Cowbell vs
RiskCube D&O Insurance
Cowbell’s D&O is a Zurich SME module for wholesalers; RiskCube compares carrier D&O forms and checks AI-company policies for AI exclusions before bind.
What Is Cowbell Insurance?
Cowbell is a specialty-insurance platform and agency focused on cyber risk for small and midsize businesses. Its U.S. catalogue also includes combined Technology E&O and cyber products and a Zurich management-liability offering distributed through appointed wholesalers. 1,2,3
What Is RiskCube Insurance?
RiskCube offers startup insurance brokerage through RiskCube Insurance Services, LLC, with a platform for comparing quotes and managing policies. Its published services emphasize vendor requirements, certificates and renewals; California product eligibility and applicable fees require confirmation. 5,6,7
What Is Directors and Officers Insurance?
Directors and officers liability insurance addresses covered claims alleging wrongful acts in managing an organization. 9
Key Differences in D&O Insurance
One Carrier Module Versus a Comparison Broker
Cowbell’s D&O is Zurich’s Select Plus Private Management and Company Liability module, with Cowbell supplying API access to appointed E&S wholesalers. RiskCube compares D&O policies across carriers and describes itself as an independent brokerage rather than the underwriter; its disclosures say products including D&O are issued by unnamed third-party carriers. 3 4 8 7
AI Exclusion Review Versus Industry Lists
RiskCube targets startups raising institutional funding or adding board members, and regulated sectors such as AI, fintech, govtech, defense and space, and says it checks every AI-company D&O policy for AI-related exclusions or sublimits before binding to address “AI washing” allegations. Cowbell lists technology among target industries but does not describe an AI-exclusion check as a bind condition on the reviewed pages. 8 4
Ten-Minute Intake Versus Wholesaler-Only Access
RiskCube describes a roughly 10-minute digital intake on fundraising, capitalization, board structure, revenue and prior litigation, then says licensed brokers compare quotes, typically within one to two business days. Cowbell’s module is not sold directly to businesses; appointed Zurich E&S wholesalers use the API. Cowbell also uses a 250-employee and $50 million asset target that RiskCube’s page does not publish. 8 4
What to Confirm in D&O Insurance Quotes
- Ask RiskCube which carrier would issue and whether any AI exclusion or sublimit remains after its check. 8 7
- Confirm Cowbell’s employee and asset screens and wholesaler access. 4
- Ask how RiskCube treats insured-versus-insured and prior-litigation exclusions it lists as common. 8
- Get limits; RiskCube says needs vary by fundraising stage but publishes no amounts, and Cowbell/Zurich publish none. 8 3
Offering Details
Cowbell vs RiskCube D&O Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | Cowbell / Zurich Select Plus Private Company D&O | RiskCube Directors and Officers (D&O) Insurance |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | Private Company D&O is one module within Cowbell's distribution of Zurich's Select Plus management liability product; Cowbell gives Zurich-appointed E&S wholesalers platform access, and Zurich underwrites the module. Zurich's own page labels this module 'Private Management and Company Liability' rather than plain 'D&O.' 4,3Company-reported. Management liability page intro and module list; Zurich page module-name section. | RiskCube compares D&O policies across carriers and describes itself as an independent brokerage rather than the underwriter of the policy. 8Company-reported. D&O product page footer and general framing of the coverage as "tailored D&O coverage" it provides access to, not a self-underwritten product. |
| Issuing Insurer | Cowbell and Zurich both say the Select Plus modules, including D&O, are offered on Zurich admitted paper. Zurich's site footer names 'Zurich American Insurance Company' in its copyright notice, but neither page states that entity is the specific policy issuer for this D&O module. 4,3Company-reported. Management liability page intro; Zurich page intro and footer. | RiskCube's disclosures say it is not an insurance carrier and that its insurance products, including D&O, are underwritten and issued by third-party carriers it does not name; the D&O page itself does not identify an issuing insurer. 7,8Company-reported. Company-wide entity and licensing disclosure and the D&O product page as read on 2026-09-23. |
| Who It’s For | Cowbell targets this D&O module at private companies with under 250 employees and under $50M in assets, in industries such as technology, construction, manufacturing, hospitality, and retail. 4Company-reported. FAQ 'What size accounts are targeted?' and Target industries list. | RiskCube targets D&O at startups raising institutional funding rounds or adding board members, and at regulated sectors such as AI, fintech, govtech, defense and space, saying investors and boards increasingly require D&O as a closing condition. 8Company-reported. D&O product page "Who needs D&O insurance" section. |
| Coverage Features | Cowbell describes D&O liability as protecting the personal assets of directors and officers and the company's financial assets against claims alleging wrongful acts in their capacity as directors and officers. 4Company-reported. FAQ 'What is the difference between management liability and D&O?'. | RiskCube describes a typical private-company D&O program as combining Side A coverage (individual directors and officers when the company can't indemnify them), Side B coverage (reimbursing the company after it indemnifies leadership) and Side C coverage (protecting the company itself). 8Company-reported. D&O product page coverage explanation. RiskCube lists common D&O exclusions including intentional fraud, prior known litigation, insured-versus-insured disputes and illegal profit, and notes that exclusions vary by carrier and policy wording. 8Company-reported. D&O product page "Common Exclusions" section. |
| Limits and Retentions | Neither the Cowbell page nor Zurich's own Select Plus page, both read in full, publishes D&O limit or retention amounts. 4,3Not publicly disclosed. Cowbell page and Zurich page, both read on 2026-09-23. | RiskCube says needed D&O limits vary by fundraising stage, board composition and investor expectations, but does not publish specific limit or retention amounts on the product page. 8Not publicly disclosed. D&O product page "How much D&O insurance do startups need" FAQ. |
| Risk Services | Cowbell frames D&O coverage as a way to help attract and retain directors and officers by giving them personal-asset protection, and says the product covers legal fees, settlements, and other defense costs for the company and its management. 4Company-reported. FAQ 'Why does my company need management liability coverage?'. | RiskCube says it checks every AI-company D&O policy for AI-related exclusions or sublimits before binding, to address "AI washing" allegations and oversight claims. 8Company-reported. D&O product page "AI & governance risk" FAQ. |
| How to Apply | This D&O module is accessed only by appointed Zurich E&S wholesalers through the Cowbell platform's API; it is not sold directly to businesses. 4Company-reported. FAQ 'How can I access the Zurich Select Plus management liability product through Cowbell?'. | RiskCube describes a roughly 10-minute digital intake covering fundraising history, capitalization, board structure, revenue and prior litigation, then says its AI agents and licensed brokers compare carrier quotes, typically returning D&O quotes within one to two business days and proof of coverage in about 24 hours after a policy is selected. 8Company-reported. D&O product page process steps and "How fast can we get D and O insurance quotes" FAQ. |
| Claims Support | Not described in the reviewed sources. | The reviewed D&O page does not describe claims handling or a dedicated claims team for this line. 8Not found in reviewed sources. D&O product page as read on 2026-09-23. |
Full Comparison
More Cowbell vs RiskCube Comparisons
Other D&O Insurance Comparisons
Sources
Cowbell
- Cowbell. Cowbell; What We Do; Assess, Insure, Respond and Improve; U.S. navigation; footer legal disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Prime Tech Product Overview. Cowbell; PDF pp. 1–4: non-admitted combined Technology E&O and cyber for technology businesses up to $1 billion; up to $5 million; surplus lines in 50 states; edition PRIME TECH US0001 1025. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Small and Midsize Business Management Liability | Zurich Select Plus. Zurich North America; Intro on the Zurich/Cowbell collaboration; module name 'Private Management and Company Liability'; FAQ 'What is the difference between management liability and D&O?' (identical to Cowbell's page); Targeted industries list; footer copyright. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Management liability coverage for small & medium enterprises. Cowbell; FAQ 'What is the difference between management liability and D&O?' (D&O definition); FAQ 'Why does my company need management liability coverage?' (Protection for Directors and Officers, Legal Expense Coverage, Attracting and Retaining Talent bullets); Target industries list. Accessed 2026-09-23.
RiskCube
- Startup Business Insurance. RiskCube; Solution; Compare/Buy/Manage; Who we insure; footer. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Licenses & Disclosures. RiskCube; Property & Casualty Producer/Broker Licenses; February 11, 2026 version. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Disclosures & Compensation. RiskCube; Section 1, Entity and Licensing Disclosure: "RiskCube is not an insurance carrier and does not underwrite insurance. Insurance coverage is offered, underwritten, and issued by third-party insurance carriers". Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Directors & Officers (D&O) Insurance. RiskCube; Who needs D&O; Side A/B/C coverage explanation; What's covered; Common Exclusions; FAQs; application steps; "Independent brokerage · NPN 21694336" footer. Accessed 2026-09-23.
D&O Insurance Guide
- Glossary of Business Insurance Terms. The Hartford; Directors and Officers Liability Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance; Employment Practices Liability Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.





