What Is AIG?
AIG is the marketing name for American International Group, Inc.; AIG says its insurance products are written or provided by subsidiaries or affiliates. Its U.S. business pages list commercial casualty, property, cyber, management and professional liability, and specialty programs, but a brand-level page does not identify the insurer for a particular policy. 1,2
What Is the Baldwin Group?
Baldwin’s Insurance Advisory Solutions group describes commercial-risk and employee-benefit services for businesses and private-risk management for high-net-worth individuals and families; its business-insurance page outlines a five-step RiskMap process. 4,5
Read the The Baldwin Group profile
Read the The Baldwin Group Umbrella and Excess Liability Insurance page
What Is Umbrella and Excess Liability Insurance?
Umbrella or excess insurance adds liability limits above the policies named in the quote after a covered claim exhausts their limits. It may fit if a contract sets higher limits; check which primary policies are listed and any gaps between them. 8,9,10,11,12
Key Differences in Umbrella and Excess Liability Insurance
Structure and attachment
Baldwin lists umbrella and excess liability among possible coverages for digital-infrastructure clients and M&A portfolio companies, but does not identify underlying policies, attachment points, or follow-form terms. AIG describes lead umbrella, mid-excess, and high-excess positions and advertises up to $75 million of account capacity subject to underwriting. Ask Baldwin to specify the tower and AIG to confirm whether its capacity fits the same underlying program. 3 6
Capacity and account support
Baldwin describes program design, risk assessment, and claims management for its client segments. AIG names in-house risk experts and claims specialists, as well as litigation management. Buyers should clarify whether the selected advisor’s support spans insurer negotiations, tower integration, and claim escalation. 3 6
What to Confirm in Umbrella and Excess Liability Insurance Quotes
AIG and The Baldwin Group Review Scores for 2026
These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.
AIG Review Score
Review Score
2 rated sources
Customer ratings for AIG are low: Trustpilot shows 1.9 out of 5 from 252 reviews, and NerdWallet gives 2.5 stars and notes more claims complaints than expected. These pages cover many AIG products and countries, so they only loosely describe business insurance.[1][2]
Read AIG reviewsThe Baldwin Group Review Score
Review Score
No reviews found
The reviewed public sources do not establish a representative customer rating for The Baldwin Group’s commercial advisory business. BBB pages show different legal entities: an A+ regional insurance-agency grade with zero listed reviews and complaints for The Baldwin Group Mid-Atlantic, LLC, and an A- grade plus six complaints in three years for The Baldwin Group Personal Insurance, LLC. A 2026 personal-lines complaint describes delayed refund handling. A separate National General auto review mentions a Baldwin referral but concerns insurer policy administration. None of these observations supports a group-wide or commercial rating.[8][1][2][4][9][10]
Read The Baldwin Group reviewsAIG vs The Baldwin Group Umbrella and Excess Liability Compared
AIG vs The Baldwin Group: Umbrella and Excess Liability Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | AIG Excess Casualty and Lead Umbrella | Baldwin Umbrella and Excess Liability Brokerage Advisory |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | AIG markets admitted and non-admitted excess casualty capacity, including lead umbrella, mid-excess and high-excess positions. The legal insurer and structure for a specific tower are account-specific. 3Company-reported. Role in this product is limited to the description on the linked AIG source. | The source describes The Baldwin Group’s brokerage or advisory role for Umbrella and Excess Liability. It does not identify Baldwin as the risk-bearing insurer for a particular placement. 6,7Company-reported. The cited company page describes its brokerage/advisory role and does not name the issuer for a buyer-specific placement. |
| Who It’s For | AIG describes lead umbrella, mid-excess and high-excess placements for a wide range of accounts, including small-business and corporate risks. It does not state an account-specific appetite or attachment eligibility. 3Company-reported. Audience is the segment AIG names on the linked source; this is not an underwriting decision, quote or guarantee of availability. | Baldwin lists umbrella/excess liability among possible digital-infrastructure coverages and a complete P&C strategy for M&A portfolio companies. The pages do not establish an insured’s eligibility. 6,7Company-reported. This is the audience or client context named on Baldwin’s page, not an underwriting decision or guarantee of product availability. |
| Coverage Features | AIG describes excess liability protection against severe liabilities and lead umbrella placements that may integrate with other casualty lines. The exact underlying policies, attachment points and follow-form terms depend on the placement. 3Company-reported. AIG’s public product description is not the policy. Actual entitlement depends on the applicable issued form, endorsements and declarations. | Baldwin lists umbrella and excess liability as coverage options in those commercial programs. It does not identify underlying policies, attachment points, follow-form terms or limits. 6,7Company-reported. The statement reports Baldwin’s marketed coverage or advisory description only. No individual quote, binder, policy form, schedule or endorsement was reviewed; policy entitlement and terms remain unknown. |
| Limits and Retentions | AIG advertises up to $75 million total capacity on an individual-account basis, subject to underwriting. This is not a standard or guaranteed limit for a buyer. 3Not publicly disclosed. This statement reports only what the linked public source discloses and does not substitute for a quote or issued policy. | The reviewed source does not state a buyer-specific limit, retention, deductible or coverage schedule. Confirm the quote and issued policy or bond. 6,7Not publicly disclosed. No buyer quote, binder, policy or bond form was available in the reviewed public sources. |
| Risk Services | AIG describes in-house risk experts, claims specialists, litigation-management strategies and integration with domestic and foreign casualty platforms. Those services do not change policy wording. 3Company-reported. The linked page describes company-reported support; specific account services and third-party arrangements must be confirmed. | Baldwin describes risk assessment, program design, claims management and support for digital-infrastructure clients and portfolio companies. 6,7Company-reported. These are company-described brokerage and risk-advisory services; account-specific service commitments and third-party terms are not established. |
Related Pages for AIG vs The Baldwin Group
Umbrella and Excess Liability Pages for AIG and The Baldwin Group
Other Coverage Lines Compared for AIG vs The Baldwin Group
Other Umbrella and Excess Liability Insurance Provider Comparisons
Sources for AIG vs The Baldwin Group
Sources About AIG
- Investor Relations. American International Group, Inc. (AIG); About AIG and legal footer; lines 244–246 and 327–331. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Business. AIG US; Surplus Lines heading and paragraph, lines 357–359. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Excess Casualty Insurance. AIG; Official AIG Excess Casualty page: admitted/non-admitted options, lead umbrella/mid/high excess placements, advertised per-account capacity subject to underwriting, domestic/foreign integration, risk and claims services. Accessed 2026-09-30.
Sources About The Baldwin Group
- The Baldwin Insurance Group, Inc. Form 10-K for fiscal year ended December 31, 2025. U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission; filed by The Baldwin Insurance Group, Inc.; Part I, Item 1, “The Company,” lines 194–196; “Operating Groups,” lines 260–263; “Clients and Insurers,” lines 286–288; pp. 6–10; opened 2026-09-28. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Business Insurance. The Baldwin Group; RiskMap process, lines 40–68; Connect With Us consultation invitation, lines 182–187; accessed 2026-09-28. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- M&A, Private Equity & VC Risk Management. The Baldwin Group; Transactional-risk insurance and placement claims lines 72–80; P&C line list lines 101–116; accessed 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-30.
- Digital Infrastructure. The Baldwin Group; “Products designed to perform,” lines 145–178, lists property, builders’ risk, equipment breakdown, workers’ compensation, commercial general liability, commercial auto, cyber, inland/ocean marine, management liability, umbrella/excess, and other lines for digital-infrastructure exposures; accessed 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-30.
Sources for the Umbrella and Excess Liability Insurance Guide
- Liability Insurance. Insurance Information Institute; Heading Umbrella Liability Insurance; sentence Umbrella Liability—also known as Excess Liability Insurance; underlying policies listed with limits; typically GL, auto and employers’ liability; starts when a covered loss exhausts the primary per occurrence limit; Most umbrella policies exclude EPL, professional liability, product recall, workers compensation, asbestos, pollution, war and terrorism. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Commercial Insurance Guide. California Department of Insurance; Commercial Umbrella; excess over a basic liability policy; auto/CGL/WC or any liability policy can be covered; may respond if basic policy not in force or for gaps; SIR when no underlying. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Lines of Insurance. California Department of Insurance; Umbrella or Excess Liability Policy: excess limits over existing liability; may provide additional coverages not provided by underlying policies. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Coverage Hub. Coverdash; Excess & Specialty: Umbrella; Excess Liability. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Products. Kinro; 09 Umbrella/Excess: additional limits above scheduled underlying policies; when to review; reviewed with. Accessed 2026-09-16.





