What Is HUB International?
HUB suits technology businesses seeking a specialist broker—its practice says it insures more than 5,000 technology companies; qualifying small accounts can use Insureon online, while mid-market buyers need an advisor. 1,2,3
What is Insureon?
Insureon describes a small-business insurance agency and broker route with online quote entry and agent support. Its pages market several coverage types, but do not establish which insurer, policy form, state availability, or eligibility applies to a particular buyer. 5,6
What Are Fidelity Bonds?
Fidelity coverage can reimburse certain losses when employees steal money or property they handle. If employees manage company funds, customer property or benefit-plan assets, identify each owner and compare the required protection for each interest. 8,9,10
Key Differences in Fidelity Bonds
Specialty Practice and Related Support
HUB places crime and fidelity coverage through its ProEx Professional & Executive Risk practice and lists Financial Institution Bonds separately for financial-institution clients. It says ProEx provides analytics, litigation support and risk-management services, while Insureon’s page frames fidelity bonds for small businesses around employee-dishonesty losses involving a client or other party. HUB’s structure gives a prospect a named specialist practice to contact; Insureon offers a catalog route that may suit a small-business quote search. Ask either to identify which market and bond form applies to your specific exposure. 4 4 7
Contacting a Broker vs. Requesting a Quote
HUB directs prospective clients to a ProEx specialist rather than a digital bind flow. Insureon provides an online quote request, but its public listing does not identify the issuer, applicant eligibility or a particular bond form. That distinction affects how a buyer begins: prepare to discuss the exposure with HUB, or submit the small-business information requested by Insureon, then compare the resulting carrier documents rather than assuming the same wording. 4 7
What to Confirm in Fidelity Bonds Quotes
- Ask HUB whether your need belongs under Crime/Fidelity or Financial Institution Bonds and what ProEx support is included; ask Insureon to name the surety and form behind its listing. 4 4 7
- Compare whether the proposal addresses employee dishonesty against your own business, a client, or a financial institution, and request covered-act and exclusion wording. 4 7
Review Scores
These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.
HUB International
Review Score
2 rated sources
Customers who reviewed HUB on BBB rate it 1 out of 5, but that is only 7 reviews for a very large broker. BBB's own business grade is A-.[7][6]
Read HUB International reviewsInsureon
Review Score
4 rated sources
Insureon's ratings are split. Trustpilot shows 4.5 out of 5 from 2,401 reviews, while ConsumerAffairs shows 1.0 from 344.[1][2]
Read Insureon reviewsOffering Details
HUB International vs Insureon: Fidelity Bonds: documented features by provider
| Criteria | HUB International Crime and Fidelity Bond Brokerage | Insureon Fidelity Bonds |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | HUB places crime and fidelity bond coverage, including financial institution bonds, through its ProEx Professional & Executive Risk practice alongside other executive-liability and financial-institution lines, rather than underwriting these bonds itself. 4Company-reported. ProEx page coverage list, read 2026-09-23. The page does not name an issuing insurer for Crime/Fidelity or Financial Institution Bonds. | Insureon lists fidelity bonds in its small-business bonds catalog; this is a broker/marketplace listing, not an identified issuing insurer. 7Company-reported. Insureon’s public marketing page and quote route documents this description. It does not establish the issuing insurer for an individual quote, exact state or provincial availability, the policy form, complete exclusions, or terms offered to a particular buyer; confirm those in the quote and policy documents. |
| Issuing Insurer | No insurer is named for Crime/Fidelity or Financial Institution Bonds on the ProEx page; HUB says ProEx places over $2 billion in premium with carriers it calls top-rated, without naming them. 4Not found in reviewed sources. Checked the ProEx page on 2026-09-23. | Confirm in your quote. |
| Who It’s For | No size, industry or state eligibility criteria specific to fidelity bonds or financial institution bonds were found on the ProEx page. 4Not found in reviewed sources. Checked the ProEx page on 2026-09-23; these coverages are listed among many others without their own eligibility description. | The page positions bonds for small businesses and names example trades; it does not identify which applicants or jurisdictions qualify for a quote. 7Company-reported. Insureon’s public marketing page and quote route documents this description. It does not establish the issuing insurer for an individual quote, exact state or provincial availability, the policy form, complete exclusions, or terms offered to a particular buyer; confirm those in the quote and policy documents. |
