Coverdash vs HUB International D&O Insurance

Coverdash brokers standalone D&O digitally; HUB’s ProEx practice places D&O for private, nonprofit and public clients.

What Is Coverdash Insurance?

Coverdash is an insurance brokerage and digital platform for small businesses, startups and e-commerce sellers. Buyers can compare quotes, purchase policies and manage coverage directly or through an embedded partner service. 1,2,3

Read the Coverdash profile

What Is HUB International?

HUB International is a North American insurance brokerage that arranges business insurance, employee benefits and related risk services through local offices and specialist practices. Smaller commercial accounts may be sent to Insureon for an online quote; other programs are handled by HUB advisors, with policy terms set by the insurers they use. 6,7,8

Read the HUB International profile

What Is Directors and Officers Insurance?

Directors and officers liability insurance addresses covered claims alleging wrongful acts in managing an organization. 11

Read the full coverage guide

Key Differences in D&O Insurance

Digital Quote-to-Purchase Versus Connect-With-a-Broker

Coverdash arranges standalone D&O as a broker and describes a fully digital quote-to-purchase process. HUB brokers D&O for private, nonprofit and public-company clients through ProEx, and directs prospects to “Connect With a Broker” rather than an online quote or bind flow. One path is Coverdash’s digital bind; the other is HUB’s broker conversation. 4 3 9

Who Each Markets To

Coverdash says any company with a board, investors or executives making decisions on its behalf needs D&O, and that it is frequently required as a condition of funding. HUB markets D&O brokerage to private companies with customer and supplier relationships, nonprofits with advisory boards, and public companies with shareholders. Coverdash’s story is a funding condition; HUB’s is three segments. 4 9

Limits You Can See

Coverdash’s directors and officers page does not publish specific limit, retention or deductible amounts. Published D&O policy limits or retentions were not found on HUB’s reviewed pages. Take both sets of dollars from the quotes. 4 9

What to Confirm in D&O Insurance Quotes

  • Ask both which carrier would issue the policy. 4 9

  • Ask Coverdash whether you are quoting standalone D&O or the management-liability bundle. Keep Coverdash’s digital bind next to HUB’s Connect-With-a-Broker path. 4

  • Ask HUB whether the quote is for a private, nonprofit or public-company placement. 9

  • Ask HUB how the Claims & Legal Risks Group would be involved if a D&O claim is filed. Keep Coverdash’s digital bind next to HUB’s Connect-With-a-Broker path. 9

Offering Details

Coverdash vs HUB International D&O Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaCoverdash Directors & Officers InsuranceHUB International Directors and Officers Insurance Brokerage
Role in This Line

Coverdash arranges standalone directors and officers coverage as a broker rather than an insurer, placing coverage with a carrier under its standard brokerage terms. 3,4Company-reported. General brokerage terms applied to the D&O page; not specific to any one carrier or state.

HUB brokers D&O liability coverage for private, nonprofit and public-company clients as part of its ProEx Professional & Executive Risk practice, rather than underwriting the policy itself. 9,10Company-reported. D&O product page and ProEx coverage list, read 2026-09-23. Neither page names an issuing insurer.

Issuing Insurer

The directors and officers page does not name the insurer that issues the policy. 4Not publicly disclosed. Reviewed directors and officers page as of 2026-09-23; the page describes coverage without naming a specific carrier.

The D&O product page and the ProEx coverage list do not name an issuing insurer for D&O policies; HUB says ProEx places over $2 billion in premium with insurers it calls top-rated carriers, without naming them. 9,10Not found in reviewed sources. Checked both pages on 2026-09-23; the carrier for a specific D&O placement depends on the quote.

Who It’s For

Coverdash says any company with a board, investors or executives making decisions on its behalf needs D&O, and that it is frequently required as a condition of funding. 4Company-reported. Product-page eligibility description; actual acceptance depends on underwriting and the specific funding or governance situation.

HUB markets D&O brokerage to three segments: private companies with customer and supplier relationships, nonprofits with advisory boards or committees, and public companies with shareholders. 9Company-reported. D&O product page target-market description; not an underwriting appetite statement.

Coverage Features

Coverdash describes directors and officers coverage as protecting the company's directors, officers and the company itself against claims that a leadership decision caused financial harm, suits from investors or shareholders, and regulatory investigations, and pays defense costs and settlements for covered claims. 4Company-reported. Product-page coverage cards; the issued policy and declarations control actual wording, limits and exclusions.

Coverdash sells this standalone Directors & Officers product separately from its bundled management liability product, which adds optional employment-practices, fiduciary and crime coverage on top of the D&O core. 4Company-reported. Comparison of the directors-and-officers and management-liability product pages; does not establish which structure is cheaper or better suited to a given company.

HUB describes D&O coverage it arranges as addressing three areas: personal asset protection for monetary judgments and settlements from an alleged breach of duty, loyalty or care; defense in civil, criminal, judicial, administrative, regulatory or arbitration proceedings; and workplace and employment protection for breach-of-fiduciary-duty and employment-related suits. 9Company-reported. Product-page marketing description; the issued policy's insuring agreements, conditions and exclusions control an actual claim.

HUB says D&O claims it sees can come from regulators, donors, clients or customers, suppliers, competitors, employees, shareholders and creditors. 9Company-reported. Product-page list of potential claim sources; not a guarantee of coverage for any specific claimant.

Limits and Retentions

The directors and officers page does not publish specific limit, retention or deductible amounts. 4Not publicly disclosed. Reviewed directors and officers page as of 2026-09-23; figures are quote-specific and not shown on the public product page.

Published D&O policy limits or retentions were not found on the reviewed pages. 9,10Not publicly disclosed. Checked the D&O product page and ProEx page on 2026-09-23; limits are set on the quote and declarations.

Risk Services

Not described in the reviewed sources.

HUB says its ProEx practice, which lists D&O among its Executive Liability coverages, provides analytics, litigation support and risk-management services to clients of all sizes, led by a named ProEx practice leader. 10Company-reported. ProEx page team and services description; not specific to a single D&O engagement.

How to Apply

Coverdash describes a fully digital quote-to-purchase process for directors and officers coverage, with the option to add other coverages alongside it. 4Company-reported. Product-page company information and cross-sell section.

HUB directs D&O prospects to "Connect With a Broker" rather than an online quote or bind flow. 9Company-reported. D&O product page call to action.

Claims Support

Not described in the reviewed sources.

HUB describes a Claims & Legal Risks Group, staffed by attorneys who specialize in ProEx coverages including D&O, that provides management-liability claims support from pre-claim policy-wording review through claim recovery. 10Company-reported. ProEx page claims and legal support section.

Full Comparison

More Coverdash vs HUB International Comparisons

Other D&O Insurance Comparisons

Sources

Coverdash

  1. Frequently Asked Questions. Coverdash; Getting a quote & buying coverage; Claims & certificates; Billing & managing your policy; About Coverdash. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  2. About Us. Coverdash; How Coverdash Works: direct and embedded channels; Our Investors. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  3. Terms And Conditions. Coverdash; "Coverdash does not provide any underwriting services"; broker/agent of record designation. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  4. Directors & Officers Insurance. Coverdash; Product introduction; Types of Coverage cards for Management decisions, Investor and shareholder claims, Regulatory actions, Legal defense; Who It's For. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  5. Coverage Hub. Coverdash; Professional & Management category listing Directors & Officers separately from Management Liability, D&O Side A and the D&O + EPLI Bundle. Accessed 2026-09-23.

HUB International

  1. About Us. HUB International; Opening description; 1998 formation of HUB International Limited; 2022 Insureon acquisition; headquarters and employee/office counts. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Contact Us. HUB International; Business Solutions paths for Commercial Insurance Solutions versus Small Commercial Insurance Solutions via Insureon; office search. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Insurance for Technology Companies. HUB International; Technology Company Insurance & Risk Management: startup, software, hardware and digital-media introduction; Business Coverage and People Protection lists; technology-client count. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Directors and Officers (D&O) Liability Insurance Broker. HUB International; Target segments: private companies, nonprofit organizations, public companies; Personal Asset Protection, Claims Protection, Workplace & Employment Protection; list of potential claimants; 2016 private-company D&O claim statistic; Connect With a Broker call to action. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  5. HUB ProEx. HUB International; ProEx Coverages list including Directors & Officers Liability (D&O) and Side-A Only Excess D&O under Executive Liability; Claims & Legal Support section; ProEx premium volume statement. Accessed 2026-09-23.

D&O Insurance Guide

  1. Glossary of Business Insurance Terms. The Hartford; Directors and Officers Liability Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance; Employment Practices Liability Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Let Spot Handle the Insurance Legwork.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot