HUB International vs
USI Insurance Services D&O Insurance
HUB’s ProEx D&O uses a broker intake; USI’s ExecuSafe package is aimed at small and midsize businesses via a published email.
What Is HUB International?
HUB International is a North American insurance brokerage that arranges business insurance, employee benefits and related risk services through local offices and specialist practices. Smaller commercial accounts may be sent to Insureon for an online quote; other programs are handled by HUB advisors, with policy terms set by the insurers they use. 1,2,3
What Is USI Insurance Services?
USI Insurance Services is a U.S. insurance brokerage and consulting firm that arranges property and casualty, employee benefits, personal risk, and retirement programs. Its Technology practice says it works with software, hardware, and related companies from early seed stage through IPO, using a consultative process rather than a published self-serve quote. 6,7,8
What Is Directors and Officers Insurance?
Directors and officers liability insurance addresses covered claims alleging wrongful acts in managing an organization. 11
Key Differences in D&O Insurance
Named Package Versus Practice Placement
USI says it reviews existing management-liability policies for gaps and can place coverage through its own named endorsement package, ExecuSafe. 9 HUB’s ProEx practice lists D&O and Side-A-only excess D&O among executive-liability coverages but does not describe a HUB-branded endorsement pack on the reviewed pages. 5
Size and Industry Paths
HUB markets three company types: private, nonprofit and public. 4 USI targets small- and medium-sized businesses for ExecuSafe and says its Technology practice places D&O for software, hardware and communications clients from seed stage through IPO. 9 7 USI’s Technology practice cites a benchmarking case that it says saved a software company more than $100,000 a year in D&O premium; HUB describes ProEx analytics without a published dollar outcome. 7 5
How Inquiries Start
HUB’s call to action is connect with a broker. 4 USI directs ExecuSafe inquiries to a published Select Business email and routes Technology and Business Services inquiries to a property-casualty inbox or a local office. 9 7 Neither firm names the issuing D&O insurer on the reviewed pages. 5 9
What to Confirm in D&O Insurance Quotes
- Ask USI whether the quote uses ExecuSafe endorsements or a market form without that pack. 9
- Ask HUB whether Side-A-only excess is part of the tower. 5
- If you are a software or hardware company, ask USI whether the Technology practice would handle the file. 7
- Confirm carrier, limits, retentions and claims contacts on both quotes. 4 9
Offering Details
HUB International vs USI Insurance Services D&O Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | HUB International Directors and Officers Insurance Brokerage | USI ExecuSafe Directors & Officers Liability Program |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | HUB brokers D&O liability coverage for private, nonprofit and public-company clients as part of its ProEx Professional & Executive Risk practice, rather than underwriting the policy itself. 4,5Company-reported. D&O product page and ProEx coverage list, read 2026-09-23. Neither page names an issuing insurer. | USI is a broker for D&O coverage. It says it helps clients identify D&O exposures, review any existing management liability policies for gaps, and place coverage, including through its own named endorsement package, ExecuSafe. 9Company-reported. ExecuSafe article's "How USI Can Help" section. |
| Issuing Insurer | The D&O product page and the ProEx coverage list do not name an issuing insurer for D&O policies; HUB says ProEx places over $2 billion in premium with insurers it calls top-rated carriers, without naming them. 4,5Not found in reviewed sources. Checked both pages on 2026-09-23; the carrier for a specific D&O placement depends on the quote. | USI does not name the insurer that underwrites ExecuSafe or other D&O placements on the pages reviewed; it describes ExecuSafe as an endorsement package it applies to policies placed with the market. 9Not publicly disclosed. ExecuSafe article and Technology/Business Services practice pages as read on 2026-09-23. |
| Who It’s For | HUB markets D&O brokerage to three segments: private companies with customer and supplier relationships, nonprofits with advisory boards or committees, and public companies with shareholders. 4Company-reported. D&O product page target-market description; not an underwriting appetite statement. | USI targets small- and medium-sized businesses for ExecuSafe, saying many either skip D&O coverage or buy insufficient limits because their brokers do not help them identify the exposure. Its Technology practice separately places D&O for software, hardware and communications clients from seed stage through IPO. 9,7Company-reported. ExecuSafe article eligibility framing and Technology practice client description. |
| Coverage Features | HUB describes D&O coverage it arranges as addressing three areas: personal asset protection for monetary judgments and settlements from an alleged breach of duty, loyalty or care; defense in civil, criminal, judicial, administrative, regulatory or arbitration proceedings; and workplace and employment protection for breach-of-fiduciary-duty and employment-related suits. 4Company-reported. Product-page marketing description; the issued policy's insuring agreements, conditions and exclusions control an actual claim. HUB says D&O claims it sees can come from regulators, donors, clients or customers, suppliers, competitors, employees, shareholders and creditors. 4Company-reported. Product-page list of potential claim sources; not a guarantee of coverage for any specific claimant. | USI says D&O insurance is meant to protect a company's leadership from personal loss in a lawsuit, since the corporate veil does not shield directors and officers from personal liability for the business's actions and debts. It lists breach of contract, breach of duty, misrepresentation, unfair competition, misappropriation of trade secrets, securities lawsuits and creditor lawsuits as common claim types the coverage responds to. 9Company-reported. ExecuSafe article's description of D&O purpose and claim types; actual insuring agreements and exclusions are set by the issued policy. |
| Limits and Retentions | Published D&O policy limits or retentions were not found on the reviewed pages. 4,5Not publicly disclosed. Checked the D&O product page and ProEx page on 2026-09-23; limits are set on the quote and declarations. | USI cites a 2016 Chubb survey that found 43% of private companies carry no D&O coverage, with an average private-company D&O claim cost of $450,000, but the article does not publish USI's own placed limits, retentions or premium ranges for ExecuSafe. 9Not publicly disclosed. Third-party statistic cited by USI to illustrate exposure, not USI's own placement data. |
| Risk Services | HUB says its ProEx practice, which lists D&O among its Executive Liability coverages, provides analytics, litigation support and risk-management services to clients of all sizes, led by a named ProEx practice leader. 5Company-reported. ProEx page team and services description; not specific to a single D&O engagement. | USI's Technology practice cites a case study where its benchmarking analysis showed a software company was buying more D&O limit than peers with similar risk profiles, and says the resulting change saved the client more than $100,000 per year in D&O premium. 7Company-reported. Single case study on the Technology practice page; company-reported outcome, not independently verified. |
| How to Apply | HUB directs D&O prospects to "Connect With a Broker" rather than an online quote or bind flow. 4Company-reported. D&O product page call to action. | USI directs small- and medium-sized businesses interested in ExecuSafe to email Select.Business@usi.com; its Technology and Business Services practices separately route inquiries to pcinquiries@usi.com or a local USI office. 9,7,10Company-reported. Contact instructions on the ExecuSafe article and the Technology and Business Services pages. |
| Claims Support | HUB describes a Claims & Legal Risks Group, staffed by attorneys who specialize in ProEx coverages including D&O, that provides management-liability claims support from pre-claim policy-wording review through claim recovery. 5Company-reported. ProEx page claims and legal support section. | Not described in the reviewed sources. |
Full Comparison
More HUB International vs USI Insurance Services Comparisons
Other D&O Insurance Comparisons
Sources
HUB International
- About Us. HUB International; Opening description; 1998 formation of HUB International Limited; 2022 Insureon acquisition; headquarters and employee/office counts. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Contact Us. HUB International; Business Solutions paths for Commercial Insurance Solutions versus Small Commercial Insurance Solutions via Insureon; office search. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Insurance for Technology Companies. HUB International; Technology Company Insurance & Risk Management: startup, software, hardware and digital-media introduction; Business Coverage and People Protection lists; technology-client count. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Directors and Officers (D&O) Liability Insurance Broker. HUB International; Target segments: private companies, nonprofit organizations, public companies; Personal Asset Protection, Claims Protection, Workplace & Employment Protection; list of potential claimants; 2016 private-company D&O claim statistic; Connect With a Broker call to action. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- HUB ProEx. HUB International; ProEx Coverages list including Directors & Officers Liability (D&O) and Side-A Only Excess D&O under Executive Liability; Claims & Legal Support section; ProEx premium volume statement. Accessed 2026-09-23.
USI Insurance Services
- The Power of ONE. USI Insurance Services; History, client-count, nationwide office, and P&C / benefits / personal risk / retirement description. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Technology Insurance. USI Insurance Services; USI's Technology Practice provides risk management advisory and insurance placement for: ...Directors & Officers Liability...; CASE STUDY: USI Benchmarking Saves Software Company $100,000 in D&O Premiums. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Commissions and Fees. USI Insurance Services; Licensed-producer authority, insurer-paid commission default, contingent compensation, and client request right. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Protect Your Company and Personal Assets From Management Liability Risks. USI Insurance Services; JULY 5, 2023 article; common D&O claim types (Breach of Contract, Breach of Duty, Misrepresentation, Unfair Competition, Misappropriation of Trade Secrets, Securities Lawsuits, Creditor Lawsuits); Creditor Suit and Competitor Disputes scenarios; How USI Can Help; ExecuSafe endorsement packs. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Business Services. USI Insurance Services; USI advises clients...and provides solutions for...Directors & Officers Liability... Accessed 2026-09-23.
D&O Insurance Guide
- Glossary of Business Insurance Terms. The Hartford; Directors and Officers Liability Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance; Employment Practices Liability Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.