| Coverage Features | HUB's ProEx coverage list names "Crime / Fidelity" as an Executive Liability offering and "Financial Institution Bonds" as a separate Financial Institutions offering, but the page gives no further description of insuring agreements, covered dishonest-act scenarios or exclusions for either. 4Company-reported. ProEx page coverage list only; these are catalogue entries, not policy-form descriptions. | The page distinguishes fidelity bonds from ordinary surety bonds and describes employee-dishonesty losses involving a client or other party; the issued bond or policy wording is not supplied. 7Company-reported. Insureon’s public marketing page and quote route documents this description. It does not establish the issuing insurer for an individual quote, exact state or provincial availability, the policy form, complete exclusions, or terms offered to a particular buyer; confirm those in the quote and policy documents. |
| Limits and Retentions | Published bond penalty amounts, limits or retentions were not found on the ProEx page. 4Not publicly disclosed. Checked the ProEx page on 2026-09-23; bond amounts are set on the quote and declarations. | The cited public overview does not establish the limits, deductibles, exclusions or form terms that would apply to a specific buyer. 7Not publicly disclosed. Ask for the quote and specimen or issued policy forms before treating a listed feature as covered. |
| Risk Services | HUB says its ProEx team, which lists Crime/Fidelity and Financial Institution Bonds among its coverages, provides analytics, litigation support and risk-management services to clients of all sizes under a named ProEx practice leader. 4Company-reported. ProEx page team and services description; not specific to a single bond placement. | Confirm in your quote. |
| How to Apply | HUB directs prospects for these coverages to contact a ProEx specialist rather than an online quote or bind flow. 4Company-reported. ProEx page call to action. | The cited Insureon product page provides an online quote request path; that route does not identify the insurer or guarantee that a quote will be offered or bound. 7Company-reported. Insureon’s public marketing page and quote route documents this description. It does not establish the issuing insurer for an individual quote, exact state or provincial availability, the policy form, complete exclusions, or terms offered to a particular buyer; confirm those in the quote and policy documents. |
Full Comparison
More HUB International vs Insureon Comparisons
Other Fidelity Bonds Comparisons
Sources
HUB International
- About Us. HUB International; Opening description; 1998 formation of HUB International Limited; 2022 Insureon acquisition; headquarters and employee/office counts. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Contact Us. HUB International; Business Solutions paths for Commercial Insurance Solutions versus Small Commercial Insurance Solutions via Insureon; office search. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Insurance for Technology Companies. HUB International; Technology Company Insurance & Risk Management: startup, software, hardware and digital-media introduction; Business Coverage and People Protection lists; technology-client count. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- HUB ProEx. HUB International; ProEx Coverages list including Crime / Fidelity under Executive Liability and Financial Institution Bonds under Financial Institutions; Claims & Legal Support section; ProEx premium volume statement. Accessed 2026-09-23.
Insureon
- How Insureon Works. Insureon; Agent/broker and carrier roles (L82-88); application and advertised quote/payment route (L89-97); human support (L98-101). Accessed 2026-09-28.
- General Liability Insurance - Get Online Quotes. Insureon; Coverage/product overview; illustrative third-party claims; quote CTA. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Small Business Bonds and Insurance: What You Need to Know. Insureon; Fidelity bond definition/examples L86-L97; quote CTA; bonds/insurance distinction L65-L67. Accessed 2026-09-29.
Fidelity Bonds Guide
- Glossary of Insurance Terms. National Association of Insurance Commissioners; Fidelity; Surety Bond. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Field Assistance Bulletin No. 2008-04: Guidance Regarding ERISA Fidelity Bonding Requirements. U.S. Department of Labor, Employee Benefits Security Administration; Q1–Q3 pp.2–3; Q2 pp.2–3. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Crime Terms and Conditions. Travelers Casualty and Surety Company of America; I.A.1–3 p.1; III.S pp.8–9; V.B.1–2 pp.18–20; CRI consideration p.1; III.P p.8; V.A.3 pp.16–17; V.A.4 p.17; V.B.3 p.20; IV.L p.15. Accessed 2026-09-16.




