Coverdash vs
HUB International Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance
Coverdash quotes and buys professional liability online end to end; HUB International routes every prospect to a broker instead.
What Is Coverdash Insurance?
Coverdash is an insurance brokerage and digital platform for small businesses, startups and e-commerce sellers. Buyers can compare quotes, purchase policies and manage coverage directly or through an embedded partner service. 1,2,3
What Is HUB International?
HUB International is a North American insurance brokerage that arranges business insurance, employee benefits and related risk services through local offices and specialist practices. Smaller commercial accounts may be sent to Insureon for an online quote; other programs are handled by HUB advisors, with policy terms set by the insurers they use. 6,7,8
What Is Professional Errors and Omissions (E&O) Insurance?
Professional errors and omissions (E&O) insurance, also called professional liability insurance, addresses claims that professional services or advice caused a client financial loss. What's covered depends on the services actually scheduled in the policy, not the product label alone. 11,12,13,14
Key Differences in Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance
How Detailed the Coverage Description Is
Coverdash's page describes coverage in four short cards: negligent advice or service, mistakes by the business or an employee, a missed deadline or undelivered work, and legal defense even against a baseless claim. 4 HUB International's pages go further into policy structure than Coverdash's cards do:
HUB says E&O policies are typically claims-made with per-claim and aggregate limits, can be structured with prior-acts coverage back to a retroactive date, and can offer tail coverage for an extended reporting period; coverage can extend to independent contractors and temporary staff performing work for the business. 10Company-reported. E&O product-page structure description; specific limits and retroactive dates are set on the quote and declarations.
Who the Coverage Is Aimed At
Coverdash markets the product broadly to small businesses, startups and e-commerce sellers that give advice or deliver work, citing architects, dentists, doctors and real estate agencies as examples. 4 HUB names a similar but more specialized set of buyers, including accounting, law, medical, financial-advisory, real estate, architecture and engineering, consulting and contracting businesses, and separately counts technology among nine industries its E&O practice serves. 9 10
Buying the Policy
Coverdash describes a fully digital quote-to-purchase process, letting a buyer add coverages such as general liability or cyber in the same application. 4 HUB's pages describe no online quote flow; instead they direct prospects to connect with a broker, framing professional liability/E&O as customized to business size, industry, location, risk base and desired limits. 9 10
What to Confirm in Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Quotes
- Ask both companies to name the issuing insurer; Coverdash's page doesn't disclose one, and HUB's pages don't name one either. 4 9
- Get the specific limit, retention and retroactive date on your quote; Coverdash doesn't publish figures, and HUB's structure description doesn't include amounts. 4 10
- Ask HUB whether tail coverage is included or priced separately if you later cancel or switch carriers. 10
- If your work involves independent contractors or temporary staff, confirm each policy actually extends coverage to their work on your behalf. 10
Offering Details
Coverdash vs HUB International Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | Coverdash Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance | HUB International Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Brokerage |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | Coverdash arranges professional liability (errors and omissions) coverage as a broker rather than an insurer, placing coverage with a carrier under its standard brokerage terms. 3,4Company-reported. General brokerage terms applied to the professional liability page; not specific to any one carrier or state. | HUB brokers professional liability, which it also calls errors and omissions (E&O) insurance, rather than underwriting the coverage itself. 9,10Company-reported. Professional liability and E&O product pages as read 2026-09-23; neither names an issuing insurer. |
| Issuing Insurer | The professional liability page does not name the insurer that issues the policy. 4Not publicly disclosed. Reviewed professional liability page as of 2026-09-23; the page describes coverage without naming a specific carrier. | Neither the professional liability nor the E&O product page names an issuing insurer; HUB places this coverage with insurers that vary by client and placement. 9,10Not found in reviewed sources. Checked both pages on 2026-09-23; no carrier is disclosed on either. |
| Who It’s For | Coverdash markets professional liability to any small business, startup or e-commerce seller that gives advice, provides a service or delivers work for clients, citing examples including architects, dentists, doctors and real estate agencies. 4Company-reported. Product-page eligibility description; actual acceptance depends on underwriting and profession-specific appetite. | HUB names accounting, law, medical, financial-advisory, real estate, architecture and engineering, consulting, and contracting businesses as typical E&O buyers, and separately lists technology among nine industries its E&O practice serves. 9,10Company-reported. Combined professional-liability and E&O industry lists; not a published underwriting appetite by state. |
| Coverage Features | Coverdash describes professional liability as covering claims that a client's financial harm came from the business's negligent advice or service, mistakes made by the business or an employee, or a missed deadline or undelivered work, and pays legal defense costs even for a baseless claim. 4Company-reported. Product-page coverage cards; the issued policy and declarations control actual wording, limits, exclusions and whether the policy is claims-made. Coverdash's coverage hub lists this general professional liability product separately from Tech E&O (for technology companies) and Lawyers Professional Liability, so a technology or legal business would typically be pointed to the more specific product instead. 5Company-reported. Coverage hub category structure; does not establish which product a given underwriter would actually issue. | HUB says professional liability/E&O policies it arranges can cover defense costs, judgments, settlements and fines from allegations of misrepresentation, breach of professional services, wrongful business practices, misleading advice and conflict of interest, plus libel, slander or lost-profit claims; intentional acts and employment claims are typically excluded. 9Company-reported. Product-page coverage description; the issued policy and its exclusions control an actual claim. HUB says E&O policies are typically claims-made with per-claim and aggregate limits, can be structured with prior-acts coverage back to a retroactive date, and can offer tail coverage for an extended reporting period; coverage can extend to independent contractors and temporary staff performing work for the business. 10Company-reported. E&O product-page structure description; specific limits and retroactive dates are set on the quote and declarations. |
| Limits and Retentions | The professional liability page does not publish specific limit, retention or deductible amounts. 4Not publicly disclosed. Reviewed professional liability page as of 2026-09-23; figures are quote-specific and not shown on the public product page. | Not described in the reviewed sources. |
| How to Apply | Coverdash describes a fully digital quote-to-purchase process for professional liability, with the option to add coverages such as general liability or cyber alongside it. 4Company-reported. Product-page company information and cross-sell section. | HUB directs prospects to connect with a broker; the pages describe professional liability/E&O policies as customized to business size, industry, location, risk base and desired limits, without an online quote flow. 9,10Company-reported. Product-page call to action and customization description as read 2026-09-23. |
| Claims Support | Not described in the reviewed sources. | HUB's E&O page tells policyholders to notify their broker and carrier as soon as possible after an incident and submit documentation including a narrative of the events leading up to the claim. 10Company-reported. E&O product-page claims-notification guidance; a general process description, not an outcome measurement. |
Full Comparison
More Coverdash vs HUB International Comparisons
Other Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Comparisons
Sources
Coverdash
- Frequently Asked Questions. Coverdash; Getting a quote & buying coverage; Claims & certificates; Billing & managing your policy; About Coverdash. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- About Us. Coverdash; How Coverdash Works: direct and embedded channels; Our Investors. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Terms And Conditions. Coverdash; "Coverdash does not provide any underwriting services"; broker/agent of record designation. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Professional Liability Insurance. Coverdash; Product introduction; Types of Coverage cards for Negligence, Mistakes and errors, Missed deadlines, Legal defense; Who It's For industry list. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Coverage Hub. Coverdash; Professional & Management category listing Professional Liability separately from Tech E&O and Lawyers Professional Liability. Accessed 2026-09-23.
HUB International
- About Us. HUB International; Opening description; 1998 formation of HUB International Limited; 2022 Insureon acquisition; headquarters and employee/office counts. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Contact Us. HUB International; Business Solutions paths for Commercial Insurance Solutions versus Small Commercial Insurance Solutions via Insureon; office search. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Insurance for Technology Companies. HUB International; Technology Company Insurance & Risk Management: startup, software, hardware and digital-media introduction; Business Coverage and People Protection lists; technology-client count. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Professional Liability Insurance Brokers. HUB International; What is professional liability?; Who Needs Professional Liability Insurance Coverage?; How Can You Limit Your Exposure to Professional Liability?; exclusions; Connect With a Broker. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Errors and Omissions (E&O) Insurance Coverage. HUB International; Industries served list including accounting, architecture, creative, dental, engineering, financial, medical, media and technology; prior-acts coverage; claims-made structure with per-claim and aggregate limits and tail coverage; claims-notification steps. Accessed 2026-09-23.
Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Guide
- FAQ: Professional liability insurance. Texas Department of Insurance; What’s professional liability coverage?; What types of damages…; What’s general liability insurance?; Do I need professional liability… if I have general liability…?; Is professional liability insurance required?; Can a client require…?; What’s the difference between occurrence policies and claims-made policies. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Professional liability insurance. Insurance Information Institute; Opening paragraphs (professional services/advice and E&O name); Claims not covered by general liability; What types of businesses need professional liability insurance?; What’s covered… and what’s not (claims-made versus occurrence, defense and judgments, non-financial/intentional limits, BOP/in-home exclusion). Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Get business insurance. U.S. Small Business Administration; Six common types of business insurance table. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Professional Liability – US Direct Errors and Omissions Insurance. Hiscox Inc. specimen; About this Policy / Coverage for Claims Made Against You; I.A Insuring Agreement; I.B Defense; I.C Settlement; II.A Notice of Claims; II.C Optional Extended Reporting Period; III.A, III.K, III.M, III.R, III.S Exclusions; IV.A–B Limits and Deductible; VI.O Professional Services; VI.U Wrongful Act. Accessed 2026-09-16.





