Harper vs
StartupInsurance.ai Product Liability Insurance
Harper shops product-class insurers for importers and retailers; StartupInsurance.ai treats product liability as a specialist line for hardware founders.
What Is Harper Insurance?
Harper is a commercial insurance brokerage for businesses with complex risks. Its specialists use AI tools to gather information, seek quotes from insurers and help customers manage coverage. 1,2
What Is StartupInsurance.ai?
StartupInsurance.ai is a marketing brand of ContractorNerd Insurance Services, LLC, offering startup insurance placement and policy reviews. Buyers can begin with an online coverage selection or a review of existing policies and contract requirements. 5,6
What Is Product Liability Insurance?
Product liability insurance addresses liability for injury or damage associated with a defective product that a business manufactures, wholesales, distributes or sells. 10,11,12,13
Key Differences in Product Liability Insurance
Importers and Marketplaces Versus Hardware Founders
Harper says the line is for makers, importers and sellers of physical products, including parties named in a claim who did not manufacture the item. StartupInsurance.ai’s physical-risk section frames Products Liability around founders building robots, hardware, energy or defense tech, treated as daily lines rather than exceptions. 3 7
One Shopped Application Versus a Specialist Conversation
You request a Harper quote through an online form or phone; Harper shops one application across insurers for that product class. StartupInsurance.ai’s physical-risk CTA is “Ask about your insurance requirements,” and Products Liability is not a checkbox on the public quote-application screen (D&O, Cyber, Tech E&O, EPL, Fiduciary, Crime and GL). 3 7 6
Vendor Matching Versus Catalogue Listing
Harper says it writes the policy to match a retailer or marketplace vendor agreement, including additional-insured status and required limits. StartupInsurance.ai names the line in a seven-line physical-risk catalogue but does not describe specific coverage terms, forms or exclusions. ContractorNerd Insurance Services, LLC is the licensed agency behind the brand. 3 7 8
What to Confirm in Product Liability Insurance Quotes
- Use Harper’s form if a retailer contract specifies additional-insured wording. 3
- Ask StartupInsurance.ai a specialist to add Products Liability; it is not on the self-serve screen. 6
- Ask StartupInsurance.ai which of the homepage panel carriers, if any, would issue the policy. 7
- Confirm Harper’s issuing insurer; its product page does not name one. 3
Offering Details
Harper vs StartupInsurance.ai Product Liability Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | Harper Product Liability Insurance | StartupInsurance.ai Product Liability Insurance |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | Harper places product liability coverage as a broker: it says a specialist reviews the business and approaches insurers on the client's behalf rather than underwriting the policy itself. 3Company-reported. Product liability page's 'Why Harper' section; describes Harper's placement process, not a specific insurer or policy. | StartupInsurance.ai does not underwrite product liability coverage itself. ContractorNerd Insurance Services, LLC, the licensed property and casualty agency behind the brand, is licensed in all 50 states and arranges placement; its terms describe the company as an insurance agency/producer that does not underwrite insurance. 8,9,7Company-reported. ContractorNerd's terms and conditions and insurance-licenses page; describes the brokerage's general role, not product-liability-specific placement terms. |
| Issuing Insurer | The reviewed product liability page does not name the insurer or insurers that would issue a given policy; Harper says it places the coverage with 'real insurers' generally rather than a named carrier for this line. 3,4Not publicly disclosed. Checked the product liability page and the coverage directory on 2026-09-23; neither names a carrier for this specific line. | The homepage's carrier panel names six insurers at the program level (The Hartford, Chubb, Coalition, Tokio Marine HCC, Travelers and CNA) but does not state which one, if any, underwrites a given company's product liability policy. 7Not publicly disclosed. Carrier panel is program-wide rather than broken out by line; the insurer for a product liability placement is not disclosed on the pages reviewed and varies by placement. |
| Who It’s For | Harper says the line is for makers, importers and sellers of physical products, and that importers, distributors and retailers can be named in a product claim even when they didn't manufacture the item. 3Company-reported. Product liability page introduction and FAQ answer on non-manufacturer exposure. | The section frames these seven lines around founders "building robots, hardware, energy or defense tech," saying StartupInsurance.ai treats them as "our daily lines, not our exceptions" — positioning product liability as a line it places regularly for hardware-adjacent startups rather than as a rare add-on. 7Company-reported. Same homepage section; describes the target customer segment StartupInsurance.ai says it serves for this catalogue of lines, not formal underwriting eligibility criteria. |
| Coverage Features | Harper describes the coverage as responding to injury claims from a product, property damage the product caused, and the legal defense costs of those claims. 3Company-reported. Product liability page's four coverage tiles (Injury claims, Property damage, Defense in depth, Vendor agreement compliance); the issued policy and its exclusions control actual scope. | StartupInsurance.ai lists Products Liability among seven lines in the homepage's "Physical risk, because AI outgrew software" section — Products Liability, Inland Marine, Tools and Equipment, Commercial Auto, Builders Risk, Surety and Property — offered alongside the core startup program of GL, cyber, D&O and related lines. 7Company-reported. Homepage "Physical risk, because AI outgrew software" section as read on 2026-09-23; the reviewed page names the line but does not describe specific coverage terms, forms or exclusions. |
| Limits and Retentions | Harper names product category, sales volume and sales channel as what drives product liability pricing, but the reviewed page does not publish specific limit, retention or premium figures. 3Not publicly disclosed. Product liability FAQ 'What does it cost?'; figures are unavailable on this public page and would appear on a quote. | The reviewed pages do not publish sample product liability limits, sublimits or retentions. 7,6Not found in reviewed sources. Homepage and quote-intake screen as read on 2026-09-23; limits would only surface on an actual quote. |
| Risk Services | Harper says it will write the policy to match a retailer or marketplace vendor agreement, including additional-insured status and the specific limits those contracts require. 3Company-reported. Product liability page 'We know this' section and FAQ on additional-insured requests; a service Harper describes performing, not an independently verified outcome. | Not described in the reviewed sources. |
| How to Apply | You request a quote through Harper's online form or by phone; Harper says one application is then shopped across the insurers that write the applicant's product class. 3Company-reported. Product liability page quote form and 'Why Harper' process steps. | The physical-risk section's call to action reads "Ask about your insurance requirements →" rather than the "Get Quotes" button used elsewhere on the homepage, indicating product liability is discussed with a specialist rather than quoted through a self-serve form. 7Company-reported. Homepage "Physical risk, because AI outgrew software" section as read on 2026-09-23; the page does not describe what that conversation covers. The public quote-application's coverage-selection screen offers seven checkboxes (D&O, Cyber, Tech E&O, EPL, Fiduciary, Crime and GL); Products Liability is not one of them, so it is not part of that self-serve intake flow. 6Not found in reviewed sources. Initial coverage-selection screen of the quote application as read on 2026-09-23; a later screen or specialist conversation could still address this line. |
Full Comparison
More Harper vs StartupInsurance.ai Comparisons
Other Product Liability Insurance Comparisons
Sources
Harper
- Text Messaging Terms and Conditions. Harper Global Enterprises Inc.; Effective August 24, 2026; sections 1–3 (entity, consent and service messages), 5 (message costs), 9 (delivery) and 11 (coverage confirmation). Accessed 2026-09-15.
- We're Announcing $47M to Build the Insurance Company Every Business Deserves. Harper / Dakotah Rice; February 26, 2026 article: brokerage identity; AI-assisted submissions and follow-ups; 24–48-hour coverage statement; more than 165 underwriters; plans for additional direct appointments. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Product Liability Insurance. Harper; Know your coverage: What is Product Liability insurance?; Injury claims, Property damage, Defense in depth, Vendor agreement compliance; Why Harper (specialist, market access, recommendation, same-day certificates); FAQs on importers/distributors/retailers and pricing drivers. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- What We Cover. Harper; Coverage directory list including Product Liability; intake selector categories. Accessed 2026-09-23.
StartupInsurance.ai
- Company | Startup Insurance. StartupInsurance.ai; The story; founders; The free policy check; legal footer. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Apply for Startup Insurance | StartupInsurance.ai. StartupInsurance.ai; Coverage-selection screen: seven checkboxes (D&O, Cyber, Tech E&O, EPL, Fiduciary, Crime, GL). Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Startup Insurance | Coverage that clears the review. StartupInsurance.ai; Carrier panel; Physical risk, because AI outgrew software (Products Liability · Inland Marine · Tools and Equipment · Commercial Auto · Builders Risk · Surety · Property; "Building robots, hardware, energy or defense tech?"). Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Terms and Conditions. ContractorNerd; Section 2, Insurance Services: "ContractorNerd is an insurance agency/insurance producer... not an insurance company, does not underwrite insurance"; Section 2.A, Broker/Agent of Record. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Insurance Licenses. ContractorNerd; Company information: "a property and casualty independent insurance agency licensed in all 50 states"; 50-state licensing table for ContractorNerd Insurance Services, LLC. Accessed 2026-09-16.
Product Liability Insurance Guide
- Get business insurance. U.S. Small Business Administration; Six common types of business insurance table. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Facts + Statistics: Product liability. Insurance Information Institute; Product liability insurance opening definition (manufacturer, distributor, or seller; defective condition causing personal injury or damage); Product recall insurance sentence. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Product liability, recall and contamination insurance. Insurance Information Institute; Product liability opening (design/manufacture/distribute/sell; injury, property damage or death; added to GL or stand-alone); What could go wrong? (roles; directions/warnings); Covering the costs of a product recall; Contamination insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Commercial Insurance Guide. California Department of Insurance; Commercial General Liability Coverage: premises, products liability and completed operations; major exclusions including damage to your work, impaired property, sistership liability and failure to perform; Limits of Insurance products and completed operations aggregate; glossary Sistership Liability. Accessed 2026-09-16.





