Introduction
Coverage Comparison
| Coverage | Layr | Nationwide |
|---|---|---|
| Builders risk | Not listed | Listed 19Nationwide lists builders risk among inland-marine products. The page does not establish project-specific coverage periods, valuation, or exclusions. |
| Business owner’s policy | Not listed | Listed 17,15Nationwide markets a BOP for eligible small businesses and describes property and liability elements with optional additions; actual coverage is controlled by policy forms. |
| Cargo and transit | Not listed | Listed 19Nationwide lists motor truck cargo among inland-marine products. This is not evidence of broad cargo coverage or any particular commodity/route acceptance. |
| Commercial auto | Not listed | Listed 15,16Nationwide lists commercial auto in its small-business product catalogue. We couldn’t review the dedicated product page, so no vehicle, driver, or state terms are inferred. |
| Commercial property | Not listed | Listed 20,28Nationwide markets commercial property for business buildings and contents; property values, covered causes, limits, and exclusions depend on the policy. |
| Crime | Not listed | Listed 24,26Nationwide markets commercial crime insurance and management-liability crime products; exact insuring agreements and fidelity form are not established here. |
| Cyber liability | Not listed | Listed 22,15Nationwide markets cyber liability and data-breach insurance to business customers; quote and policy terms determine eligibility and coverage. |
| Directors and officers | Not listed | Listed 27,26Nationwide Management Liability & Specialty markets a distinct D&O product. The reviewed materials do not establish issuer or form for a particular risk. |
| Employment practices liability | Not listed | Listed 21,26Nationwide markets EPLI through small-business and management-liability channels; the reviewed pages do not establish a standard grant or eligibility. |
| Equipment breakdown | Not listed | Listed 17,28Nationwide presents equipment breakdown under its BOP coverages; the individual policy controls inclusion and terms. |
| Fiduciary liability | Not listed | Listed 26Nationwide Management Liability & Specialty lists fiduciary liability as a distinct commercial-liability product; terms and availability remain quote-specific. |
| General liability | Not listed | Listed 28,17Nationwide lists general liability in its professional-office package description and BOP materials; this establishes marketing only, not standalone availability or policy scope. |
| Management liability | Not listed | Listed 26,27Nationwide Management Liability & Specialty markets multiple distinct management-liability products, including D&O, fiduciary, crime, and EPLI; no single bundled form is inferred. |
| Professional errors and omissions (E&O) | Not listed | Listed 25,16Nationwide markets professional E&O for professional-service exposures. This does not establish technology E&O or any particular profession’s acceptance. |
| Surety bonds | Not listed | Listed 23,15Nationwide markets commercial surety bonds. A bond is a contractual guarantee and is not interchangeable with an insurance policy. |
| Tools, equipment and inland marine | Not listed | Listed 19,16Nationwide markets inland-marine products including contractor equipment and installation floaters; product availability and covered property vary. |
| Umbrella and excess liability | Not listed | Listed 15,16Nationwide lists commercial umbrella for small businesses. Reviewed catalogue evidence does not establish attachment, limits, underlying requirements, or a specific excess form. |
| Workers’ compensation | Not listed | Listed 18,15Nationwide markets workers’ compensation and describes state-variable benefits and services. State law, policy, and employer eligibility govern. |
A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means this catalogue has no separate offering recorded; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.
Current Spot Scores
Each score uses the rubric for that provider’s documented role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.
Layr
BrokerBroker
5.6/ 10Assessed provider: Layr. Scope: Layr Holdings, Inc. as a broker-facing insurance technology and licensed support/agency operation, with the platform's broker-of-record and commission workflow; no carrier underwriting or policyholder-surplus role is included.
Nationwide
CarrierCarrier & MGA
No Spot Score
Assessment subject unavailable
Review Scores
These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.
