| Business role | Layr Holdings, Inc. operates withlayr.com and markets the Layr Apex platform and licensed support service. Public materials describe Layr handling sales, service and support while its brokerage customer keeps the broker-of-record relationship; they do not identify Layr as the insurer underwriting every policy. 9,1,2,5Company-reportedEntity and functional roles in current public materials. The precise producer role can depend on the partner arrangement and proposed policy. The reviewed sources identify Layr Holdings, Inc., its leaders and several investors, but do not disclose a current controlling parent or ownership percentages. 9,10,12Not found in reviewed sourcesCurrent website operator and public ownership review. Investor participation is not treated as control, and no independence claim is made. Layr says a participating brokerage can offload small-business sales, service and support to Layr while retaining broker-of-record status and 100% of its commissions. 2,6Company-reportedBroker-facing Layr Apex arrangement as marketed publicly; actual allocation of duties and compensation depends on the brokerage agreement. | Marsh’s US compensation guide states that, as an insurance broker, Marsh’s role is to facilitate placement of insurance coverage on behalf of clients. The transparency page describes determining appropriate insurers and negotiating with those insurers. Marsh is not identified in these sources as the insurer that issues or pays the policy. 32,31,16Company-reportedUS client-compensation and transparency disclosures. Affinity/Amazon administrator language is a separate program role and is not treated as the default retail relationship. Current Marsh materials use more than one US legal name. The compensation guide (copyright 2024, Marsh LLC) refers to Marsh LLC and Marsh USA LLC entering client agreements. The transparency page instead names Marsh LLC and Marsh USA Inc. Marsh McLennan Agency is described as a wholly owned Marsh subsidiary. A 2006 California decision caption used MARSH USA, INC., dba MARSH RISK AND INSURANCE SERVICES, license 0437153. Confirm the exact contracting producer on the proposal and license documents; current California license status remains unverified. 32,31,33,34,15,45Conflicting sourcesUnresolved Inc. versus LLC naming. Affinity’s Marsh USA LLC license table is company-reported as of 8 March 2024 and is not a CDI live lookup. Brand unification in January 2026 is described as a brand change, not a change in business structure. |
|---|
| Coverage lines | Layr's current New Business Capture illustration shows general liability, commercial auto liability, commercial property, workers' compensation, umbrella and cyber liability/data breach as policy choices. The illustration is a product demonstration, not a guarantee that all six are eligible in every broker implementation or jurisdiction. 4Company-reportedCoverage labels visible in the official asset on the current New Business Capture offering page. Consolidated to shared catalogue keys without treating sample prices as quotes. A still-live, 2021-branded Parcel Pro referral page also lists a business owner's policy, commercial crime, hired and non-owned auto and kidnap and ransom, and mentions management liability and errors and omissions. Most linked product pages now return 404, so these legacy/referral-page labels are not treated as confirmed current standalone offerings in this profile's coverage catalogue. 13,7Company-reportedHistorical referral implementation audited on 15 September 2026. Cyber remained a live product page; the broader labels require direct confirmation for a current brokerage and applicant. Layr's platform illustration includes cyber coverage, but its previously reviewed dedicated cyber product page returned a not-found response on re-access. Current coverage options, insurer, policy wording and eligibility need confirmation from the broker. The unavailable page does not establish that cyber placements have stopped. 7,4Not found in reviewed sourcesThe dedicated cyber product page was no longer available on 15 September 2026, checked by the comparison writer and manager. Earlier feature descriptions are historical only; the current New Business Capture illustration still includes cyber as a policy choice. | Marsh’s Cyber Insurance practice markets brokerage of cyber policies and related analytics products. Marsh McLennan Agency’s cyber page lists solution areas such as cybercrime, extortion and ransomware, media liability, network interruption and privacy regulatory defense costs. The Technology Practice’s data-center service describes programs that can include property damage, equipment breakdown, business interruption, cyber, general liability and surety for power and interconnection obligations. Stratus is marketed as an operational property exchange for digital infrastructure with potential access to up to $10 billion of property capacity on a single placement; at launch it is focused on property, with inland marine, cyber and casualty described as possible later lines. These are marketed capabilities, not a standard startup package or guaranteed limits. 22,38,18,19,17Company-reportedDirect practice and product pages. Technology-page FAQs about software BOP, fidelity or commercial auto were not used as offering proof. Stratus capacity is company-stated potential access, not a bound limit for a named insured. Marsh’s Directors and Officers page offers D&O program design for public, private and non-profit companies. Its Employment Practices page offers EPLI, including endorsements described for firms with more than 4,000 employees and for midsize firms with 250 to 4,000 employees. Its Professional Liability page offers E&O risk-transfer design, including for technology businesses. MMA’s executive and professional liability practice lists D&O, E&O, EPL, commercial crime/fidelity, cyber, fiduciary, media, intellectual property and kidnap-and-ransom among policies it places. Endorsement headcount bands and product labels do not establish that a particular Bay Area company qualifies or that wording is equivalent across insurers. 25,26,27,39,28Company-reportedDirect Marsh F&PL expertise pages and MMA executive catalogue. Fiduciary, crime, media, IP and K&R are listed on MMA’s practice page; they were not each confirmed on a separate Marsh.com expertise URL. MMA’s business-insurance hub links casualty, property, surety, cyber, executive and professional liability, international placements, captives and small-business programs. Its property page covers commercial property and builders’ risk. Its casualty page includes workers’ compensation. MMA and Marsh sites also market employee health and benefits consulting and placement. MMA’s compensation-guide landing page exists for 2026 but the PDF body was not fully extracted here. 37,40,41,42,43,32Company-reportedMMA solution pages. Texas-office lists and business-insurance FAQ examples were not used as nationwide catalogue proof. Small-business marketing does not establish an online instant-issue product. |
|---|
| Application process | Layr describes an online workflow in which a small-business owner assesses and selects coverage, pays, and then has the submission sent to underwriting. Current pages use different speed claims—10 minutes on New Business Capture and 12 minutes in a 2024 announcement—so neither figure establishes the time to receive or bind an actual quote. 4,11Conflicting sourcesCompany-described digital workflow. No form was completed and no quote, payment or underwriting decision was requested during research. | The public Marsh path to speak with a broker is an inquiry, not an online bind. Contact pages ask you to choose an inquiry type, including a sales or RFP route. The business-inquiry page says to complete a form and that a representative will respond within 48 hours; it points existing-policy certificate, billing and policy questions elsewhere. The inquiry page does not display premiums or bind coverage. The 48-hour response time is a company statement, not a binding or service guarantee. 29,30,35Company-reportedInspected public contact-select and business-form pages on 16 September 2026 without submitting information. MMA has a separate contact page. Inquiry is not a completed insurance application. Marsh describes a broker-led placement: identifying insurers for the risk, negotiating coverage and price, and, in core US broking segments, disclosing quotes and premium indications received. It may share incumbent or competing insurer names, pricing objectives, expiring terms, or give an insurer a last look when it believes that is in the client’s interest or the client instructs it. Those market practices are disclosure statements, not a guaranteed outcome or turnaround. 32,31Company-reportedCompensation guide transparency pledges and market-activity list. Not observed live placements. |
|---|
| Access to insurers | Layr says it works with major national insurers, accesses other markets through wholesalers and can use a brokerage customer's existing carriers. It does not publish a current legal-entity carrier panel or promise that every market will quote every account. 6Company-reportedCurrent broker FAQ; no carrier appointments, financial-strength ratings or account-specific market access independently verified. The reviewed current product, portal and FAQ pages do not identify the issuing insurer or policy form for each available product. Those details must come from the actual proposal and policy. 4,7,6Not publicly disclosedCurrent platform and FAQ pages plus previously reviewed cyber product material. The dedicated cyber page is no longer available; that is not a finding that Layr lacks insurer relationships. | Marsh and MMA describe access to multiple insurers rather than a single issuing carrier for all business. MMA says it works with a wide variety of carriers. Stratus is a prior-submit exchange in which participating insurers evaluate each risk individually; the page does not name those insurers. Marsh’s compensation and transparency pages say Marsh or affiliates may receive insurer consulting compensation and may own equity interests in certain insurers or reinsurers, with a list on the transparency site. Victor, an affiliated MGU and wholesale broker, is described as accessing markets retail Marsh US cannot offer directly; that path is described for some programs and is not assumed for every placement. Ask for the issuing insurer, surplus-lines status and proposed forms on the quote. 37,19,31,32,33Not publicly disclosedNo verified carrier panel, ratings or admitted-status schedule. Amazon/Affinity producer language is program-specific. |
|---|
| Fees and compensation | Layr's current broker FAQ says Layr receives a percentage of premium while the brokerage keeps 100% of commissions. A separate consumer-facing disclosure says carriers pay Layr a commission and businesses may pay a finance fee of up to 20% of premium. The pages do not reconcile which arrangement applies to a particular broker, policyholder or payment plan. 6,8Conflicting sourcesTwo public compensation descriptions for different apparent audiences. Actual agreements and itemized charges were not available. Layr's consumer-facing compensation disclosure says a business that uses its monthly credit-card payment arrangement can pay a percentage-based finance fee of up to 20% of premium. The page does not provide an account-specific rate, total repayment or cancellation terms. 8Company-reportedPublic compensation disclosure; current applicability to every Layr Apex implementation or payment option is not established. | Marsh’s US compensation guide says it may be paid by insurer retail commissions, client fees (often in a written Client Service Agreement, sometimes crediting commissions), wholesale commissions, insurer consulting compensation, supplemental commissions, compensation for facilities or other insurer arrangements, interest on premium accounts, and other benefits. Marsh says it does not accept contingent commissions on domestic placements for US clients in core broking operations, except for employee health and benefits or when acting as managing general agent or underwriting manager; Marsh McLennan Agency does accept contingent commissions. Standard public premium ranges or a startup fee schedule were not found. Request an account-specific disclosure of commissions, fees, contingent or supplemental amounts, premium finance charges and any affiliated-market compensation. 32,31,44Company-reportedUS compensation guide as of the 2024 copyright PDF retrieved 16 September 2026. MMA’s 2026 guide landing page was reviewed; the MMA PDF itself was not fully extracted. Absence of a public price is not zero cost. |
|---|