Cowbell vs
RiskCube Tech E&O Insurance
Cowbell sells surplus Prime Tech with $5M limits; RiskCube brokers Tech E&O across unnamed carriers and flags AI and MSA wording gaps.
What Is Cowbell Insurance?
Cowbell is a specialty-insurance platform and agency focused on cyber risk for small and midsize businesses. Its U.S. catalogue also includes combined Technology E&O and cyber products and a Zurich management-liability offering distributed through appointed wholesalers. 1,2,3
What Is RiskCube Insurance?
RiskCube offers startup insurance brokerage through RiskCube Insurance Services, LLC, with a platform for comparing quotes and managing policies. Its published services emphasize vendor requirements, certificates and renewals; California product eligibility and applicable fees require confirmation. 5,6,7
What Is Technology Errors and Omissions (E&O) Insurance?
Technology errors and omissions (E&O) insurance addresses claims that a technology product or service caused a customer or other third party a financial loss. It doesn't extend to cyber incidents, bodily injury or professional services outside the quoted product. 9,10,11
Key Differences in Tech E&O Insurance
One Program Versus Market Scanning
Cowbell sells Prime Tech as its own surplus-lines Tech E&O and cyber combination. RiskCube is an independent brokerage that scans the market for Tech E&O quotes and is not the underwriter. 2 8
RiskCube’s disclosures say products are issued by unnamed third-party carriers. A Cowbell quote is for Prime Tech or Plus; a RiskCube quote is whichever carrier form it places. 7 2
Coverage Lists and AI Layering
Cowbell describes delay, breach of warranty or contract, product failures, software copyright disputes, and cyber-related costs, and says the form has no exclusions for guarantees, consequential damages, or breach of warranties. RiskCube describes software errors, SLA or contract failure, client financial losses, and defense. 2 8
RiskCube lists common exclusions including patent and other intellectual-property infringement. Cowbell’s reviewed sources list copyright disputes as covered rather than as a named exclusion. 8 2
RiskCube also says it can layer excess for AI-related gaps such as algorithmic-bias or hallucination claims and checks waiver-of-subrogation language that enterprise MSAs request. Cowbell’s reviewed sources do not describe that AI excess layer. 8 2
Audience and Speed
Cowbell targets technology businesses up to $1 billion in revenue, with published $5 million limits, and distributes through agents. RiskCube targets AI/ML, fintech, govtech, defense, space, and Web3 companies and does not publish specific limit amounts. 2 8
RiskCube says it typically returns quotes within about 24 hours. Cowbell’s reviewed sources do not publish a quote-turnaround time. The reviewed RiskCube sources do not describe claims handling for this line. 8 2
What to Confirm in Tech E&O Insurance Quotes
- Ask RiskCube which carrier and form it is quoting, and how that form treats copyright versus its listed IP exclusions. 8 7
- Ask Cowbell for the surplus insurer and whether Prime Tech’s “no exclusion for warranties” language matches your customer contracts. 2
- If you need AI-bias or hallucination cover, ask RiskCube about the excess layer; Cowbell’s reviewed sources do not describe that specific AI excess. 8 2
- Compare Cowbell’s $5 million maxima with whatever limits RiskCube places and the 24-hour quote caveat for complex risks. 2 8
Offering Details
Cowbell vs RiskCube Tech E&O Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | Cowbell Prime Tech / Prime Tech Plus | RiskCube Technology Errors and Omissions (E&O) Insurance |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | Cowbell markets Prime Tech as a non-admitted professional-indemnity product that combines Technology Errors & Omissions (E&O) with cyber coverage in one policy, and Prime Tech Plus as a follow-form excess layer that sits above a primary Tech E&O/cyber policy. 2,4Company-reported. Prime Tech and Prime Tech Plus overview PDFs. | RiskCube compares Tech E&O policies across carriers and describes itself as an independent brokerage rather than the underwriter of the policy. 8Company-reported. Tech E&O product page footer and FAQ describing RiskCube as "your independent broker, scanning the entire market" for quotes. |
| Issuing Insurer | Neither reviewed PDF names the specific issuing insurer for Prime Tech or Prime Tech Plus; both state coverage, terms and availability vary by state and are subject to underwriting approval without naming a carrier. 2,4Not publicly disclosed. Disclaimer paragraphs of both PDFs, read on 2026-09-23. | RiskCube's disclosures say it is not an insurance carrier and that its insurance products, including Tech E&O, are underwritten and issued by third-party carriers it does not name; the Tech E&O page itself does not identify an issuing insurer. 7,8Company-reported. Company-wide entity and licensing disclosure and the Tech E&O product page as read on 2026-09-23. |
| Who It’s For | Cowbell targets Prime Tech and Prime Tech Plus at technology businesses with up to $1B in revenue, listing example segments such as SaaS/app service providers, IT consultants, data analytics, hardware resellers, and web design or web services firms. 2,4Company-reported. Risk Appetite sections of both PDFs. | RiskCube targets Tech E&O at AI/ML, fintech, govtech, defense, space and Web3 companies whose software or models can create financial loss or contract-performance disputes for customers. 8Company-reported. Tech E&O product page "Who needs this coverage" section. |
