HUB International vs Newfront D&O Insurance

HUB routes D&O through ProEx and a broker call; Newfront lists Side A DIC and a 24/7 program dashboard for funded and public companies.

What Is HUB International?

HUB International is a North American insurance brokerage that arranges business insurance, employee benefits and related risk services through local offices and specialist practices. Smaller commercial accounts may be sent to Insureon for an online quote; other programs are handled by HUB advisors, with policy terms set by the insurers they use. 1,2,3

Read the HUB International profile

What Is Newfront?

Newfront is a business-insurance and employee-benefits brokerage that combines specialist teams with online policy-management tools. It is now part of WTW. 6,7,8,9

Read the Newfront profile

What Is Directors and Officers Insurance?

Directors and officers liability insurance addresses covered claims alleging wrongful acts in managing an organization. 11

Read the full coverage guide

Key Differences in D&O Insurance

Side A Difference-in-Conditions

Newfront lists “Directors and Officers (D&O)—Private and public companies” and “Side A DIC D&O” among Executive Risk key coverages, and it ties D&O work to securities litigation and regulatory investigations. 10 HUB describes personal-asset, defense and employment protection on its D&O page but does not list a Side A difference-in-conditions product on the reviewed pages. 4

Who Each Practice Says It Serves

HUB names private companies, nonprofits and public companies as D&O brokerage segments. 4 Newfront says it services private companies from seed through every funding series, including a stated count of unicorn clients, and has worked with more than 500 publicly traded companies on M&A and IPOs. 10 HUB’s reviewed D&O copy does not describe a dedicated nonprofit path the way it lists that segment as a buyer type; Newfront’s reviewed page does not name nonprofits as a D&O segment. 4 10

Access and Claims

HUB asks you to connect with a broker and describes ProEx analytics plus a Claims & Legal Risks Group. 4 5 Newfront says clients get 24/7 dashboard access to the D&O program, uses pre-populated data at renewal, and provides integrated claims and coverage negotiation; you start by requesting a consultation. 10 Neither page names the issuing insurer. 5 10

What to Confirm in D&O Insurance Quotes

  • Ask Newfront whether Side A DIC is on the quote and what difference-in-conditions it is meant to fill. 10
  • Ask HUB whether workplace and employment protection on its D&O page is on the D&O form or a separate EPL placement. 4
  • Confirm how you will see policy documents—dashboard versus broker correspondence. 10 4
  • Get carrier, limits and retentions from both quotes. 4 10

Offering Details

HUB International vs Newfront D&O Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaHUB International Directors and Officers Insurance BrokerageNewfront Directors and Officers (D&O) Insurance
Role in This Line

HUB brokers D&O liability coverage for private, nonprofit and public-company clients as part of its ProEx Professional & Executive Risk practice, rather than underwriting the policy itself. 4,5Company-reported. D&O product page and ProEx coverage list, read 2026-09-23. Neither page names an issuing insurer.

Newfront's Executive Risk practice brokers D&O coverage, negotiating placement for management-liability lines. Deirdre Finn, the Executive Risk Solutions Practice Leader, oversees this D&O, employment-practices and fiduciary book of business. 10Company-reported. Executive Risk offering page and Leadership section.

Issuing Insurer

The D&O product page and the ProEx coverage list do not name an issuing insurer for D&O policies; HUB says ProEx places over $2 billion in premium with insurers it calls top-rated carriers, without naming them. 4,5Not found in reviewed sources. Checked both pages on 2026-09-23; the carrier for a specific D&O placement depends on the quote.

The reviewed Executive Risk page does not name the insurer or insurers that would issue a D&O policy placed through Newfront. 10Not publicly disclosed. Executive Risk page as read on 2026-09-23; carrier depends on the specific placement.

Who It’s For

HUB markets D&O brokerage to three segments: private companies with customer and supplier relationships, nonprofits with advisory boards or committees, and public companies with shareholders. 4Company-reported. D&O product page target-market description; not an underwriting appetite statement.

Newfront says it services private companies "from seed round through every series of capital funding," including over 120 unicorn companies, and has worked with over 500 publicly traded companies on D&O-relevant matters such as M&A and IPOs. 10Company-reported. Here for the Long Run section; company-reported client counts, not independently verified.

Coverage Features

HUB describes D&O coverage it arranges as addressing three areas: personal asset protection for monetary judgments and settlements from an alleged breach of duty, loyalty or care; defense in civil, criminal, judicial, administrative, regulatory or arbitration proceedings; and workplace and employment protection for breach-of-fiduciary-duty and employment-related suits. 4Company-reported. Product-page marketing description; the issued policy's insuring agreements, conditions and exclusions control an actual claim.

HUB says D&O claims it sees can come from regulators, donors, clients or customers, suppliers, competitors, employees, shareholders and creditors. 4Company-reported. Product-page list of potential claim sources; not a guarantee of coverage for any specific claimant.

Newfront lists "Directors and Officers (D&O)—Private and public companies" and "Side A DIC D&O" among its Executive Risk Key Coverages, and says its D&O work includes protection against securities-related litigation and regulatory investigations. 10Company-reported. Key Coverages list and Committed to Client Advocacy section; Side A DIC is a difference-in-conditions option, and actual trigger and exclusions require the proposed wording.

Limits and Retentions

Published D&O policy limits or retentions were not found on the reviewed pages. 4,5Not publicly disclosed. Checked the D&O product page and ProEx page on 2026-09-23; limits are set on the quote and declarations.

The reviewed Executive Risk page does not publish D&O limits or retentions. 10Not publicly disclosed. Executive Risk page as read on 2026-09-23.

Risk Services

HUB says its ProEx practice, which lists D&O among its Executive Liability coverages, provides analytics, litigation support and risk-management services to clients of all sizes, led by a named ProEx practice leader. 5Company-reported. ProEx page team and services description; not specific to a single D&O engagement.

Newfront says clients get 24/7 access to their D&O program through its connected dashboard, and that renewals use automated, pre-populated historical data for faster submissions and approvals. 10Company-reported. Industry-Leading Technology section of the Executive Risk page.

How to Apply

HUB directs D&O prospects to "Connect With a Broker" rather than an online quote or bind flow. 4Company-reported. D&O product page call to action.

Newfront describes a process for private companies transitioning to public status through an IPO, deSPAC or direct listing, and you start a D&O placement by requesting a consultation through the Executive Risk page. 10Company-reported. Committed to Client Advocacy section and page call-to-action; no online quoting or binding described.

Claims Support

HUB describes a Claims & Legal Risks Group, staffed by attorneys who specialize in ProEx coverages including D&O, that provides management-liability claims support from pre-claim policy-wording review through claim recovery. 5Company-reported. ProEx page claims and legal support section.

Newfront says it provides "integrated claims and coverage negotiation" for its Executive Risk lines, which would apply to a D&O claim. 10Company-reported. The Newfront Difference section; described across Executive Risk lines, not a D&O-specific claims workflow.

Full Comparison

More HUB International vs Newfront Comparisons

Other D&O Insurance Comparisons

Sources

HUB International

  1. About Us. HUB International; Opening description; 1998 formation of HUB International Limited; 2022 Insureon acquisition; headquarters and employee/office counts. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Contact Us. HUB International; Business Solutions paths for Commercial Insurance Solutions versus Small Commercial Insurance Solutions via Insureon; office search. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Insurance for Technology Companies. HUB International; Technology Company Insurance & Risk Management: startup, software, hardware and digital-media introduction; Business Coverage and People Protection lists; technology-client count. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Directors and Officers (D&O) Liability Insurance Broker. HUB International; Target segments: private companies, nonprofit organizations, public companies; Personal Asset Protection, Claims Protection, Workplace & Employment Protection; list of potential claimants; 2016 private-company D&O claim statistic; Connect With a Broker call to action. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  5. HUB ProEx. HUB International; ProEx Coverages list including Directors & Officers Liability (D&O) and Side-A Only Excess D&O under Executive Liability; Claims & Legal Support section; ProEx premium volume statement. Accessed 2026-09-23.

Newfront

  1. Business Insurance. Newfront; Purpose-Built Team; Full Transparency; Streamlined Program Management. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  2. Employee Benefits. Newfront; Employee Benefits heading; Tailored Solutions; Comprehensive Expertise: Benefits, Global Benefits, Compensation and Retirement. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Newfront Navigator. Newfront; Total Access. Real Confidence; Explore What You Can Do in Navigator; product demonstration image. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  4. WTW Completes Acquisition Of Newfront. WTW; 27 January 2026 release; completion announcement and allocation of Business Insurance and Total Rewards to WTW segments. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  5. Executive Risk. Newfront; Key Coverages to Protect Your Business: Directors and Officers (D&O)—Private and public companies, Side A DIC D&O; Here for the Long Run: Private Companies, IPOs, Public; Leadership: Deirdre Finn; Industry-Leading Technology. Accessed 2026-09-23.

D&O Insurance Guide

  1. Glossary of Business Insurance Terms. The Hartford; Directors and Officers Liability Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance; Employment Practices Liability Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Let Spot Handle the Insurance Legwork.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot