Coverdash vs
Cowbell Cyber Insurance
Cowbell names its underwriting insurers per product tier; Coverdash's cyber page doesn't disclose which carrier issues the policy.
What Is Coverdash Insurance?
Coverdash is an insurance brokerage and digital platform for small businesses, startups and e-commerce sellers. Buyers can compare quotes, purchase policies and manage coverage directly or through an embedded partner service. 1,2,3
What Is Cowbell Insurance?
Cowbell is a specialty-insurance platform and agency focused on cyber risk for small and midsize businesses. Its U.S. catalogue also includes combined Technology E&O and cyber products and a Zurich management-liability offering distributed through appointed wholesalers. 6,7,8
What Is Cyber Insurance?
Cyber insurance can help a business respond to cyber incidents and address covered liability claims arising from them. 14
Key Differences in Cyber Insurance
Naming the Insurer
Cowbell discloses specific underwriters by product: Palomar Specialty Insurance Company backs Prime 100 and Prime 100 Pro, and Chaucer Specialty Insurance Company backs Prime One, so the carrier depends on which named Prime tier is placed. 9 12 Coverdash doesn't disclose a carrier anywhere on its cyber page.
The cyber page does not name the insurer that issues the policy. 4Not publicly disclosed. Reviewed cyber page as of 2026-09-23; the page describes coverage without naming a specific carrier.
One Product Line Versus Several Named Tiers
Cowbell markets five distinct named products — Prime 100, Prime 100 Pro, Prime 250, Prime One and Prime Plus — each with its own risk appetite and eligibility band by revenue. 9 11 Coverdash describes a single cyber product without naming tiers, covering data breach, ransomware, business interruption and lawsuits in one bundled description regardless of company size. 4
Services Included With the Policy
Cowbell says every Prime policy includes its own risk-rating tool, resiliency services, integrations with cloud and security providers, and complimentary cybersecurity-awareness training with unlimited seats in the first year. 9 Coverdash's reviewed cyber page describes no comparable ongoing service; it covers only post-incident response. 4
What to Confirm in Cyber Insurance Quotes
- Ask Cowbell which Prime tier you're being quoted and confirm the specific insurer named for that tier. 9
- Ask Coverdash which carrier ultimately issues your policy, since its page names none. 4
- Compare limits: Cowbell publishes tier-specific figures, such as up to $10 million on Prime One; Coverdash's page publishes no limit or retention figures at all. 12 4
- Ask whether Cowbell's included Wizer security-awareness training and Coverdash's cross-sell options change the total premium either way. 9 4
Offering Details
Coverdash vs Cowbell Cyber Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | Coverdash Cyber Insurance | Cowbell Prime Cyber Insurance (Prime 100, Prime 100 Pro, Prime 250, Prime One, Prime Plus) |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | Coverdash arranges cyber coverage as a broker rather than an insurer, placing coverage with a carrier under its standard brokerage terms. 3,4Company-reported. General brokerage terms applied to the cyber page; not specific to any one carrier or state. | Cowbell operates as an insurance agency that markets its own named 'Prime' cyber product line, rather than distributing another carrier's off-the-shelf policy under its own brand. 9,11,12Company-reported. Product overview PDFs for Prime 100, Prime 100 Pro, Prime 250, Prime One and Prime Plus. |
| Issuing Insurer | The cyber page does not name the insurer that issues the policy. 4Not publicly disclosed. Reviewed cyber page as of 2026-09-23; the page describes coverage without naming a specific carrier. | Cowbell says Prime 100 and Prime 100 Pro paper is provided by Palomar Specialty Insurance Company (AM Best A rating), Prime 250 by Palomar Specialty Insurance Company and Chaucer Insurance Company, and Prime One by Chaucer Specialty Insurance Company; the insurer therefore varies by which Prime product is placed. 9,11,12Company-reported. Footer/underwriting statements in each product PDF. |
| Who It’s For | Coverdash markets cyber coverage to any business that collects data, takes payments online, or relies on software, regardless of industry. 4Company-reported. Product-page eligibility description; actual acceptance depends on underwriting. | Cowbell markets Prime 100 (admitted) to SMEs with up to $100M in revenue, Prime 100 Pro (admitted, available in 47 states) to a similar SME band with broader endorsements, Prime 250 (non-admitted) to businesses up to $1B in revenue, and Prime One (non-admitted) to organizations with more advanced digital exposure, typically $250M+ in annual revenue. 9,10,11,12Company-reported. Risk Appetite sections of each PDF. |
| Coverage Features | Coverdash describes cyber coverage as including data-breach response (notification, credit monitoring and forensics), ransomware (negotiation and restoring systems), business-interruption income loss during an attack-driven outage, and legal defense and settlements for lawsuits after a data exposure. 4Company-reported. Product-page coverage cards; the issued policy and declarations control actual wording, limits and exclusions. | Base Prime 100 coverages include security breach liability, social engineering, hardware replacement, business income and extra expense, extortion threats, computer and funds transfer fraud, and restoration of electronic data; Prime One adds affirmative AI-incident and quantum-computing-incident coverage for more advanced digital exposures. 9,12Company-reported. Prime 100 Coverages and Prime One 'Emerging risk coverage' sections; illustrative, subject to the issued policy's terms. |
| Limits and Retentions | The cyber page does not publish specific limit, retention or deductible amounts, or a separate sub-limit for ransomware versus breach-response costs. 4Not publicly disclosed. Reviewed cyber page as of 2026-09-23; figures are quote-specific and not shown on the public product page. | Cowbell states Prime 100 Pro adds endorsements with limits up to $3M, Prime One offers limits up to $10M for select risks, and Prime Plus is an excess layer offering up to $5M above a primary cyber policy; base Prime 100 and Prime 250 limit figures are not published in the reviewed PDFs. 10,12,13Company-reported. Product overview PDFs; actual issued limits depend on underwriting. |
| Risk Services | The reviewed cyber page does not describe security-monitoring or other risk-management services made available to policyholders; it describes only post-incident response coverage. 4Not found in reviewed sources. Cyber product page as read on 2026-09-23. | Cowbell says every Prime policy includes Cowbell Factors risk ratings, Cowbell Resiliency Services, Cowbell Insights guidance, Cowbell Connectors integrations with cloud/security providers, and complimentary Wizer cybersecurity-awareness training with unlimited seats in the first policy year. 9,11Company-reported. 'The Cowbell Advantage' section, repeated across the reviewed product PDFs. |
| How to Apply | Coverdash describes a fully digital quote-to-purchase process for cyber coverage, with the option to add other coverages alongside it. 4Company-reported. Product-page company information and cross-sell section. | Cowbell says agents can quote, bind and issue Prime 100 policies in less than five minutes, and that Prime 100 Pro requires only six underwriting questions for accounts under $50M in revenue; Prime products are distributed through appointed agents rather than direct to consumers. 9,10Company-reported. Prime 100 and Prime 100 Pro overview PDFs; speed figures are company-reported, not independently timed. |
| Claims Support | Not described in the reviewed sources. | Cowbell says its in-house cyber claims team has over 80 years of combined claims-handling experience and provides 24/7 in-house claims support from initial triage through resolution. 12,9Company-reported. Prime One 'When an incident occurs' section and 'Expert Claims Support' feature repeated across the product PDFs. |
Full Comparison
More Coverdash vs Cowbell Comparisons
Other Cyber Insurance Comparisons
Sources
Coverdash
- Frequently Asked Questions. Coverdash; Getting a quote & buying coverage; Claims & certificates; Billing & managing your policy; About Coverdash. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- About Us. Coverdash; How Coverdash Works: direct and embedded channels; Our Investors. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Terms And Conditions. Coverdash; "Coverdash does not provide any underwriting services"; broker/agent of record designation. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Cyber Insurance. Coverdash; Product introduction; Types of Coverage cards for Data breaches, Ransomware, System downtime, Lawsuits and liability; Who It's For. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Coverage Hub. Coverdash; Cyber & Crime category listing Cyber Insurance, Crime Coverage and Kidnap & Ransom. Accessed 2026-09-23.
Cowbell
- Cowbell. Cowbell; What We Do; Assess, Insure, Respond and Improve; U.S. navigation; footer legal disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Prime Tech Product Overview. Cowbell; PDF pp. 1–4: non-admitted combined Technology E&O and cyber for technology businesses up to $1 billion; up to $5 million; surplus lines in 50 states; edition PRIME TECH US0001 1025. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Small And Midsize Business Management Liability. Zurich North America; Zurich Select Plus collaboration; admitted paper and Zurich Claims; modular suite: D&O, Employment Practices and Third-Party Discrimination Liability, Fiduciary Liability and Crime modules; access for appointed Zurich E&S wholesalers; target under 250 employees and $50 million assets; access and target-account FAQs. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Prime 100 Product Overview. Cowbell; Product Overview; Risk Appetite; The Cowbell Advantage; Prime 100 Coverages; 'Paper provided by Palomar Specialty Insurance Company' footer. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Prime 100 Pro Product Overview. Cowbell; Product Overview; Expanded coverage options; Streamlined process for agents; Confidence that resonates; Available In 47 U.S. States list. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Prime 250 Product Overview. Cowbell; Product Overview; Confidence at scale; Available in 50 states and D.C. on surplus papers; Prime 250 Coverages. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Prime One Product Overview. Cowbell; Risk appetite: organizations with more advanced digital exposures, typically $250M+ in annual revenue; core and additional coverage elements; 'written on a non-admitted basis by Chaucer Specialty Insurance Company' footer. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Prime Plus Product Overview. Cowbell; Product Overview; Why Prime Plus; 'offered on a non-admitted basis with paper provided by AM Best A (Excellent) rated carriers' footer. Accessed 2026-09-23.
Cyber Insurance Guide
- Cyber Insurance. Federal Trade Commission; Opening; First-Party and Third-Party Coverage; First-Party Coverage; Third-Party Coverage; What Should Your Cyber Insurance Policy Cover. Accessed 2026-09-16.