Layr
Review Score
Layr has no customer reviews of its insurance service yet. Its Trustpilot profile has no reviews, and its only rating is one review of its broker software.[11][10]
Read Layr reviewsNationwide
Review Score
4 rated sources
Experts like Nationwide more than customers do. NerdWallet gives it 4.5 out of 5 for business insurance, while small-business customers on ConsumerAffairs give it 2.5 out of 5 from 19 reviews.[1][10]
Read Nationwide reviewsKey Differences Between Layr and Nationwide
Business Roles and Access to Insurers
For this pair, first decide whether the documented access route fits how you want to buy. Layr’s role evidence is specific to its distribution or underwriting position; Nationwide’s record describes a different business route. Ask who handles your submission, who issues each policy, and who will service changes after binding. 9 15
Business Fit and Listed Products
Compare the business segments each company says it serves with your operations, locations and risk profile. A marketed audience can help you choose where to apply, but it does not confirm your eligibility. 2 15
The current records do not show a shared listed coverage line. Treat the pair as a comparison of different purchasing routes and request written product details before treating the options as substitutes. Layr's current record lists no coverage lines; Nationwide also lists builders risk, business owners policies, cargo, commercial auto, commercial property. These are catalogue differences, not proof that one company excludes a line or that listed products are equivalent. Ask for the proposed forms and schedule side by side. 4 15
Application and Account Service
Layr describes an online workflow in which a small-business owner assesses and selects coverage, pays, and then has the submission sent to underwriting. Current pages use different speed claims—10 minutes on New Business Capture and 12 minutes in a 2024 announcement—so neither figure establishes the time to receive or bind an actual quote. 4,11Conflicting sources. Company-described digital workflow. No form was completed and no quote, payment or underwriting decision was requested during research.
Nationwide says small-business buyers can start an online quote and then call or work with an agent to purchase. Its BOP page says a quote can be started online; this does not establish online binding for every product or applicant. 15,17Company-reported. Official small-commercial and BOP pages; no application was submitted or purchase flow completed.
The application facts show different entry points for this pair. A quote request or agent portal is not itself a binder; get the named issuing insurer, quote terms and written effective-date confirmation before relying on coverage. 4 15
Managing Changes, Claims, and Renewal
Layr markets a white-labeled portal with licensed support and broker dashboard updates for policies, renewals, claims and payments. A company release also describes policyholder access to documents, quotes, claims, certificates, bills and electronic payments. 5,12Company-reported. Company-described platform functions. No authenticated broker or policyholder account was accessed, and no service-time commitment was independently tested.
Nationwide describes a 24/7 online business account for policy management, claims filing/tracking, documents and billing; if a certificate is not in the account, it directs customers to request one online or contact an agent. 29Company-reported. Company-described account features; access depends on policy/account and does not measure service quality.
Ask who owns post-bind policy changes, certificates, claims reporting and renewal outreach. A quote channel does not establish those service steps; compare the contact and timing you receive in writing.
What to Confirm in Quotes
- Which insurer and legal entity will issue each policy, and where can that exact product be quoted? Catalogue and licensing statements do not answer risk-specific eligibility. 9 15
- Because these catalogue records show no shared line, ask each company which product would address the same exposure before comparing terms. Compare limits, retention or deductible, exclusions, retroactive date where relevant, and endorsements; catalogue labels do not establish equivalent protection. 4 15
- Ask what the application requires, what underwriting follow-up to expect, and who handles certificates, policy changes and renewal after binding 4 15
Compare Services
What each provider documents about the services you may need
| Criteria | Layr | Nationwide |
|---|---|---|
| Business role | Layr Holdings, Inc. operates withlayr.com and markets the Layr Apex platform and licensed support service. Public materials describe Layr handling sales, service and support while its brokerage customer keeps the broker-of-record relationship; they do not identify Layr as the insurer underwriting every policy. 9,1,2,5Company-reported. Entity and functional roles in current public materials. The precise producer role can depend on the partner arrangement and proposed policy. The reviewed sources identify Layr Holdings, Inc., its leaders and several investors, but do not disclose a current controlling parent or ownership percentages. 9,10,12Not found in reviewed sources. Current website operator and public ownership review. Investor participation is not treated as control, and no independence claim is made. Layr says a participating brokerage can offload small-business sales, service and support to Layr while retaining broker-of-record status and 100% of its commissions. 2,6Company-reported. Broker-facing Layr Apex arrangement as marketed publicly; actual allocation of duties and compensation depends on the brokerage agreement. | Nationwide markets commercial insurance through small-business, agribusiness, middle-market and specialty channels. Its general P&C disclosure names Nationwide Mutual Insurance Company and affiliated companies as underwriting companies; the reviewed materials do not map each commercial product to its legal issuer. 15,16,31Company-reported. Nationwide-branded U.S. commercial insurance; issuer and availability vary by product/company/state. |
| Customer focus | Layr provides insurance workflow software and licensed support for independent brokerages serving small-commercial accounts. Policyholders use a broker-branded experience rather than necessarily buying from a storefront carrying the Layr name. 2,3,5Company-reported. Current broker-facing business model described on Layr's live company, broker and portal pages; functions are company-reported and were not tested through an account. | Nationwide presents separate commercial routes for small businesses, midsize and large businesses with complex risks, E&S/specialty customers, and agribusiness operators. These are published segments, not a promise of product eligibility. 15,16Company-reported. Public U.S. commercial segment descriptions; product and state eligibility remain quote-specific. |
| Coverage lines | Layr's current New Business Capture illustration shows general liability, commercial auto liability, commercial property, workers' compensation, umbrella and cyber liability/data breach as policy choices. The illustration is a product demonstration, not a guarantee that all six are eligible in every broker implementation or jurisdiction. 4Company-reported. Coverage labels visible in the official asset on the current New Business Capture offering page. Consolidated to shared catalogue keys without treating sample prices as quotes. A still-live, 2021-branded Parcel Pro referral page also lists a business owner's policy, commercial crime, hired and non-owned auto and kidnap and ransom, and mentions management liability and errors and omissions. Most linked product pages now return 404, so these legacy/referral-page labels are not treated as confirmed current standalone offerings in this profile's coverage catalogue. 13,7Company-reported. Historical referral implementation audited on 15 September 2026. Cyber remained a live product page; the broader labels require direct confirmation for a current brokerage and applicant. Layr's platform illustration includes cyber coverage, but its previously reviewed dedicated cyber product page returned a not-found response on re-access. Current coverage options, insurer, policy wording and eligibility need confirmation from the broker. The unavailable page does not establish that cyber placements have stopped. 7,4Not found in reviewed sources. The dedicated cyber product page was no longer available on 15 September 2026, checked by the comparison writer and manager. Earlier feature descriptions are historical only; the current New Business Capture illustration still includes cyber as a policy choice. | Nationwide lists BOP, workers’ compensation, commercial auto, umbrella, EPLI, cyber and surety for small businesses, and separately markets inland marine, builders risk, professional E&O, commercial property, crime, D&O, fiduciary liability and management-liability products. Product listings do not establish that a buyer qualifies or that a named coverage is included in another policy. 15,16,19,25,20,24,26Company-reported. Current official U.S. commercial catalogue pages reviewed Sep 29, 2026; not a complete state/class appetite map. |
| Availability | Layr has described brokerage customers across the United States, but the reviewed sources do not provide a product-by-state eligibility table. A national broker audience does not establish that a specific insurer, form or coverage is available in every state. 11,4,6Not publicly disclosed. Company-reported reach in a 2024 announcement and current public product pages; no nationwide product-availability claim. A Massachusetts Division of Insurance agency-list result indexed in 2026 included Layr Holdings, Inc. with license 17853851 and a 17 March 2027 renewal date. The direct PDF download returned 404 during this review, so current status and authority should be confirmed with the regulator before relying on the entry. 14Verified. One jurisdiction and one indexed agency record only; not evidence of licensing or product availability elsewhere. | Nationwide says P&C products may not be offered by all companies or in all states and are subject to underwriting. The reviewed public sources do not establish a complete state-by-state commercial issuer and product matrix. 31,15Not publicly disclosed. General P&C disclosure and pages reviewed here; no all-state licensing or availability audit. |
| Access to insurers | Layr says it works with major national insurers, accesses other markets through wholesalers and can use a brokerage customer's existing carriers. It does not publish a current legal-entity carrier panel or promise that every market will quote every account. 6Company-reported. Current broker FAQ; no carrier appointments, financial-strength ratings or account-specific market access independently verified. The reviewed current product, portal and FAQ pages do not identify the issuing insurer or policy form for each available product. Those details must come from the actual proposal and policy. 4,7,6Not publicly disclosed. Current platform and FAQ pages plus previously reviewed cyber product material. The dedicated cyber page is no longer available; that is not a finding that Layr lacks insurer relationships. | Nationwide identifies Nationwide Mutual Insurance Company and affiliates as possible P&C underwriting companies and says each underwriter is responsible for its own products. The reviewed general disclosure does not name the issuer for each commercial product; check the policy and declarations. 31Company-reported. General group disclosure, not a line-, policy- or state-specific insurer crosswalk. |
| Application process | Layr describes an online workflow in which a small-business owner assesses and selects coverage, pays, and then has the submission sent to underwriting. Current pages use different speed claims—10 minutes on New Business Capture and 12 minutes in a 2024 announcement—so neither figure establishes the time to receive or bind an actual quote. 4,11Conflicting sources. Company-described digital workflow. No form was completed and no quote, payment or underwriting decision was requested during research. | Nationwide says small-business buyers can start an online quote and then call or work with an agent to purchase. Its BOP page says a quote can be started online; this does not establish online binding for every product or applicant. 15,17Company-reported. Official small-commercial and BOP pages; no application was submitted or purchase flow completed. |
| Servicing and renewals | Layr markets a white-labeled portal with licensed support and broker dashboard updates for policies, renewals, claims and payments. A company release also describes policyholder access to documents, quotes, claims, certificates, bills and electronic payments. 5,12Company-reported. Company-described platform functions. No authenticated broker or policyholder account was accessed, and no service-time commitment was independently tested. Layr says its team gathers updates, negotiates renewal terms with underwriters and finalizes renewal documents. It describes automatic-renewal policies as hands-free and says customers whose policies need updated information are alerted 60 days before renewal. 6Company-reported. Current FAQ description. It does not state the notice needed to stop an automatic renewal or guarantee a renewal offer. | Nationwide describes a 24/7 online business account for policy management, claims filing/tracking, documents and billing; if a certificate is not in the account, it directs customers to request one online or contact an agent. 29Company-reported. Company-described account features; access depends on policy/account and does not measure service quality. The commercial overview, small-business catalogue and business account pages reviewed here do not establish renewal notice timing, who initiates renewal discussions or how a renewal transaction is completed. These steps remain unverified; this is not evidence that renewal service is absent. 32,15,29Not found in reviewed sources. Only named public pages reviewed 2026-09-29, not policy documents or every account workflow. NerdWallet reports fewer general-liability complaints than expected for 2022–2024. Its discussion describes commercial-property complaints as slightly above expectations, while its methodology calls them about expected; that discrepancy remains unresolved. 33Verified. NerdWallet’s commercial business-insurance editorial analysis only. This is an attributed product-line complaint comparison, not direct NAIC verification, a claim-outcome finding, or evidence about any identified underwriting company. Do not combine this measure with consumer review averages or treat the unresolved commercial-property discrepancy as a single settled result. |
| Claims assistance | Layr's current portal materials describe claims activity, online claim functions and help from its licensed support team. They do not establish that Layr is the risk-bearing insurer or replace the notice requirements in the policy. 5,12Company-reported. Company-described claims workflow and support; no claim was submitted and claims outcomes were not independently evaluated. | Nationwide says business claims can be reported online, by phone or through an agent and that a claims professional is assigned after submission. Same-day contact is described as an aim, not a guarantee. 30Company-reported. General company-described commercial claims process; not an independent outcome measure or product-specific administrator map. |
| Fees and compensation | Layr's current broker FAQ says Layr receives a percentage of premium while the brokerage keeps 100% of commissions. A separate consumer-facing disclosure says carriers pay Layr a commission and businesses may pay a finance fee of up to 20% of premium. The pages do not reconcile which arrangement applies to a particular broker, policyholder or payment plan. 6,8Conflicting sources. Two public compensation descriptions for different apparent audiences. Actual agreements and itemized charges were not available. Layr's consumer-facing compensation disclosure says a business that uses its monthly credit-card payment arrangement can pay a percentage-based finance fee of up to 20% of premium. The page does not provide an account-specific rate, total repayment or cancellation terms. 8Company-reported. Public compensation disclosure; current applicability to every Layr Apex implementation or payment option is not established. | The reviewed Nationwide commercial marketing and service pages do not disclose agent commission rates or contingent compensation terms. This packet does not establish whether or how an agent is compensated. 15,16,31Not found in reviewed sources. Bounded page review; no producer agreement, quote or commission disclosure reviewed. |
Sources
Layr Official Website
- Grow Your Broker Profits. Layr; Homepage service proposition; broker audience; footer naming Layr Holdings, Inc.; official logo asset. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Software for Insurance Brokers & Agents. Layr; Streamlined Efficiency; Reduce the Drag: Layr handles sales, service and support while the brokerage retains broker-of-record status and commissions. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- The Team Improving Insurance Technology. Layr; Mission; small-business market; broker-focused technology; leadership and investor logos. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- New Business Capture from Layr — Quote Policies in 10 Min. Layr; Faster Quotes hero and official SmartQuote illustration listing General Liability, Commercial Auto Liability, Property, Workers Compensation, Umbrella, and Cyber Liability & Data Breach. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Online Portal with Cyber Security for Insurance Companies. Layr; Layr Apex introduction; licensed support team; policyholder activity, portfolio and white-label dashboard descriptions; official dashboard asset. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Insurance Technology Frequently Asked Questions. Layr; Product library; carrier and wholesaler access; renewal process and 60-day collection timing; white labeling; premium-based compensation. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Cyber Liability Insurance. Layr; Policy Overview; Key Protected Threats; Coverage Details; online-purchase call to action (page no longer available as of 15 September 2026). Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Explanation of Pricing. Layr; Simplified Pricing: carrier commissions and business finance fee up to 20% of premium; flexible payments, portal and certificate descriptions. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Terms of Use. Layr; Service operated by Layr Holdings, Inc.; Purchases; Availability, Errors and Inaccuracies; Accounts; last updated 1 April 2018. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Leadership Team. Layr; Current leadership and investor-logo section. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Layr Welcomes New CEO Mark Hara. Layr; 17 October 2024 announcement: broker and agency audience, small-business selection and payment workflow, underwriting handoff, and brokerages across the U.S. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Layr Secures $10 Million Investment to Bridge the Small Business Insurance Tech Gap for Brokers. Layr via GlobeNewswire; 1 November 2023 company release: financing participants, broker-facing business model, licensed support, policyholder portal functions. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Parcel Pro Customers Now Have Access to Additional Insurance Solutions Through Layr. Layr; 2021-branded referral page: policy list, online application, portal, financing and certificate claims (cyber page no longer available as of 15 September 2026). Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Licensed Property and Casualty Agencies. Massachusetts Division of Insurance; 2026 list entry for Layr Holdings, Inc., license 17853851, original approval 17 March 2021, renewal date 17 March 2027. Accessed 2026-09-15.
Nationwide Official Website
- Small Business Insurance. Nationwide; Small business products and solutions, lines 185–214: BOP, workers’ compensation, commercial auto, umbrella, EPLI, cyber and surety; purchase guidance lines 235–247. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Small Business Insurance Solutions for Agents. Nationwide; Specialized small commercial solutions: BOP, auto, workers’ compensation, cyber, EPLI, umbrella, inland marine and professional liability; page states appetite varies by state, lines 129–163, 191–193. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Business Owners Policy (BOP Insurance). Nationwide; BOP audience/employee/sales criteria and coverages, lines 181–225; additional coverage options lines 244–277; policy/availability qualification line 326. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Workers’ Compensation Insurance. Nationwide; Workers’ compensation benefits, state variability, claims/risk-management services and eligibility discussion, lines 216–259. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Insurance for Inland Marine. Nationwide; Inland marine and Builder’s Risk products lines 184–225; contractor equipment, installation floater, riggers liability, motor truck cargo and warehouse legal liability lines 258–318. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Commercial Property Insurance. Nationwide; Business buildings, contents, equipment and fixtures; policy customization and agent quote route. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Employment Practices Liability Insurance. Nationwide; Dedicated EPLI product page; product identity and company-described policy scope. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Cyber Liability & Data Breach Insurance. Nationwide; Dedicated commercial cyber/data-breach product page; company-described product scope. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Commercial Surety Bonds. Nationwide; Dedicated commercial surety product page and bond purpose. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Commercial Crime Insurance. Nationwide; Dedicated commercial crime page and covered crime examples. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Errors and Omissions Insurance. Nationwide; Professional E&O product page; professional-service errors and financial-loss description. Does not establish technology-specific E&O terms. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Commercial Liability Products. Nationwide Management Liability & Specialty; Distinct D&O, fiduciary liability, crime and EPLI products; audience and claims-reporting description. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Directors and Officers Liability. Nationwide Management Liability & Specialty; D&O primary scope of coverage, selected features and claims reporting. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Commercial Office Space Insurance. Nationwide; Professional-office BOP, commercial property, GL, business income and equipment breakdown; E&O, auto, EPLI and management-liability options. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Business Insurance Member Resources. Nationwide; Online business account, 24/7 self-service, claims filing/tracking, documents, bills and certificate-of-insurance help. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Business Insurance Claims FAQ. Nationwide; Commercial claims intake and assigned claims professional; same-day contact is described as an aim, not a guarantee. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Terms and Conditions for Nationwide.com. Nationwide; P&C products not offered by all companies/states; policy/declarations control; NMI and affiliates may underwrite; each underwriter responsible for own products, lines 358–368 and 391–394. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Nationwide Commercial Insurance. Nationwide; Commercial audiences and general commercial route; cited only alongside directly inspected linked product pages. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Nationwide Business Insurance Review 2026 — commercial complaint analysis. NerdWallet; Same inspected NerdWallet commercial review as nerdwallet-review; updated June 3, 2026. Findings and contrary evidence, lines 332–372: lower-than-expected general-liability complaints and commercial-property described slightly above expectations. Methodology, lines 495–508: commercial-property complaints characterized as about expected. Rating display, lines 226–323: 4.5 page header and 4.0 Nationwide card. Accessed 2026-09-29.