| Coverage Features | Cowbell lists Prime Tech coverage for delay in delivery, negligence, misrepresentation, breach of warranty/contract, product failures, and software copyright disputes, plus associated cyber-related costs like cyber extortion, data restoration, social engineering, and business interruption. 2Company-reported. Prime Tech FAQ, 'What coverage is offered?' and 'other associated costs' lists. Cowbell says Prime Tech includes duty to defend, defense costs for privacy-related regulatory proceedings, contractual-indemnity coverage, expansive breach-of-contract coverage, broad intellectual-property infringement coverage, and no exclusions for guarantees, consequential damages, or breach of warranties. 2Company-reported. 'Prime Tech Coverage Benefits' list; illustrative, subject to the issued policy. | RiskCube describes Tech E&O as covering software errors and bugs, failure to meet SLAs or contract terms, client financial losses caused by the policyholder's product, and related data loss, plus legal defense costs. 8Company-reported. Tech E&O product page "What's covered" section. RiskCube lists common Tech E&O exclusions including intentional wrongdoing or fraud, incidents known before binding, patent infringement, other intellectual-property infringement and financial insolvency. 8Company-reported. Tech E&O product page "Common Exclusions" section. |
| Limits and Retentions | Cowbell states Prime Tech offers limits up to $5M, and Prime Tech Plus (the excess layer) also offers limits up to $5M above the underlying primary policy. 2,4Company-reported. Product overview PDFs. | RiskCube says needed Tech E&O limits depend on contract requirements and risk exposure, with early-stage startups often starting at lower limits, but does not publish specific limit or retention amounts on the product page. 8Not publicly disclosed. Tech E&O product page "How much Tech E&O coverage do startups need" FAQ. |
| Risk Services | Cowbell says Prime Tech is 'powered by Cowbell Co-Pilot,' its AI-driven assistive underwriting tool, and that policyholders get the same Cowbell Resiliency Services, Cowbell Connectors, and complimentary Wizer cybersecurity-awareness training offered on its cyber products. 2Company-reported. Prime Tech PDF, page 2 (Cowbell Co-Pilot mention) and 'The Cowbell Advantage' list. | RiskCube says it can layer an excess policy on top of Tech E&O to address AI-related coverage gaps such as algorithmic-bias or hallucination claims, and checks that policies include waiver-of-subrogation language that enterprise MSAs request. 8Company-reported. Tech E&O product page "AI & enterprise risk" FAQ. |
| How to Apply | Cowbell says Prime Tech is available on a surplus-lines basis in all 50 states and is distributed through agents rather than direct to businesses. 2Company-reported. 'Prime Tech Coverage Benefits' list, first bullet. | RiskCube asks applicants for product, customer, revenue and contract details such as SLAs or indemnities, plus prior claims or known incidents, and says it typically returns Tech E&O quotes within about 24 hours depending on underwriting complexity. 8Company-reported. Tech E&O product page process steps and "What information do I need to apply" / "How fast can we get Tech E&O quotes" FAQs. |
| Claims Support | Not described in the reviewed sources. | The reviewed Tech E&O page does not describe claims handling or a dedicated claims team for this line. 8Not found in reviewed sources. Tech E&O product page as read on 2026-09-23. |
Full Comparison
More Cowbell vs RiskCube Comparisons
Other Tech E&O Insurance Comparisons
Sources
Cowbell
- Cowbell. Cowbell; What We Do; Assess, Insure, Respond and Improve; U.S. navigation; footer legal disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Prime Tech Product Overview. Cowbell; Product Overview; Risk Appetite; Prime Tech Coverage Benefits; Prime Tech FAQ (typical Tech E&O claims scenarios, coverage offered, associated costs). Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Small And Midsize Business Management Liability. Zurich North America; Zurich Select Plus collaboration; admitted paper and Zurich Claims; modular suite: D&O, Employment Practices and Third-Party Discrimination Liability, Fiduciary Liability and Crime modules; access for appointed Zurich E&S wholesalers; target under 250 employees and $50 million assets; access and target-account FAQs. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Prime Tech Plus Product Overview. Cowbell; Product Overview; Seamless excess protection; Tailored for technology providers; Risk Appetite industry list. Accessed 2026-09-23.
RiskCube
- Startup Business Insurance. RiskCube; Solution; Compare/Buy/Manage; Who we insure; footer. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Licenses & Disclosures. RiskCube; Property & Casualty Producer/Broker Licenses; February 11, 2026 version. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Disclosures & Compensation. RiskCube; Section 1, Entity and Licensing Disclosure: "RiskCube is not an insurance carrier and does not underwrite insurance. Insurance coverage is offered, underwritten, and issued by third-party insurance carriers". Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Technology Errors and Omissions (E&O) Insurance. RiskCube; Who needs this coverage; What is Tech E&O; What's covered; Common Exclusions; FAQs; application steps; "Independent brokerage · NPN 21694336" footer. Accessed 2026-09-23.
Tech E&O Insurance Guide
- Insurance and Bonding Guidelines. Georgia Department of Administrative Services; Professional Liability / Errors and Omissions p.6; Technology Errors & Omissions (Cyber Liability) §9 pp.7–8. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Technology Errors and Omissions Insurance. The Hartford; What Is Technology Errors and Omissions Insurance?; differences between cyber liability and errors and omissions; How Technology Errors and Omissions Insurance Works With Contracts. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- DigiTech Enterprise Risk Management. Chubb; Coverage Synopsis > Third-Party Liability Coverage > Technology Errors and Omissions; Cyber, Privacy and Network Security Liability; footer product-summary disclaimer. Accessed 2026-09-16.






