What Is HUB International?
HUB suits technology businesses seeking a specialist broker—its practice says it insures more than 5,000 technology companies; qualifying small accounts can use Insureon online, while mid-market buyers need an advisor. 1,2,3
Read the HUB International profile
Read the HUB International Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance page
What is Insureon?
Insureon describes a small-business insurance agency and broker route with online quote entry and agent support. Its pages market several coverage types, but do not establish which insurer, policy form, state availability, or eligibility applies to a particular buyer. 6,7
Read the Insureon Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance page
What Is Professional Errors and Omissions (E&O) Insurance?
Professional liability can help pay defense costs and covered losses when a client says your advice or service caused financial harm. If customers rely on your work, list every service you provide and check the claims-made reporting and prior-work terms. 9,10,11,12
Key Differences in Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance
Prior Acts and Tail Reporting
HUB places professional-liability coverage through brokers and describes its policies as customized to industry, location, business size, and desired limits. Its E&O materials explain per-claim and aggregate limits, prior-acts coverage back to a retroactive date, and tail coverage after a claims-made policy ends. Insureon provides a small-business online request and describes client claims over alleged service mistakes; its public overview does not specify those policy structures. For a buyer changing brokers or carriers, ask Insureon to quote the same prior-acts date and reporting extension HUB discusses. 5 8
Professional Classes and Staff
HUB names accounting, law, healthcare, finance, real estate, engineering, consulting, and contracting among typical E&O buyers, and says coverage may extend to temporary staff and independent contractors. Insureon describes eligible professions as dependent on the application and selected carrier. If the business uses contractors or handles several professional activities, ask both providers to identify which insureds and services are included in the quote. 5 8
Notice Through the Broker
HUB directs buyers to a broker and instructs policyholders to notify both broker and carrier promptly after an incident with supporting documentation. Insureon provides an online quote path but does not describe its E&O claims process on the reviewed overview. Neither page names the issuing insurer for an individual placement; get the policy contact and reporting instructions before binding. 5 8
What to Confirm in Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Quotes
HUB International and Insureon Review Scores for 2026
These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.
HUB International Review Score
Review Score
2 rated sources
Customers who reviewed HUB on BBB rate it 1 out of 5, but that is only 7 reviews for a very large broker. BBB's own business grade is A-.[7][6]
Read HUB International reviewsInsureon Review Score
Review Score
4 rated sources
Insureon's ratings are split. Trustpilot shows 4.5 out of 5 from 2,401 reviews, while ConsumerAffairs shows 1.0 from 344.[1][2]
Read Insureon reviewsHUB International vs Insureon Professional Liability (E&O) Compared
HUB International vs Insureon: Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | HUB International Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Brokerage | Insureon Professional Liability / E&O Insurance |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | HUB brokers professional liability, which it also calls errors and omissions (E&O) insurance, rather than underwriting the coverage itself. 4,5Company-reported. Professional liability and E&O product pages as read 2026-09-23; neither names an issuing insurer. | Insureon markets Professional Liability, also called Errors & Omissions, through its small-business quote channel. 8Company-reported. Insureon’s public marketing page and quote route documents this description. It does not establish the issuing insurer for an individual quote, exact state or provincial availability, the policy form, complete exclusions, or terms offered to a particular buyer; confirm those in the quote and policy documents. |
| Issuing Insurer | Neither the professional liability nor the E&O product page names an issuing insurer; HUB places this coverage with insurers that vary by client and placement. 4,5Not found in reviewed sources. Checked both pages on 2026-09-23; no carrier is disclosed on either. | Confirm in your quote. |
| Who It’s For | HUB names accounting, law, medical, financial-advisory, real estate, architecture and engineering, consulting, and contracting businesses as typical E&O buyers, and separately lists technology among nine industries its E&O practice serves. 4,5Company-reported. Combined professional-liability and E&O industry lists; not a published underwriting appetite by state. | The page addresses service businesses exposed to client claims; the eligible professions and carrier appetite depend on the application and quote. 8Company-reported. Insureon’s public marketing page and quote route documents this description. It does not establish the issuing insurer for an individual quote, exact state or provincial availability, the policy form, complete exclusions, or terms offered to a particular buyer; confirm those in the quote and policy documents. |
| Coverage Features | HUB says professional liability/E&O policies it arranges can cover defense costs, judgments, settlements and fines from allegations of misrepresentation, breach of professional services, wrongful business practices, misleading advice and conflict of interest, plus libel, slander or lost-profit claims; intentional acts and employment claims are typically excluded. 4Company-reported. Product-page coverage description; the issued policy and its exclusions control an actual claim. HUB says E&O policies are typically claims-made with per-claim and aggregate limits, can be structured with prior-acts coverage back to a retroactive date, and can offer tail coverage for an extended reporting period; coverage can extend to independent contractors and temporary staff performing work for the business. 5Company-reported. E&O product-page structure description; specific limits and retroactive dates are set on the quote and declarations. | The page describes client claims over alleged mistakes or unsatisfactory professional work; it does not establish policy-specific retroactive dates, exclusions or limits. 8Company-reported. Insureon’s public marketing page and quote route documents this description. It does not establish the issuing insurer for an individual quote, exact state or provincial availability, the policy form, complete exclusions, or terms offered to a particular buyer; confirm those in the quote and policy documents. |
| Limits and Retentions | Confirm in your quote. | The cited public overview does not establish the limits, deductibles, exclusions or form terms that would apply to a specific buyer. 8Not publicly disclosed. Ask for the quote and specimen or issued policy forms before treating a listed feature as covered. |
| How to Apply | HUB directs prospects to connect with a broker; the pages describe professional liability/E&O policies as customized to business size, industry, location, risk base and desired limits, without an online quote flow. 4,5Company-reported. Product-page call to action and customization description as read 2026-09-23. | The cited Insureon product page provides an online quote request path; that route does not identify the insurer or guarantee that a quote will be offered or bound. 8Company-reported. Insureon’s public marketing page and quote route documents this description. It does not establish the issuing insurer for an individual quote, exact state or provincial availability, the policy form, complete exclusions, or terms offered to a particular buyer; confirm those in the quote and policy documents. |
| Claims Support | HUB's E&O page tells policyholders to notify their broker and carrier as soon as possible after an incident and submit documentation including a narrative of the events leading up to the claim. 5Company-reported. E&O product-page claims-notification guidance; a general process description, not an outcome measurement. | Confirm in your quote. |
Related Pages for HUB International vs Insureon
Professional Liability (E&O) Pages for HUB International and Insureon
Other Coverage Lines Compared for HUB International vs Insureon
Other Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Provider Comparisons
Sources for HUB International vs Insureon
Sources About HUB International
- About Us. HUB International; Opening description; 1998 formation of HUB International Limited; 2022 Insureon acquisition; headquarters and employee/office counts. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Contact Us. HUB International; Business Solutions paths for Commercial Insurance Solutions versus Small Commercial Insurance Solutions via Insureon; office search. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Insurance for Technology Companies. HUB International; Technology Company Insurance & Risk Management: startup, software, hardware and digital-media introduction; Business Coverage and People Protection lists; technology-client count. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Professional Liability Insurance Brokers. HUB International; What is professional liability?; Who Needs Professional Liability Insurance Coverage?; How Can You Limit Your Exposure to Professional Liability?; exclusions; Connect With a Broker. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Errors and Omissions (E&O) Insurance Coverage. HUB International; Industries served list including accounting, architecture, creative, dental, engineering, financial, medical, media and technology; prior-acts coverage; claims-made structure with per-claim and aggregate limits and tail coverage; claims-notification steps. Accessed 2026-09-23.
Sources About Insureon
- How Insureon Works. Insureon; Agent/broker and carrier roles (L82-88); application and advertised quote/payment route (L89-97); human support (L98-101). Accessed 2026-09-28.
- General Liability Insurance - Get Online Quotes. Insureon; Coverage/product overview; illustrative third-party claims; quote CTA. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Professional Liability Insurance - Get Online Quotes. Insureon; Product definition L67-L89; quote CTA and target users on page. Accessed 2026-09-29.
Sources for the Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Guide
- FAQ: Professional liability insurance. Texas Department of Insurance; What’s professional liability coverage?; What types of damages…; What’s general liability insurance?; Do I need professional liability… if I have general liability…?; Is professional liability insurance required?; Can a client require…?; What’s the difference between occurrence policies and claims-made policies. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Professional liability insurance. Insurance Information Institute; Opening paragraphs (professional services/advice and E&O name); Claims not covered by general liability; What types of businesses need professional liability insurance?; What’s covered… and what’s not (claims-made versus occurrence, defense and judgments, non-financial/intentional limits, BOP/in-home exclusion). Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Get business insurance. U.S. Small Business Administration; Six common types of business insurance table. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Professional Liability – US Direct Errors and Omissions Insurance. Hiscox Inc. specimen; About this Policy / Coverage for Claims Made Against You; I.A Insuring Agreement; I.B Defense; I.C Settlement; II.A Notice of Claims; II.C Optional Extended Reporting Period; III.A, III.K, III.M, III.R, III.S Exclusions; IV.A–B Limits and Deductible; VI.O Professional Services; VI.U Wrongful Act. Accessed 2026-09-16.




