Coverdash vs HUB International Kidnap and Ransom Insurance

Coverdash sells digital K&R with listed insuring cards; HUB places K&R through ProEx executive-liability brokerage and claims-legal support.

What Is Coverdash Insurance?

Coverdash is an insurance brokerage and digital platform for small businesses, startups and e-commerce sellers. Buyers can compare quotes, purchase policies and manage coverage directly or through an embedded partner service. 1,2,3

Read the Coverdash profile

What Is HUB International?

HUB International is a North American insurance brokerage that arranges business insurance, employee benefits and related risk services through local offices and specialist practices. Smaller commercial accounts may be sent to Insureon for an online quote; other programs are handled by HUB advisors, with policy terms set by the insurers they use. 6,7,8

Read the HUB International profile

What Is Kidnap and Ransom Insurance?

Kidnap and ransom insurance provides financial protection for specified kidnapping and extortion events and gives the business access to a crisis-response firm. Check who is insured, which events are named, and how territory and sanctions terms apply to your actual travel. 11,12,13

Read the full coverage guide

Key Differences in Kidnap and Ransom Insurance

Placement Channel

Coverdash and HUB both broker kidnap and ransom rather than underwrite it. Coverdash describes a fully digital quote-to-purchase process. HUB’s kidnap and ransom page points prospects to “Connect With a Broker,” and it also lists the line among ProEx Professional & Executive Risk coverages. 4 3 9 10

Coverdash spells out four coverage cards: ransom or extortion payments, expert negotiators and crisis consultants, threats to people, property or reputation, and related medical care, legal expenses and lost income. HUB’s product page does not list those insuring agreements; it cites incident and ransom-payment statistics, says costs can arise even when no ransom is paid, and cross-references directors and officers, business interruption and cyber as related protections, grouping kidnap and ransom with other Executive Liability lines in ProEx. 4 9 10

Audience and Support Services

Coverdash markets the line to businesses with international travel, higher-risk regions or high-profile leadership. HUB markets it to organizations with traveling executives, employees working abroad or domestically, and other key personnel plus their families. On services, Coverdash says negotiators and security consultants sit inside crisis response. HUB says ProEx supplies analytics, litigation support and risk-management services and access to a Claims & Legal Risks Group of attorneys who specialize in ProEx coverages. Neither reviewed set of pages names an issuing insurer or publishes limits. 4 9 10

What to Confirm in Kidnap and Ransom Insurance Quotes

  • Ask Coverdash which carrier issues the digital placement, and ask HUB which ProEx market writes the policy; both pages leave the insurer unnamed. 4 10
  • Compare whether the quote includes lost income and legal expenses as Coverdash lists, or is packaged with D&O, EPL or fiduciary as HUB’s ProEx list suggests. 4 10
  • Confirm crisis-consultant access on Coverdash’s form and whether HUB’s Claims & Legal Risks Group applies to this placement. 4 10
  • Request limits and retentions; neither public page publishes them. 4 9

Offering Details

Coverdash vs HUB International Kidnap and Ransom Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaCoverdash Kidnap & Ransom InsuranceHUB International Kidnap and Ransom Insurance Brokerage
Role in This Line

Coverdash arranges kidnap and ransom (K&R) coverage as a broker rather than an insurer, placing coverage with a carrier under its standard brokerage terms. 3,4Company-reported. General brokerage terms applied to the K&R page; not specific to any one carrier or state.

HUB brokers kidnap and ransom (K&R) insurance both as a standalone product page offering and as one of the Executive Liability coverages in its ProEx Professional & Executive Risk practice, rather than underwriting the policy itself. 9,10Company-reported. K&R product page and ProEx coverage list, read 2026-09-23. Neither page names an issuing insurer.

Issuing Insurer

The kidnap and ransom page does not name the insurer that issues the policy. 4Not publicly disclosed. Reviewed kidnap and ransom page as of 2026-09-23; the page describes coverage without naming a specific carrier.

The K&R product page and the ProEx page do not name an issuing insurer for K&R policies; HUB says ProEx places over $2 billion in premium with insurers it calls top-rated carriers, without naming them. 9,10Not found in reviewed sources. Checked both pages on 2026-09-23; the carrier for a specific K&R placement depends on the quote.

Who It’s For

Coverdash markets K&R to businesses with employees who travel internationally, operate in higher-risk regions, or have high-profile leadership. 4Company-reported. Product-page eligibility description; actual acceptance depends on underwriting and the specific countries or operations involved.

HUB markets K&R coverage to organizations with executives who travel internationally, employees working abroad or domestically, and other key personnel whose safety is considered critical to the organization, plus their families. 9Company-reported. K&R product page target-audience description; not an underwriting appetite statement.

Coverage Features

Coverdash describes K&R as reimbursing ransom or extortion payments made in response to a covered incident, covering the cost of expert negotiators and crisis-management consultants, protecting against extortion threats to people, property or reputation, and covering related medical care, legal expenses and lost income. 4Company-reported. Product-page coverage cards; the issued policy and declarations control actual wording, limits and exclusions.

HUB cites roughly 15,000 kidnap, extortion or illegal-detention incidents a year generating about half a billion dollars in ransom payments, and says an organization can face significant costs even when no ransom is paid. 9Company-reported. K&R product page risk-framing statistics; company-reported and not independently verified by Spot.

HUB's K&R product page cross-references directors and officers liability, business interruption and cyber coverage as related protections, and its ProEx practice groups K&R with other Executive Liability lines such as D&O, employment practices liability and fiduciary liability. 9,10Company-reported. K&R product page related-coverage links and ProEx coverage list; the pages do not describe specific K&R insuring agreements, sublimits or exclusions.

Limits and Retentions

The kidnap and ransom page does not publish specific limit, retention or deductible amounts. 4Not publicly disclosed. Reviewed kidnap and ransom page as of 2026-09-23; figures are quote-specific and not shown on the public product page.

Published K&R policy limits or retentions were not found on the reviewed pages. 9,10Not publicly disclosed. Checked the K&R product page and ProEx page on 2026-09-23; limits are set on the quote and declarations.

Risk Services

Coverdash says its K&R coverage includes access to expert negotiators and security consultants as part of crisis response, rather than as a separate purchased service. 4Company-reported. Product-page description; availability and quality of any named response vendor were not independently checked.

HUB says its ProEx practice, which lists K&R among its Executive Liability coverages, provides analytics, litigation support and risk-management services led by a named practice leader, and gives clients access to a Claims & Legal Risks Group of attorneys who specialize in ProEx coverages. 10Company-reported. ProEx page services and claims-support description; not specific to a single K&R engagement.

How to Apply

Coverdash describes a fully digital quote-to-purchase process for K&R coverage, with the option to add other coverages alongside it. 4Company-reported. Product-page company information and cross-sell section.

HUB directs K&R prospects to "Connect With a Broker" rather than an online quote or bind flow. 9Company-reported. K&R product page call to action.

Full Comparison

More Coverdash vs HUB International Comparisons

Other Kidnap and Ransom Insurance Comparisons

Sources

Coverdash

  1. Frequently Asked Questions. Coverdash; Getting a quote & buying coverage; Claims & certificates; Billing & managing your policy; About Coverdash. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  2. About Us. Coverdash; How Coverdash Works: direct and embedded channels; Our Investors. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  3. Terms And Conditions. Coverdash; "Coverdash does not provide any underwriting services"; broker/agent of record designation. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  4. Kidnap & Ransom Insurance. Coverdash; Product introduction; Types of Coverage cards for Ransom payments, Crisis response, Extortion, Medical and legal costs; Who It's For. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  5. Coverage Hub. Coverdash; Cyber & Crime category listing Cyber Insurance, Crime Coverage and Kidnap & Ransom. Accessed 2026-09-23.

HUB International

  1. About Us. HUB International; Opening description; 1998 formation of HUB International Limited; 2022 Insureon acquisition; headquarters and employee/office counts. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Contact Us. HUB International; Business Solutions paths for Commercial Insurance Solutions versus Small Commercial Insurance Solutions via Insureon; office search. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Insurance for Technology Companies. HUB International; Technology Company Insurance & Risk Management: startup, software, hardware and digital-media introduction; Business Coverage and People Protection lists; technology-client count. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Kidnap and Ransom Insurance Brokers. HUB International; Why coverage is needed: kidnap, extortion and illegal detention risk; incident and ransom-payment statistics; target audience of traveling executives, employees abroad and their loved ones; costs beyond ransom payment; Connect With a Broker call to action; cross-references to D&O, business interruption and cyber coverage. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  5. HUB ProEx. HUB International; ProEx Coverages list including Kidnap, Ransom, and Extortion insurance under Executive Liability; Claims & Legal Support section; ProEx premium volume statement. Accessed 2026-09-23.

Kidnap and Ransom Insurance Guide

  1. Kidnap and Ransom Applications and Forms. Travelers; Opening; Applications; Sample policy forms. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. The Chubb Primary Kidnap Ransom and Extortion Insurance. Chubb; Opening; Kidnap, Ransom & Extortion Insurance Highlights. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Kidnap and Ransom Coverage. Travelers; I pp.1–2; III pp.3–9; IV p.9; V pp.10–13. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Let Spot Handle the Insurance Legwork.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot