Nationwide vs
The Hartford: How Do They Compare for Business Owner’s Policy?
The Hartford bundles property, liability, and business income, says buyers can add workers’ compensation, professional liability, auto, data breach, and off-premises utility income coverage, and offers online or phone quotes. Nationwide describes liability, property, income, and equipment breakdown. 8,4
What Is Nationwide?
Nationwide’s commercial catalogue includes common small-business policies and separate specialty products. A catalogue listing does not establish eligibility or policy terms; confirm the issuing company and coverage for your state and business. 1,2,3
What Is The Hartford?
The Hartford suits SaaS and software small businesses seeking a BOP and an online quote; buyers needing commercial auto through self-service or built-in California EPL coverage should use another route. Eligible small-business quotes can start online in minutes. 5,6,7
What Is a Business Owner’s Policy?
A BOP may suit an eligible small business that wants property, liability and lost-income protection together. If you also need auto, workers’ compensation or professional liability, plan for separate coverage. 9,10
Key Differences in Business Owner’s Policy
BOP Add-ons and Industry Fit
The Hartford says its base BOP combines commercial property, general liability, and business income, while workers' compensation, professional liability, commercial auto, and data breach are not included unless added. It also lists off-premises utility business-income coverage as an available addition and says the package can be customized for industries. Nationwide describes liability, property, income, and equipment breakdown but does not list comparable add-ons in its overview. If your operation depends on utilities or needs those separate lines, ask each for a complete endorsement schedule. 8 8 4
Quote Route and Published Price
The Hartford offers an online quote flow and a phone route, and reports customers paid an average of $1,687 per year; it does not publish standard limits or deductibles with that figure. Nationwide directs buyers to an agent or quote request and its overview does not state a price. The Hartford's average is context, not a comparable premium: ask both for quotes with the same property values, limits, deductibles, and add-ons before weighing cost. 8 8 4
What to Confirm in Business Owner’s Policy Quotes
Review Scores
These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.
Nationwide
Review Score
4 rated sources
Experts like Nationwide more than customers do. NerdWallet gives it 4.5 out of 5 for business insurance, while small-business customers on ConsumerAffairs give it 2.5 out of 5 from 19 reviews.[1][10]
Read Nationwide reviewsThe Hartford
Review Score
5 rated sources
The Hartford’s service record is mixed: NerdWallet rates it 4.5/5 but reports below-average small-business satisfaction. Low Trustpilot ratings add a service concern, although they mix policy types.[1][2][4][5][6][7]
Read The Hartford reviewsOffering Details
Nationwide vs The Hartford: Business Owner’s Policy: documented features by provider
| Criteria | Nationwide business owners policy (official overview) | The Hartford Business Owner's Policy (BOP) |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | Nationwide describes offering business owners policy for the audience stated on the cited product page. 4Company-reported. business owners policy marketed by nationwide; scope is limited to the cited official product overview and described audience. This is not a policy form or a universal eligibility statement. | The Hartford's BOP bundles commercial property insurance, general liability insurance and business income (interruption) coverage into one policy, rather than requiring three separate policies. 8Company-reported. BOP product page as read 2026-09-23. |
| Issuing Insurer | Confirm in your quote. | The BOP page does not name which Hartford property-and-casualty subsidiary would issue a given buyer's policy; the Legal Notice says coverages may be offered by one or more of several listed subsidiaries depending on product and jurisdiction. 8,5Not publicly disclosed. BOP page and Legal Notice as read 2026-09-23. |
| Who It’s For | Small businesses matching the source's BOP description; underwriting and state availability remain subject to quote. 4Company-reported. business owners policy marketed by nationwide; scope is limited to the cited official product overview and described audience. This is not a policy form or a universal eligibility statement. | The Hartford says a BOP fits a business that has a physical location, faces a possibility of being sued, or has assets that could be stolen or damaged, and can be customized for specific industries. 8Company-reported. BOP product page as read 2026-09-23. |
| Coverage Features | The cited product page describes a package combining business liability, commercial property, business income, and equipment-breakdown coverage as described by Nationwide. Marketing description only; actual coverage, exclusions, conditions, limits, and availability depend on the issued policy and jurisdiction. 4Company-reported. business owners policy marketed by nationwide; scope is limited to the cited official product overview and described audience. This is not a policy form or a universal eligibility statement. | The Hartford says a BOP does not itself include workers' compensation, professional liability, commercial auto or data breach coverage, but these can be added on top of the base policy, along with off-premises utility business-income coverage. 8Company-reported. BOP product page as read 2026-09-23. |
| Limits and Retentions | The cited overview does not set a universal limit or retention for this line. Ask for the proposed policy form, limits, retentions, exclusions, and conditions in the quote. 4Not publicly disclosed. Only the cited marketing page was reviewed for published limit and retention information; no policy-form entitlement is inferred. | The Hartford reports its customers paid an average of $1,687 a year (about $141 a month) for a BOP; the page does not publish standard coverage limits or deductibles, since actual limits are set at quote or issue. 8Company-reported. Company-reported average as of 2026-09-23; described on the page as an estimate, not a quote for any specific business. |
| How to Apply | The page directs prospective customers to contact an agent or request a quote. The page does not establish a quote, bind, or coverage-effective timeline. 4Company-reported. business owners policy marketed by nationwide; scope is limited to the cited official product overview and described audience. This is not a policy form or a universal eligibility statement. | The Hartford offers an online quote flow for a BOP, described as customizable by adding coverages; buyers can also call a listed phone number to start a quote. 8Company-reported. BOP product page as read 2026-09-23. Quote availability observed without completing a purchase. |
Full Comparison
More Nationwide vs The Hartford Comparisons
Other Business Owner’s Policy Comparisons
Sources
Nationwide
- Small Business Insurance. Nationwide; Small business products and solutions, lines 185–214: BOP, workers’ compensation, commercial auto, umbrella, EPLI, cyber and surety; purchase guidance lines 235–247. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Small Business Insurance Solutions for Agents. Nationwide; Specialized small commercial solutions: BOP, auto, workers’ compensation, cyber, EPLI, umbrella, inland marine and professional liability; page states appetite varies by state, lines 129–163, 191–193. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Terms and Conditions for Nationwide.com. Nationwide; P&C products not offered by all companies/states; policy/declarations control; NMI and affiliates may underwrite; each underwriter responsible for own products, lines 358–368 and 391–394. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Business Owners Policy (BOP Insurance). Nationwide; BOP page; package components and business property/liability coverage. Accessed 2026-09-30.
The Hartford
- Legal Notice. The Hartford; P&C writing-company table; statement that coverages may be offered by one or more subsidiaries of The Hartford Insurance Group, Inc. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- SaaS Insurance for Your Business. The Hartford; Audience list (software startups, SaaS, IT consulting); Get a Business Owner’s Policy; What Is Business Owner’s Policy Insurance?; general liability introduction and Get a Quote; Get Commercial Property Insurance; Commercial Property Insurance for Your Business; Benefits of The Hartford’s WC Insurance for Employers and Employees; cyber insurance and data breach descriptions; Get a quote for cyber insurance; EPLI introduction and Private Choice Premier; add-ons (workers’ compensation, data breach, commercial auto); technology professional liability mention; small-business availability banner; industry-average premium footnote; footnote 2 state restrictions; footer product-availability disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Find a Local Insurance Agent. The Hartford; Small-business and midsize agent locators; FAQ that buyers can purchase without an agent by calling or quoting online; statement that agents may charge fees. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Business Owner's Policy (BOP) Insurance. The Hartford; What Is Business Owner's Policy Insurance?; What Is Included in a Business Owner's Policy?; Additional Coverages You Can Add; Who Needs a Business Owner's Policy?; How Much Does a BOP Cost?; BOP vs. General Liability comparison. Accessed 2026-09-23.
Business Owner’s Policy Guide
- Small Business. National Association of Insurance Commissioners; FAQ: What’s a business owners policy?; What’s general liability insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Business Interruption and Business Owner Policy. National Association of Insurance Commissioners; Background; General liability, Commercial property and Business interruption bullets. Accessed 2026-09-16.





