AIG vs Aon: How Do They Compare for Kidnap and Ransom Insurance?

AIG names corporate and higher-risk industry audiences and describes crisis-response resources; Aon’s cited practice focuses on law, accounting and consulting firms and does not set policy terms. 3,6

What Is AIG?

AIG is the marketing name for American International Group, Inc.; AIG says its insurance products are written or provided by subsidiaries or affiliates. Its U.S. business pages list commercial casualty, property, cyber, management and professional liability, and specialty programs, but a brand-level page does not identify the insurer for a particular policy. 1,2

Read the AIG profile

Read the AIG Kidnap and Ransom Insurance page

What Is Aon?

Aon’s U.S. Commercial Risk terms describe brokerage for certain insurance programs, while its Middle Market page describes a dedicated practice for mid-sized organizations across North America. The public materials reviewed do not identify the licensed producer or insurer for a particular placement. Ask which entity will produce each line and which insurer will issue the policy; request jurisdiction details for the proposed placement and ask how compensation and claim notice work for your account. 4,5

Read the Aon profile

Read the Aon Kidnap and Ransom Insurance page

What Is Kidnap and Ransom Insurance?

Kidnap and ransom insurance provides financial protection for specified kidnapping and extortion events and gives the business access to a crisis-response firm. Check who is insured, which events are named, and how territory and sanctions terms apply to your actual travel. 7,8,9

Read the full coverage guide

Key Differences in Kidnap and Ransom Insurance

Policy offering and professional-services brokerage

AIG markets CrisiSolution as a corporate Kidnap, Ransom and Extortion policy for businesses, individuals and high-net-worth families, naming sectors such as energy, mining, maritime and NGOs. Aon’s cited Professional Services Practice helps law, accounting and consulting firms arrange or receive advice on K&R. A professional-services firm should distinguish AIG’s described policy and audience from Aon’s brokerage and advisory role, then verify whether each market fits its locations and staff. 3 6

Response services and policy terms

AIG describes covered-event examples including kidnapping, extortion, wrongful detention, hijacking, threats and hostage events, and lists crisis planning, training, global claims professionals and 24/7 contact resources. Aon lists K&R as a coverage area but its reviewed page does not describe covered events or response services. Ask Aon which insurer and response consultant would be proposed; get AIG’s specific wording and service arrangements. 3 6

Pre-incident advice and response distinction

Aon describes risk-advisory support using industry knowledge, data and tools, while AIG names Crisis24 and MBL Global among response resources. Advisory support and incident response are different services; ask what is available before, during and after an event, who may authorize response costs, and which entity issues the policy. 6 3

What to Confirm in Kidnap and Ransom Insurance Quotes

  • Which AIG policy, issuing insurer, territorial terms and response services apply to your people and travel?
  • Which Aon carrier and crisis-response provider would be proposed, and what are the policy limits and consent requirements?

Review Scores

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.

AIG

4.4/ 10

Review Score

2 rated sources

Customer ratings for AIG are low: Trustpilot shows 1.9 out of 5 from 252 reviews, and NerdWallet gives 2.5 stars and notes more claims complaints than expected. These pages cover many AIG products and countries, so they only loosely describe business insurance.[1][2]

Read AIG reviews

Aon

6.1/ 10

Review Score

3 rated sources

Public ratings for Aon are low: Trustpilot shows 1.2 out of 5 from 782 reviews, and BBB shows 1.6 from five. Aon is a global firm, so those pages mostly reflect other parts of the business, not large U.S. commercial accounts.[4][6][7]

Read Aon reviews

Offering Details

AIG vs Aon: Kidnap and Ransom Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaAIG CrisiSolution Kidnap, Ransom and Extortion InsuranceAon Kidnap, Ransom and Extortion brokerage and risk-advisory offering
Role in This Line

AIG markets CrisiSolution as its main corporate Kidnap, Ransom and Extortion policy and also describes related package and endorsement routes. The issuing insurer for a specific placement is not named on the overview. 3Company-reported. Role in this product is limited to the description on the linked AIG source.

Aon presents Kidnap, Ransom and Extortion as a line its Professional Services Practice helps arrange or advise on for professional-service firms. Aon is describing a global brokerage and advisory service, not issuing the underlying policy. The producing legal entity and carrier for any particular placement are not named on this page. 6Company-reported. Aon’s global professional-services practice page. This establishes a marketed brokerage/advisory offering, not policy issuance or account-specific placement.

Issuing Insurer

Confirm in your quote.

The reviewed practice page does not name the insurer or producing legal entity for a specific placement. Ask for both on the quote and binder. 6Not found in reviewed sources. Aon’s global practice page as reviewed 2026-09-30; no state-specific placement schedule or buyer quote was reviewed. This does not establish that Aon cannot arrange a placement.

Who It’s For

AIG describes CrisiSolution for corporate businesses, individuals and high-net-worth families, with examples of higher-risk industries such as energy, mining, maritime, multinationals, charities and NGOs. This is not a guarantee of account eligibility or worldwide local placement. 3Company-reported. Audience is the segment AIG names on the linked source; this is not an underwriting decision, quote or guarantee of availability.

Aon identifies law, accounting and consulting firms as the audience for its global Professional Services Practice. That audience scope does not establish eligibility for every firm or other business. 6Company-reported. Audience described for Aon’s global professional-services practice. It does not establish U.S. state availability or underwriting eligibility for a placement.

Coverage Features

AIG describes primary and excess coverage examples for kidnapping, extortion, wrongful detention, hijacking, threats, disappearance and hostage events, with certain additional extensions. Each extension remains subject to its policy wording and conditions. 3Company-reported. AIG’s public product description is not the policy. Actual entitlement depends on the applicable issued form, endorsements and declarations.

Aon lists Kidnap, Ransom and Extortion within its professional-services property-and-casualty coverage areas. The page does not describe covered events, response services, limits or policy terms. 6Company-reported. Aon’s marketing description of the brokerage/coverage area. The page is not the insurer’s policy form and does not establish an insured's entitlement to coverage.

Limits and Retentions

The public product overview does not state a buyer-specific limit, retention or sublimit schedule. Confirm those and any applicable consent requirements in the quote and issued policy. 3Not publicly disclosed. This statement reports only what the linked public source discloses and does not substitute for a quote or issued policy.

The reviewed page does not state a buyer-specific limit, retention, deductible or other placement terms. Confirm these in the quote, bond or issued policy. 6Not publicly disclosed. Aon’s global practice page as reviewed 2026-09-30; no quote, bond form or issued policy was reviewed.

Risk Services

AIG lists crisis-planning, training and response support through Crisis24 and MBL Global, along with global claims professionals and a 24/7 contact resource. Some response services are supplied by outside providers. 3Company-reported. The linked page describes company-reported support; specific account services and third-party arrangements must be confirmed.

Aon says its professional-services advisors use industry knowledge, insights, data and tools to support risk-management and human-capital decisions. This is a company-described advisory service, not a claim outcome or policy benefit. 6Company-reported. Company-reported advisory services on Aon’s global practice page; account-specific service scope is not stated.

Full Comparison

More AIG vs Aon Comparisons

Other Kidnap and Ransom Insurance Comparisons

Sources

AIG

  1. Investor Relations. American International Group, Inc. (AIG); About AIG and legal footer; lines 244–246 and 327–331. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  2. Business. AIG US; Surplus Lines heading and paragraph, lines 357–359. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  3. Kidnap, Ransom & Extortion Insurance. AIG; Official AIG CrisiSolution page, lines 242–275: product and covered-event examples, named corporate/individual/family audiences, extensions, response services and standard-policy caveat. Accessed 2026-09-30.

Aon

  1. Commercial Risk Solutions U.S. Brokerage Terms of Service. Aon; Lines 120–127: certain-program broker-of-record scope, consultation, application assistance, client signature and bind instruction, and account administration; lines 140–147: variable and contingent compensation, potential placement incentive, and client request route; lines 206–213: no price guarantee and surplus-lines limitations; lines 229–231: client insurer-notice duty unless separately agreed. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  2. Middle Market Clients. Aon; Lines 125–132: mid-sized organizations and middle-market framing; lines 165–173: dedicated practice and North America statement; lines 188–224: Commercial Risk capabilities. No numeric company-size cutoff or U.S.-only eligibility rule is stated on the reviewed page. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  3. Professional Services Practice. Aon; Named professional-services audiences and global advisory role, lines 125–128; line offerings and explanations lines 131–190; contact link lines 120–122. Global practice page; no U.S. state or account-specific placement schedule. Accessed 2026-09-30.

Kidnap and Ransom Insurance Guide

  1. Kidnap and Ransom Applications and Forms. Travelers; Opening; Applications; Sample policy forms. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. The Chubb Primary Kidnap Ransom and Extortion Insurance. Chubb; Opening; Kidnap, Ransom & Extortion Insurance Highlights. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Kidnap and Ransom Coverage. Travelers; I pp.1–2; III pp.3–9; IV p.9; V pp.10–13. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Get Help With Insurance Buying and Renewals.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot