Hiscox vs The Hartford Business Owner’s Policy

Hiscox names Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. and seven state exceptions; The Hartford reports a $1,687 average and includes business income.

What Is Hiscox?

Hiscox is a U.S. small-business insurance brand whose website is operated by Hiscox Inc., a Delaware producer that does business in California as Hiscox Insurance Agency. Eligible firms can quote general liability, professional liability, cyber and a business owner’s policy online; other advertised lines are often placed with partner insurers, so the issuing company on each quote still has to be checked. 1,2,3

Read the Hiscox profile

What Is The Hartford?

The Hartford is the brand of The Hartford Insurance Group, Inc., whose subsidiaries underwrite property-and-casualty insurance and employee benefits. Small-business buyers can start online or by phone or work through independent agents, while the issuing company and state eligibility still have to be confirmed on a quote. 8,9,10

Read the The Hartford profile

What Is a Business Owner’s Policy?

A business owner’s policy packages property, general liability and business interruption coverage for eligible businesses. 12

Read the full coverage guide

Key Differences in Business Owner’s Policy

Writing Company Disclosure

Hiscox names Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. (NAIC 10200) for admitted Hiscox NOW BOPs. The Hartford's BOP page does not name which property-and-casualty subsidiary would issue a given policy; the Legal Notice says coverages may be offered by one or more listed subsidiaries depending on product and jurisdiction. Both sell a packaged small-business BOP rather than brokering a third-party form. 7 3 11 8

Income in the Bundle Versus Hiscox Upgrades

The Hartford includes business income in the base BOP and says workers' compensation, professional liability, commercial auto and data breach can be added, plus off-premises utility business-income coverage. Hiscox describes optional cyber, hired/non-owned auto and commercial crime as BOP upgrades tied to the occurrence limit, and lists seven states where the BOP itself is unavailable. 11 4 7

Average Premium Versus Illustrative Pricing

The Hartford reports customers paid an average of $1,687 a year. Hiscox's BOP page uses an illustrative California IT consultant table labeled as not a quote and does not publish standard limits. Both offer an online quote path; The Hartford also lists a phone number. 11 4

What to Confirm in Business Owner’s Policy Quotes

  • Confirm Hiscox BOP availability in your state. 7
  • Get the Hartford writing company from the quote. 8
  • Compare business income on The Hartford form with Hiscox's upgrade set. 11 4
  • Treat The Hartford's $1,687 figure as an estimate, not your premium. 11

Offering Details

Hiscox vs The Hartford Business Owner’s Policy: documented features by provider

CriteriaHiscox Business Owner's PolicyThe Hartford Business Owner's Policy (BOP)
Role in This Line

Hiscox Inc. sells a business owner's policy directly online to small businesses, combining general liability and commercial property into one package as part of its Hiscox NOW admitted catalogue. 4,3Company-reported. Company-stated online small-business channel.

The Hartford's BOP bundles commercial property insurance, general liability insurance and business income (interruption) coverage into one policy, rather than requiring three separate policies. 11Company-reported. BOP product page as read 2026-09-23.

Issuing Insurer

Hiscox's appetite guide and About Hiscox US page name Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. (NAIC 10200) as the underwriter of admitted Hiscox NOW business owner's policies. 7,3Company-reported. Admitted small-business BOP coverage as described in company materials; the exact contracting entity for a particular state or channel should be confirmed on the quote.

The BOP page does not name which Hartford property-and-casualty subsidiary would issue a given buyer's policy; the Legal Notice says coverages may be offered by one or more of several listed subsidiaries depending on product and jurisdiction. 11,8Not publicly disclosed. BOP page and Legal Notice as read 2026-09-23.

Who It’s For

Hiscox's 2026 appetite guide says its business owner's policy is unavailable in Alaska, Florida, Kansas, Ohio, Rhode Island, Washington and West Virginia, a narrower footprint than the 49-state-plus-D.C. availability Hiscox states for its overall online small-business catalogue. 7Company-reported. State-exception list as of the 2026 agent appetite guide; does not by itself establish eligibility for a specific class or business.

The Hartford says a BOP fits a business that has a physical location, faces a possibility of being sued, or has assets that could be stolen or damaged, and can be customized for specific industries. 11Company-reported. BOP product page as read 2026-09-23.

Coverage Features

Hiscox describes optional add-ons to its business owner's policy including cyber coverage, hired/non-owned commercial auto, and commercial crime; hired/non-owned auto and commercial crime are described as upgrades tied to the BOP's own occurrence limit and are not sold as standalone Hiscox policies. 4,5,6Company-reported. Product-page and upgrade-page descriptions; commercial crime is also stated as not available in all states.

The Hartford says a BOP does not itself include workers' compensation, professional liability, commercial auto or data breach coverage, but these can be added on top of the base policy, along with off-premises utility business-income coverage. 11Company-reported. BOP product page as read 2026-09-23.

Limits and Retentions

The BOP page does not publish standard coverage limits; the illustrative California IT/technology consultant pricing table on the page is explicitly labeled illustrative rather than a quote. 4Not publicly disclosed. Public product page as previously reviewed.

The Hartford reports its customers paid an average of $1,687 a year (about $141 a month) for a BOP; the page does not publish standard coverage limits or deductibles, since actual limits are set at quote or issue. 11Company-reported. Company-reported average as of 2026-09-23; described on the page as an estimate, not a quote for any specific business.

How to Apply

Hiscox says eligible buyers can quote and buy a business owner's policy online, and can select add-on coverages such as cyber or commercial crime during that process where available. 4Company-reported. Company-described online application; eligibility and binding conditions require confirmation on the actual application.

The Hartford offers an online quote flow for a BOP, described as customizable by adding coverages; buyers can also call a listed phone number to start a quote. 11Company-reported. BOP product page as read 2026-09-23. Quote availability observed without completing a purchase.

Full Comparison

More Hiscox vs The Hartford Comparisons

Other Business Owner’s Policy Comparisons

Sources

Hiscox

  1. Website Terms & Conditions of Use. Hiscox; Last modified May 28, 2024; Hiscox Inc. as Delaware corporation headquartered in Atlanta, d/b/a Hiscox Insurance Agency in CA, licensed intermediary for admitted and surplus-lines business with Hiscox Insurance Company Inc., other domestic insurers, and Lloyd’s syndicates; small-business online path distinguished from broker-only site sections. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Get A Small Business Insurance Quote. Hiscox; States that Hiscox offers general liability, professional liability, cyber security and business owner’s policies online; zip-code quote field; licensed-agent hours Monday–Friday 7 a.m.–10 p.m. ET and Saturday–Sunday 8 a.m.–5 p.m. ET. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. About Hiscox US Insurance. Hiscox; Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. NAIC 10200 as Chicago, IL domiciled insurer admitted or licensed in all 50 states and D.C.; Hiscox Inc. as general agent and Lloyd’s coverholder for Syndicates 33 and 3624; surplus-lines placements through licensed surplus-lines brokers; A.M. Best rating statement. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Business Owner's Policy Insurance (BOP) Coverage. Hiscox; BOP as combined general liability and commercial property; optional packages including cyber, non-owned commercial auto, commercial crime and professional liability; illustrative California IT/technology consultant pricing table; worldwide-coverage qualifications. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  5. Non-Owned Car Liability Insurance. Hiscox; Hired/non-owned auto described as an upgrade to a business owner's policy and part of that policy's occurrence limit, not coverage for vehicles owned or regularly operated by the business. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  6. Commercial crime insurance for small businesses. Hiscox; Commercial crime as a BOP upgrade not sold separately; not available in all states. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  7. Hiscox US Agent Appetite Guide. Hiscox; Hiscox NOW admitted GL, PL, cyber and BOP underwritten by Hiscox Insurance Company Inc.; state exceptions including BOP unavailable in Alaska, Florida, Kansas, Ohio, Rhode Island, Washington and West Virginia. Accessed 2026-09-16.

The Hartford

  1. SaaS Insurance for Your Business. The Hartford; Audience list (software startups, SaaS, IT consulting); Get a Business Owner’s Policy; What Is Business Owner’s Policy Insurance?; general liability introduction and Get a Quote; Get Commercial Property Insurance; Commercial Property Insurance for Your Business; Benefits of The Hartford’s WC Insurance for Employers and Employees; cyber insurance and data breach descriptions; Get a quote for cyber insurance; EPLI introduction and Private Choice Premier; add-ons (workers’ compensation, data breach, commercial auto); technology professional liability mention; small-business availability banner; industry-average premium footnote; footnote 2 state restrictions; footer product-availability disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Find a Local Insurance Agent. The Hartford; Small-business and midsize agent locators; FAQ that buyers can purchase without an agent by calling or quoting online; statement that agents may charge fees. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Business Owner's Policy (BOP) Insurance. The Hartford; What Is Business Owner's Policy Insurance?; What Is Included in a Business Owner's Policy?; Additional Coverages You Can Add; Who Needs a Business Owner's Policy?; How Much Does a BOP Cost?; BOP vs. General Liability comparison. Accessed 2026-09-23.

Business Owner’s Policy Guide

  1. Business Interruption and Business Owner Policy. National Association of Insurance Commissioners; Background; General liability, Commercial property and Business interruption bullets. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Let Spot Handle the Insurance Legwork.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot