransom Insurance?
Aon presents Kidnap, Ransom and Extortion through its Professional Services Practice for law, accounting, and consulting firms, while The Baldwin Group Group lists kidnap/ransom among specialty risks for its real-estate clients, including owners, developers, managers, REITs, lenders, and family offices. 3,6
What Is Aon?
Aon’s U.S. Commercial Risk terms describe brokerage for certain insurance programs, while its Middle Market page describes a dedicated practice for mid-sized organizations across North America. The public materials reviewed do not identify the licensed producer or insurer for a particular placement. Ask which entity will produce each line and which insurer will issue the policy; request jurisdiction details for the proposed placement and ask how compensation and claim notice work for your account. 1,2
What Is the Baldwin Group?
Baldwin’s Insurance Advisory Solutions group describes commercial-risk and employee-benefit services for businesses and private-risk management for high-net-worth individuals and families; its business-insurance page outlines a five-step RiskMap process. 4,5
What Is Kidnap and Ransom Insurance?
Kidnap and ransom insurance provides financial protection for specified kidnapping and extortion events and gives the business access to a crisis-response firm. Check who is insured, which events are named, and how territory and sanctions terms apply to your actual travel. 7,8,9
Key Differences in Kidnap and Ransom Insurance
Professional-services brokerage and a real-estate K&R listing
Aon presents Kidnap, Ransom and Extortion through its Professional Services Practice for law, accounting, and consulting firms. The Baldwin Group Group lists kidnap/ransom among specialty risks for its real-estate clients, including owners, developers, managers, REITs, lenders, and family offices. A buyer should compare the stated sector contexts and ask each broker how its placement approach fits the organization’s travel and operating footprint. 3 6
Published scope and unresolved policy terms
Aon’s practice page lists K&R but does not describe insured events, response services, limits, or policy terms. The Baldwin Group likewise lists the line without publishing covered events, territories, or response-consultant terms. Neither listing establishes the protection a buyer receives, so request the proposed policy and service arrangements before deciding whether it meets the organization’s risk needs. 3 6
What to Confirm in Kidnap and Ransom Insurance Quotes
Review Scores
These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.
Aon
Review Score
3 rated sources
Public ratings for Aon are low: Trustpilot shows 1.2 out of 5 from 782 reviews, and BBB shows 1.6 from five. Aon is a global firm, so those pages mostly reflect other parts of the business, not large U.S. commercial accounts.[4][6][7]
Read Aon reviewsThe Baldwin Group
Review Score
The reviewed public sources do not establish a representative customer rating for The Baldwin Group’s commercial advisory business. BBB pages show different legal entities: an A+ regional insurance-agency grade with zero listed reviews and complaints for The Baldwin Group Mid-Atlantic, LLC, and an A- grade plus six complaints in three years for The Baldwin Group Personal Insurance, LLC. A 2026 personal-lines complaint describes delayed refund handling. A separate National General auto review mentions a Baldwin referral but concerns insurer policy administration. None of these observations supports a group-wide or commercial rating.[8][1][2][4][9][10]
Read The Baldwin Group reviewsOffering Details
Aon vs The Baldwin Group: Kidnap and Ransom Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | Aon Kidnap, Ransom and Extortion brokerage and risk-advisory offering | Baldwin Kidnap and Ransom Brokerage Advisory |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | Aon presents Kidnap, Ransom and Extortion as a line its Professional Services Practice helps arrange or advise on for professional-service firms. Aon is describing a global brokerage and advisory service, not issuing the underlying policy. The producing legal entity and carrier for any particular placement are not named on this page. 3Company-reported. Aon’s global professional-services practice page. This establishes a marketed brokerage/advisory offering, not policy issuance or account-specific placement. | The source describes The Baldwin Group’s brokerage or advisory role for Kidnap and Ransom. It does not identify Baldwin as the risk-bearing insurer for a particular placement. 6Company-reported. The cited company page describes its brokerage/advisory role and does not name the issuer for a buyer-specific placement. |
| Issuing Insurer | The reviewed practice page does not name the insurer or producing legal entity for a specific placement. Ask for both on the quote and binder. 3Not found in reviewed sources. Aon’s global practice page as reviewed 2026-09-30; no state-specific placement schedule or buyer quote was reviewed. This does not establish that Aon cannot arrange a placement. | Confirm in your quote. |
| Who It’s For | Aon identifies law, accounting and consulting firms as the audience for its global Professional Services Practice. That audience scope does not establish eligibility for every firm or other business. 3Company-reported. Audience described for Aon’s global professional-services practice. It does not establish U.S. state availability or underwriting eligibility for a placement. | Baldwin’s real-estate practice lists owners, developers, managers, REITs, lenders, private-equity firms and family offices among its clients. This source does not publish a K&R applicant eligibility or territorial schedule. 6Company-reported. This is the audience or client context named on Baldwin’s page, not an underwriting decision or guarantee of product availability. |
| Coverage Features | Aon lists Kidnap, Ransom and Extortion within its professional-services property-and-casualty coverage areas. The page does not describe covered events, response services, limits or policy terms. 3Company-reported. Aon’s marketing description of the brokerage/coverage area. The page is not the insurer’s policy form and does not establish an insured's entitlement to coverage. | Baldwin lists kidnap/ransom among professional and specialty risks in its real-estate coverage snapshot. It does not describe covered events, response services, territorial scope or policy entitlement. 6Company-reported. The statement reports Baldwin’s marketed coverage or advisory description only. No individual quote, binder, policy form, schedule or endorsement was reviewed; policy entitlement and terms remain unknown. |
| Limits and Retentions | The reviewed page does not state a buyer-specific limit, retention, deductible or other placement terms. Confirm these in the quote, bond or issued policy. 3Not publicly disclosed. Aon’s global practice page as reviewed 2026-09-30; no quote, bond form or issued policy was reviewed. | The reviewed source does not state a buyer-specific limit, retention, deductible or coverage schedule. Confirm the quote and issued policy or bond. 6Not publicly disclosed. No buyer quote, binder, policy or bond form was available in the reviewed public sources. |
| Risk Services | Aon says its professional-services advisors use industry knowledge, insights, data and tools to support risk-management and human-capital decisions. This is a company-described advisory service, not a claim outcome or policy benefit. 3Company-reported. Company-reported advisory services on Aon’s global practice page; account-specific service scope is not stated. | Baldwin describes risk management, tailored coverage strategies and claims advocacy for real-estate clients. It does not identify the K&R insurer or response-consultant terms for an account. 6Company-reported. These are company-described brokerage and risk-advisory services; account-specific service commitments and third-party terms are not established. |
Full Comparison
More Aon vs The Baldwin Group Comparisons
Other Kidnap and Ransom Insurance Comparisons
Sources
Aon
- Commercial Risk Solutions U.S. Brokerage Terms of Service. Aon; Lines 120–127: certain-program broker-of-record scope, consultation, application assistance, client signature and bind instruction, and account administration; lines 140–147: variable and contingent compensation, potential placement incentive, and client request route; lines 206–213: no price guarantee and surplus-lines limitations; lines 229–231: client insurer-notice duty unless separately agreed. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Middle Market Clients. Aon; Lines 125–132: mid-sized organizations and middle-market framing; lines 165–173: dedicated practice and North America statement; lines 188–224: Commercial Risk capabilities. No numeric company-size cutoff or U.S.-only eligibility rule is stated on the reviewed page. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Professional Services Practice. Aon; Named professional-services audiences and global advisory role, lines 125–128; line offerings and explanations lines 131–190; contact link lines 120–122. Global practice page; no U.S. state or account-specific placement schedule. Accessed 2026-09-30.
The Baldwin Group
- The Baldwin Insurance Group, Inc. Form 10-K for fiscal year ended December 31, 2025. U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission; filed by The Baldwin Insurance Group, Inc.; Part I, Item 1, “The Company,” lines 194–196; “Operating Groups,” lines 260–263; “Clients and Insurers,” lines 286–288; pp. 6–10; opened 2026-09-28. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Business Insurance. The Baldwin Group; RiskMap process, lines 40–68; Connect With Us consultation invitation, lines 182–187; accessed 2026-09-28. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Commercial Real Estate Insurance & Risk Management. The Baldwin Group; “Coverage designed to perform” and sections “Management & governance risk” / “Professional & specialty risk,” lines 120–150; coverage lines plus claims advocacy at lines 153–163; page accessed 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-30.
Kidnap and Ransom Insurance Guide
- Kidnap and Ransom Applications and Forms. Travelers; Opening; Applications; Sample policy forms. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- The Chubb Primary Kidnap Ransom and Extortion Insurance. Chubb; Opening; Kidnap, Ransom & Extortion Insurance Highlights. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Kidnap and Ransom Coverage. Travelers; I pp.1–2; III pp.3–9; IV p.9; V pp.10–13. Accessed 2026-09-16.




